HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

88.7% Overall Rating

324 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Aisling Rowe thinks…

"Staff were extremely helpful. Nice, clean and great location for walking to tourist spots."

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

B&B La Dolce Vita Roma
69.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Luxury Rooms in Rome
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 148 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
44.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 247 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
50.09 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 20 reviews
B&B L' incanto di Roma
41.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B L' incanto di San Pietro
37.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
7 Kings relais
137.89 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

324 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 319 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, great atmosphere, very clean rooms and bathroom, good breakfast, great staff. The dear staff Wiwa was very helpful with us every day. We recommend and intend to return as soon as possible.

Disliked: None.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good. The price was very good. The room was clean, quiet and everything was working. There is a bathroom per room, not a shared bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. The internet access was free and a computer was available for guests to use.

Disliked: The breakfast was not very good. There was no coffee (instant coffee does not count as coffee and there was no coffee maker either). The milk was bad. All we could eat was some dry cereal and some thin toast with jam.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location

Disliked: The front door did not lock

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Great location near Barberini metro and just a short walk to the Trevi Fountain (much much much better to stay in this area than near Termini where most other hostels are). It's right next to the American embassy so there's always police around which makes the area feel safe. 5 mins walk to a supermarket. Breakfast is included. Nice big lockers in the rooms - bring your own lock though. The staff are really nice and helpful and the place is very clean in general.

Disliked: The freev wifi isn't bad but it does cut out every now and again and it only exists on the 3rd level. Otherwise absolutely no other complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olesia Kojemiako

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Olesia would recommend this property

Liked: Large accommodation with lockers for storage and a kitchen. The shower was nice and hot and the bed wasn't really squeaky which was a relief.

Disliked: It was not a very good place to meet other travelers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice hostel located right in the centre of the city with its friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff alot they where very nice and gave good information on where to go and places to eat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a newly refurbished room, which was very pleasant and clean. They have free wifi (but only on the third floor) and free breakfast.

Disliked: No wifi in my bed room – I now, I'm lazy!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff

Disliked: Our room did not have a toilet seat

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kriston Sharpe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Kriston would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice. They didn't have our keys when we first arrived, but they gave us free towels and got the issue resolved very promptly. The atmosphere was really nice, our first night there we met some really nice people in the lounge. We stayed up most of the night chatting while drinking some wine we bought. Also, we booked two beds in a 3 person room, but when we arrived we only had two beds in the room, which was nice. When we went to check out they were very nice about letting us store our bags and coming back for them later because we still wanted to hang out in the city.

Disliked: Although the place was very clean, the shower curtain on the fourth floor was very dirty and needed to be replaced. My room did not have a safe in it, but besides the manager, there was only one other two person bedroom on the 4th floor. The hostel is on the third and fourth floor of the building and you have to have keys to get into both, but there aren't safes. That being said, I didn't feel like the place was unsafe at all, and the fourth floor was very private so I didn't worry about leaving my things. Also, for some reason the key situation was weird. Every time we needed to go into our room we had to pit stop on the third floor to get the key at the front desk, and then return it when we needed to leave. I believe we were using the manager’s key. I don't know if it's because the other people lost the keys before we checked in, but it was a little inconvenient. The breakfast is a little bland just cereal, toast and yogurt. When we checked in we were told check out was at 11, but the night before they told us they needed us out by 10, so we felt a little rushed in the morning. Also, the manager has a small dog if you are allergic to pets.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location.

Disliked: Had to wait my turn to use the bathroom to shower. Due to there only being one bathroom for myself and two other roommates.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MUHAMMAD AQEEL ARSHAD

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 MUHAMMAD AQEEL would recommend this property

Liked: a really good package for visiting ROME, near city centre, internet facilities, one computer in common room,lockers in room, fantastic environment and cleanliness,warm water in wash rooms, good breakfast,, above all you will find FRANSISCO at the 24 hr desk ,that will always remain ready to help you in case of any problem,, so what else you will look for on account of a good hostel???

Disliked: not at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Wernicke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: No Fun

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vicente Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Vicente would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and organized. It's a cozy place.

Disliked: The reception is closed during the night. Eventhough, if you already did the check in you'd have the keys.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel and would definately recommend to other travellers. I thought it was well worth its money. Rooms and toilets were spacious, toilets cleaned everyday and well equipped kitchen. Within walking distance (1/2hr to coloseum, 45 mins to Vatican City etc) from major attractions and close (10min) walk from Roma termini.

Disliked: not a lot of brouchers for tours around, had to hear from other travellers, which was okay so not that much of a big deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: High speed wifi, newly-decorated rooms, brand new bathrooms, and cosy common room

Disliked: It is actually separated into two floors and there is no wifi on the first floor. And the smell of the newly-decorated room, which is my room, is very strong and irratating.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Crandall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Out of the hostels that I have stayed at so far, this one has been the best! The other travellers were really nice and awesome, and the rooms and bathrooms were great! Common area felt welcoming and allowed for relaxing time. There was sufficient room within my 5 person, for everyone to have space to have things out, lots of lockers that fit a large suitcase as well. I am VERY impressed with the bathrooms- new fixtures and great showers. Small breakfast, but that was fine with me, and staff was knowledgeable and accommodating. Next trip to Rome, I WILL be staying here again. Being on a higher floor in the building also makes it feel, and is safer.

Disliked: Location was a bit confusing, but if you pay attention and have a map beforehand, it is fine. This "out of the way location allows for quiet, in an otherwise busy area. Otherwise, nothing to say for complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from when we first arrived and throughout our whole stay. They gave us information about getting around the city, and suggested events for us to attend. The place was very neat and had all the necessary facilities including internet, a full kitchen, and lockers. It was also in a great location, and we were able to walk everywhere in a reasonable amount of time.

Disliked: There was no soap provided in the bathrooms. Everything else was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, relaxed, great facilities and the staff are fantastic.

Disliked: If you're looking for a party hostel this might not be the one for you as there is no bar. Having said that, we made an awesome time of it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip McMullen

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and it couldn't have been better! The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was ideal: a twenty minute walk anywhere in the city and an incredible safe feeling neighborhood. The building itself was secured, as we're the hostel within it and my room within that. I couldn't have felt more secure! I slept incredibly well on the comfortable, if thin, mattresses and all other guests seemed courteous and polite! Will be back for my next trip in march!

Disliked: Phillip left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliette Biegler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Juliette would recommend this property

Liked: Small place with really cosy atmosphere. Easy to meet people and great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, only 5 minutes walk from Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, Pantheon, etc.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean hostel with very gentle management people, always read to assist you! very close to termini station, 10 min walk! 20 min walk to coliseum also! its a small hostel, so its very quiet at night, very nice.

Disliked: the front desk should be more prepared to inform you regarding tourism. they should have some options or at least point some tourism options, like walking tours or bus tour. Not much was told about it, so I had to go to Termini station to find this things out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, small and great travelers. I think great trips and great hostels are what you make of it. This hostel is really laidback and quiet. If you want to party, they can tell you where to go. I had great conversations in and fun nights out from the people and recommendations from the hostel. My 4 bed en-suite had plenty of space and plenty of lockers. Room was clean, bathroom was clean, it even had a heater in the bathroom for me to dry my towel. Breakfast was simple but then Italian breakfast is usually simple. Very safe area as its in the area with lots of embassies. I really had a good time here.

Disliked: Got a bit confused on the directions getting to the hostel, so be sure to look it up on googlemaps before you jet in. Not exactly in the hottest spot in town, but that's what I wanted, to be in a quiet and very safe neighborhood.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean-Secure-Atmosphere- Staff are really very good.

Disliked: nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels