HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

88.5% Overall Rating

323 out of 327 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Aisling Rowe thinks…

"Staff were extremely helpful. Nice, clean and great location for walking to tourist spots."

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

B&B La Dolce Vita Roma
42.67 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Luxury Rooms in Rome
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 147 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
38.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 247 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
52.00 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 20 reviews
7 Kings relais
91.91 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Italia
50.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.2% 70 reviews
Hotel Priscilla
91.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

323 out of 327 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 239 of 317 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Yunits

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool modern design, comfortable, solid breakfast, great wifi, awesome staff!!, cool people, easy location.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean Amazing atmosphere Kitchen is fully stocked so you can cook anything Staff is very helpful The bathrooms are in the rooms so you do not have to walk outside your room Beds are extremely comfortable Great place to meet people and share stories/tips Elevator access for those who need it Community atmosphere Great common area Good breakfast Located right next to the American Embassy, so the secret service were everywhere Located right next to grocery store

Disliked: No bath mat Mosquitos will eat you alive 6 person room only has 5 lockers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philip Besancon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, accomodating staff. Very nice and pretty clean as far as hostels go. Decent breakfast. Would go back!

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike... However, a mirror, at table or bench, and a towl or coat rack would have made things a little more convenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything in this hostel.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Appleby

Alone

Business / conference

25 May 2011 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and comforable with a very high standard at a most reasonable price by Rome standards. Staff engage personally with the guests and go out of their way to provide help with getting around Rome, finding restaurants etc. They are all an absolute treasure. This is the best hostel that I have ever stayed in. They create a wonderful atmosphere in which everyone feels and home and all the guests I meet were friendly and open and I had many interesting conversations with people from many different countries..

Disliked: Nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, good facilities, free breakfast.

Disliked: Have to pay for use of laptop.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel indeed. Modern, clean and with a great kitchen. Comfy beds. Stayed in a 4-bed female ensuite which was lovely. The ensuite shower was really powerful. That was great. I met some really nice people there too. The staff were cheerful and helpful. Breakfast provided was basic but good enough. Rooms nice and big. Big lockers to hold all your stuff wich was just great. Bring your own lock. Free wifi was excellent - it worked no problem. A hostel suitable for everyone, especially people travelling alone and who are perhaps not into party, party, party all night, every night.

Disliked: I brought my laptop so I had access to free wifi. However, for those who haven't brought their own laptop, they have to pay to use the intenet in the hostel. The intenet really needs to be free, you guys!! Even in Cambodia I had free internet in the hostels there. You should always provide internet for free. Seriously. Also, the TV seemed to have only one channel available when I was there. Might be nice to have some variety. Overall though, a great hostel - recommended.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the intererior and the friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: it was a bit hard to find...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was really nice, very friendly

Disliked: you have to pay for using the computers!!! Why?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Gelb

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It was great - met great people. Good atmosphere

Disliked: Wish they had better bread in the morning for breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pegge Keller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Pegge would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I have stayed. Staff was exceptional. Really enjoyed my visit

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La Controra Hostel Rome : Hostel is pretty neat, clean, new and well furnished. Staffs are really helpful, internet, ambient are very nice. Moreover, its quite close to railway station. I stayed here for 5 days and i enjoyed my stay on all days. I do recommend this hostel for all.. Sure.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike about this hostel. Its in 3rd Floor and the elevator is too small for two people with luggage. But its nothing, 'cause the hostel is too cool...!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My favorite hostel in the city by far! It's SO clean and new!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Valentina Sojo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: All the facilities, the nice staff, the breakfast! Everything!

Disliked: The cleaness of the shared bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

German Berno

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 German would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Very clean, maximum four people to a bathroom, very social atmosphere, helpful staff, centrally located, and breakfast available.

Disliked: If you like to go to bed early (before 10:30pm), I would bring earplugs because informal quiet hours don't begin until midnight.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin Hamblen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and located in a safe area. Would reccomend to a traveler looking to stay in quiet atmosphere.

Disliked: The property wasn't a good party atmosphere to meet people due to the small size of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe place to stay in a good location with free wifi and a kitchen.

Disliked: Booked the hostel for 2 nights, but the hostel lost my reservation for the 1st night. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating however in helping me find another place to stay. They ended up refunding my money for the 1st night and giving me a discount for the 2nd night. So overall, it worked out. No real social events though for guests to meet, and you have to bring your own lock to use the lockers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe place to stay in a good location with free wifi and a kitchen.

Disliked: Booked the hostel for 2 nights, but the hostel lost my reservation for the 1st night. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating however in helping me find another place to stay. They ended up refunding my money for the 1st night and giving me a discount for the 2nd night. So overall, it worked out. No real social events though for guests to meet, and you have to bring your own lock to use the lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and even helped me learn some Italian. Location was also great; a 5 minute walk from Piazza della Republica and within walking distance of Termini.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find the first time because the street it is on is not on a normal map. A bit quiet if you're trying to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Gonçalves

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...mostly the friendship of the staff and the people that i met their!! I had a wonderfull time while i was in Rome

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magrietha M Myburg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Magrietha M would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff! And the cleanliness and emaculate condition on all the facilities!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Chin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: All facilities are modern, kitchen, common room and bathrooms.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This was an exceptionally good place. It felt more like shared accommodation than a hostel. The rooms were clean, there was always hot water. the staff could not be friendlier and more helpful, the living area was perfect for a chat and relaxing, and I can go on and on about how great this place was. Location was fab! Did not use transport once!

Disliked: Personally I liked everything. I know some people had difficulties in finding the flat. What I would advise is look for Largo S Suzanna as opposed to Umbria, if on foot and coming from Termini direction, and once you enter the building the lifts are on your left just before the interior yard. You aim for 3rd floor and you are there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very fun

Disliked: nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels