We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Dreaming Rome Hostel

Hostel | Via Cuma n°2, 00183 Roma, Rome, Italy 00183

96.6% Overall Rating

485 out of 488 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2015)

Erika P. stuart thinks…

"Facilities; the Staff ; the wi-fi ; the kitchen ; the beds ; the location ; everithing . I loved the homely atmosphere . Easy To meet travelers."

Read all Dreaming Rome Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 66.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

** Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit for dormitory. Only customer up to the age 35 can book our dormitory.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Sepulveda106
18.78 USD

Hostel 72.3% 16 reviews
Appiaguesthouse
17.68 USD

Guesthouse 71.3% 74 reviews
Casa Di Silvia
17.13 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Lisella B&B
38.67 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Roi Hotel
25.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.0% 52 reviews
Residenza Laterano
12.51 USD

Guesthouse 64.6% 10 reviews
Mr. Rome Hostel
28.72 USD

Hostel 96.6% 110 reviews
Sleeping Beauty
19.34 USD

Guesthouse 94.1% 256 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.6%

Overall Rating

485 out of 488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dreaming Rome Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 400 of 474 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joshua hynes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Great facilities. Like a second home. Good small hostel with great character! Fabio and Dominico are excellent. Great to hang out with, always willing to help, super friendly and keen for a laugh. Excellent hostel.

Disliked: joshua left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So cozy, welcoming, fun! I loved hanging out with the brothers... it was like living in the movie L'Auberge Espagnol. So good. And the apartment is adorable, colorful. Just fun!

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk to the center, but worth it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at! I traveled to Rome for 5 days around new years 2011-2012. This hostel made the experience unforgettable! It is pristinely clean. A 10 minute walk from the Colosseum. Metro station is right outside. However, the best part by far is the quality of the staff. It is run by brothers--Fabio and Domenico. Nicest guys! Fabio gave me a bottle of wine, for free, the day I arrived. When I was hungry, he gave me his own dinner! He invited the guests to go out with himself and his friends for a night in Rome! He makes pasta and pizza for the guests. He has towels, toothpaste, beer, wine, free breakfast (yogurt, cereal, pastries...), and so on. In short--awesome owner! The hostel has a great atmosphere. I made many friends as a solo traveler. If you're going to Rome, stay here!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulo Fernando Ferreira Silva Filho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Paulo Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really friendly atmosphere

Disliked: the location is not good, it is difficult to find it. It is not a usual hostel, as I was aquainted to be hosted, so I took sometime to find it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Sibiryakova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever! Fabio and Domenico are the best hosts ever! They really like what they are doing, and they will make you feel very special. I had a great time in this hostel. Special thanks to Fabio! He is an amazing person and a very talented hair artist: he styled my hair when I was going out for a dinner! I am definitely staying here next time I am visiting Rome.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ChangYeol Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 ChangYeol would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: clean and friendly

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Stanfield

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Wow. I cannot imagine a more enjoyable hostel in Rome, or in Italy. I am writing from a big, noisy hostel in Florence, where I am missing the unique and friendly atmosphere of Dreaming Rome Hostel. It's a beautiful hostel, and only 20 people can stay there, so it's easy to make friends there if you are traveling alone. Ideal for a woman traveling alone, in fact, because there is a family hosting you, and the other guests become like family, too. We had fun sharing Spumante and playing Uno around the kitchen table one night. It is close to the bus and metro, and in a safe area with plenty of restaurants and markets nearby. I intended to stay only a couple of days but stayed more than a week, sharing Christmas with them. The thing I liked most is that, unlike the place where I am now, there was a generosity of spirit there that is rare. Fabio, Domenico, and their mom were always sharing ... champagne, music, tiramisu, laughter, ideas, interests. It was like we are special guests in their home. I would definitely stay there again, unless I stay at their other place to spend time with Donatella, who was a great hostess.

Disliked: Nothing. The hot water problem mentioned by others was apparently fixed, because there was no problem for me or the other guests during my stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ling Zhang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Ling would recommend this property

Liked: I think the staff is really helpful and nice. And the kitchen is great, we were allowed to use almost everything there and the hostel is decorated in a very cute way. Everything is kept in good condition. I love it to stay there. Free wifi everywhere, free lockers, good location though may not be the best, safe.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fan Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Fan would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff. Friendly and helpful. The location is good, as well. Just 3 minutes walk to metro station. I received a bottle of wine as Christmas gift from the hostel. They are so kind! It's not a big hostel, so that it is quiet and makes you feel safe. If I visit Rome again, I will definetly choose this hostel again. Thank you for giving me a good memory.

Disliked: Water for shower is not so big, but still warm enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everithing!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The brothers who run Dreaming Rome are GREAT. They are super hospitable and helpful and their English is quite good. The place is cleaner than most people's houses, which I really appreciated, and is small so you can get to know the other people staying there (if you so desire). You're basically staying in their apartment, which is lovely. It's a very fun atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: There was not hot water while I was there. The water wasn't frigid, but it was only tepid at best, and the weather was very cold which made the cool water more frustrating. That is my only complaint.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harry Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: like these guys, they are very friendly and helpful. Lovely hostel. Surprises from the hosts too!

Disliked: just a little about location, everything else is excellent.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Wolf

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, convenient - beverages and snacks available for purchase at reasonable prices. Full kitchen, reasonable breakfast included. Clean. Good mix of travelers, even in low season.

Disliked: It is pretty small - not good for claustrophobes! 2 bathrooms for 13 people. Mostly it worked out, but there is really only room for one person cooking at a time, and you're tripping over each other in the kitchen. Still, great value considering it is Rome. Hostel owner absent much of the time, but things were so well organized it was pretty easy to find what was needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Javier Quintanilla

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 November 2011 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, very clean facilities and nice atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF-CLEANLINESS-location (close to san giovanni metro) and the bus 87 just downstair. Whit the BUS 87 you can get off IF front off COLOSSEUM , Piazza Venezia, Piazza Navona, Campo dei fiori.. if you are looking for a place to drink and meet people.. just get this bus, get off to ARGENTINA and there you can choise the place.. They also have computer for the guests, the Wi-Fi is free. there is a Kitchen whit a big Fridge, free Guide, free Book if you the want to borrow. On arrival they also give you a MAp for free. Just Downstair there is a lovely restaurant.. so if you arrive late in the night.. It is perfect. ( pizza is good and cheap) . In the room you have the locker and individual light. The hostel is small and very homely.. so for sure you will meet everybody.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Coles

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Domenico and Fabio are excellent hosts, very helpful. Laptops provided are very useful. Great breakfast service. Good friendly atmosphere between the guests. Close to the metro. A great place to stay.

Disliked: Communal space can be a bit cramped and walk into the city takes a while, but these really aren't a big problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Tilley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: Fabio is the man! Awesome host, very accommodating. Comfy beds and good breakfast. Tells you good places to go out and places to eat etc. Stay here!

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ornella Scibilia

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 November 2011 Ornella would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean,nice and homely. Breakfast is good. Staff is very helpfull. It's very close to the metro and bus station.

Disliked: X

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, it was close to the metro, yet in a neighbourhood that was peaceful and away from all the tourist madness. It was nice and quiet when sleeping at night. The hostel was kept clean and the breakfast was awesome, eggs and yoghurt included. Fabio and Domenico were fabulous hosts who were always friendly and offering food! I also met some very nice people and I would defnately stay here again.

Disliked: The shower was a bit temperamental in terms of temperature. However because everything else was excellent, this is something I can definately live with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco gagliani

Alone

City break

17 November 2011 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Cool homely Hostel

Disliked: x

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing free breakfast until 1pm, brothers are helpful and friendly, wifi, spacious room, lockers, felt like being at home. Would recommend to stay here

Disliked: Not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Lin

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING owners who would go out of their way to ensure the safety and comfort of their guests. The entire concept of the hostel was brilliant - one of the best I've stayed in in Europe! - it's very cosy and intimate, very modern facilities, well-equipped kitchen (good breakfast served) and squeaky clean bathroom. Even though there are only two bathrooms for share, all it takes is some patience and consideration! Location can be a little tricky, especially on your arrival there, as you will have to take the metro and walk about 5-10 minutes, but once you familiarise yourself with the neighbourhood it's really easy, and with good access of metro and bus (I tried out both modes of transport) to all the tourist sights! It's also walkable to the Colosseum. Thanks Fabio and his brother for such a comfortable lovely stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Summers Summers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Ross Summers would recommend this property

Liked: Now I have never written a review for a hostel out of lazyness however I think nessary in this case. The staff have been the most friendly and helpfull I have come across so far even offering to drive us out at times. What they do not mention on hostel bookers is they also have a kitchen coffee and tea all day and other luxuries you wouldn't expect from an average hostel. The location is deceptive it is actualy very close to the attractions of Rome with an easily acessable bus station and metro less than a stroll away. Like I said I don't write reviews but this was one of the best I've stayed at

Disliked: Not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra levy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it was in a residential complex, so you really did feel like you were living in Italy! The owners Fabio and Dominico are super lovely and always smilimg! Breakfast is good and they also buy fruit, yoghurt and biscuits for everyone, which you can also have outside of breakfast. There is a grocery store nearby which is very convenient as there is a kitchen, and the hostel is very close to the metro, about a 15 to 20 min walk to the colosseum. Quiet at night so you could sleep. Very clean and no bed bugs here :)

Disliked: Unfortunately the showers were not very hot so be prepared for Luke-warm/cool showers. It would also be nicer if the common area/kitchen was bigger

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASAF HADDAD

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 ASAF would recommend this property

Liked: Fabio and Domenico (the owners who are brothers as well) are super nice and helpful. The place is really well kept with a good atmosphere. The breakfast is rich and generous, wonderful location.. A great value for money!

Disliked: nothing!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels