HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Des Artistes Rome Hostel

Via Villafranca 20, 00185, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 84%

Staff 81%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 9.40USD
  • Towel 4.11USD

Important Information

Please note that for dormitory room we only accept guests between the ages of 18 and 30. Guests aged 17 must be accompanied by another guest aged 18 or older and have written permission from a parent or legal guardian. Please read our confirmation email for more details. Guests aged 30 or older must stay in a private room.
Payment policy:
Payment is due upon arrival in CASH.

LOCAL CITY TAX
For all guest bookings with the period of stay from 1st January 2011 onwards, a local tax of 3,- Euro per person per day must be paid. This is an additional charge and is not included in the room rate. You have to pay it directly in the hostel in cash only.

CANCELLATION POLICY: You should give us 2 full days notice of your cancellation prior to your arrival by email or fax. Failing to do so will result in a one-night charge on your card. We don't accept phone cancellations. So if you have a booking starting 25 june this means you can cancel your reservation until 21 june midnight Italy time.


Dorm beds : Limit of age is 36 years old.
If you have booked for more than 1 person please note that although we will try our best to keep you all together in one room we cannot guarantee it. If staying together is essential then we suggest you book a private room.

Preauthorization on card as a guarantee :
Kindly note that the credit card required at the time of booking is as a guarantee only and a few days before due arrival we will run a small verification that funds are sufficient, and this for the amount of the first night. This is not a payment, however the sum will be as a result frozen and therefore will be unavailable for the next few weeks. On your bank statement it may show as a pending payment whereas in fact it is only a preauthorization which expires automatically, and money then reverts to your account.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 84%

Staff 81%

Value 75%

Showing 21-30 of 54 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, well managed, helpful staff. The other guests were super nice, and I will meet up with them in other cities as I travel!

Disliked: A bit noisy at night for about half of the stay: people yelling in the hallways etc. which reverberated the sound. Also, although the staff are very happy to look things up for you, there are not a lot of resources about the attractions, so be ready with questions before you arrive!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There were no bunkbeds, so it was much more better than any hostel. I stayed in 4 person mixed room and in the room there were sink, big flat screen and a free wine! There are cases under the bed but no lockers. Instead there is a small safe inside the wardrobe that you can leave your most valuables inside. Location was great, really close to the Termini station.

Disliked: Wi-fi could be a little bit faster :)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location is great. The rooms are cozy, nice and warm. Wifi is just in the common area but it is possible to buy it in your room for just 5 euro for all your stay there. The stuff is very helpful. I was traveling on my own, I'm a girl and it was very safe. I loved it.

Disliked: Roommates were snoring, but that's what you get when you live in a hostel and share the room with strangers :D So buy some earplugs in advance.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Guys! Don't lose it! It's clean and nice. The location is great. What do u want more?! I'm writing my comment with free high speed wifi! What more? ;)

Disliked: come on!!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good value for Money.

Disliked: Clean essere in Commonwealth place like toilette could be imprevedibile. Vendi no macchine could b reviewed.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Customer service is great. Actually a hotel. Nice room!

Disliked: Wifi wasn't working so great on our phones. There's free wifi in the lounge until 11:30pm, if you want more wifi, you would have to pay 2€ for a day.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke English well and were always able to give us clear and understandable directions. We were provided with a map on our arrival which shows many of the main attractions in Rome. In addition to this we were also told how we could get to various locations using public transport. We stayed in a double room and had the bed made and fresh towels nearly every day.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: No AC, their credit card machine wasnt working.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place was near the Termini and other public transport so it was easy to get around. Also, there were lots of places to eat. My dorm was very spacious and everything was very clean. It was really comfortable. Lockers were also provided (you had to have your own padlock though which is pretty standard) for your valuables but generally, this place felt very safe.

Disliked: Nothing. I had a nice stay here.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, tidy and well serviced place

Disliked: It is a converted hotel rather than a hostel. Which means you have a nice place to stay but no common area to hang out or meet people. It's still a good place - just depends what you want.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability