HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Appiaguesthouse

Guesthouse | via Fregene 10, Rome, Italy 00183

71.3% Overall Rating

52 out of 74 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

"the property is located in a really nice area. you have bar and markets all around and is not far from metro stations (10 min walk) and you can reach the colosseum within 30 min by walk. the double room is large enough,…"

Read all Appiaguesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 56.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Dreaming Rome Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 95.9% 472 reviews
Casa Di Silvia
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 26 reviews
Lisella B&B
44.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Roi Hotel
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.0% 52 reviews
Sepulveda106
22.77 USD

Hostel 72.7% 14 reviews
Sleeping Beauty
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 94.1% 256 reviews
Mr. Rome Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 95.5% 98 reviews
A Casa Di Alessia
29.73 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.3%

Overall Rating

52 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Appiaguesthouse'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 72 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property is located in a really nice area. you have bar and markets all around and is not far from metro stations (10 min walk) and you can reach the colosseum within 30 min by walk. the double room is large enough, internet connection is really fast and Domenico is always avaible for any information you need.

Disliked: breakfast and shower room could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Cordeiro

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Good conditions, exceed what me and my partner were expecting. We had a wonderful time in Appiaguesthouse. Many thanks to Dom, he's an Amazing person.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lady Karol Macedo Ruiz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 October 2013

Liked: The owner and his daughter were friendly and helpful. Allowed us to leave after one night and refunded the difference.

Disliked: The city tax that I paid for all 4 nights was not refunded even though I only stayed one night at this hostel. The owner stated that I wouldn't have to pay the city tax for my remainding stay in Rome. However this was not true and I had to pay the tax again at the hotel I stayed for the rest of my stay in Rome.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

kaila james

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013

Liked: The owner, Dom. Was very helpful. We had to move to another room after one nights stay and when we got into our new room the next afternoon/night after sightseeing all day there was no fan. I emailed Dom asking if there was a fan we could use. He emailed back saying done and when we arrived back from dinner there was a fan in our room. The location is good in that it is quiet. The rooms that we stayed in both had mini fridges which was good to keep some food and drinks in too.

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Our first night we state in a quad room( a nice big room with window out onto the street. Own bathroom, fan, fridge), Dom advised us that we would be moved the next night and he would move our luggage. When we were moved into the other room (double with shower). As soon as we walked in we could smell something like sewage . This room seemed ok, definitely not as big and the window looked out onto apartments. When we had a shower we had to hold the shower head, which is really annoying if you want to wash your hair. The shower didn't drain so my partner came in and used the plunger. The toilet reeked of sewage every time you flushed. However compared to the welts all over my body the stinky toilet/ bathroom is nothing. After the first night in our "new room" I woke with a few bites which turned into welts straight away. We thought they might have been mozzies, even though we had the window closed. So the second night I sprayed myself with big repellent only to wake in the middle of the night covered in bites/ welts. On my back, arms, legs and feet. They are incessantly itchy and not a great way to start a 6 month trip! The breakfast is pretty half assed, a few biscuits some cornflakes. There is no milk to use if you want coffee or cereal, I checked the fridge and it was all out of date. Lucky there is a supermarket near by where we bought rolls, cheese, ham and tomatoes and some juice for next to Nothing. And you can keep it all in your fridge in your room. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here, yes rome accommodation is expensive but I'm certainly wished we paid the bit extra and stayed in somewhere a bit cleaner and closer to the "action".

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good. Friendly owners.

Disliked: Nothing much.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: The bathroom is a mess. The drain was clogged and the water would not go down. The box was broken and even missing toilet paper. In addition, the hotel owner only appeared once daily for a short time and the rest of the day there was no one at the reception. On the website they said they provided towels, hair dryer and breakfast. What was not true.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really friendly to us. The room was big enough and we could use all the facilities.

Disliked: We didn't like to see the linen and towels drying in the kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

manuel antunes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 manuel would recommend this property

Liked: this is a nice place where you can stay easily and relax. it's close to the centre historic monuments and you also have easy access to transports.

Disliked: manuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

irit raz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 irit would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay!!! quite...a lot of privacy... just out side your door there is a bus line 87 to some of the central location and the metro station is a 7 min walk... great staff, very kind and helpful!

Disliked: -no dislikes-

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoltan Toth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good.

Disliked: The bed was so noisy , thats all.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

abhijit datta banik

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 July 2012

Liked: friendly

Disliked: mismanagement

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Holly Kiernan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Not only was the location of the property very central and near a metro stop, but was very easy to use the map given by the owner to plan a days walking route, allowing you to see some of Romes most popular attractions, finishing up at the vatican and near a metro that takes you straight home. Okay so the so called 'Breakfast' was less than what we expected, but who cares when there was a fantastic cafe right around the corner where you could buy 2 delicious baguettes, espressos and bottles of water for about 8 euros. Any body that complains about such petty things should probably spend less time in the hostel and more time out enjoying rome.

Disliked: There was no toilet seat on the toilet.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 May 2012

Liked: It was the cheapest thing in Rome. Owner is very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Bathroom was constantly flooded. There was no toilet seat cover in the bathroom. Loo roll ran out one evening. Sheets smelled and looked bad. Breakfast is just two processed, packaged, preservative-laden croissants. Maybe the hostel was at a low point when we came but I do not recommend this place to anyone except the most budget of backpackers who are not at all picky about where they lay their head.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not so many people inside, location is nice.

Disliked: Breakfast was absolutely miserable, more like there was none. Towels and hot water for tea first had to be looked for with pain.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it s a nice cheap place to stay in rome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, property very good man. Transfer gratis from TErmini.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proprietor drove around the area to look for us when we became lost on first arrival. He didn't charge us the "arriving late" fine either. A cheerful place, large room, homely kitchen. Only a 20 minute walk to the major sites, such the Colosseum.

Disliked: A bit scruffy and very noisy with the busy road outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara sepulveda

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2011 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very comfortable, The room clean and silent. The location is great, very close to the center.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and neighbourhood were very nice. The owner of the property's a cool laid back guy, come to let us in although we arrived earlier than stated, and also booked a taxi for us when we needed to depart to the airport at 3am.

Disliked: During our stay - and that was 7 nights - neither towels nor bed linen were changed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpful and friendly. house was near metro. you can go historic places easily.

Disliked: because bathroom was shared, it is related to people you stay together. ours were not clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dominico is great..great location

Disliked: nada

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Petra Petelen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the ancient Rome:) Just a bit walk:) Domenico is a nice person:)

Disliked: We didn't like the bath in common and the breakfast was too little.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cheap property for Rome. Easy bus into the city or 20min walk to the colosseum. The room was large. Owner was very friendly, but only there at check in.

Disliked: Very thin walls, you hear everything going on outside your room. Bathroom shared, not clean.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy

Disliked: Bed hygiene

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner upgraded us to a private room, which was fantastic! The place is very small--just around 5 bedrooms, so it's pretty quiet, compared to other hostels. In fact, this really didn't feel like a hostel at all. The location is very convenient to 2 metro stops.

Disliked: There is no reception, so make sure the owner knows what time you're coming, to let you in and give keys. Be prepared to pay cash. Also, if you're overweight at all, don't expect to fit into the shower! I'm 6 months pregnant, and I barely fit into the shower opening! There is no sign for the guest house, so just find the address of the house.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels