HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Rome

Hostel | Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy 00187

91.0% Overall Rating

305 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"--- Clean rooms, hot shower, good breakfast. Located 10 minutes walk to the train station."

Read all La Controra Hostel Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Luxury Rooms in Rome
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 140 reviews
Hotel Seiler **
45.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 43 reviews
B&B Rome
55.29 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 242 reviews
Panorama Prince of via veneto
54.73 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 20 reviews
Viminale Suites
53.90 USD

Apartment 84.9% 11 reviews
7 Kings relais
55.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Italia
78.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 66 reviews
Hotel Priscilla
96.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

305 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Rome'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 232 of 300 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very new and CLEAN :) very spacious rooms too. i got into rome late and alone and was looking for a safe area and clean bed. this was the perfect place! definitely recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean room, great location, decent breakfast. The staffs were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and helpful personel

Disliked: Wifi is not working at first floor.and breakfast is very very weak..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin PONSIN

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my 4 nights in La Controra. The staff was really nice and ready to help for any request. There was a well equiped kitchen that was cleaned after each meal. The room was very quiet, suite comfortable. The bathroom was freshly reniewed and everything was perfectly cleaned. Sheets and lock for the wardrobe were very appreciated. To finish, the building has a beautiful old paris style elevator :)

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit light and the place not very easy to find. To avoid any inconvenience, I would advise to print a close map of the hostel's location before to arrive :) Don't forget your towel as they would charge you 2€ for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ang Wang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Ang would recommend this property

Liked: 位置很好,也很安全。 离火车站不远。 房子挺新的,也较宽敞。 服务台也很友好和愿意提供信息。

Disliked: 无。

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance away from most monuments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Codruta Mihaela Lupea

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Codruta Mihaela would recommend this property

Liked: central location close to Piazza di Spagna and Fontana di Trevi very friendly and always ready to help staff cleanliness

Disliked: Codruta Mihaela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Costa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 João would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeus, helpful staff. Perfect cleanlyness. Highly recommended!

Disliked: João left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KuanYi Huang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 KuanYi would recommend this property

Liked: great service attitude

Disliked: KuanYi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like it.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Hostel, new and clean. They receptionist was really helpful when we arrived late on our first night. Awesome stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a solo young female travelling by myself for the first time, I felt safe, comfortable and at home at La Controra. Staff were friendly and the rooms were kept super clean. The facilities were modern and overall Rome (largely because of La Controra) was a highlight of my visit. Great location. Easy to walk to the metro and right near the American Embassy so the streets around were really safe at all times. The atmosphere isn't one of a party hostel, as it's a lot smaller than most. But I certainly met some super friendly and fun people who I explored the Rome nightlife with. Overall I found La Controra set a high standard yet to be superseded! Good work guys :)

Disliked: A little hard to find until you get used to Roman signage. Luckily the building manager was out the front and ushered me in. Apart from that there was nothing I didn't love about this place!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a small property but everyone was really friendly and it was in a safe location. It was about a 20 minute walk to the main sites and easy to get back to at night.

Disliked: Nothing. For the price it was great value.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, walking dstance to everywhere, including Termini so we didn't have to take the metro to get to the hostel. The room was very clean and very new.

Disliked: They had not had time to put up all the lights yet but I guess that will come

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new interior, friendly staff, nice breakfast, felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Highly reccomend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean, free wifi, great location, friendly stuff.

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zoe Moorman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in a really safe neighbourhood right next to the American embassy (which coming from having my bag stolen in Naples meant A LOT), as well as not even five minute walk from Barberini, with heaps of restaurants and attractions. I walked everywhere I wanted to go in the city, all the way from the Colosseum to the Vatican and the Piazza del Popolo, though I have done this in every European city so not sure if I'm just a walker (cities are as flat as a pancake, guys, come on!). The rooms were really nicely decorated, spacious and clean, the bathrooms were impeccable, and there was lots of space in the lockers. Note: I was on the first floor, in the newer rooms, so I don't really know what they were like upstairs. The atmosphere was great, everyone I met there was lovely (Brazilians, holla!) and the common room being a wifi spot brought everyone together and we had some great times. Plus, they had computers, power plugs and bean bags in the common room, along with a printing service where you email the document to the hostel for a small fee (10c or something), which worked quite nicely for everyone I encountered.

Disliked: The wifi was only on the third floor, so staying on the first floor meant going upstairs to use the wifi all the time or huddling on the balcony (though one I guy I met staying on the 3rd floor had to go into the common room for wifi so take from that what you will). Most of the staff were really nice, but the main person who was on duty while I was in was cold and a bit intimidating - none of us really felt comfy asking for recommendations or advice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Simmons

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Much better than I had expected. Had everything I required, and more. I actually ended up staying another night more than I intended, was put into a different room, but same deal.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find. Since the place is in a flat which I wasn't aware of. Also, A6 does not been floor 6, as I thought it did. Since there are 2 doors per floor, it's on floor 3.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Lindquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: clean comfortable rooms. nice staff. kitchen and common room always have people to talk to.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa O'Donovan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellt location and very safe area for solo travellers. Very modern decor and clean.

Disliked: Elisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelli Casaccia

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Michelli would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is small, quiet, clean, and staffs are very friendly. I really recommend it! It has everything you need in a big city as Rome. It`s near the Termini Station (like 7 blocks), it`s clean, they offer you maps of the city and tell you some tips like where and how to go. The breakfast is good, the have juice, milk, coffee, bread, honey, butter, and the best one: nutella!

Disliked: Michelli left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, it´s central in a cool and safe neibourhood, with a lot of highligths nearby, cleanliness, good breakfast and the friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing to say about it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were outstanding!

Disliked: a bit expensive, but i guess that is Rome...


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels