We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Dreaming Rome Hostel

Hostel | Via Cuma n°2, 00183 Roma, Rome, Italy 00183

95.3% Overall Rating

474 out of 477 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/12/2014)

Rio OMary thinks…

"The property is run by two brothers who genuinely seem to enjoy running a hostel and meeting new people. Every request I had was quickly answered and met with friendliness. Also, Fabio made the whole…"

Read all Dreaming Rome Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 75.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

** Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit for dormitory. Only customer up to the age 35 can book our dormitory.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Sepulveda106
20.24 USD

Hostel 74.5% 15 reviews
Appiaguesthouse
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 71.3% 74 reviews
Casa Di Silvia
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 26 reviews
Lisella B&B
44.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Roi Hotel
28.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.0% 52 reviews
Residenza Laterano
12.64 USD

Guesthouse 64.6% 10 reviews
Mr. Rome Hostel
20.11 USD

Hostel 96.0% 99 reviews
Sleeping Beauty
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 94.1% 256 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

474 out of 477 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dreaming Rome Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 389 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harry Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: like these guys, they are very friendly and helpful. Lovely hostel. Surprises from the hosts too!

Disliked: just a little about location, everything else is excellent.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Wolf

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, convenient - beverages and snacks available for purchase at reasonable prices. Full kitchen, reasonable breakfast included. Clean. Good mix of travelers, even in low season.

Disliked: It is pretty small - not good for claustrophobes! 2 bathrooms for 13 people. Mostly it worked out, but there is really only room for one person cooking at a time, and you're tripping over each other in the kitchen. Still, great value considering it is Rome. Hostel owner absent much of the time, but things were so well organized it was pretty easy to find what was needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Javier Quintanilla

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 November 2011 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, very clean facilities and nice atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF-CLEANLINESS-location (close to san giovanni metro) and the bus 87 just downstair. Whit the BUS 87 you can get off IF front off COLOSSEUM , Piazza Venezia, Piazza Navona, Campo dei fiori.. if you are looking for a place to drink and meet people.. just get this bus, get off to ARGENTINA and there you can choise the place.. They also have computer for the guests, the Wi-Fi is free. there is a Kitchen whit a big Fridge, free Guide, free Book if you the want to borrow. On arrival they also give you a MAp for free. Just Downstair there is a lovely restaurant.. so if you arrive late in the night.. It is perfect. ( pizza is good and cheap) . In the room you have the locker and individual light. The hostel is small and very homely.. so for sure you will meet everybody.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Coles

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Domenico and Fabio are excellent hosts, very helpful. Laptops provided are very useful. Great breakfast service. Good friendly atmosphere between the guests. Close to the metro. A great place to stay.

Disliked: Communal space can be a bit cramped and walk into the city takes a while, but these really aren't a big problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Tilley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: Fabio is the man! Awesome host, very accommodating. Comfy beds and good breakfast. Tells you good places to go out and places to eat etc. Stay here!

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ornella Scibilia

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 November 2011 Ornella would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean,nice and homely. Breakfast is good. Staff is very helpfull. It's very close to the metro and bus station.

Disliked: X

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, it was close to the metro, yet in a neighbourhood that was peaceful and away from all the tourist madness. It was nice and quiet when sleeping at night. The hostel was kept clean and the breakfast was awesome, eggs and yoghurt included. Fabio and Domenico were fabulous hosts who were always friendly and offering food! I also met some very nice people and I would defnately stay here again.

Disliked: The shower was a bit temperamental in terms of temperature. However because everything else was excellent, this is something I can definately live with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco gagliani

Alone

City break

17 November 2011 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Cool homely Hostel

Disliked: x

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing free breakfast until 1pm, brothers are helpful and friendly, wifi, spacious room, lockers, felt like being at home. Would recommend to stay here

Disliked: Not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Lin

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING owners who would go out of their way to ensure the safety and comfort of their guests. The entire concept of the hostel was brilliant - one of the best I've stayed in in Europe! - it's very cosy and intimate, very modern facilities, well-equipped kitchen (good breakfast served) and squeaky clean bathroom. Even though there are only two bathrooms for share, all it takes is some patience and consideration! Location can be a little tricky, especially on your arrival there, as you will have to take the metro and walk about 5-10 minutes, but once you familiarise yourself with the neighbourhood it's really easy, and with good access of metro and bus (I tried out both modes of transport) to all the tourist sights! It's also walkable to the Colosseum. Thanks Fabio and his brother for such a comfortable lovely stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Summers Summers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Ross Summers would recommend this property

Liked: Now I have never written a review for a hostel out of lazyness however I think nessary in this case. The staff have been the most friendly and helpfull I have come across so far even offering to drive us out at times. What they do not mention on hostel bookers is they also have a kitchen coffee and tea all day and other luxuries you wouldn't expect from an average hostel. The location is deceptive it is actualy very close to the attractions of Rome with an easily acessable bus station and metro less than a stroll away. Like I said I don't write reviews but this was one of the best I've stayed at

Disliked: Not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra levy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it was in a residential complex, so you really did feel like you were living in Italy! The owners Fabio and Dominico are super lovely and always smilimg! Breakfast is good and they also buy fruit, yoghurt and biscuits for everyone, which you can also have outside of breakfast. There is a grocery store nearby which is very convenient as there is a kitchen, and the hostel is very close to the metro, about a 15 to 20 min walk to the colosseum. Quiet at night so you could sleep. Very clean and no bed bugs here :)

Disliked: Unfortunately the showers were not very hot so be prepared for Luke-warm/cool showers. It would also be nicer if the common area/kitchen was bigger

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASAF HADDAD

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 ASAF would recommend this property

Liked: Fabio and Domenico (the owners who are brothers as well) are super nice and helpful. The place is really well kept with a good atmosphere. The breakfast is rich and generous, wonderful location.. A great value for money!

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My favourite thing about the place is the people that run it. I had the best time at Dreaming Rome. Fabio and Domenico make you feel welcome and are always willing to point you in the right direction, recommend good places to go, or help you with whatever you need. As soon as I arrived, Fabio handed me a map and marked out where the hostel was and the other points of interest and we were within walking distance of the Colloseum. And before I could ask he told me how long it would take to get there and the bus that I could take if I didn't feel like walking, and where the bus would drop me off on the way back. They're the most helpful people and I was comfortable to ask them about everything. A friend of mine checked out at 4am and Domenico was awake and offered to call a taxi for her. They'll make the stay absolutely worth it. My favourite place I've stayed so far.

Disliked: It's not near all of the sights of Rome, which isn't an issue because it's close to the Metro. But if there's a strike on or something it may be an issue. There was a strike the day I was leaving and Fabio made phone calls to double check for us and help us figure out a way to wherever we had to go. It's also not very big but for me it added to the charm and made it easier to socialise with the other guests.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The brothers are really friendly and helpful. Safe environment. Free breakfast until 1pm.

Disliked: It is a little bit cramped, especially in the kitchen. The showers were cold/luke warm which was frustrating. The bunk beds are shake whenever someone moves around - not the best sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheng Gao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Sheng would recommend this property

Liked: really good location, easy to find and the best thing is the earliest rome icecream store is just outside our window. owners are really helpful and provide lots of informations. A good place to have a good sleep.

Disliked: not a place to meet people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anastasiia Kirianova

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Anastasiia would recommend this property

Liked: Domenico and Fabio are amazing! Really love them) Best hostel ever!

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarina Britos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Katarina would recommend this property

Liked: Great service it wouldnt be great without Fabio and Domenico, they offer amazing help, speak english and it feels like being in a family home.

Disliked: The bathrooms were always clean but sometimes hard to get a bathroom but this could have been the guests at the time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Callum morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything. Domenico and Fabio who run the hostel are probably the nicest two people you will find in rome, nothing is a problem for them and they make you feel right at home. Their service is perfect and the hostel has a great warm feel to it. Its only small which adds to the homely atmosphere and you feel more like you are staying at a friends apartment than staying at a hostel. Thank you for a wonderful stay domenico and fabio!

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eliza Ng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Eliza would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely homely and the toilets were great, not at all like the ones in most hostels. The owner domenico is very nice and helpful as well, making me feel welcome. You can go to him for information. The bed and pillow was good and comfy. There was free breakfast although I had my own from dinner leftover. Location was near enough to main attractions on bus 87 and decent neighborhood but not right in the center. Most hostels are near termini anyway which is a dodgy area, so I read. There are nice deli, small supermarket and food places nearby and it is safe to go back late at night. So for the quality, quite value for money but of course, would be great if it is cheaper and perhaps offer a long-stay special rate. Otherwise, it's a great hostel!-)

Disliked: It's great so no complaints. Perhaps only that there was no airconditioning so I wonder how it would be in summer?!-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joaquin Estrada

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Joaquin would recommend this property

Liked: Fabio and his family run this hostel and they were EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. He even drove some of us to find the best Gelateria in Rome and also to find the late night grocery store. It was easy to meet other travelers here, and while there isn't really a common area, the kitchen and the multi-person rooms were adequately spacious to get to know everyone. I've stayed in three hostels in Rome so far, and this has to be the BEST place to stay by far (considering price, location, cleanliness, and friendliness). I'm definitely looking forward to returning to Rome (especially after throwing my coin in the Trevi fountain) and staying with them again. And Fabio's mother was so sweet! She helped out during meals and cooked some very tasty treats. Ask about the salted ricotta cheese ("ricotta salata"). It was delish!! I have nothing bad to say about this place. It was one of my best experiences in Rome!

Disliked: Too friendly. Too great! (Oh, who am I kidding...) :-P

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Margetts

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and the breakfast was great. They gave us some tips on visiting the Vatican and there was a computer and printer for tickets etc. The room was lovely and they even gave us free wine (twice!).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

filippo lopes

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 filippo would recommend this property

Liked: It has been a stunning experience :D There, you can feel like home. When I arrived, they were eating lunch and soon they also offered me a very tastefull italian lunch. There was their mum who also cooked and offered sweets to everybody :D Then we went out all together hitting the pubs :D I love Rome ! I really loved this hostel and for sure I'm going to return soon. It's also close to metro and 15 min walking from Colosseum. Wowwowoow

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was led in a very friendly way, the hosts are so nice and helpful, you almost feel integrated into their family. The food was divers and good (always enough of everything) and everything was clean and tidy.

Disliked: The direct neighbourhood does not seem to be the very best. But at least it´s not far away from the metro and from the center of historical rome.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels