HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rose B&B and Hostel

Hostel | Via Sforza, 40, Rome, Italy 00184

91.2% Overall Rating

409 out of 419 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Lara Davidson thinks…

"Space was good for a great price. It was comfortanble and cosy and we quickly felt at home. The staff was very nice and gave great advice about travelling in Rome."

Read all Rose B&B and Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Maison de Marylu
32.26 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
I Dormienti
35.54 USD

Apartment 79.2% 58 reviews
Domus Elisa
31.04 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews
Paolina Rooms
39.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
34.96 USD

Hostel 74.5% 150 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
39.14 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Rose Santamaria
29.69 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 159 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
40.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

409 out of 419 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rose B&B and Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 288 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Albert Potgieter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Had a short stay of only one night, staff was friendly and really made our stay lovely

Disliked: Albert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEX DZISSAH

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 ALEX would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to all major tourist attractions

Disliked: ALEX left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

salman thariq syed anvar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 salman thariq would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice experience to stay in Rose B & B.. I felt like i was in home...

Disliked: salman thariq left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sabine and Mario were fantastic in accommodating my friend and I. I like to think of this as more of a b and b than a hostel. soo close to all the sites in Rome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sabine and the rest of the staff were really helpful! The beds were really comfortable with clean sheets provided everyday as well as fresh towels. The included breakfast was amazing and overall, our stay here was very pleasant.

Disliked: Do note that the actual rooms are located away from the main office (they will show you where) though the place is a little shady, with a strip club and a swinger's club nearby. We did not experience any trouble though so it's fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl who met us was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our double room with ensuite was very nice and quite central for exploring Rome by foot. Breakfast was an added bonus.

Disliked: Dining area only seated 3 which wasn't a problem for us but could potentially have been.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Morales Sevillano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the room, clean and big. They accept all credit cards. Secure location (near a military house)

Disliked: The breakfast was not that complete it was a buffet but with not much variety (no cheese and ham). There was not kitchen available for the private room (you needed to go to another building) and the bathroom was not inside of the room, was outside (but they gave you a key for assure the private use). Finally we had a morning without Internet but they told us that was not their fault the whole block was without internet (we loose a morning)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was really helpful and fun. Hostel is really close to city attractions, but not on a busy street. It's also clean and cosy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna de Jong

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast in the morning. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Beach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2012 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Location: The Rose Hostel is pretty centrally located, and literally a stone's throw away from so many major sights of Rome. It's on a quieter residential street, but it's well lit, and although it's only 5 minutes further away from Termini than many of the other youth hostels, I felt a lot safer going back there after dark than walking past the train station on my own! Hostel itself: It was clean and comfortable, which was basically all I was after! The lockers were pretty big, and we had a separate locker (with a padlock) each. Also, the fact that breakfast was included in the price meant there was one less thing to worry about in the morning (and also made the whole thing a bargain!). I didn't use the kitchen, but that would be handy too. Also worth mentioning that I used the wi-fi with no problems at all. Staff: They were polite and helpful, and when I got chatting to them they were really friendly. They also recommended some specific sights which I hadn't read about in my mini guide book, but that were worth a visit! Atmosphere: Although there's not one big common room, there was lots of space in the dorm itself and a table for us all to sit around to chat/chill out. The other girls in the dorm were lovely, and it was just very relaxed.

Disliked: I didn't have any problems at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel/B&B I have ever stayed at. Perfect location to everything you want to see in Rome! The rooms were always so clean and spotless. Great breakfast every morning, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. It was such a comfortable place to be, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rome again! Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Grandinetti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Room was spacious, all facilities were clean, and there is a full kitchen for use. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is steps away from a metro station, and a ten minute walk from Termini station. Great value!

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr schönes und gemütchliches Ambiente,sehr sauber,sehr freundliches und hifsbereites Personal,B&B befindet sich zental gelegen ,alle Sehenswürdigkeiten sind schnell erreichbar,waren sehr zufrieden das nächste Mal ,wenn wir nach Rom kommen werden wir im Rosehostel resevieren.

Disliked: Nichts

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristy Chase

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 December 2012

Liked: Good price, close to the train station

Disliked: Staff weren't that helpful, noisy with people coming throughout the night as the room was right by the door

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lara Hatanaka

Alone

Business / conference

07 December 2012 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Location is Perfect! Cleanliness and breakfast also!

Disliked: I need to talk to someone at a certain time at night, and wasn't able to find anyone (who works) @ the hostel. When I got to the hostel, my locker wasn't available and I had to wait until another girl lleft the room. The day afeter. That's because the room that was supposed to have 6 person, but had 1 extra bed. The room has space enough for the extra bed, but no lockers enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Corbett

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 December 2012 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly staff. Amazing location, a block away from the colosseum.

Disliked: The property didn't have a main building. Our apartment / room was located around the corner from the office. Not a big deal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no common spaces or books. no internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable an friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and at a fairly convenient location in Rome.

Disliked: The showerhead is broken and the bathroom is shared between a lot of people so sometimes you have to wait to use the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Noise. Noisy people next door, people coming in at 3 am too drunk to open their door, people (I think booked in later) turning up at 6 am and using the bathroom along with the kitchen and corridor but worst of all hostel backs onto Via Cavour, a very busy main road and the double glazed windows made very little difference to the level of noise. Minor issues with equipment, the shower heads need to be hand held or finely balanced - a minor piece of maintenance, very little hot water from the kitchen tap, the kettle base shot off the kitchen surface every time it was picked up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, bathroom (stayed in a prive room with ensuite)

Disliked: Bed was very, very hard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Jordan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, bathroom with a big shower, and good share kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Guy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Farida Maharani

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 September 2012 Farida would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very strategic between the Termini station and Coloseum, the staff are friendly and the place is clean. The internet connection also good. It's very unique because the hostel is located in the basement of the building.

Disliked: There is no information before that Child up 4 years old should pay for staying

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the train station and the Metro, so you're always only a few minutes away from the next leg of your journey. Free internet access, a friendly but private atmosphere, and a good breakfast - just what I needed before exploring Rome.

Disliked: There isn't a huge amount of space - it's quite cosy, really - but it's roomy compared to many hostels you might venture into.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare O' Driscoll

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: As we booked a double room with a private bathroom, we stayed in a building just down the street from the office and dorms. Our room was in a 3 bedroom apartment, which was located on a side street off the Via Cavour. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Termini Station, the Colosseum, shops and restaurants were just a short stroll away. The room, en suite, and shared kitchen were all spotlessly clean. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, and air conditioning for an extra €5 per night. We could come and go as we pleased as there was no curfew, and we were given a key to the building. The atmosphere felt safe and secure, so we were comfortable leaving our bags there. Mario (staff) was very friendly and helpful, and we were able to leave our luggage in his office after check-out on our last day, until we collected them to go to the airport. The apartment was quiet and relaxed (mainly couples), which suited us. Breakfast was basic, but was all we needed. Coffee, cereal, milk, juice, croissants, bread, butter, jams ... We used the kitchen to eat lunch that we bought in a nearby shop. I would definitely recommend this property!

Disliked: Nothing really. If you're looking to meet new people, and have a bustling hostel atmosphere it's not really for you. Having said that, the main building with the dorms and office might have a busier atmosphere. The relaxed atmosphere of the private rooms in the apartment was just what we wanted.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels