HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Appia Guesthouse Guesthouse

Via Fregene n.10, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Café
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 52.76USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 71%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: the property is located in a really nice area. you have bar and markets all around and is not far from metro stations (10 min walk) and you can reach the colosseum within 30 min by walk. the double room is large enough, internet connection is really fast and Domenico is always avaible for any information you need.

Disliked: breakfast and shower room could be improved.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good conditions, exceed what me and my partner were expecting. We had a wonderful time in Appiaguesthouse. Many thanks to Dom, he's an Amazing person.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The owner and his daughter were friendly and helpful. Allowed us to leave after one night and refunded the difference.

Disliked: The city tax that I paid for all 4 nights was not refunded even though I only stayed one night at this hostel. The owner stated that I wouldn't have to pay the city tax for my remainding stay in Rome. However this was not true and I had to pay the tax again at the hotel I stayed for the rest of my stay in Rome.


The property's response is

this is the thanks after I have returned the money that I should not give you back because you had booked for 4 nights. You use that when you get to Rome you have to pay the tax, which applies to the period of time that you have booked and paid for and then once registered will not have to pay to another operator, but only where arrivi.E FOR THAT I HAVE GIVEN THE SCORE SO LOW? THANK YOU

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner, Dom. Was very helpful. We had to move to another room after one nights stay and when we got into our new room the next afternoon/night after sightseeing all day there was no fan. I emailed Dom asking if there was a fan we could use. He emailed back saying done and when we arrived back from dinner there was a fan in our room. The location is good in that it is quiet. The rooms that we stayed in both had mini fridges which was good to keep some food and drinks in too.

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Our first night we state in a quad room( a nice big room with window out onto the street. Own bathroom, fan, fridge), Dom advised us that we would be moved the next night and he would move our luggage. When we were moved into the other room (double with shower). As soon as we walked in we could smell something like sewage . This room seemed ok, definitely not as big and the window looked out onto apartments. When we had a shower we had to hold the shower head, which is really annoying if you want to wash your hair. The shower didn't drain so my partner came in and used the plunger. The toilet reeked of sewage every time you flushed. However compared to the welts all over my body the stinky toilet/ bathroom is nothing. After the first night in our "new room" I woke with a few bites which turned into welts straight away. We thought they might have been mozzies, even though we had the window closed. So the second night I sprayed myself with big repellent only to wake in the middle of the night covered in bites/ welts. On my back, arms, legs and feet. They are incessantly itchy and not a great way to start a 6 month trip! The breakfast is pretty half assed, a few biscuits some cornflakes. There is no milk to use if you want coffee or cereal, I checked the fridge and it was all out of date. Lucky there is a supermarket near by where we bought rolls, cheese, ham and tomatoes and some juice for next toNothing. And you can keep it all in your fridge in your room. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here, yes rome accommodation is expensive but I'm certainly wished we paid the bit extra and stayed in somewhere a bit cleaner and closer to the "action".

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was good. Friendly owners.

Disliked: Nothing much.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: The bathroom is a mess. The drain was clogged and the water would not go down. The box was broken and even missing toilet paper. In addition, the hotel owner only appeared once daily for a short time and the rest of the day there was no one at the reception. On the website they said they provided towels, hair dryer and breakfast. What was not true.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner was really friendly to us. The room was big enough and we could use all the facilities.

Disliked: We didn't like to see the linen and towels drying in the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: this is a nice place where you can stay easily and relax. it's close to the centre historic monuments and you also have easy access to transports.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great place to stay!!!quite...a lot of privacy...just out side your door there is a bus line 87 to some of the central location and the metro station is a 7 min walk...great staff, very kind and helpful!

Disliked: -no dislikes-

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was good.

Disliked: The bed was so noisy , thats all.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability