HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

91.0% Overall Rating

305 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"--- Clean rooms, hot shower, good breakfast. Located 10 minutes walk to the train station."

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Luxury Rooms in Rome
41.43 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 140 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
44.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
55.24 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 242 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
54.69 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 20 reviews
Viminale Suites
53.86 USD

Apartment 84.9% 11 reviews
7 Kings relais
55.24 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Italia
78.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 66 reviews
Hotel Priscilla
96.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

305 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 232 of 300 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the intererior and the friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: it was a bit hard to find...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was really nice, very friendly

Disliked: you have to pay for using the computers!!! Why?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Gelb

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It was great - met great people. Good atmosphere

Disliked: Wish they had better bread in the morning for breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pegge Keller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Pegge would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I have stayed. Staff was exceptional. Really enjoyed my visit

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La Controra Hostel Rome : Hostel is pretty neat, clean, new and well furnished. Staffs are really helpful, internet, ambient are very nice. Moreover, its quite close to railway station. I stayed here for 5 days and i enjoyed my stay on all days. I do recommend this hostel for all.. Sure.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike about this hostel. Its in 3rd Floor and the elevator is too small for two people with luggage. But its nothing, 'cause the hostel is too cool...!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My favorite hostel in the city by far! It's SO clean and new!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Valentina Sojo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: All the facilities, the nice staff, the breakfast! Everything!

Disliked: The cleaness of the shared bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

German Berno

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 German would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Very clean, maximum four people to a bathroom, very social atmosphere, helpful staff, centrally located, and breakfast available.

Disliked: If you like to go to bed early (before 10:30pm), I would bring earplugs because informal quiet hours don't begin until midnight.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin Hamblen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and located in a safe area. Would reccomend to a traveler looking to stay in quiet atmosphere.

Disliked: The property wasn't a good party atmosphere to meet people due to the small size of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe place to stay in a good location with free wifi and a kitchen.

Disliked: Booked the hostel for 2 nights, but the hostel lost my reservation for the 1st night. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating however in helping me find another place to stay. They ended up refunding my money for the 1st night and giving me a discount for the 2nd night. So overall, it worked out. No real social events though for guests to meet, and you have to bring your own lock to use the lockers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe place to stay in a good location with free wifi and a kitchen.

Disliked: Booked the hostel for 2 nights, but the hostel lost my reservation for the 1st night. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating however in helping me find another place to stay. They ended up refunding my money for the 1st night and giving me a discount for the 2nd night. So overall, it worked out. No real social events though for guests to meet, and you have to bring your own lock to use the lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and even helped me learn some Italian. Location was also great; a 5 minute walk from Piazza della Republica and within walking distance of Termini.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find the first time because the street it is on is not on a normal map. A bit quiet if you're trying to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Gonçalves

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...mostly the friendship of the staff and the people that i met their!! I had a wonderfull time while i was in Rome

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magrietha M Myburg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Magrietha M would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff! And the cleanliness and emaculate condition on all the facilities!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Chin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: All facilities are modern, kitchen, common room and bathrooms.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This was an exceptionally good place. It felt more like shared accommodation than a hostel. The rooms were clean, there was always hot water. the staff could not be friendlier and more helpful, the living area was perfect for a chat and relaxing, and I can go on and on about how great this place was. Location was fab! Did not use transport once!

Disliked: Personally I liked everything. I know some people had difficulties in finding the flat. What I would advise is look for Largo S Suzanna as opposed to Umbria, if on foot and coming from Termini direction, and once you enter the building the lifts are on your left just before the interior yard. You aim for 3rd floor and you are there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very fun

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erik Vanhoof

As a family with children

City break

13 March 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean hostel

Disliked: When you want to sleep at 11 in the evening, you should not visit this hostel. This place is rather quiet between 1 and 7 am. The walls are really thin,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tung lin chiah

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 tung lin would recommend this property

Liked: All furnishing is new

Disliked: No padlock provided for own locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sungtehk Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Sungtehk would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, the staff was really friendly, great atmosphere, close to the metro station. I will definitely be staying here when I come back to Rome.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really great and the place was extremely clean! If you're looking for one of those crazy huge hostels, this is not the place. It's more homey than that, but still easy to meet people. I really recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cassandra Dunbar

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2011 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! the staff was great, very nice and friendly. If you were unsure where to go they gave you directions that were very accurate. It was super close to everything, but also in a little quiet area. if you don't feel like going out then you can hang out. one night they did a pasta making class. If I ever go back to rome or know of anyone going to rome I will DEFINITELY recommend this hostel! oh and one of the hostel staff members plays some pretty awesome tunes too!

Disliked: the shower was a little backed up so you had to be super fast or take breaks to let the water drain a it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly, it was really clean, location was good

Disliked: Breakfast started a bit later and was the usual toast and cereal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff,cleanliness, comfortable beds and nice rooms..

Disliked: actually nothing :)


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels