We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Des Artistes

Hostel | Via Villafranca 20, Rome, Italy 00185

83.3% Overall Rating

210 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"Staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke English well and were always able to give us clear and understandable directions. We were provided with a map on our arrival which shows many of the main attractions in…"

Read all Hostel Des Artistes reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.26
  • Towel USD 4.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment policy: Payment is due upon arrival in CASH. LOCAL CITY TAX For all guest bookings with the period of stay from 1st January 2011 onwards, a local tax of 3,- Euro per person per day must be paid. This is an additional charge and is not included in the room rate. You have to pay it directly in the hostel in cash only. CANCELLATION POLICY: You should give us 3 full days notice of your cancellation prior to your arrival by email or fax. Failing to do so will result in a one-night charge on your card. We don't accept phone cancellations. So if you have a booking starting 25 june this means you can cancel your reservation until 21 june midnight Italy time. Dorm beds : Limit of age is 36 years old. If you have booked for more than 1 person please note that although we will try our best to keep you all together in one room we cannot guarantee it. If staying together is essential then we suggest you book a private room. Preauthorization on card as a guarantee : Kindly note that the credit card required at the time of booking is as a guarantee only and a few days before due arrival we will run a small verification that funds are sufficient, and this for the amount of the first night. This is not a payment, however the sum will be as a result frozen and therefore will be unavailable for the next few weeks. On your bank statement it may show as a pending payment whereas in fact it is only a preauthorization which expires automatically, and money then reverts to your account.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Carlito's Way
25.66 USD

Hostel 80.9% 89 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
37.20 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 7 reviews
Hotel MARI
33.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Hotel Positano
23.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.0% 65 reviews
Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar
29.51 USD

Hostel 89.7% 1017 reviews
Cristina Hotel
29.51 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.5% 209 reviews
The Yellow
33.35 USD

Hostel 90.6% 1086 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
35.28 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

210 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Des Artistes'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 169 of 231 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kelsi Mueller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Kelsi would recommend this property

Liked: The 8 euro breakfast was the best paid breakfast at a hostel that we have had! The rooms were very nice. You are within ealking distance to all the major sites too.

Disliked: The only downside was sharing bathrooms with your floor because they got dirty fairly quick, but I didn't pay for a private bathroom so that is expected.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

imran malik mian

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 February 2013 imran malik would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roman Kravets

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms

Disliked: nothin

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica L'Heureux

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful in providing directions to tourist spots, how to use the transit system and where to eat!

Disliked: There were too many people on a floor in the private rooms with a shared bathroom. We often had to wait for people to finish in the bathroom for quite sometime before we could get ready in the mornings. The bathroom was also a bit of a problem when you were in the shower and people would bang on the door the entire time to get you out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Monich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: It's a perfect hotel, so it is not good if your are looking for hostel to meet people, but it is really good!

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and friendly and cheap

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in Rome! I was surprised to find such a nice and clean place to stay for a few money. It is situated close to the central railway station and quite everything you may want to see in this city is good accessible by bus from there (you can also walk, like I did). The breakfast-deal in the bar in front of this hostel is absolutely worth to try! A good place, I strongly reccomend to stay there! P.S.: if you are arriving by metro (e.g. from Roma-Ciampino-airport), go to Castro Pretorio (blue line), it is closer to the hostel then Termini.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012

Liked: Close to Roma Termini

Disliked: Not very good to meet new people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sleep was good: Beds are comfortable, room was quiet enough with closed window. Bathrooms are nice and clean.

Disliked: No kitchen, not even a kettel. But I think there was a microwave you could use. Not sure if it was really for guests. ;-)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012

Liked: It was very clean, and the beds were very comfy.

Disliked: I booked a 5 bed dorm (the biggest on offer) purposefully to meet new people, yet they put me in a 3 bed dorm with only one other person - and we couldn't even speak the same language. This would be a good thing for lots of people who want peace and quiet but I wanted fun. There was absolutely no atmosphere, and no where to meet people. More like a hotel than a hostel. Also, had to pay for the internet every day, and it only works on one device (if you want it to work on more than one, say laptop and phone you have to pay double)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 3 bed room. Clean, and classy. Tv, ceiling fan, comfortable enough bed, clean bathroom/shower room (separate facility just down the hall).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel like instead of hostel

Disliked: no wifi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viliyana Boyanova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Viliyana would recommend this property

Liked: It was really charming place, colourful and stilish. It is basically a very good location if one wants to be close to the Termini rail station.

Disliked: I booked 3 rooms for 9 people, but it turned out that we were only 8. Nevertheless, we had to pay the 9th bed, eventhough we were only 8 people. Also, one guy of the stuff was not very friendly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Proximity to train station

Disliked: Staff were rude, twice. The only two times we had cause to speak to them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

willem lieftink

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 willem would recommend this property

Liked: we were in a private double, beautiful room great security and free net in office. real close to central train station and great pizza and icecream joints.

Disliked: no free wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpfull staff, higienic bathrooms, rooms are cleaned every day, good location near termini station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Poor direction description. in fact, when you are out of the train station,turn left and walk for 50m, you can see a chinese restaurant on the opposite side, follow the street walk for a few blocks, you can see a sign of canadian hotel, turn left and you see the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most of staffs there are agreeable. We are very thankful to Mr. Alduis for his warmed-heart, gave us many advice on the daily help and managed our journey.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we used has a security box and a basin. The staff gave us a good instruction about the metro in Rome. The room was cleaner than I imagined. It was more like a hotel than a hostel. The location is very good. One can reach the hostel from the central station in Rome on foot.

Disliked: It was obvious that somebody smoked in the bathroom. But this is not the fault of the hostel but of client. This is matter of taste, but this hostel is for people who want to stay quietly and relax but not for people who want to find friends there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pakorn Rattanatamrong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Pakorn would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and cleanliness

Disliked: Wifi is not free. 2 euros per day for only one connection.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean room. Big Wardrobe! New towels every day, Breakfast Bar in front. Internet. Possibilitiy to store bikes in Garage. Walls and Pictures very nice!

Disliked: Quite far from old center, Breakfast/PC-room semi-cozy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean the staff were very helpful, the location is four blocks from the train station in my overall stay was very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam May

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is definately worth it! we were not expecting it to be that nice as its quite cheap but its like a 4 star hotel. The staff were very helpful,there is a lift to each floor. the rooms are extremely clean and big,they have fans and tv, the showers are only shared between two bathrooms so thats fine there were never any queues. They promote a restaurant opposite for breakfast for 1.50 euro which is a bargain and nice. location is great, right near the train station. they hold their own breakfast for 8 euros which sounds like alot but it is a buffet and really nice, and keeps you full through lunch! free internet also, and a lovely rooftop terrace where we played cards :)

Disliked: nothing really, just be careful when you open your blinds and windows as another hotel is opposite and can see straight in!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Fedorczak

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: The localization was great just few minutes to termini. Room was clean and safe. Staf was helpful and friendly. You also can get cupons for breakfest for 1,5 euro (cappuccino, juice and croissant). I would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels