We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

91.8% Overall Rating

333 out of 337 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2015)

Lucía Acosta thinks…

"The staff is really friendly and it is quite good located. The rooms are big and comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent!"

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

B&B La Dolce Vita Roma
38.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Luxury Rooms in Rome
29.97 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 150 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
34.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
33.30 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 250 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
28.94 USD

Guesthouse 72.5% 21 reviews
B&B L' incanto di Roma
36.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Barberini
44.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
7 Kings relais
36.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

333 out of 337 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 245 of 329 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a solo young female travelling by myself for the first time, I felt safe, comfortable and at home at La Controra. Staff were friendly and the rooms were kept super clean. The facilities were modern and overall Rome (largely because of La Controra) was a highlight of my visit. Great location. Easy to walk to the metro and right near the American Embassy so the streets around were really safe at all times. The atmosphere isn't one of a party hostel, as it's a lot smaller than most. But I certainly met some super friendly and fun people who I explored the Rome nightlife with. Overall I found La Controra set a high standard yet to be superseded! Good work guys :)

Disliked: A little hard to find until you get used to Roman signage. Luckily the building manager was out the front and ushered me in. Apart from that there was nothing I didn't love about this place!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a small property but everyone was really friendly and it was in a safe location. It was about a 20 minute walk to the main sites and easy to get back to at night.

Disliked: Nothing. For the price it was great value.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, walking dstance to everywhere, including Termini so we didn't have to take the metro to get to the hostel. The room was very clean and very new.

Disliked: They had not had time to put up all the lights yet but I guess that will come

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new interior, friendly staff, nice breakfast, felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Highly reccomend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean, free wifi, great location, friendly stuff.

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zoe Moorman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in a really safe neighbourhood right next to the American embassy (which coming from having my bag stolen in Naples meant A LOT), as well as not even five minute walk from Barberini, with heaps of restaurants and attractions. I walked everywhere I wanted to go in the city, all the way from the Colosseum to the Vatican and the Piazza del Popolo, though I have done this in every European city so not sure if I'm just a walker (cities are as flat as a pancake, guys, come on!). The rooms were really nicely decorated, spacious and clean, the bathrooms were impeccable, and there was lots of space in the lockers. Note: I was on the first floor, in the newer rooms, so I don't really know what they were like upstairs. The atmosphere was great, everyone I met there was lovely (Brazilians, holla!) and the common room being a wifi spot brought everyone together and we had some great times. Plus, they had computers, power plugs and bean bags in the common room, along with a printing service where you email the document to the hostel for a small fee (10c or something), which worked quite nicely for everyone I encountered.

Disliked: The wifi was only on the third floor, so staying on the first floor meant going upstairs to use the wifi all the time or huddling on the balcony (though one I guy I met staying on the 3rd floor had to go into the common room for wifi so take from that what you will). Most of the staff were really nice, but the main person who was on duty while I was in was cold and a bit intimidating - none of us really felt comfy asking for recommendations or advice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Simmons

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Much better than I had expected. Had everything I required, and more. I actually ended up staying another night more than I intended, was put into a different room, but same deal.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find. Since the place is in a flat which I wasn't aware of. Also, A6 does not been floor 6, as I thought it did. Since there are 2 doors per floor, it's on floor 3.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Lindquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: clean comfortable rooms. nice staff. kitchen and common room always have people to talk to.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa O'Donovan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellt location and very safe area for solo travellers. Very modern decor and clean.

Disliked: Elisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelli Casaccia

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Michelli would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is small, quiet, clean, and staffs are very friendly. I really recommend it! It has everything you need in a big city as Rome. It`s near the Termini Station (like 7 blocks), it`s clean, they offer you maps of the city and tell you some tips like where and how to go. The breakfast is good, the have juice, milk, coffee, bread, honey, butter, and the best one: nutella!

Disliked: Michelli left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, it´s central in a cool and safe neibourhood, with a lot of highligths nearby, cleanliness, good breakfast and the friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing to say about it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were outstanding!

Disliked: a bit expensive, but i guess that is Rome...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place close to the station and city center, very convenient. It's almost like an appartment and you feel at home.

Disliked: please wash the comforters sometimes, not only the bed linen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bedroom, bed and bathroom. The lounge and the kitchen is a bit small, if there is too many people at same time.

Disliked: One staff member who look likes she is doing a favor to you, barely help you with the services, all the time with her angry face.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Mitchell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Aside from the constant availability of staff, the easy free breakfast, free wifi and lockers, the place is just value for money and womderful all around!

Disliked: Not a single thing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carina Sole

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Carina would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very very tidy and clean. I also liked that it was very modern furnished. Also the common room was comfortable and the staff was very polite and able to speak italian, english and also spanish.

Disliked: The breakfast ist typical italian and therefor not abundant. But i think it is nicer an more authentic to have your "prima colazione" in a small bar anyway.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gemma Liddelow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and recently renovated. Good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: No wifi in room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet area but also within walking distance from all the sights. Slightly tricky to find based on the directions provided but actually was very near the station where the coach took us from the airport.

Disliked: Didn't have curtains in our room which would have been good as our room overlooked the street.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked location and cleanliness. Bathroom are hotel-like (really good).Facilities are new, but looks more like an appartment rather than a hostel.

Disliked: No wifi in room area. Lounge area needs more places to have a sit. Breakfast is not very well served (just a bag with bread, nutella, milk, jam, butter and cereals), but still fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roque Agustín Romano

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Roque Agustín would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location, excelent facilities and services and excelent staff.

Disliked: Roque Agustín left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a brilliant location, about a 10 minute walk from Roma Termi station. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff were helpful.

Disliked: Unfortunately there was an error in my booking, however the staff were very helpful in dealing with the issue, and even gave me a discount as i had initially booked a 3 bed room, and due to the mix up, was in a 6 bed dorm. Some other negatives (and these are relatively minor) is that the street the hostel is located on felt a bit unsafe at night and internet was only available on the main floor. Otherwise, great hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rogério Trevisan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012 Rogério would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, excelent dorms and very good staff

Disliked: Dont have laundry

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sona Weissova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Sona would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind,nice and helpful stuff. The great living room - with the big bags for sitting, television and good place to relax. Good bed, air condition in room,good bathroom, I had plugs for charging behind my head.

Disliked: It is a little far from city centre, but close to Termini station.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ramón López Escaríz

Alone

City break

10 September 2012 Ramón would recommend this property

Liked: buen sitio, limpio y bien situado

Disliked: estuvo bien en general


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels