HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of When in Rome Accommodation

Guesthouse | Via Varese 34, 5th. Floor, Rome, Italy 00185

88.2% Overall Rating

181 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

"Upon arrival we were greeted by Emy, the owner, he is charismatic, super helpful and so friendly and wants to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All of the rooms are decorated as different countries, we stayed in…"

Read all When in Rome Accommodation reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 76.08
  • Luggage Room USD 2.77

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Funny Palace
41.49 USD

Hostel 91.2% 560 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
41.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 93.0% 96 reviews
B&B Alex
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 70.9% 65 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
41.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.3% 197 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
32.27 USD

Hostel 86.6% 174 reviews
Cristina Dependance
41.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 269 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
55.33 USD

Hotel 83.6% 4 reviews
Eurorooms
24.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.8% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

181 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'When in Rome Accommodation'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the place very much. It was clean, helpfull stuff, good location. The bathroom wasn't in the room (half second from the room), but it was really clean too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well maintained. Also really close to the train station, which was helpful for me and my friends, but isn't the coolest neighborhood.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angela feldhaus

22 January 2010 angela would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, clean nice rooms. Had our own balcony with table on it overlooking rome. Very close to the train station so if youre coming by train you wont have to lug your bags very far at all! Staff was super friendly and helpful. Room was nicest we've stayed in for a long while. Bathroom was NICE. Heater/fan in room...tv with satellite. Got wifi in our room (not just common room like some places). Great place to stay. WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND!!

Disliked: angela left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and comfortable rooms, and perfect location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alex Costa Machado

13 January 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really a good place to stay for a short weekend in Rome. The staff is really really nice and helpfull. As the hostel is quite new (2008) the Rooms are in good conditions and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are very clean, they give you towels as well. Breakfast is inclueded and is at the bar just a cross the street very the cappucino and the bakery is delicious! I would highly recommend this place if you want to a clean place to stay and near the Termini train station, and the price is really worth it. Plus there is an excelent restaurant on the same street (via Varese) called "Meid in Nepols" which is not to expensive and the pizza and pasta is delicious... in case you arrive late or leave before lunch and don't know where to go...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Marchesi

11 January 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The price really worth.Nice and clean place.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohd Najmi Abdul Malik

10 January 2010 Mohd Najmi would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to stay in rome..very clean.

Disliked: Mohd Najmi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything here is better than i expected, if only the receptionist could speak a little better english...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was NOT expecting the great things this hostel had to offer for the price that I paid. It's in a great location - five minutes away from Termini, the main metro station in Rome, and a nice walk from Piazza Republica - mostly shopping and restaurant district! It's in a LITTLE shady part of town so watch your purses when walking at night, the morning breakfast is a pastry and your choice of coffee at a nearby cafe, and there's a market JUST around the corner. It is extremely clean, two bathrooms, five rooms I believe, and free internet/wi-fi/satellite!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

29 December 2009

Liked: almost nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 December 2009

Liked: The staff was very helpful, however we did not receive breakfast (advertised as included in the price) for two of the four mornings we were there as the bar was closed for holidays. Also, the first morning we did not have hot water, however once we informed the staff, they were quick to fix it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loretta Magnani

26 December 2009 Loretta would recommend this property

Liked: Sooo clean, sooo friendly staff, location and wireless for free!!!

Disliked: Loretta left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good place in term of quality-price ratio. I was completely satisfied with a single private room offered for a very reasonable price there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms are very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Flavio Soares

17 December 2009

Liked: we reserved 2 night in When in Rome and, when we got there, we've been informed that the heather wasn't working, so they transfered us to another place, which, thay said, was even better and more expansive than When in Rome.well, we discovered that it was all bullshit. the place was very worse than the description made about the When in Rome. they said we were going to have a room with bathroom as compensation for the inconvenience, what did not happen. also we discovered that they were saying the same shits to a lot of people, as the couple that was in our room before us and the couple that arrived later.we had reserved a room with breakfast. WELL, THE BREAKSFAST THEY OFFERED US WAS A CUP OF COFFEE AND A DONNUT, SERVED IN 2 DIFFERENT PLACES, AND PAID REAL TIME BY A MEMBER OF THE STAFF.oh, yes, i forgot. the bathroom was a mess, and the shower was broken in our first day there!!! i definately do NOT recommend this place to anyone. Roma is a beautiful city and you deserve a nice stay there, run away from these crooks!

Disliked: Flavio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is a 3 min walk from Termini which is terrific for getting around. Breakfast included at the local cafe is croissant and coffee - nice. All facilities extremely clean. Friendly staff. Fast Wifi available which is awesome. Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a huge room, and it was very clean. Only a couple blocks from the main transportation station, and could easily take a bus or train anywhere from there. Kind of far away if you wanted to walk anywhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at When in Rome, although the lady was very short with us and unfriendly when we first arrived the other man there was much more helpful even though he didn't speck English. The facilities were very clean and the location was good right beside the main train station. Not sure if I would stay there again but over all it was great value for money and we enjoyed our visit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hoste I've ever been.Great location, nice room with private bathroom and tv set. Very nice and helpfull staff.I do recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the termini station, very convenient to the metro, easy to get around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom were really nice and clean. We even had a patio! The building it is in is a little old looking, but once I met the very nice and friendly people at the front desk and stepped into my room, I felt so comfortable. Extremely close to Termini Station and easy to get to. Love the people who work there; they are so helpful and nice!! Many thanks to them :D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Heun

01 December 2009 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean, decent location near Termini

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A tiny hotel with only 5 rooms named after continents and regions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Santhosh Kanna Salivahanan

29 November 2009 Santhosh Kanna would recommend this property

Liked: The travel books and material about Rome, available for reading. The attempt at trying to provide something different in terms of ambience in the rooms.

Disliked: Santhosh Kanna left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels