HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Coconuts Female Hostel

Hostel | Via Giolitti 137, Rome, Italy 00185

85.0% Overall Rating

377 out of 395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/03/2014)

Alena Levina thinks…

"A really nice female hostel perfect for staying over a weekend! It's located close to the Termini Central Station, which is good if you arrive from one of the airports. You need around 15-20 min…"

Read all Coconuts Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

Important Information

• Cancellations made more than 7 days before arrival: no charge (other than the already paid non-refundable deposit.) • Cancellations made 0-7 days before arrival, or no-show: FULL STAY CHARGED. • Changes 0-7 days before arrival, including during your stay, involving changing dates of stay, shortening stay, and reducing number of people: FULL STAY CHARGED. • ABSOLUTELY NO EXCEPTIONS TO THESE POLICIES. We suggest you purchase travel insurance. Please be advised that the CITY TAX is € 2.00 per person per day and IT'S NOT INCLUDED IN THE PRICE OF THE ROOM. You will have to pay it directly at the property.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Affittacamere Clarian
48.42 USD

Guesthouse 99.3% 8 reviews
Romangelo 2 Hostel
37.35 USD

Hostel 73.7% 20 reviews
Moshi Moshi
48.42 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 5 reviews
Inn Centre
55.33 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 4 reviews
Rome Accommodation Hostel
24.90 USD

Hostel 95.4% 565 reviews
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
27.67 USD

Hostel 94.2% 80 reviews
Hotel Acropoli
29.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.3% 29 reviews
Hotel Mariano
29.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 194 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

377 out of 395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Coconuts Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 387 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to the train station and clean, quiet and nice accommodations.

Disliked: I had to wait to be let in because I didn't confirm my time... Its run by a lady who isn't there 24/7... And it was a little hard to find

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atendent is very friendly

Disliked: The price is a little bit expensive

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is within walking distance to the Colosseum and many other attractions can be reached using the Metro. The property is right across the street from Termini, which is great for late arrivals/early departures and quick/easy access to the Metro. The hostel offers free use of a computer if you don't have yours with you. The rooms are big enough with private bathrooms and lockers. The place is very clean. The beds are comfortable.

Disliked: The hostess was unfriendly. She wasn't rude, just not welcoming and barely spoke to my friend and I. I have a feeling she was upset that we checked in late (because our train was delayed). After reading some of the other posts, it may also be because she didn't speak a lot of English. I don't know because she didn't speak to us. Other than that, the kitchen was small and the hook in our bathroom was broken so we couldn't hang our towels or clothes. But, it's a nice place to stay at a good price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very kind and very clear on how to use the various keys and the ancient style elevatorand and very good in showing on the map the attractions. Place offers use of PC if guest doesn't have own. Owner also ensured guests know how to use Wi-Fi if have own PC. Clean beddings and the 1 euro towel is new and clean. Bathroom is clean. Owner cleans and scrubs room daily. Place has microwave, kettle, cooking utensils and some plates and cups. Superb location - directly across the street from the termini station and 5 minute walk (door to door) to platform 24 where the Leonardo Express to the da Vinci airport is and 4 mintues walk to the tourist information desk at the train station. Also right around the corner is a sreet with lots of eating places at economic prices.

Disliked: Our bathroom has one hook but it's broken so there is no place to hang your towel or clothing when showering. It'd be nice to have a few spoons, forks and knife in the kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: god location, security!

Disliked: breakfast?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jieun kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 jieun would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness is the best!!! Some said accommodation near station is little bit dangerous but security of coconuts hoatel was perfect

Disliked: Staff speaking ability. She did not speak english very well so hard to communicate about details

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed one night and had to go to the train station early so it was great for that. Very clean.

Disliked: I only realised after I checked out but I paid 4 euro more than my booking email said. I dont know if it is the tax they have in Rome now but I think that should be added on the website so you know what you are paying for. I know it is only 4 euros but I was only there one night so if I stayed longer it would have been a lot more. The kitchen is tiny with only a microwave so it limits what you can cook. When I checked in I wasn't told where anything in the area was but this may have been because I was only there one night. The area is a bit dodgy at night. No real common area so no where for a single traveler to really meet people.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily syme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 emily would recommend this property

Liked: really clean, really close to termini, the owner is friendly and quite knowledgable, free wifi

Disliked: no real common area, no real facilities. it's just a nice bed and a place to make a cup of tea.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very clean, have hairdryer in a bathroom.

Disliked: No shelves or hooks in a bathroom to put your things. In one of the reviews was written that going from Termini station you should look for green doors. Well, look for the third (if I counted right) green door with a buzzer "Coconuts'.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and the metro/bus stops, very clean and quiet, secure building, comfortable beds, free wi-fi in rooms.

Disliked: Area around train station is a bit sketchy at night. The hostel is small so when people are up late talking in the lobby you can hear it in the room. It was also a bit hard to find at first -- you have to look for the separate buzzer labelled "Coconuts".

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Franco Campillo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: place itself

Disliked: area- a bit dangerous

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely close to the train station aka public transport, seemed pretty safe, beds were really comfy, good locker size

Disliked: the area right around the hostel can be pretty sketchy coming in at night, also i didn't think it was very well-labeled, there was no real sign for the hostel so I had to call to make sure I was at the right place. Then had to walk with my luggage up countless flights of stairs to find the hostel because the elevator was key-only. Also, my arrival was a bit tense because the woman demanded to know why I was "so late", since I checked in at 11 instead of 10, when I had no idea that "expected arrival time" was something you had to stick to to the dot- i expected it to be what i'd experienced in the past, with hostels w/24 hr reception. so i guess just try to stick to your designated arrival time

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really nice and big enough, also the lockers!

Disliked: At some point of the day the bathroom got very dirty and the hall is quite small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness and the security,. Very close to a lot of public transit.

Disliked: It was pretty far from the tourist attractions.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren Bohnert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the train station and it is all female. She let us store our bags for no extra fee and was very accommodating when we had to switch our days.

Disliked: Nothing really except there was not a stove or oven.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalie McDaniel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for females traveling alone or those who do not feel comfortable staying with males. Very nice host who does most, if not all the work herself.

Disliked: Since the host runs the entire hostel herself, she sometimes is not there, especially when checking in. Just wait a little while and she will show up! Its a very small space, so there is not much room to socialize and hang out with the other girls travelling through.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very quiet,clean hostel. Perfect for the price paid. Very friendly lady named Elena was helpfull in any questions. There is a room with no bunk beds (room no:5 - the one you see in the picture) - the room I stayed had bunk beds(No:1) , but on the plus side it was very very very quiet since it didn't face the train station. So make your choice and also tell the lady if you don't want to sleep on the top of the bunk bed or etc... There was free internet and also a laptop for your usage. I would stay here again with no doubt, and I recommend it.

Disliked: All the hostels here in Rome are in the Termini area, and frankly it is not that nice. But the positive thing about this is that almost all busses end up here- so a good place for accomodation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, because it was new. We had a room of four girls and our own bathroom for the four of us. Also, we had lockers in our room to put our things in.

Disliked: It was right across from the train station which was extremely convenient. However, at night time the area is a little sketchy. If you're not accustomed to a big city, you won't feel comfortable there. But I live in a city and I was fine; just keep your wits about you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was small and very clean, excellent idea to have only women, it makes such a difference! (Sorry guys:). Quite safe and a bit of a walk to the Vatican and other sights but doable.

Disliked: The only thing that was problematic is the en suite bathroom - the toilet is there too and if you end up with some (rather strange) room boddies who take a shower for 40 min in the morning and in the evening, it can be quite a pain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap, clean and safe and really good located. It has no restrictions regarding the returning hours, so you can enjoy Rome's nightlife as much as you want to; non-stop internet access and even a laptop in the common room, so you can check your emails and stuff if you didn't bring yours; and very friendly staff

Disliked: I can't complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How clean it was and how safe I felt staying there and leaving my bags in the Hostel.

Disliked: Wished the front desk lady could speak better english. It would've been nice if they took credit cards as well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jingjing Li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Jingjing would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, very safe, feels very comfortable and lucky to stay in a place so central but so cozy! My friend and I loved it!

Disliked: nothing really

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robyn Barnier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: good location, next to the trainstation and on walking distant from the colloseum.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shayda alizadeh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 shayda would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean and comfortable lodgings, very hot water, no problems whatsoever. The owner was very friendly although her English is not very good which made conversation difficult. It was in a bit of a sketchy area but it's perfect because the transit system runs right next to the hostal. If you get a Roma pass you can use the metro and buses for three days unlimited, which makes it extremely convenient to stay here.

Disliked: No common area except in the lobby which makes it difficult to meet other people, locks on the lockers need fixing. No complaints about the actual hostal, it's a great place and very affordable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + Very, very close to trainstation, with all transportation closeby + Clean, neat rooms + Big lockers for bagage

Disliked: - Hostel was, for us at least, quite difficult to find. Loking at the frontdoor, it looks a little bit shady. Look for the small Coconut bel (outside). Once inside and seven floors up, you see it's a neat place to stay


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels