HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

88.7% Overall Rating

324 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Aisling Rowe thinks…

"Staff were extremely helpful. Nice, clean and great location for walking to tourist spots."

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

B&B La Dolce Vita Roma
69.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Luxury Rooms in Rome
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 148 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
45.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 247 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
50.09 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 20 reviews
B&B L' incanto di Roma
41.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B L' incanto di San Pietro
37.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
7 Kings relais
137.89 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

324 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 319 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anish Noble-Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Anish would recommend this property

Liked: Myself and my friend had a great stay here. It was clean and I liked the retro decor too. The staff were helpful and friendly and the overall atmosphere was warm. I also loved the old fashioned lift and the shutters we had in our room. Top marks and value for money in the centre of Rome. A must for the budget minded traveller.

Disliked: N/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and modern and located in a good neighbourhood. easy walk from the train station and to and from major sites.

Disliked: No negative experiences while we were there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff did everything to help me plan my trip in a proper way.. they where really helpful whenever i needed.

Disliked: room can be a bit more clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cherese guille

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 cherese would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom in my room, kitchen to use, tv to watch when hanging out

Disliked: Breakfast was only ok. There was toast and cereal, it would have been nice to have other things like fruit, yogurt and/or hard boiled eggs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, decent location, good value for money.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere if you want to meet other travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Germán Berno

Alone

Business / conference

05 April 2013 Germán would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very clean and ordered. Very quiet place.

Disliked: Germán left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ion Bica

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 April 2013 Ion would recommend this property

Liked: The emplacement.

Disliked: Ion left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tze Choong Charn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Tze Choong would recommend this property

Liked: First and most importantly, excellent service by the lovely reception girls.. they are warm, very helpful and accomodating. People, the right people make a world of difference to one's short stay in a foreign place. Also, the hostel is a very charming place, with character. Huge timber doors, rickety metal grille elevator, black iron spiral staircase, cosy beanbags and more...what's not to love? :)

Disliked: zilch

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very new and CLEAN :) very spacious rooms too. i got into rome late and alone and was looking for a safe area and clean bed. this was the perfect place! definitely recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean room, great location, decent breakfast. The staffs were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and helpful personel

Disliked: Wifi is not working at first floor.and breakfast is very very weak..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin PONSIN

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my 4 nights in La Controra. The staff was really nice and ready to help for any request. There was a well equiped kitchen that was cleaned after each meal. The room was very quiet, suite comfortable. The bathroom was freshly reniewed and everything was perfectly cleaned. Sheets and lock for the wardrobe were very appreciated. To finish, the building has a beautiful old paris style elevator :)

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit light and the place not very easy to find. To avoid any inconvenience, I would advise to print a close map of the hostel's location before to arrive :) Don't forget your towel as they would charge you 2€ for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ang Wang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Ang would recommend this property

Liked: 位置很好,也很安全。 离火车站不远。 房子挺新的,也较宽敞。 服务台也很友好和愿意提供信息。

Disliked: 无。

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance away from most monuments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Codruta Mihaela Lupea

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Codruta Mihaela would recommend this property

Liked: central location close to Piazza di Spagna and Fontana di Trevi very friendly and always ready to help staff cleanliness

Disliked: Codruta Mihaela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Costa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 João would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeus, helpful staff. Perfect cleanlyness. Highly recommended!

Disliked: João left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KuanYi Huang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 KuanYi would recommend this property

Liked: great service attitude

Disliked: KuanYi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like it.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Hostel, new and clean. They receptionist was really helpful when we arrived late on our first night. Awesome stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a solo young female travelling by myself for the first time, I felt safe, comfortable and at home at La Controra. Staff were friendly and the rooms were kept super clean. The facilities were modern and overall Rome (largely because of La Controra) was a highlight of my visit. Great location. Easy to walk to the metro and right near the American Embassy so the streets around were really safe at all times. The atmosphere isn't one of a party hostel, as it's a lot smaller than most. But I certainly met some super friendly and fun people who I explored the Rome nightlife with. Overall I found La Controra set a high standard yet to be superseded! Good work guys :)

Disliked: A little hard to find until you get used to Roman signage. Luckily the building manager was out the front and ushered me in. Apart from that there was nothing I didn't love about this place!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a small property but everyone was really friendly and it was in a safe location. It was about a 20 minute walk to the main sites and easy to get back to at night.

Disliked: Nothing. For the price it was great value.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, walking dstance to everywhere, including Termini so we didn't have to take the metro to get to the hostel. The room was very clean and very new.

Disliked: They had not had time to put up all the lights yet but I guess that will come

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new interior, friendly staff, nice breakfast, felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Highly reccomend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels