HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ma Hostel

Hostel | Via Magenta 24, Rome, Italy 00185

71.7% Overall Rating

273 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Leonardo Rosso thinks…

"Very friendly and helpful staff, you get free towels and bed sheets and it's possible to buy coffee and alcoholic / non-alcoholic beverages. The location is very good, not the best but very well…"

Read all Ma Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.22

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The New Rome CITY TAX ( 01/01/2011) is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed. The amount is 2 euro per person per night, to be paid in cash at arrival. In the event of a late cancellation or a no-show, MaHostel has the right to charge for the first night stay of the total amount of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Soggiorno Blu
37.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.7% 20 reviews
Hotel Sileo
41.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.2% 9 reviews
Hotel Luciani
55.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 85 reviews
Hotel Ortensia
31.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.9% 3 reviews
Marghera House
41.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Locanda Otello Rossi
40.03 USD

Hotel 91.0% 6 reviews
Rome Metropolitan Guesthouse
33.13 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 210 reviews
Hotel Urbis
48.32 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

273 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ma Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 283 of 387 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sense of duty of the manager

Disliked: nothing in particular

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leonardo Rosso

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, you get free towels and bed sheets and it's possible to buy coffee and alcoholic / non-alcoholic beverages. The location is very good, not the best but very well connected!

Disliked: No kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heyvon Herdhayinta

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Heyvon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and cheaaaaap for good location

Disliked: limited facilities

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

eva michiels

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 eva would recommend this property

Liked: They were very friendly en helpful. The location is very good. Good showers. Free towels, coffee en tea for 1 euro. We left at night but there was no problem. Always smiling faces! Great value!

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Power to the people

Disliked: No Kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the family atmosphere and stuff communication.

Disliked: Im a student so I think this was the right choose for me and my stay.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

muhammad ali awan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 muhammad ali would recommend this property

Liked: closeness to termini station

Disliked: no locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Teona Mamasakhlisi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Teona would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and cheerful. The location was very good, in 5 minutes from Roma Termini Station. We could eat delicious Italian foods in Ric's cafe with good discount. Thank you Ma hostel from your Georgian Guests :)))

Disliked: The only thing I did not like was linen :D :D but it was still ok :) I recommend you Ma hostel!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Devon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was super amazing. Honestly this hostel was awesomely located to the train station for me since I was only there one night. It wasn't super clean and no lockers - not sure I would recommend for those reasons - but it suited me fine. Wifi was a bit tricky at the start but ended up working fine. Small place - be prepared.

Disliked: Devon left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Holger Kraft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 December 2013 Holger would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Termini station and the airport bus terminus, guest fridge, window overlooking the street

Disliked: Other guests constantly making a mess in the bathrooms, makeshift beds rather rickety.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to Termini. even though there is no kitchen, the staff does its best to cater the need to cook something by providing free plastic cups, plates and napkins + electric teapot

Disliked: no kitchen, but they say about that on website

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Gokcen Yildirim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013

Liked: Location is so good; it's nearly Termini Station. Staff is very friendly, they talked me always, they gave tourist map and information about special places. Rooms and linens are clean, Towel is free.

Disliked: Wi-fi was really bad. It didnt work. We asked a lot of times "why doesnt work wi-fi?" They answered "it ll work after I ll restart to modem" but it never work. Last day staff came and said us "on the wall wi-fi's name is wrong!" come on! it's my last day... There isnt kitchen. Just on the hall there are kettle, coffe, tea, plastic glass, snoop and fork. In the room there is very small secury locker but it's 2 € for per night. If you buy this locker, you can just put your wallet. Heater doesnt work, room was so cold on night.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

IVAN OLIVEIRA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

08 December 2013

Liked: Didn't feel like in a hostel. It had a weird atmosphere, like if people lived there.

Disliked: It was small, had only a few rooms, one bathroom and no lockers for our luggage. Felt like there was people actually living there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff(Thanks Monti!!!), Reasonable price, Awesome location. Staff was incredibly nice to me and the price is unbelievably cheap considering the service you get :) Besides, location is literally 3 mins from Termini station and you never get lost. Although you there is no kitchen, Microwave, refrigerator and disposable plates can help you a lot. I was satisfied with everything and I want to thank Monti who is one of the best staff I've ever met :)

Disliked: None.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Boon Kit New

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Boon Kit would recommend this property

Liked: The worker are helpful

Disliked: The hostel room is too small and is supposed for 4 people but it extend to 6 people.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in the central. It is good for students.

Disliked: -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Irina Ponomareva

Alone

City break

23 October 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: there is no room for keeping baggage

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty closed to the Roma Termini station, easily to find the hostel, but it doesn't look visibly to others, so just ask one of their partner at laundry shop nearby the hostel address. Plastic plate and cutlery provided.

Disliked: The wifi connection works really slow at all times, sometimes doesn't work either. No air-con, ceiling fan runs very slow and less wind to make from. Very noisy outside at night, be prepared ear plug or iPod on your own when getting bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelvin Chai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013

Liked: Near to termini

Disliked: Wifi is not working for night and the kitchen that only have refrigerator and microwave.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Le Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

18 September 2013

Liked: The location is very close to Termini station.just 2mins by walking

Disliked: The room is very tiny,feel stuffy and kinda smelly even they have th AC running.The owner is not really nice.all he did was adverstised for his business (laundromat and his fastfood restaurant) close by.First he told us if we checked out,we could leave our bags there till we had our leaving time.BUT he went against his words the next day,he said that we had to pay 2€ for each bag and his attiyude changed really quick.It was so different from what we saw at the time we checked in.All he cares was about money.He told us, when you checked out, it was different, You were not guests here anymlre and I did not really care.So If you wanted to leave the stuffs here,paying is required.We were disappointed and really shock with that kind of attitude.If you could tolerate that kinda attitude, you can book there..BUT I DO NOT recommend this place to anybody.Do Not ruin your vacation time in this hostile place

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great - right next to the Termini station.

Disliked: Due to the location, it was very noisy. The rooms were quite unclean, and the showers were very dirty (lots of mould).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SHAO XIONG KUEH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 SHAO XIONG would recommend this property

Liked: 1. The staffs super friendly and nice =) 2. Near to the station, good !

Disliked: A little bit hard to find the location, but stil strongly recommanded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jimmy Wilopo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Jimmy would recommend this property

Liked: Ma Hostel has very nice WiFi connection. The location is very close to Roma Termini, only 5 minutes walk. Staffs are very friendly. The most wonderful thing is free charge of late check out. Cleanliness is perfect. Price is reasonable. Really recommended!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the Termini station, located in the centre of the city, really helpful and comfortable. Clean beds and rooms had a lot of space. Friendly accomodation.

Disliked: Too much noise in the morning. Bathrooms weren't that clean and were often flooded.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels