We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Des Artistes

Hostel | Via Villafranca 20, Rome, Italy 00185

84.6% Overall Rating

231 out of 264 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2015)

"For the price it's a good hostel. Everything get's cleaned every day, you have a fridge outside of the room (but no kitchen!) and lockers are also outside of the room. The location is good, close to the central station…"

Read all Hostel Des Artistes reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.88
  • Towel USD 3.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment policy: Payment is due upon arrival in CASH. LOCAL CITY TAX For all guest bookings with the period of stay from 1st January 2011 onwards, a local tax of 3,- Euro per person per day must be paid. This is an additional charge and is not included in the room rate. You have to pay it directly in the hostel in cash only. CANCELLATION POLICY: You should give us 3 full days notice of your cancellation prior to your arrival by email or fax. Failing to do so will result in a one-night charge on your card. We don't accept phone cancellations. So if you have a booking starting 25 june this means you can cancel your reservation until 21 june midnight Italy time. Dorm beds : Limit of age is 36 years old. If you have booked for more than 1 person please note that although we will try our best to keep you all together in one room we cannot guarantee it. If staying together is essential then we suggest you book a private room. Preauthorization on card as a guarantee : Kindly note that the credit card required at the time of booking is as a guarantee only and a few days before due arrival we will run a small verification that funds are sufficient, and this for the amount of the first night. This is not a payment, however the sum will be as a result frozen and therefore will be unavailable for the next few weeks. On your bank statement it may show as a pending payment whereas in fact it is only a preauthorization which expires automatically, and money then reverts to your account.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Carlito's Way
21.10 USD

Hostel 81.6% 91 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
26.10 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 10 reviews
Hotel MARI
28.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Hotel Positano
22.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.6% 71 reviews
Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar
28.88 USD

Hostel 83.7% 1051 reviews
Hotel Cristina
25.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.9% 213 reviews
The Yellow
30.61 USD

Hostel 86.9% 1127 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
22.21 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

231 out of 264 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Des Artistes'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 182 of 254 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff members were helpful

Disliked: Toilet

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to Termini station and very friendly stuff who helped us with useful information.

Disliked: Very noisy starting from 6 o'clock in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013

Liked: everything was ok

Disliked: Very noisy from outdoors, age limit on 35 years, though I saw everyday people older than me

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2013

Liked: Nothing. The only person who was nice to us was the guy who helped us carry our luggage-

Disliked: The place wasn`t clean at all; especially the bathrooms. Part of the staff was very rude and they didn`t respect our reservation, giving us unsatisfactory solutions. They charge you for the wifi a day, which I believe it`s kind of cheap.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Dark small room. Dirty bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good position, located right in the heart of the city, close to the public transport, clean rooms, the room has enough space

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location! Very convenient from the train station and an easy walk to the Colosseum.

Disliked: Wi-fi was not included and it wasn't a fast connection. If you're paying for it the speed should be faster.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheryl Davison

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Sheryl would recommend this property

Liked: The character and location were great.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIEUN JUN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 April 2013 JIEUN would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean like hotel

Disliked: I am in 5th floor and very difficult to adjust hot and cold water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tin-Tin Azure

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Tin-Tin would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness were great.

Disliked: The time that the common room and roof terrace were shut (11pm). We would have liked to sit up there at night either after first arriving whilst waiting for friends or just in general after returning to the hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localization, Service staff, very clean.

Disliked: no payment with credit card.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Kriz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast for 8 EUR is worth the many.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Derryn Brinton-Wragg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Derryn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, staff prepared to go the extra mile.

Disliked: I didn't realise there was an age restriction when making the booking and so when I arrived I was told that I couldn't stay in one of the doorms and had to take a single room at an increased price. However, the staff were fantastic and gave me a small discount and included wi-fi in the coast of the room. For other travellers, note that wi-fi is charged. They provide breakfast at an extra cost of €8 which I think is quite steep but it isa substantial meal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kelsi Mueller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Kelsi would recommend this property

Liked: The 8 euro breakfast was the best paid breakfast at a hostel that we have had! The rooms were very nice. You are within ealking distance to all the major sites too.

Disliked: The only downside was sharing bathrooms with your floor because they got dirty fairly quick, but I didn't pay for a private bathroom so that is expected.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

imran malik mian

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 February 2013 imran malik would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roman Kravets

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms

Disliked: nothin

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica L'Heureux

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful in providing directions to tourist spots, how to use the transit system and where to eat!

Disliked: There were too many people on a floor in the private rooms with a shared bathroom. We often had to wait for people to finish in the bathroom for quite sometime before we could get ready in the mornings. The bathroom was also a bit of a problem when you were in the shower and people would bang on the door the entire time to get you out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Monich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: It's a perfect hotel, so it is not good if your are looking for hostel to meet people, but it is really good!

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and friendly and cheap

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in Rome! I was surprised to find such a nice and clean place to stay for a few money. It is situated close to the central railway station and quite everything you may want to see in this city is good accessible by bus from there (you can also walk, like I did). The breakfast-deal in the bar in front of this hostel is absolutely worth to try! A good place, I strongly reccomend to stay there! P.S.: if you are arriving by metro (e.g. from Roma-Ciampino-airport), go to Castro Pretorio (blue line), it is closer to the hostel then Termini.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012

Liked: Close to Roma Termini

Disliked: Not very good to meet new people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sleep was good: Beds are comfortable, room was quiet enough with closed window. Bathrooms are nice and clean.

Disliked: No kitchen, not even a kettel. But I think there was a microwave you could use. Not sure if it was really for guests. ;-)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012

Liked: It was very clean, and the beds were very comfy.

Disliked: I booked a 5 bed dorm (the biggest on offer) purposefully to meet new people, yet they put me in a 3 bed dorm with only one other person - and we couldn't even speak the same language. This would be a good thing for lots of people who want peace and quiet but I wanted fun. There was absolutely no atmosphere, and no where to meet people. More like a hotel than a hostel. Also, had to pay for the internet every day, and it only works on one device (if you want it to work on more than one, say laptop and phone you have to pay double)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 3 bed room. Clean, and classy. Tv, ceiling fan, comfortable enough bed, clean bathroom/shower room (separate facility just down the hall).

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels