HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

88.7% Overall Rating

324 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Aisling Rowe thinks…

"Staff were extremely helpful. Nice, clean and great location for walking to tourist spots."

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

B&B La Dolce Vita Roma
69.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Luxury Rooms in Rome
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 148 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
44.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 247 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
50.09 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 20 reviews
B&B L' incanto di Roma
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B L' incanto di San Pietro
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
7 Kings relais
137.89 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

324 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 319 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very fun

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erik Vanhoof

As a family with children

City break

13 March 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean hostel

Disliked: When you want to sleep at 11 in the evening, you should not visit this hostel. This place is rather quiet between 1 and 7 am. The walls are really thin,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tung lin chiah

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 tung lin would recommend this property

Liked: All furnishing is new

Disliked: No padlock provided for own locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sungtehk Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Sungtehk would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, the staff was really friendly, great atmosphere, close to the metro station. I will definitely be staying here when I come back to Rome.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really great and the place was extremely clean! If you're looking for one of those crazy huge hostels, this is not the place. It's more homey than that, but still easy to meet people. I really recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cassandra Dunbar

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2011 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! the staff was great, very nice and friendly. If you were unsure where to go they gave you directions that were very accurate. It was super close to everything, but also in a little quiet area. if you don't feel like going out then you can hang out. one night they did a pasta making class. If I ever go back to rome or know of anyone going to rome I will DEFINITELY recommend this hostel! oh and one of the hostel staff members plays some pretty awesome tunes too!

Disliked: the shower was a little backed up so you had to be super fast or take breaks to let the water drain a it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly, it was really clean, location was good

Disliked: Breakfast started a bit later and was the usual toast and cereal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff,cleanliness, comfortable beds and nice rooms..

Disliked: actually nothing :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was bright and clean. The staff was really helpful and the hostel was much nicer than other hostels that I've stayed at.

Disliked: It was probably a function of my stay, but there were groups that didn't seem particularly willing to mingle and meet others.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Gorman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: La Controra was really clean, and the staff was incredibly friendly. They gave fantastic advice about where to go and what to do. The other guests were really interesting and fun. The blankets on the beds were really soft and really warm. I would highly recommend staying at La Controra.

Disliked: Towels cost 2 euro each, which is not ideal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great. It has great facilities like clean perfect showers with high pressure, large rooms with great security, nice kitchen etc However it is the atmosphere which is best. This place is more like a university/college share house than a hostel. You cannot go wrong here. Easy to make friends in a place like this. Its location is also brilliant, but central Rome is all very small.

Disliked: i could only get two of the tv stations to work, but im sure this is my fault!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darryl Ephraums

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Darryl would recommend this property

Liked: A very kind host and the other staff were helpful too. The place is very clean and has an air of respectability which is very pleasing if you fancy a little bit of peace. I would highly recommend this hostel. One of the best I have stayed in.

Disliked: There was not anything I disliked. The bathrooms were great, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean. Top place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s realy friendly and clean, and feels spacious. Staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was what I expected.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Senn

Alone

City break

24 January 2011 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay. Everything is clean and there are huge lockers for everyone. You've got a kitchen, bathroom, living room... feels like visiting a friend. Really friendly and helpfully staff. Well done!

Disliked: A bit hard to find the adress, but it worths it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel rooms and lounge are very stylish and well decorated which is nice compared to the typical plain boring hostel. Free wifi on the whole floor. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is new and very clean!! A couple of the staff members and guests organized a night pub crawl throughout Rome that was really wild and fun. Everyone hangs out in the lounge and kitchen so it's easy to meet people hanging out on the bean bags.

Disliked: The staff somehow overbooked the room I reserved so on my second night they ended up moving me to a bed they set up in the corner of the back room with 4 other people. It was really cramped. There isn't a sign for the hostel so it's easy to miss the listing on the buzzer. And the elevator looks like a death trap- I was shocked that it didn't collapse from the weight of my backpack.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Valerio and the girls at reception were very friendly and fun!

Disliked: They tried to overcharge us.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yizhi YIN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Yizhi would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff. Well cleaned room.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and well-kept. It had a nice bathroom as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant atmosphere and nice people. It's centrally located and quite easy to get everywhere.

Disliked: It would have been nicer if the breakfast was available at little earlier (8:30 is sometimes a bit late start for the day).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo Dance

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, no faults whatsoever!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gerard Michael Dy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Gerard Michael would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the sleek character, the cleanliness of the rooms, free wifi, the cool lounge with beanbags and most especially the chocolate treat of one of the staff.

Disliked: they served breakfast late, i suggest they should start serving earlier so other early backpackers can have a good start of their tour around Rome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Hard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2010 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most amazing hostel ever - the people are lovely and helpful, the rooms are spotless and spacious, as are the bathrooms, the water pressure is really really good (a huge bonus!) and the people that I've met here are so great, especially Kate and Josh from Australia!Everyone joins in conversations in the common area, the kitchen is great, and just everything is fabulous. I'll be back here next Christmas! Also, the Piazza Della Reppubblica and the Termini Station are only about five muinutes walking away - easy peasy!

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate McInerney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, renata and Martina are amazing girls and made our stay so enjoyable!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Massenburg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The location us great! Walkable from Termini station and about a block away from the US Embassy.

Disliked: I wasn't aware that the rooms were set up for men and women to share. It caught me by surprise since it was a total oversight on my part but it didn't present a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jad T

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Jad would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is really a cool place. very cozy, clean, spacious and well designed. i felt at home. the staff are really friendly, helpful and funny. it's also very secured and safe. hostel residents were too. it's a 1 min walk from barberini metro station (which is central). you can bring your own food and cook, but the controra staff cook some dinners - make sure you ask Valerio (staff) to prepare you some southern food - it smells excellent and tastes even better (i only had a bite). It was an excellent experience Jad

Disliked: i liked la controra hostel pretty much - the only "negative" thing i can think of is that i only booked my last 2 nights there


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels