We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Des Artistes

Hostel | Via Villafranca 20, Rome, Italy 00185

83.3% Overall Rating

210 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"Staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke English well and were always able to give us clear and understandable directions. We were provided with a map on our arrival which shows many of the main attractions in…"

Read all Hostel Des Artistes reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.36
  • Towel USD 4.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment policy: Payment is due upon arrival in CASH. LOCAL CITY TAX For all guest bookings with the period of stay from 1st January 2011 onwards, a local tax of 3,- Euro per person per day must be paid. This is an additional charge and is not included in the room rate. You have to pay it directly in the hostel in cash only. CANCELLATION POLICY: You should give us 3 full days notice of your cancellation prior to your arrival by email or fax. Failing to do so will result in a one-night charge on your card. We don't accept phone cancellations. So if you have a booking starting 25 june this means you can cancel your reservation until 21 june midnight Italy time. Dorm beds : Limit of age is 36 years old. If you have booked for more than 1 person please note that although we will try our best to keep you all together in one room we cannot guarantee it. If staying together is essential then we suggest you book a private room. Preauthorization on card as a guarantee : Kindly note that the credit card required at the time of booking is as a guarantee only and a few days before due arrival we will run a small verification that funds are sufficient, and this for the amount of the first night. This is not a payment, however the sum will be as a result frozen and therefore will be unavailable for the next few weeks. On your bank statement it may show as a pending payment whereas in fact it is only a preauthorization which expires automatically, and money then reverts to your account.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Carlito's Way
25.90 USD

Hostel 80.9% 89 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
37.55 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 7 reviews
Hotel MARI
25.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Hotel Positano
23.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.0% 65 reviews
Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar
30.82 USD

Hostel 89.7% 1017 reviews
Cristina Hotel
29.78 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.5% 209 reviews
The Yellow
32.37 USD

Hostel 90.6% 1086 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
35.61 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

210 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Des Artistes'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 169 of 231 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Mchugh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff, rooms are really nice, my favourite part was when they had an issue with my booking they personally emailed me to resolve it, really great

Disliked: The atmosphere was very relaxed but it didn't have much of a common area, also having to pay for wifi seems a bit cheap

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very nice an clean , nice place very close to the station , the price is very good for that type of services

Disliked: I had to pay for using the internet !

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel jas a very good location app. 2-3 minutes from Termini station and like 1 minute from subway...also I really liked the staff, they were very friendly and helpful ... as for accommodation, rooms are small, but nicely decorated ...

Disliked: I did not like the level of cleanliness. While the rooms were clean with towels changes every 2 days, the bathrooms were really disgusting, especially toilettes and the paper was constantly missing. This is due to the fact that there are not enough bathrooms per each floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ainslie Gerritsen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Ainslie would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop garden is great. Very clean, good facilities

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anne Mette Høj Jensen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Anne Mette Høj would recommend this property

Liked: The doubleroom we ordered was perfect - big, clean, with fans, and a sink!

Disliked: As a hostel it is not a very good place to meet other travellers. The roofterrace should have some hammocks..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The location could have been better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Porter

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: It is ideally placed right round the corner from the subway station an a walk from the termani Rome. It's great in terms of cleanliness and the staff are super helpful and friendly. The woo you have to pay for but is a great deal. The room is secure and I felt safe at all times. Thank you very much !!

Disliked: Nothing at all !

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Quite a good location. Staff very helpful

Disliked: Had to pay extra for towel and a deposit which is a tad crazy.. Also had to pay extra for wifi. No fridge or kitchen or anything like that available.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: very, very slow internet connection you have to pay for

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Crookston

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very nice but not it was not really a hostel but rather a hotel. So I wouldn't really recommend it for backpackers, like myself.

Disliked: The hotel offers no walking tours or any sort of way to meet other people staying at the hostel (pub crawls, etc.). It was a good place to stay, but not a very fun environment.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the fact that reseption was there 24 hours for every question and need we had!!! I found friendly, kind and helpfull people with a smile always on their face. The place is located 2 min. from the Metro..and 5 min. from Markt!!!

Disliked: I didn t like that the fridge was on other floor so it was a bit tiring to go upstairs all the time!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aysegul Gursoy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

23 June 2013 Aysegul would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Aysegul left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff members were helpful

Disliked: Toilet

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to Termini station and very friendly stuff who helped us with useful information.

Disliked: Very noisy starting from 6 o'clock in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013

Liked: everything was ok

Disliked: Very noisy from outdoors, age limit on 35 years, though I saw everyday people older than me

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2013

Liked: Nothing. The only person who was nice to us was the guy who helped us carry our luggage-

Disliked: The place wasn`t clean at all; especially the bathrooms. Part of the staff was very rude and they didn`t respect our reservation, giving us unsatisfactory solutions. They charge you for the wifi a day, which I believe it`s kind of cheap.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Dark small room. Dirty bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good position, located right in the heart of the city, close to the public transport, clean rooms, the room has enough space

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location! Very convenient from the train station and an easy walk to the Colosseum.

Disliked: Wi-fi was not included and it wasn't a fast connection. If you're paying for it the speed should be faster.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheryl Davison

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Sheryl would recommend this property

Liked: The character and location were great.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIEUN JUN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 April 2013 JIEUN would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean like hotel

Disliked: I am in 5th floor and very difficult to adjust hot and cold water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tin-Tin Azure

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Tin-Tin would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness were great.

Disliked: The time that the common room and roof terrace were shut (11pm). We would have liked to sit up there at night either after first arriving whilst waiting for friends or just in general after returning to the hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localization, Service staff, very clean.

Disliked: no payment with credit card.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Kriz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast for 8 EUR is worth the many.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Derryn Brinton-Wragg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Derryn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, staff prepared to go the extra mile.

Disliked: I didn't realise there was an age restriction when making the booking and so when I arrived I was told that I couldn't stay in one of the doorms and had to take a single room at an increased price. However, the staff were fantastic and gave me a small discount and included wi-fi in the coast of the room. For other travellers, note that wi-fi is charged. They provide breakfast at an extra cost of €8 which I think is quite steep but it isa substantial meal.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels