HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Coconuts Female Hostel

Hostel | Via Giolitti 137, Rome, Italy 00185

80.9% Overall Rating

399 out of 426 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

"It was second time to stay there. It takes 1 minutes on foot from train Station and so clean. Staff is so kind. There is big refrigerator and l can keep things. Even refrigerator was clean. Next visit, l will stay…"

Read all Coconuts Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

Important Information

• Cancellations made more than 7 days before arrival: no charge (other than the already paid non-refundable deposit.) • Cancellations made 0-7 days before arrival, or no-show: FULL STAY CHARGED. • Changes 0-7 days before arrival, including during your stay, involving changing dates of stay, shortening stay, and reducing number of people: FULL STAY CHARGED. • ABSOLUTELY NO EXCEPTIONS TO THESE POLICIES. We suggest you purchase travel insurance. Please be advised that the CITY TAX is € 3.50 per person per day and IT'S NOT INCLUDED IN THE PRICE OF THE ROOM. You will have to pay it directly at the property.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Affittacamere Clarian
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 12 reviews
Romangelo 2 Hostel
32.57 USD

Hostel 73.7% 25 reviews
Moshi Moshi
60.72 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 7 reviews
Inn Centre
48.07 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 5 reviews
Rome Accommodation Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel 91.2% 630 reviews
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
25.30 USD

Hostel 92.6% 117 reviews
Pitagora Two B&B
37.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Acropoli
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.3% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

399 out of 426 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Coconuts Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 417 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Lachtara

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2011 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe in this hostel. It was very clean, fresh and in the center what I needed. Well equiped kitchen, wi-fi, my own locker and price ;-)

Disliked: Hostel is located in the center what is its big plus but the Termini station zone isn't the best in Rome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Rosenberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

03 October 2011 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Coconuts is a very nice, clean, and peaceful place. You can't get any closer to Termini Station, and can easily walk everywhere in the city, so the location is great.

Disliked: can't complain

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Central Termini, easy to navigate around from and open 24hrs.

Disliked: There was a lot of noise from outside as it is on a busy road and it's a little scary late at night outside the hostel as it's where a lot of groups of guys hang out but you can avoid them by going through the back roads. No air conditioning so was very hot for sleeping even with a fan.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was sooooo clean. I've stayed in quite a few hostels and this is definitely the cleanest by far.

Disliked: It's quite a walk to get to the centre but very close to the train station when need to get in and out of Rome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ying-yue Zhao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Ying-yue would recommend this property

Liked: So very close to the train station. I felt very safe and secure there. It was very clean and comfortable as well.

Disliked: The signage could have been better (hostel on 7th floor). No air conditioning in my room which means opening windows and getting plenty of noise from outside (e.g. yelling from the street). Minor dislikes really, the hostel is great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect to see the whole city by food. The rooms are very clean and the other girls/women were very nice. There is also a laptop with free internet access - that was great!!!

Disliked: When we arrived nobody opened. We were lucky that some other girls let us in - but we still had to wait more than 2 hours before the owner arrived. Besides of the bad start our stay was very good and we would recommend the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Het is een schoon hostel en de bedden zijn prima. De locker is groot genoeg en ook de douche is lekker ruim. In het halletje staat een laptop met internet, heel handig.

Disliked: We kwamen een uur later aan dan verwacht en niemand deed open. Pas toen er iemand uit de portiekdeur kwam en wij boven op de deur van papaya klopte werd er eindelijk door een gast open gedaan.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Marcsik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, excellent service, extremely clean, also someone to help you. The best hostel Ive stayed in since I arrived in Italy 2 weeks ago. Excellent for single or group female travellers. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing. It wa fantastic

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was SO cheap, in a perfect location, you can see temini from the window it was clean and all rooms had an en-suit so you were only sharing the loo with maximum 5 other people...the owner came in one day and said that he knew people didnt want fancy just somewhere clean to sleep and shower that wasnt expensive and that is exactly what they offer

Disliked: It is a dodgy area but its so close to the station that it isnt really a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to train station!

Disliked: Not the best part of town at nigiht.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was ok and the rooms are clean, tidy and fairly spacious.

Disliked: No common area or hostel feel - I was only there for one night during transit, it was ok for this purpose, not somewhere I'd want to stay for an extended period mainkly for lack of the social aspect...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lingli HE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Lingli would recommend this property

Liked: just the opposite to the train station

Disliked: a little noisy if you stay at the room at the side of the train station

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right next to Rome's train station, which is a stop on many hop-on hop-off tour buses. The lady in charge of the hostel is VERY nice, and the male owner (who's almost never around) gave me and my friend a map and circled points of interest for us. The hostel is walking distance to the center of Rome (The colloseum, Piazza Venezia, Spanish Steps), but a little far from The Vatican. The rooms were SO CLEAN, and so were the bathrooms. The small kitchenette was also clean, and the tap water was safe to drink, so you can fill up your water bottles.

Disliked: While the lady that runs the hostel is very nice, she does not speak English very well. (I speak Italian so it wasn't an issue.) I think she may also speak a little French, though. Also, around the train station is a little "ghetto", and as such there are a few more creepy italian guys. Walk 3 blocks away, though, and you'll find extremely good restaurants!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 September 2011

Liked: The dorms were laid out nicely.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't in the best condition. (the flush on the toilet was broken). Plus I was locked out of the building for about 15 minutes until someone walked out of the building. Then I didn't have a key to the elevator so I had to carry up some heavy luggage up 7 floors to Coconuts' door where I was also locked out of for over an hour. I sat out there without a cell phone to try and call for help ringing the doorbell with no luck until I was able to get an internet connection and skype someone to get me some help. Overall it was just a terrible experience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the ladies there were smiley and helpful, not always something you come across in rome... i just needed a place to sleep for one night before an early flight - good value for the money, clean inside, nice beds/pillows. dont be fooled by the scary exterior of the building!

Disliked: the building is a bit strange/seedy... its sort of prostitute-row after a certain time of night. but thats outside the hostel, not inside, so i dont think they have much control over that! :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and I felt very safe since I was travelling alone.

Disliked: It was fine, no air conditioning but there was a cool breeze at night - overall I slept very comfortably.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, bright rooms, people are friendly yet it's a very quiet hostel which was nice for me since I needed a place to rest more than socialize, fantastic location, they give you a key for your locker so you don't need your own lock; highly recommend this place for young women traveling alone who want a place to feel secure at night

Disliked: A bit hot at night (I was there in August) - there was a fan but it didn't help much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to the train station, and its very easy to walk everywhere or take a bus/metro from there. The rooms are nice and have their own bathroom. You also have lockers with keys for every bed.

Disliked: There is no kitchen. There's only a fridge and a microwave. There's no common room, which would be nice to meet new people. It's a bit hot in summer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super close to train station and metro, easy access to sites of Rome, free wifi and kitchen w dishes(could be gross at times)

Disliked: Small! Room is adequate though, not very social ( depends on the ppl at time of stay), No AC!!!- very hot inside, get only 1 fan in a room of 4

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was clean, comfortable, and very close to the train station. I definitly had a good stay, and will return.

Disliked: No stove or oven.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: how clean it was

Disliked: the staff wasnt even there to check us in and left the key with a guest

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is just perfect - so close to the railway station and the city center

Disliked: Stuff woman spoke English just a little and the bathroom was clean only in the first day. Also it was very noisy at night while a window was open and hot if it was closed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location (close to train and metro station), rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable.

Disliked: The area was definitely a bit sketchy (close to a bar, etc) -- if you are travelling alone, be careful of coming and going at night. Also, the owner didn't speak very good English, so come with a guidebook (you won't be able to get any travel tips from her!).


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels