HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome Rome Hostel

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.39USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

Showing 21-30 of 57 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: --- Clean rooms, hot shower, good breakfast. Located 10 minutes walk to the train station.

Disliked: --- A bit noisy at night when people gather in the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and location

Disliked: No individual lights

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice people working there (Marwa and Dasha are awesome!). Clean rooms and excellent environment. Very close to the Termini. I want to come back there one day! It was the best hostel I've stayed in Italy!

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: nice staff, clean

Disliked: small kitchen and one bathroom only

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The perfect hostel in terms of : Clean, safe, good location, helpfull staff, etc.

Disliked: Only two things that were not so good. - you have to pay an additional 2 euro per person per night which is rome tourist city tax I believe this is true (amsterdam where I lived has something similar) but it wasn't communicated that it was not included in the price wich i didn't found proper...- also, there is for the entire hostel (4 rooms for 3 persons so 12 visitors) only one bathroom (toilet and schower), which is okay if they are seperated, but now you couldn't go to the toilet when someone was using the shower :s. The rest of the hostel was nice, clean, friendly, we got good advice, etc. Thus besides the two downers it was the perfect place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you dear guest for your review, it was a great pleasure to have you among us at La Controra Hostel. We just want to clarify two things : 1-the City tax: it is actually mentioned on hostelbookers (please see Accommodation Information) it is so obvious. 2- The fact that we have only one bathroom for the entire hostel is absolutely not true and you can check that on hostelbookers as well, because all our rooms have a private bathroom except the one that you booked it has a shared bathroom.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was really well located a short walk from the main station, near a tube station and walking distance to all the main attractions. The hostel was very clean throughout. We had a four bed dorm that was spacious and clean with its own bathroom (really nice hot showers). The main office and bigger dorms were two floors up so kept private but still accessible. we enjoyed free internet and watched a movie in the evening. All up a very good hostel with a well deserved reputation.

Disliked: Honestly if I was really looking for something I would say the pillows. They were rather lumpy and thin and they could do with getting some new ones. Also a larger sign at the door of the hostel as we did walk past it the first time. Basically if you are coming from termini and hit the back of the american embassy (big gated building) you have gone too far. It's really easy once you know where it is.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: close to Termini station, attractions

Disliked: not much atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and comfortable, almost like a hotel. The have cleaning stuff everyday, something that you don't see much in hostels.

Disliked: No real atmosphere, specially if you're travelling be yourself; the common area was pretty small. f you feel like partying or meeting people this is not your hostel. They had no activities for travellers, like in other hostels that I've stayed.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel, awesome staff and a nice and quiet place to relax. Would absolutely stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is rather good. Within walking distance to most of the attractions. 5-10 mins walk to metro station. Rooms are clean. Friendly staff able to speak fluent English. There are some good restaurants and Gelateria nearby. Must try 'Gelateria Come il Latte' if ur staying here! Its the best gelato I've had in Rome.

Disliked: No wifi in my room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability