HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Des Artistes

Hostel | Via Villafranca 20, Rome, Italy 00185

83.7% Overall Rating

205 out of 234 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

SUsan Garner thinks…

"Clean bathrooms which are very important to me. Loved the location and met so many nice people. I travelled as a single female and felt secure and safe"

Read all Hostel Des Artistes reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.77
  • Towel USD 4.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that Rove Visitor Tax is 2 € p.person per night and has to be paid cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Carlito's Way
26.93 USD

Hostel 84.2% 83 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
33.66 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 7 reviews
Hotel MARI
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Hotel Positano
24.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.1% 57 reviews
Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar
35.01 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1011 reviews
Cristina Hotel
29.62 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.2% 207 reviews
The Yellow
36.22 USD

Hostel 87.8% 1076 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
32.31 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

205 out of 234 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Des Artistes'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 224 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roman Kravets

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms

Disliked: nothin

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica L'Heureux

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful in providing directions to tourist spots, how to use the transit system and where to eat!

Disliked: There were too many people on a floor in the private rooms with a shared bathroom. We often had to wait for people to finish in the bathroom for quite sometime before we could get ready in the mornings. The bathroom was also a bit of a problem when you were in the shower and people would bang on the door the entire time to get you out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Monich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: It's a perfect hotel, so it is not good if your are looking for hostel to meet people, but it is really good!

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and friendly and cheap

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in Rome! I was surprised to find such a nice and clean place to stay for a few money. It is situated close to the central railway station and quite everything you may want to see in this city is good accessible by bus from there (you can also walk, like I did). The breakfast-deal in the bar in front of this hostel is absolutely worth to try! A good place, I strongly reccomend to stay there! P.S.: if you are arriving by metro (e.g. from Roma-Ciampino-airport), go to Castro Pretorio (blue line), it is closer to the hostel then Termini.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012

Liked: Close to Roma Termini

Disliked: Not very good to meet new people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sleep was good: Beds are comfortable, room was quiet enough with closed window. Bathrooms are nice and clean.

Disliked: No kitchen, not even a kettel. But I think there was a microwave you could use. Not sure if it was really for guests. ;-)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012

Liked: It was very clean, and the beds were very comfy.

Disliked: I booked a 5 bed dorm (the biggest on offer) purposefully to meet new people, yet they put me in a 3 bed dorm with only one other person - and we couldn't even speak the same language. This would be a good thing for lots of people who want peace and quiet but I wanted fun. There was absolutely no atmosphere, and no where to meet people. More like a hotel than a hostel. Also, had to pay for the internet every day, and it only works on one device (if you want it to work on more than one, say laptop and phone you have to pay double)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 3 bed room. Clean, and classy. Tv, ceiling fan, comfortable enough bed, clean bathroom/shower room (separate facility just down the hall).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel like instead of hostel

Disliked: no wifi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viliyana Boyanova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Viliyana would recommend this property

Liked: It was really charming place, colourful and stilish. It is basically a very good location if one wants to be close to the Termini rail station.

Disliked: I booked 3 rooms for 9 people, but it turned out that we were only 8. Nevertheless, we had to pay the 9th bed, eventhough we were only 8 people. Also, one guy of the stuff was not very friendly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Proximity to train station

Disliked: Staff were rude, twice. The only two times we had cause to speak to them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

willem lieftink

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 willem would recommend this property

Liked: we were in a private double, beautiful room great security and free net in office. real close to central train station and great pizza and icecream joints.

Disliked: no free wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpfull staff, higienic bathrooms, rooms are cleaned every day, good location near termini station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Poor direction description. in fact, when you are out of the train station,turn left and walk for 50m, you can see a chinese restaurant on the opposite side, follow the street walk for a few blocks, you can see a sign of canadian hotel, turn left and you see the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most of staffs there are agreeable. We are very thankful to Mr. Alduis for his warmed-heart, gave us many advice on the daily help and managed our journey.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we used has a security box and a basin. The staff gave us a good instruction about the metro in Rome. The room was cleaner than I imagined. It was more like a hotel than a hostel. The location is very good. One can reach the hostel from the central station in Rome on foot.

Disliked: It was obvious that somebody smoked in the bathroom. But this is not the fault of the hostel but of client. This is matter of taste, but this hostel is for people who want to stay quietly and relax but not for people who want to find friends there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pakorn Rattanatamrong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Pakorn would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and cleanliness

Disliked: Wifi is not free. 2 euros per day for only one connection.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean room. Big Wardrobe! New towels every day, Breakfast Bar in front. Internet. Possibilitiy to store bikes in Garage. Walls and Pictures very nice!

Disliked: Quite far from old center, Breakfast/PC-room semi-cozy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean the staff were very helpful, the location is four blocks from the train station in my overall stay was very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam May

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is definately worth it! we were not expecting it to be that nice as its quite cheap but its like a 4 star hotel. The staff were very helpful,there is a lift to each floor. the rooms are extremely clean and big,they have fans and tv, the showers are only shared between two bathrooms so thats fine there were never any queues. They promote a restaurant opposite for breakfast for 1.50 euro which is a bargain and nice. location is great, right near the train station. they hold their own breakfast for 8 euros which sounds like alot but it is a buffet and really nice, and keeps you full through lunch! free internet also, and a lovely rooftop terrace where we played cards :)

Disliked: nothing really, just be careful when you open your blinds and windows as another hotel is opposite and can see straight in!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Fedorczak

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: The localization was great just few minutes to termini. Room was clean and safe. Staf was helpful and friendly. You also can get cupons for breakfest for 1,5 euro (cappuccino, juice and croissant). I would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pavel Putna

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Pavel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Eric Reed

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: The property is well maintained and clean with large, comfortable rooms.

Disliked: The hotel itself is nice, but there was a constant string of small annoyances. The pictures on Hostelworld show an outdoor, patio seating area, but this isn't part of the property, it's the bar across the street. We arrived around 1 pm after a very, very long night of travel, but there was nowhere to rest until we could check in at 3 p.m. The hostel charges for wi-fi, then charges again for towels, then charges again for even a coffee/tea & croissant breakfast, etc. I wanted to like the Des Artistes, but it felt like every time I approached the front desk they had another small annoyance waiting for me. I wouldn't stay again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gino Carrapetta

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

30 August 2012 Gino would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Safe, Great Fascilities, Perfect Location, Wonderful Experience!

Disliked: No Qualms At All!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels