We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

93.5% Overall Rating

332 out of 335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2015)

Lucía Acosta thinks…

"The staff is really friendly and it is quite good located. The rooms are big and comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent!"

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

B&B La Dolce Vita Roma
30.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Luxury Rooms in Rome
38.03 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 150 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
30.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
32.59 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 250 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
16.13 USD

Guesthouse 72.5% 21 reviews
B&B L' incanto di Roma
32.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Barberini
43.46 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
7 Kings relais
32.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

332 out of 335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 245 of 327 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gerard Michael Dy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Gerard Michael would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the sleek character, the cleanliness of the rooms, free wifi, the cool lounge with beanbags and most especially the chocolate treat of one of the staff.

Disliked: they served breakfast late, i suggest they should start serving earlier so other early backpackers can have a good start of their tour around Rome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Hard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2010 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most amazing hostel ever - the people are lovely and helpful, the rooms are spotless and spacious, as are the bathrooms, the water pressure is really really good (a huge bonus!) and the people that I've met here are so great, especially Kate and Josh from Australia!Everyone joins in conversations in the common area, the kitchen is great, and just everything is fabulous. I'll be back here next Christmas! Also, the Piazza Della Reppubblica and the Termini Station are only about five muinutes walking away - easy peasy!

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate McInerney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, renata and Martina are amazing girls and made our stay so enjoyable!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Massenburg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The location us great! Walkable from Termini station and about a block away from the US Embassy.

Disliked: I wasn't aware that the rooms were set up for men and women to share. It caught me by surprise since it was a total oversight on my part but it didn't present a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jad T

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Jad would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is really a cool place. very cozy, clean, spacious and well designed. i felt at home. the staff are really friendly, helpful and funny. it's also very secured and safe. hostel residents were too. it's a 1 min walk from barberini metro station (which is central). you can bring your own food and cook, but the controra staff cook some dinners - make sure you ask Valerio (staff) to prepare you some southern food - it smells excellent and tastes even better (i only had a bite). It was an excellent experience Jad

Disliked: i liked la controra hostel pretty much - the only "negative" thing i can think of is that i only booked my last 2 nights there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Clower

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2010 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: such a great atmosphere - everyone is always hanging out in the living room so you get to meet lots of new people. one of the staff members does a cooking class twice a week - such good food!!!

Disliked: little pricey, but worth it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Payne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Amazing staff, who all get to know all the guests (20 people max). Very very friendly. Awesome cooking class taken by Valerio (sp?). Great little area, quiet but handy to everything. People say its a little hard to find but if you look for Umbria 7 then press the appropriate buzzer its fine.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010

Liked: clean room and nice location

Disliked: late breakfest time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Barton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: it was a great place, that staff were so friendly and helpful. its quite a small place so you get to know most of the other people and its great for making friends. the cooking class is great, so much food!

Disliked: it can get a little bit noisy some nights but nothing serious. depends which room you're in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostile I have ever stayed. Great people, Great atmosphere, and very helpful staff. The cleanest and newest amenities I have used in a hostile. I also thought that the cooking classes offered were a great way to meet the other travelers staying.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilo Rico

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2010 Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff nice breakfast and everything brand new!!!! Awesome place!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hely Maramba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Hely would recommend this property

Liked: everything, it's new, clean, not so crowded, friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seth Borkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: This is the only hostel I ever stayed out that really deserves the title of a hotel. Im a college student whose been studying abroad in Italy for 4 months now. In the process, Ive stayed in maybe 15 hostels throughout europe (a majority being in Italy). This has been, far and away, the best one. Firstly, for this particular trip Im riding solo, but its a very social hostel. I made a ton of friends and found awesome people to explore the city with. The rooms are legit, the bathrooms are really nice, the kitchen is nice, the living room is cozy with computers (3 euro for an hour) but theres free wireless if you have your own computer. The staff is really nice and friendly. They not only helped me find a train home, but partied with me at night. The location is sick, you can walk pretty much anywhere, and if you dont feel like walking, the metro is close by and cheap. I cant say enough about this hostel, I came here intending to stay for a night and ended up here for 4.

Disliked: Breakfast is eh, very basic, but free nonetheless.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the people. The environment was very clean and inviting. They had a cooking class which was really fun. The atmosphere was very welcoming. Everyone became friends. The owner and staff did a good job of keeping the place very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: I liked everything about it, although it was a little tricky to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean with nice and friendly staff.

Disliked: breakfast was average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An absolute must stay!

Disliked: I loved everything about this hostel, nothing but the best things to say about it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Powers

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything about this property. Great location by the Spanish Steps. Not too noisy at night. My favorite hostal so far!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. When I checked in I was greeted with a plate of food. Very clean.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location; friendlly staff, cleanliness

Disliked: noting negative

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, great staff, very helpful, brand new. Basic breakfast, very good facilities. Booked the first night and stayed for six. It's not too big and not too small - just the right size for a host?l. Easy walk from Termini and the metro.

Disliked: Not a thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clint Mackenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Clint would recommend this property

Liked: amazing you have to stay here, don't waste your time looking, brand new excelent

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Kuit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

21 November 2010 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Great location. Extremely clean. Relaxed atmosphere- can chill out on beanbags and watch movies on those rainy days! Very new, so all new beds, bathrooms etc.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adriano Gaspar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2010 Adriano would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and there are lockers in the rooms. people are nice and beds are confortable.It's near the city center.

Disliked: It is a little bit difficult to find the correct street because it almost does not appear in the sign. It was more expensive than other hostels, and I had been in another as good as this one for a cheaper price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, had all ikea stuff. staff were friendly.

Disliked: quite hard to find at night. it's on some floor of a building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel

Disliked: best hostel


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels