HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Sleeping Beauty

Guesthouse | Viale Carlo Felice 89 int1, Rome, Italy 00185

94.1% Overall Rating

245 out of 256 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

Jessica Down thinks…

"Staff were awesome! Paulo welcomed us to the property and he was super friendly and full of great tips for us. If you're looking to be right in the thick of it, this probably isn't the place for you,…"

Read all Sleeping Beauty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 56.93

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation period is 15 days before the arrival date . for cancellations of less than 15 days notice the first nights stay is required. for less than 5 nights notice full pay is required. Bookings for over 6 people are not to be made directly in the website, please contact the groups department. Please note: there is a Rome City Tax of 3.50 Euro per person per night to be paid upon arrival The reception is open only in the morning from 09:00 until 13:30 It 's always possible to check-in at other times, it is necessary to communicate the arrival time in Rome via email at sleepingbeauty@enchantedlands.it The payment will be made ??upon the room at check-in at the guesthouse by cash or credit card VISA / MasterCard or ATM

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mr. Rome Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 95.5% 98 reviews
A Casa Di Alessia
29.73 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 9 reviews
Casa Di Silvia
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 26 reviews
Lisella B&B
44.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Residenza Laterano
12.64 USD

Guesthouse 64.6% 10 reviews
Appiaguesthouse
22.77 USD

Guesthouse 71.3% 74 reviews
My Sunrise in Rome
50.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
A Casa Nostra
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

245 out of 256 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Beauty'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 221 of 247 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Down

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were awesome! Paulo welcomed us to the property and he was super friendly and full of great tips for us. If you're looking to be right in the thick of it, this probably isn't the place for you, but the location was perfect for us as it was quiet and close the the metro. Great collection of DVDs and books which was a nice bonus.

Disliked: Our bathroom wasn't very clean, however we didn't mention this to staff and I'm sure they would have sorted this out if we had.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roi Stanton-Wharmby

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Roi would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room,great staff,great value.

Disliked: Only downer was the shower in room 2was too small,could not even get in it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edward aggett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 edward would recommend this property

Liked: Made very welcome on arrival and given excellent information on the best available sites to see in Rome. Spacious rooms. Impressive entrance hall.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrey Lazarov

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Andrey would recommend this property

Liked: i would definitely recommend that place to people travelling to Rome. Staff was very helpfut. Препоръчвам горещо това място.

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sleeping Beauty was our guesthouse for 5 nights in Rome. Located near the San Giovanni Basilica it is a 20 minute walk from the Colosseum and very close to the San Giovanni metrostation. If you are familiar with the traditional 4-5 storey apartment buildings common to many European cities the classic steel cage lift and heavy double doors will be no surprise. The guesthouse itself takes up just one apartment on the first floor and with just 5 rooms it is a comparatively quiet place to stay. The staff are not around all the time so it is important to let them know your approximate arrival time. We were greeted on arrival and were given a map of Rome along with a detailed description of the main points of interest, the best areas to eat and drink (which turned out to be very accurate) and the local public transport system before being shown to our room. Small but clean and functional with an ensuite bathroom and a safe large enough to fit a laptop and any other valuables you may not wish to carry with you, this place is perfect for independent travellers looking for a good base from which to explore the city.

Disliked: There is no common area apart from a small kitchen and no laundry facilities (though there is a launderette nearby) so it may not be ideal for those on a longer trip who like to meet people and have time to chill out around the hostel (we only had 5 days so we didn't do much more than sleep and shower there).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's nicely located and best value for money. Highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay, large clean room, good location and fantastic staff. Very safe, quiet and rooms cleaned daily. Communal kitchen also really handy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean.

Disliked: The staff wasn't around very often.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasika Anantharaman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: excellent location, friendly staff - very accomodating and helpful (speak english). The guesthouse is a 5-7 min walk from the nearest underground station and a 3min walk from a bus stop. The rooms were clean, had airconditioning, refridgerator and facility to make tea/coffee. The guesthouse also offered a full fitted kitchen with utlensils etc availble to all guests. The room had a tele with a dvd player and a library of dvds and books. the guesthouse is perfect for anyone going to Rome to see the sights and take in the city, using the room as a base camp. We had failed to buy a guide book and Danilo (the properitor i presume) very kinldy allowed us to borrow one during our visit to Rome. :)

Disliked: none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near by San Giovanni metro station, 10 minutes walk from the Colloseumn and closed to the centre of Rome. Incredibly helpful staff, free internet, a dvd library .... truly excellent conditions. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff, clean...everything :)

Disliked: Nothing :)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yinying Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013

Liked: Very nice and warm service, staffs are quite friendly who told us very detail travel information. Decoration is great. Generally speaking, it is worthy to choose sleeping beauty to stay! Excellent!

Disliked: Yinying left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, extremely helpful staff. The owners of this guest house really did all they could to make our stay in Rome a wonderful experince. From helping us with finding the best local food to tourist attractions, I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chuan Winn Chai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Chuan Winn would recommend this property

Liked: Great hospitality. Not far from the metro (approximately 10 mins from san giovanni metro). Walking distance from my favourite italian restaurant, Luciano Luzzi.

Disliked: Chuan Winn left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012

Liked: The rooms are a fairly good size and do have air conditioning plus a TV&DVD Umbrellas were available to use for guests, which very much came in handy on one of the evenings!

Disliked: When we arrived we were told that we had to stay in a different room that was not ensuite despite booking an ensuite, they offered us a discount but we were still pretty annoyed (especially bearing in mind we could see into an empty ensuite room that clearly wasn't occupied yet!) and kicked up a fuss. Eventually we got the guy to agree to move us the next day into the nicer room so we would at least have 3 of our 4 nights in the room we were expecting. However then the next day he informed us we would have to move back again due to some booking confusion or something!!! We were livid and refused to move, so we didn't!!! But this was quite annoying and stressful really, clearly they have some serious improvements to be made on the organisational front - how hard can it be to have a diary and write against each room who is there on a given day! The advertised "cooking facilities" were limited to say the least - basically a microwave and a toaster and that is your lot, plus no breakfast on site; so just something to bear in mind if you were hoping you could make your own proper breakfasts etc. Also on the photos on here there was a photo of what looked like a communal area with a big cushy sofa etc. - this room didn't exist as far as we could tell!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wie bei hostelbookers in den anderen Kritiken bereits beschrieben, ist dieses Hostel wirklich Wahnsinn! Nicht dass ich in Rom wirklich Verwendung hätte für all die kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellten Filme, Bücher und Spiele - aber die Stadtpläne und Touriführer in allen möglichen Sprachen, der kleine kostenlose Stadtplan, den es bei der Anreise gab, sowie die mehrsprachigen Menschen, die dort gearbeitet haben, waren extrem hilfreich fürs Zurechtfinden in dieser schönen Stadt. Die Zimmer hatten einen sehr praktischen eigenen Kühlschrank, waren geräumig und geschmackvoll eingerichtet, das Bett bequem, die Bettwäsche sauber. Die Klimaanlage war leise und gut, es gab keine Gefahr sich zu erkälten. Zu meinem Zimmer gehörte ein eigenes Bad, was zwar außerhalb des Zimmers lag, mit eigenem Schlüssel aber abgeschlossen werden konnte; bei anderen Zimmer lag der Zugang zum Bad im Zimmer, was ich etwas praktischer find - und es gab wohl auch Zimmer, die sich ein 'öffentliches' Bad geteilt haben, aber wer früh bucht, hat für den gleichen Preis das eigene Bad. In der großen Küche gab es kostenloses Internet mit der Möglichkeit zu drucken, einen weiteren Kühlschrank zur allgemeinen Nutzung und eine Mikrowelle. Auf dem Zimmer gab es zusätzlich einen Wasserkocher sowie Instantkaffee und Tee. Die U-Bahn liegt vielleicht 5 Laufminuten vom Hostel entfernt, zu Fuß ist es aber auch kein Problem von hier aus in die Stadt (Kolosseum, etc.) zu kommen. Insgesamt ist das Sleeping Beauty definitiv zu empfehlen. Preis/Leistung sind mehr als angemessen, das Personal ist nett, die Zimmer klasse.

Disliked: Es gibt tatsächlich nichts, was ich im Sleeping Beauty schlecht gefunden habe.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Rempt

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - metro is a 5 minute walk away and the Coliseum is fairly close (15 minute walk). Wonderful, personable staff. One of the staff gave us a free breakfast for a nearby cafe. Another offered to watch our bags for a few hours. They are full of good tips, suggestions and information and genuinely seem to enjoy people and their job. Also the facilities were very clean and well kept. The room was spacious and well appointed. I have paid more for far less in other cities. We were very pleased with the facilities, the room, the bathrooms, and the kitchen area. Nice furniture in the room. Comfortable, LARGE bed! Window that opened into a quiet courtyard for fresh air. It was a good choice for our stay and we would choose it again and recommend it to others.

Disliked: The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed but showing a bit of wear and tear (wall paper peeling a bit, bedframe wobbly). Nothing that made the stay difficult, just a little tired looking in places. And there is noise from the hallway. The doors are not very soundproofed. We could hear conversations, etc.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Sleeping Beauty was very enjoyable. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, and went out of their way to inform us of places to visit, places to eat (a restaurant well worth a visit and great value) and travel. We would definitely recommend staying in Sleeping Beauty guesthouse.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Noemi Bellani

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Lucia Noemi would recommend this property

Liked: It had a lovely atmosphere. Very cleen and neat all day long. Spaced Rooms and good ubication in a antiche biulding. It was great to walk to Colisseum and other atractions.

Disliked: Maybe some people are looking for a bigger hostel with more peolple to rely to. Sometimes there were ocations that there was no one from the Hostel. Maybe we wanted to ask something or call a cab etc, and we had no one to ask to..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, airy room with beautiful tile floors and elegant wallpaper and drapes.The room had a mini fridge to keep drinks cool and store any food you bought. The staff was exceptionally helpful with directions to sites to see. They had free wi fi unlike some places that charged for it. They also had a free computer and printer to use in the well appointed kitchen we could use. The bathroom was cleaned well each day and had a great shower. Sleeping Beauty was the most charming place we stayed at for our whole trip to Europe. They are a short walk to the Colussium and ancient Rome. The rest of sites we wanted to see had detailed directions in the room. We followed them and went to the Vatican and inner city to see the Spanish Steps, etc. Highly recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing. This was by far the best place we stayed at in Europe.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The same goes for accommodations as does for food: sometimes less is more. We stayed at Sleeping Beauty twice, while criss-crossing through Europe, and what the guesthouse lacks in size, it more then makes up for in personal attention and general friendliness. We also got invited to "Franco's" bar, situated behind the guesthouse and found this to be another welcoming place with a very laid-back attitude and probably the cheapest prices we have found in any café in Rome. The combination of the two, guesthouse and coffee bar, made the whole experience of staying here extremely relaxing and enjoyable and we warmly recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: nothing , it was all good...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Stevens

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 July 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff is absolutely outstanding! If we ever had a question they were there to answer. For a guesthouse, Sleeping Beauty was spot on, the rooms are quaint and full of character. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in a great location, very clean and the family who run it are very helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was not included

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ALEXANDROS VAKALOPOULOS

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 ALEXANDROS would recommend this property

Liked: Elegant, close to METRO and COLLOSEUM. Very friendly staff. Free wireless internet and pc. Clean kitchen.

Disliked: Not close to centre. Small kitchen - no area for sitting.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aron Baksh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Aron would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the rooms were of a high quality. We were also upgraded to a bigger room for free as it was empty which was nice.

Disliked: There was a washing machine in the kitchen area but we were not allowed to use it so I had to wash some of my clothes in the sink which was a bit annoying.

The property's response is...


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels