HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ma Hostel

Hostel | Via Magenta 24, Rome, Italy 00185

69.3% Overall Rating

291 out of 435 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Good location, very close to station and metro. Lots of restaurants nearby and supermarket in station open until midnight. Had a fridge, microwave and kettle for preparing meals. Owner was very friendly and helpful,…"

Read all Ma Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.60

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The New Rome CITY TAX ( 01/01/2011) is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed. The amount is 2 euro per person per night, to be paid in cash at arrival. In the event of a late cancellation or a no-show, MaHostel has the right to charge for the first night stay of the total amount of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Soggiorno Blu
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 22 reviews
Hotel Sileo
29.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.0% 13 reviews
Hotel Luciani
50.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 87 reviews
Hotel Ortensia
29.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.9% 3 reviews
Marghera House
16.32 USD

Guesthouse 57.1% 3 reviews
Locanda Otello Rossi
36.69 USD

Hotel 89.3% 8 reviews
Rome Metropolitan Guesthouse
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 85.9% 230 reviews
Termini Accommodation 2
29.10 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 281 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

291 out of 435 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ma Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 296 of 414 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to station and metro. Lots of restaurants nearby and supermarket in station open until midnight. Had a fridge, microwave and kettle for preparing meals. Owner was very friendly and helpful, gave us maps and advice and a discount on laundry at his laundromat.

Disliked: Very small, no real space outside the bedroom except for the corridor. We would not have seen it from the street but the owner saw us from his laundromat opposite and showed us in. Location was a bit noisy from the street with the window open.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

12 September 2014

Liked: the front door to the street was nice.

Disliked: it was dirty. old. un-cared for, noisey and so very small and uncomfortable. Easily the worst hostel i have stayed in. Also one of the staff kept knocking and just opening our door, and when realized we were inside just said 'oh sorry' Mouldy bathrooms, which also leaked. No safety boxes, that we didn't have to pay extra for. Very dangerously un-attached power points all over the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice helpful person. Great hostel for young people, very cheap, but clean, friendly and with great location. Even if I was in Rome in August, there was nice temperature in the room. Wifi worked very well.

Disliked: There is nothing what I didn't like.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Хорошее расположение

Disliked: Хостел находится в квартале, где очень много афро-американцев. Меня это не смущало, а кому-то это может не понравится.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Hanley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: The owner is incredibly nice and helpful. The location is good. He gives you a 5 Euro pizza deal at his twin brother's restaurant. They are honestly so kind and accomodating. There were towels available to use, which was nice. Sheets were clean, and there's a fridge and microwave. I would book again just for how kind the owner, Monty, is. (I think that was his name).

Disliked: One of the staff members gave us a bad vibe. He krept around a lot and came into the room while I was sleeping. When I asked him what he was doing in the bedroom, he said "oh, I thought you were out". My thought was, if I was out, why were you in my room? Were you looking through my things? What business do you have in the bedroom at 11pm? My cousin/travel buddy asked him to use the locker with her own lock but the lockers need keys which the hostel provides, and you know they have copies of the keys. He asked us what we wanted to put in there, if we had any valuables. We said no. He asked if it was documents that we wanted locked away, we said yes, and he asked, "Oh, what kind of documents? Can I see?" He held out his hand. All I thought was how nice of an opportunity it was for us to get our passports and identities stolen. I slept with my money belt on, and my passport safely inside. The beds were small, but what do you want, it's a hostel. The floors were pretty much always dirty and theres definitely a mold problem in one of the bathrooms, and I'm pretty sure the toilets were leaking because the floor was always wet, even if no one had been in there for hours, and it smelled very strongly of urine.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Cotter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to train station, fairly clean and decent value

Disliked: Bathrooms very small and cramped, no common room or kitchen (difficult to meet other travellers). There was a fridge available for guest use though. Certainly not a party hostel but it will do

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, good location, quiet, everything was fine. Room and furniture is a bit old, but it's good value for money on the whole.

Disliked: No hair dryer and we had to pay 3 euros to leave our luggage for a few hours after the check out. Apart from that, everything was OK.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Wannamaker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and location, excellent staff. Clean and comfy beds.

Disliked: The bathrooms were kinda cramped and old/dingy but were fine otherwise. No common room, but oh well.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

tamara levy daniel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 tamara would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the termini station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: It's not the best value for money. I had to pay extra for using the small locker to leave my passport and valuables.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to Roma Termini station and very friendly staff

Disliked: NA

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 May 2014

Liked: Very close to the train station and airport bus station. Certainly no luxury but ok to spent a cheap night or two.

Disliked: Given the price - nothing unexpectly bad. Small place without a common room or kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Thackrey

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Stazione Termini ,but in a quiet location

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Archer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good value for money. Free breakfast in the bar downstairs. The rooms are quite spread out in the building so it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Disliked: We had some issues checking in as our room wasn't ready, but we could leave our bags in the bar downstairs so we could go out for lunch. It is on a main road so quite loud but worth it for the location. The showers didn't work brilliantly and were a bit smelly but it's probably because it's an old building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sense of duty of the manager

Disliked: nothing in particular

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leonardo Rosso

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, you get free towels and bed sheets and it's possible to buy coffee and alcoholic / non-alcoholic beverages. The location is very good, not the best but very well connected!

Disliked: No kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heyvon Herdhayinta

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Heyvon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and cheaaaaap for good location

Disliked: limited facilities

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

eva michiels

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 eva would recommend this property

Liked: They were very friendly en helpful. The location is very good. Good showers. Free towels, coffee en tea for 1 euro. We left at night but there was no problem. Always smiling faces! Great value!

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Power to the people

Disliked: No Kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the family atmosphere and stuff communication.

Disliked: Im a student so I think this was the right choose for me and my stay.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

muhammad ali awan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 muhammad ali would recommend this property

Liked: closeness to termini station

Disliked: no locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Teona Mamasakhlisi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Teona would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and cheerful. The location was very good, in 5 minutes from Roma Termini Station. We could eat delicious Italian foods in Ric's cafe with good discount. Thank you Ma hostel from your Georgian Guests :)))

Disliked: The only thing I did not like was linen :D :D but it was still ok :) I recommend you Ma hostel!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Devon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was super amazing. Honestly this hostel was awesomely located to the train station for me since I was only there one night. It wasn't super clean and no lockers - not sure I would recommend for those reasons - but it suited me fine. Wifi was a bit tricky at the start but ended up working fine. Small place - be prepared.

Disliked: Devon left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Holger Kraft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 December 2013 Holger would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Termini station and the airport bus terminus, guest fridge, window overlooking the street

Disliked: Other guests constantly making a mess in the bathrooms, makeshift beds rather rickety.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to Termini. even though there is no kitchen, the staff does its best to cater the need to cook something by providing free plastic cups, plates and napkins + electric teapot

Disliked: no kitchen, but they say about that on website


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels