HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

91.0% Overall Rating

305 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"--- Clean rooms, hot shower, good breakfast. Located 10 minutes walk to the train station."

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Luxury Rooms in Rome
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 140 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
44.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
55.29 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 242 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
54.73 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 20 reviews
Viminale Suites
53.90 USD

Apartment 84.9% 11 reviews
7 Kings relais
55.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Italia
78.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 66 reviews
Hotel Priscilla
96.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

305 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 232 of 300 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was bright and clean. The staff was really helpful and the hostel was much nicer than other hostels that I've stayed at.

Disliked: It was probably a function of my stay, but there were groups that didn't seem particularly willing to mingle and meet others.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Gorman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: La Controra was really clean, and the staff was incredibly friendly. They gave fantastic advice about where to go and what to do. The other guests were really interesting and fun. The blankets on the beds were really soft and really warm. I would highly recommend staying at La Controra.

Disliked: Towels cost 2 euro each, which is not ideal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great. It has great facilities like clean perfect showers with high pressure, large rooms with great security, nice kitchen etc However it is the atmosphere which is best. This place is more like a university/college share house than a hostel. You cannot go wrong here. Easy to make friends in a place like this. Its location is also brilliant, but central Rome is all very small.

Disliked: i could only get two of the tv stations to work, but im sure this is my fault!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darryl Ephraums

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Darryl would recommend this property

Liked: A very kind host and the other staff were helpful too. The place is very clean and has an air of respectability which is very pleasing if you fancy a little bit of peace. I would highly recommend this hostel. One of the best I have stayed in.

Disliked: There was not anything I disliked. The bathrooms were great, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean. Top place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s realy friendly and clean, and feels spacious. Staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was what I expected.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Senn

Alone

City break

24 January 2011 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay. Everything is clean and there are huge lockers for everyone. You've got a kitchen, bathroom, living room... feels like visiting a friend. Really friendly and helpfully staff. Well done!

Disliked: A bit hard to find the adress, but it worths it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel rooms and lounge are very stylish and well decorated which is nice compared to the typical plain boring hostel. Free wifi on the whole floor. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is new and very clean!! A couple of the staff members and guests organized a night pub crawl throughout Rome that was really wild and fun. Everyone hangs out in the lounge and kitchen so it's easy to meet people hanging out on the bean bags.

Disliked: The staff somehow overbooked the room I reserved so on my second night they ended up moving me to a bed they set up in the corner of the back room with 4 other people. It was really cramped. There isn't a sign for the hostel so it's easy to miss the listing on the buzzer. And the elevator looks like a death trap- I was shocked that it didn't collapse from the weight of my backpack.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Valerio and the girls at reception were very friendly and fun!

Disliked: They tried to overcharge us.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yizhi YIN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Yizhi would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff. Well cleaned room.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and well-kept. It had a nice bathroom as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant atmosphere and nice people. It's centrally located and quite easy to get everywhere.

Disliked: It would have been nicer if the breakfast was available at little earlier (8:30 is sometimes a bit late start for the day).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo Dance

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, no faults whatsoever!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gerard Michael Dy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Gerard Michael would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the sleek character, the cleanliness of the rooms, free wifi, the cool lounge with beanbags and most especially the chocolate treat of one of the staff.

Disliked: they served breakfast late, i suggest they should start serving earlier so other early backpackers can have a good start of their tour around Rome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Hard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2010 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most amazing hostel ever - the people are lovely and helpful, the rooms are spotless and spacious, as are the bathrooms, the water pressure is really really good (a huge bonus!) and the people that I've met here are so great, especially Kate and Josh from Australia!Everyone joins in conversations in the common area, the kitchen is great, and just everything is fabulous. I'll be back here next Christmas! Also, the Piazza Della Reppubblica and the Termini Station are only about five muinutes walking away - easy peasy!

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate McInerney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, renata and Martina are amazing girls and made our stay so enjoyable!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Massenburg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The location us great! Walkable from Termini station and about a block away from the US Embassy.

Disliked: I wasn't aware that the rooms were set up for men and women to share. It caught me by surprise since it was a total oversight on my part but it didn't present a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jad T

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Jad would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is really a cool place. very cozy, clean, spacious and well designed. i felt at home. the staff are really friendly, helpful and funny. it's also very secured and safe. hostel residents were too. it's a 1 min walk from barberini metro station (which is central). you can bring your own food and cook, but the controra staff cook some dinners - make sure you ask Valerio (staff) to prepare you some southern food - it smells excellent and tastes even better (i only had a bite). It was an excellent experience Jad

Disliked: i liked la controra hostel pretty much - the only "negative" thing i can think of is that i only booked my last 2 nights there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Clower

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2010 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: such a great atmosphere - everyone is always hanging out in the living room so you get to meet lots of new people. one of the staff members does a cooking class twice a week - such good food!!!

Disliked: little pricey, but worth it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Payne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Amazing staff, who all get to know all the guests (20 people max). Very very friendly. Awesome cooking class taken by Valerio (sp?). Great little area, quiet but handy to everything. People say its a little hard to find but if you look for Umbria 7 then press the appropriate buzzer its fine.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010

Liked: clean room and nice location

Disliked: late breakfest time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Barton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: it was a great place, that staff were so friendly and helpful. its quite a small place so you get to know most of the other people and its great for making friends. the cooking class is great, so much food!

Disliked: it can get a little bit noisy some nights but nothing serious. depends which room you're in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostile I have ever stayed. Great people, Great atmosphere, and very helpful staff. The cleanest and newest amenities I have used in a hostile. I also thought that the cooking classes offered were a great way to meet the other travelers staying.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilo Rico

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2010 Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff nice breakfast and everything brand new!!!! Awesome place!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hely Maramba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Hely would recommend this property

Liked: everything, it's new, clean, not so crowded, friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seth Borkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: This is the only hostel I ever stayed out that really deserves the title of a hotel. Im a college student whose been studying abroad in Italy for 4 months now. In the process, Ive stayed in maybe 15 hostels throughout europe (a majority being in Italy). This has been, far and away, the best one. Firstly, for this particular trip Im riding solo, but its a very social hostel. I made a ton of friends and found awesome people to explore the city with. The rooms are legit, the bathrooms are really nice, the kitchen is nice, the living room is cozy with computers (3 euro for an hour) but theres free wireless if you have your own computer. The staff is really nice and friendly. They not only helped me find a train home, but partied with me at night. The location is sick, you can walk pretty much anywhere, and if you dont feel like walking, the metro is close by and cheap. I cant say enough about this hostel, I came here intending to stay for a night and ended up here for 4.

Disliked: Breakfast is eh, very basic, but free nonetheless.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels