HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of A Casa Di Penelope

Guesthouse | Via Varese 5, (1st Floor), Rome, Italy 00185

81.3% Overall Rating

89 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2013)

jessica reyna thinks…

"Excelete, limpio,comodo,centrico,tranquilo y el personal extremadamente amable. Repetire sin duda .Lo recomiendo ."

Read all A Casa Di Penelope reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 78.79
  • Breakfast USD 6.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar
26.00 USD

Hostel 89.1% 1014 reviews
Hotel MARI
23.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 7 reviews
B&B Alex
39.40 USD

Guesthouse 70.4% 67 reviews
Hotel Positano
23.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.0% 62 reviews
Termini Accommodation
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 193 reviews
Eurorooms
23.64 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 26 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
23.64 USD

Hostel 81.1% 239 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

89 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Casa Di Penelope'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El cuarto limpio y amplio.

Disliked: Los espacios comunes. Poco amigable, oscuro, pequeño.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica reyna

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 June 2013 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Excelete, limpio,comodo,centrico,tranquilo y el personal extremadamente amable. Repetire sin duda .Lo recomiendo .

Disliked: Tal vez que al no ser un hotel en forma fue dificil encontrarlo.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcio Gaschi Junior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2013 Marcio would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the staff and the location

Disliked: I dislike the shower, because don't have enough hot water to 3 people take a shower in a roll

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominika Szala

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 March 2013 Dominika would recommend this property

Liked: me and my Mum choiced A Casa Di Penelope for our girly weekend in Rome. It was a great decission! Staff was super friendly, room excacley like on their website, 5min to Termini Station and 7min from Metro stop.There is also a lot of small,family run restaurants around the hotel- ristorante di Andrea was our favorite!very good value and autentic Itaian food. I can higly recomend to everyone!

Disliked: It will be nice to have a ketlle in a room- I was dying for a cup of tea after all day walking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Birute Teskeviciene

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 February 2013 Birute would recommend this property

Liked: good location and good value for money

Disliked: No

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

THEODORA KYRIAKOPOULOU

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 THEODORA would recommend this property

Liked: It did not look like a hotel or hostel at all. It was was very close to the termini station .It was nice, clean and simple.

Disliked: The double bed was two beds together but ok, not that bad. It is just that I asked specificaly for a double bed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. IKEA furniture.

Disliked: NOISE.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here felt like you had your own little apartment in Rome, which was fun as you can pretend you live there for a few days! Air con was brill, lovely bright and spacious room, bathroom was great - the shower rocked! The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean. The location is brilliant, a stones throw from the train station, and walking distance to all the main attractions.

Disliked: niente!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not very clean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff Convienient to get transportation

Disliked: The floor looks cheap Many things (lamp, sink, soap dispenser) not installed properly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It locates close to the public traffic center Termini and is very convenient. It is worthwhile for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dávid Jécsi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Dávid would recommend this property

Liked: good location value for money

Disliked: no wifi signal in the rooms extra thin walls (really)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got the 4 room apartment, and the place was very big, and it wasn't very expensive. The front desk was always available to us at reasonable hours, and they were very nice.

Disliked: The only issue I had was the water pipes in the middle of the room. It's a trade off because the main room was much larger because of the wall that was taken down.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very close to the trains station and the city center - clean, nice rooms, free WiFi, nice bathroom

Disliked: - inexperienced staff (friendly but ...). They woke us up at 2am because they forgot to ask us details on our ID's. They woke us in the middle of the night because another customer locked herself outside and they did not have spare keys and had to go trough the balcony (from our room). They do not seem to know the walls are thin and they talk during the night (they stop if you ask them, but ...) - thin walls. Everybody hears everyone

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff, but not all of them, only one was horrible.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were upgraded to a beautiful two bedroom apartment after booking a double room. This apartment is still being furnished so the facilities were basic but the space was lovely. With the shutters closed it was also very quiet.

Disliked: The owner wasn't at reception when we went to check out. We had to phone the hotel number and wait 15 minutes for him to arrive. He said he had waited for us the night before until midnight, but we are unsure why as he had never said that he expected us to pay the night before. We got back to our room at 8 so he could have knocked if he needed to. He also charged us extra to pay by credit card. As a result of the delay in checking out we missed our flights and had to purchase new ones, so it ended up being a very expensive stay! It saddens me that our stay ended this way as the owner had been very friendly and we loved our upgraded room. I would suggest anyone staying here clarify checkout procedures when they check in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Coles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to termini station which was perfect for our sightseeing. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean.

Disliked: Wasn't what I was expecting and the third bed was a fold out which took up a lot of the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Selim Demirkiran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Selim would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was the best place for interaillers. Good beds, nice staff. Room was pretty cool.

Disliked: Internet works only in hall. Quite expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location only a short walk from Termini, and the area was not seedy like I was expecting. The room was everything we needed, including a clean private bathroom - and the aircon was a saviour! Having keys was good so we could come and go as we pleased. We were also able to leave our luggage when we arrived and on the day we were leaving. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing shower, very clean bathrooms. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. It's close enough to the train terminal, on a quiet side though (which is a good thing -- peaceful nights). There are restaurants near the station that opens late into the night, which was convenient as well. Besides, there is a safe installed in each room -- a very thoughtful design for the dodgy italy. The staff was very nice and friendly, but the first night we arrived we had doubts because it was very late and they arranged a stranger to open the gate for us.

Disliked: Walls were not soundproof but not a problem unless you have a very very noisy neighbor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ROGERIO SCHEIBE FILHO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2011 ROGERIO would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: is not that clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and great furnishings, nothing too lavish and well priced!

Disliked: the unfriendliness of the cleaner!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, very close to Termini Station. Airconditioning was great in the rooms and a safety deposit box was supplied in rooms. Was new and clean, so as far as a bed to stay in, it's a good place.

Disliked: Staff weren't always around, was difficult to get into as it is on 1st floor through 3 doors, so if you don't have a key you need staff to be there. Hard to find as it is in an apartment building with no real signage. One day we were forced to leave our keys at reception as we had to change rooms, we were told there would be someone there to let us in. When we arrived back, no staff where anywhere to be seen. We had to wait on the street for 2 hours for someone else who was staying there to come back and let us in. Showers were quite often cold and WIFI was only available on a bench in the hall. Walls very thin, so can hear everything happening down the other end of the hall.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011

Liked: The owner put us up in his hotel around the corner, it was clean and had air con.

Disliked: They take the time that you put as your estimated arrival time very literally. The reception isn't 24hrs the owner turns up when you say your will be checking in and asks you when you are going to check out. Was really quite hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was really nice and the manager was very helpful and attentive. We really love the place, if we come back to Rome, we will definetly stay there.

Disliked: The only thing is that I would like to have internet wifi in my room. But besides that nothing, everything was EXCELLENT. 100% LOVE IT.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels