HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of When in Rome Accommodation

Guesthouse | Via Varese 34, 5th. Floor, Rome, Italy 00185

88.7% Overall Rating

183 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

"The location is perfect, to see everything in Rome you have to get comfortable with the metro and the Termini station is the only one on both lines. The owner Emy is very helpful and recommended good places to eat…"

Read all When in Rome Accommodation reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 73.89
  • Luggage Room USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Funny Palace
37.60 USD

Hostel 89.3% 569 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
47.02 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.7% 110 reviews
B&B Alex
29.55 USD

Guesthouse 70.4% 67 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
29.55 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.9% 200 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
22.38 USD

Hostel 85.9% 178 reviews
Cristina Dependance
28.21 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 276 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
33.58 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Eurorooms
24.18 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

183 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'When in Rome Accommodation'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 194 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Hildebrandt

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great room, good breakfast included, awesome price

Disliked: Nothing at all

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011

Liked: Very close to the train station

Disliked: 1) Nobody opened the door when I came, had to call and the guy came, he was having a coffee.. 2) Didn't accept credit card, forced me to give up my last cash reserves 3) To get in you have to cary around 3 keys and a remote for the elevator. 4) AC = a little desk fan.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michael Petrie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice vibrantly decorated room. Very well located for sightseeing around the city. Staff were generally quite helpful. Free umbrellas to use were also very good during the storm. Facilities, including bathroom, tv, air conditioning, were in good working order. Breakfast was cheap and cheerful (included in the price of the room) at a local cafe, with a croissant and drink outside or to-go.

Disliked: The kitchen wasn't well equipped, the fridge had to be unplugged to use the hob. There was some confusion over our bill on departure as we'd been given the wrong key fob for our room. The cleaning staff had an annoying habit of opening the outside doors and leaving the light on, which was very irritating if you returned after dark - they also strangely put our dry towels outside on a day when it later rained...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very charming hostel with a lot of character. It was clean, safe and close to the main station. Staff were nice.

Disliked: no problems

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a few blocks to Termini station. Laundry, internet & bike rental are half a block away. Great neighborhood restaurants. Super friendly staff and extra clean rooms. Great amenities and free wireless.

Disliked: No air conditioning. Open the window and get eaten alive by mosquitoes or close the window and bake.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Hurst

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The property is a stones throw away from Rome's main Train Station, Termini and is therefore right next to the Underground. The property itself is well presented and the staff were helpful and freindly. It was an affordable yet enjoyable stay

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MOHD NAJMI ABDUL MALIK

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2011 MOHD NAJMI would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room with balcony. Interesting neighborhood. Staff was helpful and responsive when had a couple problems.

Disliked: Hot water boiler on balcony turned off by the wind according to staff seemed like an excuse as they probably turned it off to save money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were given an apartment instead of the rooms shown on the page here. It had a living area as well as the bedroom and ensuite, plus a TV, and the extra space was nice. Our towels were changed after two nights (total stay was four nights). The staff were great, the reception guy gave us a map and circled the most famous places for us so we were ready to go right away. The location was good and the price seemed average for the area and other main cities in Italy. I would stay here again despite my "dislikes" because of the location and price.

Disliked: Our apartment wasn't decorated, it was more like staying at a friend's place while they were away than at a hostel. There was no common area or kitchen. Basically it was exactly as described here, a perfect location to stay while in Rome and a decent place to sleep, but not a place to meet people or self-cater. Also we had no hot water the first night, after that we were shown a switch to turn it on, but we used the common showers that night so not a real problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiri Jakes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, price, free towel, perfect location, great staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, nice room with everything that was needed, central location (important as I had to take a bus to the airport at 6.30 AM). Would stay there again.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms were getting dirty very quickly, the elevator was a bit scary, lots of keys to carry around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this hostel, all around. Clean, quiet, awesome location, free wifi.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms, so there was a bit of a queue in the mornings. The included breakfast isn't very big -- but it is really good (cappuccino and a pastry).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salvis Dislers

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Salvis would recommend this property

Liked: It's a small accomodation, only 5 rooms or so, but well refurbished, clean, all rooms have TV and Wi Fi, heating/fan You can regulate for Yourself, Location was good....Everything was good, Thanks to Emil, who is only staff person there, administrator - cleaner :)

Disliked: Nothing....Except may be, if You just have arrived, it may be confusing how to get in, there are big iron doors from street which are usually closed, but later You get keys which You carry with You....

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Casandra Campbell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Casandra would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Clean.

Disliked: Reasonable cost for Rome but overall not phenomenal value.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was cozy, clean, and wel decorated.

Disliked: Nothing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to termni station

Disliked: it is an old building and you have to carry 5 keys with you to get in to your room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OZAN YILDIRIM

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

30 November 2010 OZAN would recommend this property

Liked: was amazing thanks to the crew, see you next time in Roma.

Disliked: OZAN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and organized

Disliked: The room was a bit small and when you make a reservation it is not clear whether the room has a private bathroom or if it is shared.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

21 November 2010 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull and kind. The space was clean and quiet.

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanne ten Tije

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 November 2010 Sanne would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very big and clean room with a sunny balcony (room Asia). Italian breakfast (cappuccino and sweet bread or cake) was served at a local bar just around the corner. So you were already part of the neighbourhood, very cool to see Rome wake up in the morning. And the location is perfect, 200 metres to Termini.

Disliked: If you're looking for a fun place to meet people, it's not suitable. But for couples, friends/ family who want a private room with atmosphere at a central location When in Rome is spot on. If you want to have an ensuite bathroom you'v got to ask for it (we shared the bathroom with our neighbours, no probs).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Morrissey

With a large group / tour

City break

02 November 2010 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were extremely friendly, the room was spotless and it was in a great location. We could not complain especially at this price!

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and a good value for the money

Disliked: The room I stayed was rather small. The other rooms seemed better.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quiet, and located just a few minutes walk from Termini - which made it a good base for seeing the sites of Rome. Decent price for a single private room. When I emailed the accommodation a week or so before arriving to confirm my booking, the response was immediate and friendly.

Disliked: No common room or lounge area, so it doesnt facilitate socialising or meeting other visitors at all. Lacking in atmosphere. There was a TV and DVD player in the room, but the TV didnt seem to work, and if there were DVDs to borrow, I wasn't made aware of this. The room was quite cold and bare - but it was ok for a single private room near the centre of Rome for the price.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

CHING MEI SZE

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 October 2010

Liked: we lived there during mid-Oct 2010. the location is really good, only 5-7 minutes next to Station, Rome Termini. hongkong

Disliked: toilet should be shared and you can hear what people saying in the corridor. and the staff wrongly told me the train platform no. to airport which let us waste one hour late to the airport, Luckily we went out 1 hour earlier for tax refund, otherwise we can't catch up the plane~ it should be no. 28 for Rome Fiumicino airport, not No. 24! hongkong

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i found the single rate for a private room to be of good value, the hostel is not that far from the attractions and it had free use of a computer with internet access

Disliked: there was no place to sit and interact with others at the hostel


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels