HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Coconuts Female Hostel

Hostel | Via Giolitti 137, Rome, Italy 00185

77.5% Overall Rating

391 out of 415 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2014)

"It was so clean and comfortable. and It was located near from Termini station. It was nice hostel"

Read all Coconuts Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

Important Information

• Cancellations made more than 7 days before arrival: no charge (other than the already paid non-refundable deposit.) • Cancellations made 0-7 days before arrival, or no-show: FULL STAY CHARGED. • Changes 0-7 days before arrival, including during your stay, involving changing dates of stay, shortening stay, and reducing number of people: FULL STAY CHARGED. • ABSOLUTELY NO EXCEPTIONS TO THESE POLICIES. We suggest you purchase travel insurance. Please be advised that the CITY TAX is € 2.00 per person per day and IT'S NOT INCLUDED IN THE PRICE OF THE ROOM. You will have to pay it directly at the property.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Affittacamere Clarian
38.94 USD

Guesthouse 99.4% 10 reviews
Romangelo 2 Hostel
27.66 USD

Hostel 73.4% 23 reviews
Moshi Moshi
36.25 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 6 reviews
Inn Centre
39.61 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 4 reviews
Rome Accommodation Hostel
24.17 USD

Hostel 91.4% 614 reviews
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
33.57 USD

Hostel 90.7% 105 reviews
Pitagora Two B&B
30.88 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Acropoli
28.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.3% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

391 out of 415 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Coconuts Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 323 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very clean, the rooms were cleaned every day. The Hostel is located on the other Side of Termini-Train Station, from where you can start your sightseeing tours via bus or metro. The rooms where simple, but the furniture was nice and seemed to be new.

Disliked: unfortunately there wasn't a kitchen or some kind of a community room, where you could eat or just meet the other travellers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

I-Ting Hung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 I-Ting would recommend this property

Liked: i had good time in coconuts, place was good, nothing can conplain ! ppl r nice, a simple kitchen, n can leave ur laggage with staff, easy to go everywhere, n even u got lose....its easy found the way back to hotel, at nite lots ppl around station, but for me its better than no ones there 一切很好~房間乾淨, 有小廚房, 地點佳~就算迷路也很容易問路, 公車多, 雖然有人說車站較亂, 但晚上本來就不打算在外逗留太晚, 而且路上有商店跟行人反而比沒有人心安...

Disliked: the day that i ganna leave...someone who didnt close all the doors of left ... so i have to take my laggage from 7 floor.... super tired !!! girls~PLEASE REMEMBER CLOSE THE DOOR !!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ruth ashby

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: very clean. separate beds, not bunk beds. close to station. free internet access. could store bags on last day. quite secure - 2 doors to unlock before reaching room. large storage lockers in rooms with keys provided.

Disliked: no breakfast. no real commom area so not so good for those hoping to meet other travellers. owner speaks limited english but was helpful. no real kitchen area, but did say this on website. location could be a bit scary for young girl alone at night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carolanne Fry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 April 2011 Carolanne would recommend this property

Liked: While the location was not central to all the sites in Rome, it was good because it was right across the street from Termini station, which is the main hub of bus, train, Metro in Rome, so no matter where you were, you could easily hop on a bus to take you right home, which was awesome when you were lost. I walked to all the main sites on this side of the Tiber with no problem. A couple of streets is a grocery store, although I didn't know that until the last day. There isn't really any good food stuff in the immediate area. The hostel its self was very clean and new. There is a fridge but nothing else in Kitchen, so you can't really cook anything. I didn't see any fun night life in the area, which was a bummer.

Disliked: The lady running it running, spoke no English, so she was very unhelpful with any questions. It would have been nice to know there was a grocery store 3 minutes away or where to buy a long distance bus ticket, but she couldn't help me with either.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ker sin wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Ker sin would recommend this property

Liked: Location is just beside termini. No bunk beds and with ensuite toilet in the room with hairdryer and good shower. The owner was friendly and nice. All female which makes it clean and nice. she clean the room and make your bed everyday. Met some people in the hostel and went out together.

Disliked: No

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Pippin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: okay. this isn't really a hostel. it's more like a bunch of rooms with beds. the beds are comfy and the bathrooms are spacious and clean. it feels more like you're renting an apartment, which is so cool.

Disliked: it was SO DIFFICULT to find because there are no clear signs. also, the woman who owns it speaks little/no english which made everything just a bit more challenging. also, cash only.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Hoey

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Coconuts was very clean- the owner cleans everyday while everyone is out. It was so clean I forgot to wear shoes in the shower twice. She was very accommodating- she wrote down our time wrong but still let us check in late at night with no problems. When someone stuck a gluey nail in the lock to the hostel and the elevator, she let us in again, at night, and got the locks fixed the next day. She had new keys made for everyone promptly. The area is convenient because you can take the A and B metros from Termini, right across the street, as well as buses to the airport or a day trip or even a train.

Disliked: The area around Termini is CREEPY. Watch your bags. Lots of catcalling and unsavory guys, mostly immigrants, not Italians. The hostel itself is kind of hard to locate, but the number is clear even though the name isn't. Check the callbox for a small label that says Coconuts...there's no other sign. The building is dirty and also a little creepy, but we only saw other people not from the hostel once or twice. Hostel is on the 7th floor, which we didn't know when we were arriving.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, friendly and helpful stafff, cleanliness.

Disliked: The wi-fi did not work.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011

Liked: clean

Disliked: She didn't accept the credit card which was not good.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gretchen Unverzagt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Gretchen would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, comfortable, and very safe!

Disliked: My sister and I were there in early April and the only thing I didn't like was how hot it got in the room at night even with the window open.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Hot water at all times. Storage space so I could unpack. Great location: close to transport with some restaurants and cafes nearby. Within walking distance of a few sights. If you come by train from Fiumicino, DON'T take the first exit from the station on to Via Giolitti, as I did - it's dark and I got lost. Walk the long way to the front of the station and come out of the main exit - then the directions to the hostel will make sense!

Disliked: No hooks in bathroom for clothes / towels. Didn't sleep well due to hard pillows and noisy traffic outside (bring earplugs!!). Very small area for socializing / hanging out. No tourist info except a large free map. Lady in charge was pleasant but kind of vague and didn't speak very fluent English. A cupboard in my room was used for storing linen so she had to come in to get it while people were sleeping - and she made no attempt to be quiet! Also, I booked to stay in a 4-bed room - and found 5 people sleeping there. Not a big deal perhaps but the service should be exactly as described!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a renovated place, very clean and new interior

Disliked: no breakfast (but there is a fridge to put your own stuff)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bed is really comfortable

Disliked: u cant lock the room and no place to put ur stuff while u're taking a shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittany Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: veryyyyyyy cleannnn and veryyy niceee rooms

Disliked: do not accept credit card or debit cards even though it is not stated and even though it a great location (across the train station and metro) kinda sketchy area but it was finee

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernanda Abilleira

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good and everything was very clean

Disliked: The staff are not much helpeful and there is no breakfest

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simona Di Lonardo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2011 Simona would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful hostel, very safe, clean and quiet. It's also near the station and the main monuments and places to visit.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011

Liked: It was clean and in a good location. Free internet (a laptop was available to use).

Disliked: There was not really any space at all other than your bed to eat, read or just chill out. The main lobby/lounge area is one small room with 2 chairs in it. If you wanted to eat a meal and the chairs were occupied you had to sit on your bed to eat (which is difficult if you are on the top bunk). If you were staying there for a shorter amount of time I am sure it would be fine but if you are thinking about staying for a longer period of time you may want to keep that in mind.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very clean place

Disliked: First when I arrived there they asked me to change to another place because the hostel was fully booked. But when I denies and felt uncomfortable. They allowed met to stay. I do not know why they did like that because I got confirmation document already.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean, excelent location, the sfuff is very nice. Just the people in the room, didnt really respect me, but it was grand!

Disliked: About the property nothing, everything it was good. Just the people in the room, didnt really respected me, but it was grand!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julie Stewart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was clean and was a great location for touring the city small rooms with no bunk beds. The staff are very helpful

Disliked: The area is not great right across from termini and a bit noisy at night. It is not the easiest place to find and is on the seventh floor although there is a small lift.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable beds

Disliked: lack of central meeting area for groups to hang out and socialize

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the train station....just a minute walk..and it is very clean, safe and secure...the people are very kind and friendly...they even let us leave our baggage there for few hours....

Disliked: nothing at all..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed by the fact that the beds were made (well, she was in the process of making the beds) when I arrived, and that they were more than just barebones sheets and dirty blankets. It was a nice touch that hostels don't have very often. I also liked the hot water boiler in every room, the communal refrigerator, and kitchen area.

Disliked: The free wifi, while advertised on the site, is only available if you go into the common area, which only has two chairs and usually functions as a lobby. So don't stay in your room if you expect to have internet connection.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very near the termini

Disliked: no reception area nor place to eat your food

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean! The bathroom was inside of our room and it was really nice and clean. Everything seemed new. The lockers for luggage were large and you did not have to pay extra or bring your own lock. The location was great - right across the street from Termini station so we could get an early train to the airport. Although the area around the station is not the nicest the hostel itself felt really safe. We got there at 1 in the morning and the woman who ran the hostel was still up and came down to let us in.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels