HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Des Artistes

Hostel | Via Villafranca 20, Rome, Italy 00185

80.9% Overall Rating

197 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"Location to termini was good- 15 min walk. Bathrooms were very clean, rooms were very clean. Very quiet."

Read all Hostel Des Artistes reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 11.04
  • Towel USD 4.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that Rove Visitor Tax is 2 € p.person per night and has to be paid cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Carlito's Way
35.89 USD

Hostel 87.4% 72 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
42.79 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 5 reviews
Hotel MARI
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Positano
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.7% 36 reviews
Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar
35.20 USD

Hostel 79.9% 989 reviews
Cristina Hotel
41.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.7% 202 reviews
The Yellow
24.49 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1059 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
41.41 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

197 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Des Artistes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 214 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012

Liked: It was very clean, and the beds were very comfy.

Disliked: I booked a 5 bed dorm (the biggest on offer) purposefully to meet new people, yet they put me in a 3 bed dorm with only one other person - and we couldn't even speak the same language. This would be a good thing for lots of people who want peace and quiet but I wanted fun. There was absolutely no atmosphere, and no where to meet people. More like a hotel than a hostel. Also, had to pay for the internet every day, and it only works on one device (if you want it to work on more than one, say laptop and phone you have to pay double)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 3 bed room. Clean, and classy. Tv, ceiling fan, comfortable enough bed, clean bathroom/shower room (separate facility just down the hall).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel like instead of hostel

Disliked: no wifi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viliyana Boyanova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Viliyana would recommend this property

Liked: It was really charming place, colourful and stilish. It is basically a very good location if one wants to be close to the Termini rail station.

Disliked: I booked 3 rooms for 9 people, but it turned out that we were only 8. Nevertheless, we had to pay the 9th bed, eventhough we were only 8 people. Also, one guy of the stuff was not very friendly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Proximity to train station

Disliked: Staff were rude, twice. The only two times we had cause to speak to them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

willem lieftink

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 willem would recommend this property

Liked: we were in a private double, beautiful room great security and free net in office. real close to central train station and great pizza and icecream joints.

Disliked: no free wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpfull staff, higienic bathrooms, rooms are cleaned every day, good location near termini station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Poor direction description. in fact, when you are out of the train station,turn left and walk for 50m, you can see a chinese restaurant on the opposite side, follow the street walk for a few blocks, you can see a sign of canadian hotel, turn left and you see the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most of staffs there are agreeable. We are very thankful to Mr. Alduis for his warmed-heart, gave us many advice on the daily help and managed our journey.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we used has a security box and a basin. The staff gave us a good instruction about the metro in Rome. The room was cleaner than I imagined. It was more like a hotel than a hostel. The location is very good. One can reach the hostel from the central station in Rome on foot.

Disliked: It was obvious that somebody smoked in the bathroom. But this is not the fault of the hostel but of client. This is matter of taste, but this hostel is for people who want to stay quietly and relax but not for people who want to find friends there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pakorn Rattanatamrong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Pakorn would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and cleanliness

Disliked: Wifi is not free. 2 euros per day for only one connection.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean room. Big Wardrobe! New towels every day, Breakfast Bar in front. Internet. Possibilitiy to store bikes in Garage. Walls and Pictures very nice!

Disliked: Quite far from old center, Breakfast/PC-room semi-cozy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean the staff were very helpful, the location is four blocks from the train station in my overall stay was very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam May

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is definately worth it! we were not expecting it to be that nice as its quite cheap but its like a 4 star hotel. The staff were very helpful,there is a lift to each floor. the rooms are extremely clean and big,they have fans and tv, the showers are only shared between two bathrooms so thats fine there were never any queues. They promote a restaurant opposite for breakfast for 1.50 euro which is a bargain and nice. location is great, right near the train station. they hold their own breakfast for 8 euros which sounds like alot but it is a buffet and really nice, and keeps you full through lunch! free internet also, and a lovely rooftop terrace where we played cards :)

Disliked: nothing really, just be careful when you open your blinds and windows as another hotel is opposite and can see straight in!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Fedorczak

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: The localization was great just few minutes to termini. Room was clean and safe. Staf was helpful and friendly. You also can get cupons for breakfest for 1,5 euro (cappuccino, juice and croissant). I would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pavel Putna

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Pavel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Eric Reed

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: The property is well maintained and clean with large, comfortable rooms.

Disliked: The hotel itself is nice, but there was a constant string of small annoyances. The pictures on Hostelworld show an outdoor, patio seating area, but this isn't part of the property, it's the bar across the street. We arrived around 1 pm after a very, very long night of travel, but there was nowhere to rest until we could check in at 3 p.m. The hostel charges for wi-fi, then charges again for towels, then charges again for even a coffee/tea & croissant breakfast, etc. I wanted to like the Des Artistes, but it felt like every time I approached the front desk they had another small annoyance waiting for me. I wouldn't stay again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gino Carrapetta

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

30 August 2012 Gino would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Safe, Great Fascilities, Perfect Location, Wonderful Experience!

Disliked: No Qualms At All!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this Hostel. The rooms are really nice. The rooftop terrace is really nice too. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CARLA HAZIFE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 CARLA would recommend this property

Liked: location walking distance to termini train station. cleanliness is amazing had our rooms cleaned every day with our beds freshly made, bathrooms were always clean.

Disliked: minor dislike is that wi-fi was quite expensive to hire

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable, luxury hostel a short walk from termini station. fantastic

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Callaway

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Location.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Filipe Casao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012

Liked: Localization

Disliked: 5 floors, only one elevator. Not a good place to meet people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adam Gunnis

Alone

City break

29 July 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: A comfortable atmosphere, quite close to transport hubs.

Disliked: Staff seemed quite reserved. Rather rude greeting from the ground floor desk; rather detached check in from the 5th floor reception staff.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure key card locked rooms. Helpful staff. No curfew. Free internet and computer access. Lockers to use (if have padlock).

Disliked: No kitchen to use, have to ask staff to use things from the kitchen. They are happy to provide crockery, boiling water and fridge space but you are not allowed to enter the kitchen, can only freely use a microwave - ok but annoying. Reception on the 5th floor. Bathrooms never very clean.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels