HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome Rome Hostel

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.40USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

Showing 81-56 of 56 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Brand new interior, friendly staff, nice breakfast, felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Highly reccomend!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Everything was clean, free wifi, great location, friendly stuff.

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean comfortable rooms. nice staff. kitchen and common room always have people to talk to.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect, walking dstance to everywhere, including Termini so we didn't have to take the metro to get to the hostel. The room was very clean and very new.

Disliked: They had not had time to put up all the lights yet but I guess that will come

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Much better than I had expected. Had everything I required, and more. I actually ended up staying another night more than I intended, was put into a different room, but same deal.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find. Since the place is in a flat which I wasn't aware of. Also, A6 does not been floor 6, as I thought it did. Since there are 2 doors per floor, it's on floor 3.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellt location and very safe area for solo travellers. Very modern decor and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location, it´s central in a cool and safe neibourhood, with a lot of highligths nearby, cleanliness, good breakfast and the friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing to say about it!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Really nice place close to the station and city center, very convenient. It's almost like an appartment and you feel at home.

Disliked: please wash the comforters sometimes, not only the bed linen

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was located in a really safe neighbourhood right next to the American embassy (which coming from having my bag stolen in Naples meant A LOT), as well as not even five minute walk from Barberini, with heaps of restaurants and attractions. I walked everywhere I wanted to go in the city, all the way from the Colosseum to the Vatican and the Piazza del Popolo, though I have done this in every European city so not sure if I'm just a walker (cities are as flat as a pancake, guys, come on!). The rooms were really nicely decorated, spacious and clean, the bathrooms were impeccable, and there was lots of space in the lockers. Note: I was on the first floor, in the newer rooms, so I don't really know what they were like upstairs. The atmosphere was great, everyone I met there was lovely (Brazilians, holla!) and the common room being a wifi spot brought everyone together and we had some great times. Plus, they had computers, power plugs and bean bags in the common room, along with a printing service where you email the document to the hostel for a small fee (10c or something), which worked quite nicely for everyone I encountered.

Disliked: The wifi was only on the third floor, so staying on the first floor meant going upstairs to use the wifi all the time or huddling on the balcony (though one I guy I met staying on the 3rd floor had to go into the common room for wifi so take from that what you will). Most of the staff were really nice, but the main person who was on duty while I was in was cold and a bit intimidating - none of us really felt comfy asking for recommendations or advice.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability