HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ares Rooms

Guesthouse | Via Domenichino 7, Rome, Italy 00184

80.1% Overall Rating

70 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2013)

"The property was incredibly central. We were within walking distance from every main tourist attraction and next to the cafe where we breakfasted each morning. It was a sparse room, but fairly clean, and we only really…"

Read all Ares Rooms reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Martino ai Monti
38.70 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 26 reviews
Casa Della Amicizia
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 79.8% 88 reviews
Gaia B&B
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 75.4% 319 reviews
Blue Hostel
69.11 USD

Hostel 92.8% 125 reviews
Pensione Maggiore
31.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.3% 35 reviews
Hotel Giubileo
65.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 83 reviews
Auditorium Di Mecenate
80.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 234 reviews
Hotel Portafortuna
48.38 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

70 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ares Rooms'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24h working entrance

Disliked: shower temp

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christine Steinmetz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, 24hours. Clean bathrooms and the location is unbeatable

Disliked: Beds were a bit old.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was incredibly central. We were within walking distance from every main tourist attraction and next to the cafe where we breakfasted each morning. It was a sparse room, but fairly clean, and we only really needed it to sleep anyway; so it was well worth the money. The Hostel Staff are all friendly, pleasant and willing to help. The view from the room was lovely.

Disliked: May have a small problem with bed bugs.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Taras Zakharchenko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: In the very center of the Rome. You do not need public transport! Every time we came back our bads were maked.

Disliked: No kitchen, one of the bathrooms need to be repaired, many other things need to be fixed too. No common rooms to communicate with other visitors.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: A confusion about monetary items. We didn't know that we needed to pay taxes. Would be good if this hostel mention it at the characteristics of the hostel (we skipped any of them -with a better location- for this reason). Is mandatory to pay taxes in Rome but didn't into account before is a surprise at time to be requested for.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vasileios Zampakolas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013

Liked: I stayed to Ares hostel mith my husband during our trip to Rome and I can say that I am satisfied from the price (lower than the average hostel-price in Rome), the spacious rooms, the covinient location ( 15-20 minutes walking to colosseum and Roman Forum) and the 24h hot water for shower.

Disliked: What I didnt like is that I got bitten by bed bugs the second night and more over when my husband complained about it to the reception, we got a very immature response. Also the stuff is not that social or helpful..but polite in an official way.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keegan Smoker

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Keegan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to access every attraction, quiet area, very clean, well priced.

Disliked: Staff can be loud, staff is bad with giving directions.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the metro station and Colosseo. Staff was helpful.

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't work good. If they repair their bathroom, it's good place for staying. And I thought that taxes included the price but it wasn't. They charged us 4 euro that wasn't mention before booking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really nice

Disliked: Just be carefull to go straight to Ares room,5th floor , since there are other hostels in that flat.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! The staff were very nice and the rooms were very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth McNally

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly, facility very clean.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was just great!

Disliked: There is no socialising room really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the best time staying at Ares Rooms! The rooms are very spacious and clean! We had amazing hospitality with the free breakfast, free wifi, and clean towels everyday!ll! I Highly recommend if you are looking for a nice, clean, and friendly place to stay! Oh, and did I mention its central location? Its only 15 min walk to the colosseum! I can't wait to visit the Ares Rooms again!

Disliked: Nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MIN CHEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 MIN would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price compare to the other Rome hostel, fair facility and friendly staff

Disliked: location is a little hided,whrere it is in a resident block, no bar, kitchen, air condition and public computer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Santullo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: massive room.. friendly staff

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to alot of attractions. Walking distance for many of them. Staff were VERY friendly and helpful. A homely stay and the atmosphere is very relaxed and easy going. Staff are always willing to help you with any queries and will go the extra mile to help you out. The place is kept exceptionally clean. Really really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Not really a dislike so much as a couple of notes. The room we stayed in was a little on the small side, but then we were only there to sleep so this wasn't an issue at all. If you are expecting luxury then you wont get this, but if you want a nice room that is clean, central and filled with very friendly people then you cant go wrong with Ares rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect- right in the centre of the city at very affordable prices. The staff were lovely and helpful and were always smiling. Breakfast was included and consisted of a large pastry each and drinks which were more than enough to help start the day. The nearest metro was 5/10 minutes walk in either direction. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to anybody thinking of travelling to Rome.

Disliked: The only issue we had was locating the hostel. When you enter the property make sure that you turn right straight away and make sure you go up to the FIFTH floor rather than making the mistake we made and stopping at the sign on the third.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sanjeev Bansal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Sanjeev would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very near to Colosseum and central railway station and bus station.

Disliked: Only two common washrooms. The hostel is area is very small, very small common area. Only two croissants were provided on the name of breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la cortesia del personale ed anche le stanze sono confortevoli e pulizia nei bagni ottima!!

Disliked: Magari un qualcosa in piu per la prima colazione!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Chow

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and toilets, big beds.

Disliked: Nil.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Robinson

Alone

Business / conference

17 April 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant place - excellent staff always willing to help, large room, very clean, nice coffee shop breakfast - would certainly stay again.

Disliked: The lift was broken so the flights of stairs were a little tiring.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Short distance to many sights. Staff was friendly. Rooms were OK.

Disliked: Room smelled like someone was smoking in there the hole time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryant Windham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Bryant would recommend this property

Liked: Two of my friends and I (all early twenties one male and two females) stayed at Ares for three nights. It was probably the Mister enjoyable stay I've had anywhere. The bed were comfortable, the rooms spotless (they even folded my clothes when making the bed), and the manager was so accommodating that he made our breakfast (massive and delicious pastries each morning) at 7:15 just so we could get started on our day. There are two bathrooms for the maybe six rooms, and they are kept very clean. I felt comfortable walking there and back barefooted. The location looks a little sketchy (like most of Rome), but it was very safe. I even made a run to the pizza/kebab literally around the corner at nearly midnight and had no troubles (I recommend that place too as the gentleman is so friendly). There is included wifi that works well, and the whole place stays pretty quiet. It is on the fifth floor, but there is also a two person lift. YOU MUST TAKE THE FIRST RIGHT once you enter the from entrance. I nearly walked right past it. It is also the 5th, not the 3rd floor (as my companions learned). Over all, even with three of us splitting a 4 person room, it was a terrific find.

Disliked: The shower is small (but kept clean).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zsuzsanna Szalai

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Zsuzsanna would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, clean rooms and bathroom, full safety and easy access with your own keys, 24h reception where you can ask your questions anytime, luggage room to use before your check in / after your check out. Perfect for a short sightseeing trip.

Disliked: First we got a small room with a very small bed as a double bed, and no sink - clearly not what we expected, and it had no room number on the door, just a private sign, so I think that was the staff room and we got that because all rooms had been occupied and we arrived last. After some talking (right after the check in,and in the next morning) finally we got a bigger room for the other two nights, with the conditions given here on the site.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexa Cupo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Alexa would recommend this property

Liked: I was pleasantly surprised at how clean the rooms were and how friendly the staff was. They answered all our questions and were really helpful. Really happy I went with this place, best value for the money I could have asked for.

Disliked: Kind of confusing to find at first


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels