HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Imperial Rooms

Guesthouse | Via S. Giovanni in Laterano 10, Rome, Italy 00184

81.1% Overall Rating

16 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/05/2014)

Anita Sangha thinks…

"Its located near the Coliseum. However, once you have been to the Coliseum its not that much of a benefit as you haven't got the view and it isn't central to the other attractions. I got sold by its…"

Read all Imperial Rooms reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 79.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The price does not include the tax of 2 euros per person per night Municipal Law c.c.28/29 July 2010n.67 Please note we may pre authorize your credit card in order to confirm your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Rose B&B and Hostel
25.20 USD

Hostel 91.2% 425 reviews
Maison de Alexander
33.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Downtown Accomodation
41.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 95.1% 190 reviews
I Dormienti
39.36 USD

Apartment 79.2% 58 reviews
Maison de Marylu
39.66 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Paolina Rooms
38.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
38.47 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.51 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

16 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Imperial Rooms'

Atmosphere
76.7%
Location
87.8%
Facilities
71.1%
Cleanliness
88.9%
Staff
86.7%
Value
74.4%
Safety
82.2%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anita Sangha

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Its located near the Coliseum. However, once you have been to the Coliseum its not that much of a benefit as you haven't got the view and it isn't central to the other attractions. I got sold by its location but thinking about it and the fact that there is no view, this really isn't much of a selling point.

Disliked: Everything. The rooms are above a noisy bar and are not clean. The wardrobe smells of stale cigarettes and you have to hand in the key when you leave. If you return after 8pm, you have to ring the bell to be let into the property (which is located by a bar). We returned at 11pm but had to wait a while before we were let in. It was a little scary as there was allot of undesirables at the bar. During this time I was almost pick pocketed. Unluckily my persistent ringing of the bell meant that I managed to avoid this. The rooms was so bad we tired not to come back until very late so we didn't have to stay there!! The breakfast was awful. The toast was basically pre packed and cold. Not sure if it was even made out of bread!!! The milk isn't fresh, it's long life UHT milk. Please take my advice and DO NOT BOOK!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Toke Kieler

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 May 2014 Toke would recommend this property

Liked: relatively quiet considering it is Rome. Very close to Coloseum.

Disliked: This is not a hotel like a regular hotel with a foyer and a big front desk. The front desk was a counter desk at a very small office. Breakfast room was i small room with chairs for 8 people. It is 10 Square metres at the most. Very small bathroom with mold between the tiles.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price. Staff were friendly.

Disliked: The property is directly above a bar that plays loud music till 2am.... Highly recommend earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is a treasure. Located right next to Colosseum, fabulous view of it from window. Stayed in twin room overlooking street with bars and once window was closed the room was very quiet. Rooms cleaned to 5star standard evrery day with fresh towels always provided. Rooms were decorated beautifully in classic Italian stle. Comfy beds with 2 fluffy pillows each. Ensuite bathroom with powerful shower, soap, hairdryer provided. Room had free safe and an extremely reasonable minibar. Breakfast was continental and plentiful lovely fresh pastry every morning and delicious fresh coffee made for you too! Location was. Ideal 2 min walk from metro and plenty of restaurants and bars on doorstep and supermarket round corner. Ancient ruins right outside window. First time in Rome Mum with her 16 year old daughter and I felt very safe in this hotel. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and spoke excellent English. Exceptional value for money.

Disliked: Very busy outside but that did not bother me at all. As there was no noise in room if window was closed.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Lauren Broderick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: When we first arrived our bath had a hole in it and flooded our room. After we complained a man appeared with a mop, looked at it and said he'd call an engineer. I spoke to the manager on the floor and asked if we could have a different room and was told no. She also refused any sort of compensation. When the engineer arrived and confirmed the hole was unfixable we were told a last minute room had become available. This was about 11pm at night, we had first encountered the issues with the bath at 8:30pm. No-one informed me of the city tax and so they charged me commission to put it on my card. The clubs behind play loud music ALL night so you don't get any sleep. The breakfast was basically a bread roll. The staff were very unsympathetic and unhelpful to any issues. I honestly think this hotel is a disgrace and I once stayed in a bug infested bedroom in India without complaining! Hostelbookers.... get it off your site!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an excellent accomodation choice. Very central, you can see the Colloseum 200 m away. Plenty of places to eat right next door. Room was big enough (family of 4), huge bathroom. Very comfortable beds, clean and neat. Very glitzy old fashioned decor which was totally cool! The staff were very helpful and spoke good english. They recommended a good place to eat. I note that people mentioned the noise: We had the room on the first floor above the street directly above the nighclub bars. Our room had brand new super-soundproof windows. You could open your window and experience the wonderful sounds and smells of Rome, or you could shut it and like magic the room was deathly quiet. Definately recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money, pleasant and helpfull people. Excellent communication also in English with most of the staff.

Disliked: The room was nice and quiet, we did not care to climb 4 stears to the third floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean and great location, right next to the Coloseum, a metro station and a lot of resturants and bars. It also seamed like it was situated in the heart of the gay night-life in Rome.

Disliked: Breakfast was kind of dull, but ok. A strange litle detail in our bathroom was that the toilet brush was situated right up under the toilet paper, so you kind of had to sneak the toilet paper past the toilet brush. Not a big deal tho :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurence D'Ambrosio

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good street atmosphere, close to all public transports

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Valentin-Askman

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family
Shopping

07 November 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Daniela and staff are very friendly and helpful. And speak a good english, which is not always the case in Italy. Convenient location close to Metro and buses, nice and safe surroundings.

Disliked: We didn't mind but conservative travellers might be upset by the surrounding gay venues.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS VERY CLEAN AND THE STAFF VERY FRIENDLY. OUR ROOM WAS THE SAME WE HAD SEEN AT THE PHOTOS. THE ONLY BAD THING WAS THE STAIRS. WE STAYED AT THE THIRD FLOOR AND THE STAIRS EXHAUSTED AS!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My partner and I travelled to Rome in April 10 and stayed at the Imperial Rooms for 4 nights. We found the hotel an ideal location, the staff were great and very friendly. The rooms are very clean and clean towels are issued daily. The breakfast is ideal, with fresh pastries daily. Overall the location is an ideal place to stay, literally a two minute walk from the colosseum and also very close to the metro in order to visit all of the other toursit attractions in Rome. Great hotel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Melissa Galvin

06 April 2010 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was extremely close to the Colosseum, and this was great for us. There were a couple of bad points...there is a lively gay bar underneath the hotel, who seemed to like their music quite loud. If you are a light sleeper, you might have an issue with the club. We could hear the music, but being 26 and 28yo, neither of is had an issue with it. When we had a shower (Room 5), the water leaked out of the shower somehow and onto the floor, which we needed to put towels down to soak up. The only other bad point was the breakfast, which was either Coco Pops or Cornflakes, with a bread roll for jam/butter/cheese, and a few other little bits and pieces. On the whole, we enjoyed our stay, and being there for Easter was great!

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely quirky place to stay. Above several cafes so was quite noisy in the evenings, but really easy to find a meal! Great location and lovely staff. More of a hotel style rather than 'everyone in' style of a hostel. I would certainly stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Johan Du Plessis

22 June 2009 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are large, beds very comfortable, 2 minutes walk to Colusseum, air conditioning works very well. Some of the rooms on top floor use common bathrooms, which may not suit all travellers.

Disliked: Johan left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels