HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

91.2% Overall Rating

543 out of 560 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Robert Cervenka thinks…

"The staff was very helpful, provided us info about getting there around midnight. Also location is very accessible, although not very safe during the night :) No bunk-beds was a plus too."

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
33.17 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 197 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
34.55 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.9% 198 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
41.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.0% 97 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
36.85 USD

Hostel 86.6% 174 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
62.20 USD

Hotel 83.6% 4 reviews
Cristina Dependance
45.61 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 270 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
76.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
31.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.1% 535 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

543 out of 560 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 479 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the willingness of owners to help you enjoy your time in Rome. The cleanliness and the security of the building.

Disliked: the fact that it was run from a laundromat and wifi center made me suspicious at first, especially being a single female traveler. When the owner asked for my money before I had seen the room, or even the building that the room was in, I almost left and went to a different hostel. But I decided to give it a chance. It was worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luana de Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Luana would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, always ready to help you and with nice tips on where to go in Rome. The room I stayed was well decorated, clean and it made me feel at home right on the first night.

Disliked: nothing really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good near the train station. The staff were very helpful, even helped us book the room for an extra night when travel plans changed (this was not in peak season, in Jan.). They gave us some very helpful tips to make the most out of our short time in Rome. It is a little bit of an odd set up, you check in at the Laundry mat, and then end up staying in a different location. Ours was in a apartment building just around the corner. The accommodations were definitely adequate and clean.

Disliked: We were trying to pack a lot in a short time, and it was hard to locate the staff at times since they didn't open the "office" until 8:30, or on time sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is rather of hospitality as he give us the room with private toliet without charging more

Disliked: although the location is good, it's not good to find as the sign isn't obvious

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place!! The staff were really helpful with great tips on Rome!! Id come again

Disliked: All Good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is really great and it was clean!

Disliked: The bathroom was only one for one floor. It wasn't that much uncomfortable to use though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: MABRI IS VERY COOL AND THE HOSTEL IS CONFORTABLE.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good place

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Rennes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so lovely and friendly. Always eager to help and suggest amazing places to eat at and attractions to see! I felt so comfortable and well-looked after :-)

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Griffin St Hilaire

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Griffin would recommend this property

Liked: There was a guy there from Brooklyn who aaas working for the owner of the place. He gave some great advice for places to go and how to go about seeing Rome. Without his advice we would definitely not have seen all the places webdid and webwould not have known to go to some great places for meals and for night life. Also the room was really nice. Like that of a pretty nice hotel.

Disliked: the place wasn't one of those hostels with a front desk open all the time. The front desk is literally a laundromat with a staff of two. Our flight got delayed and we didn't get there until midnight. It turned out to be quite an imconvenience for them. I would treat this place like a b and b rather than a hostel. Call ahead if you are gonna be late. Also not the kind of place to meet ppl if traveling alone

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyything! great people,service!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very hospitable, good location, good room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: muy buena la atencion. muy buena la limpieza. recomendable

Disliked: ninguna

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was really nice and helpful with what to do in rome. The rooms were nice and i think we booked a 6 bed room and got a three. The location was a good walk from the ,ain tourist sites, but its really close to the central train station and so,e really good resturants and the walk isnt bad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Salvidge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean tidy and well located. Hostel staff where always friendly and helpful and room was brilliant. Free extras like internet and breakfast plus 10% off dinner at a local resturant was very good and the staff helped us sort out some issues with transport. The booking in briefing about what we could do in the area and map was also very useful.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all thing, good

Disliked: no

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Justin Cheshire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010

Liked: I liked the room and good location from train station and seeing the sights.

Disliked: Finding it... there was no sign out front... none, and its lobby is a sketchy looking internet cafe and laundrymat. Nothing was special about this place. I think for how crazy high the rating was, I was expecting something worth that rating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff in the Funny Place is really friendly and funny. I love this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff - went above and beyond, giving great advice on things to do. Plus the complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch!

Disliked: bit pricy for what it is, but that's pretty standard for accommodation in Rome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff.Checking into a laundromat is fun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Assock

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 November 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful, the room was the best we've ever stayed in between the shared experience of 3 people, transport links were good, the rooms were clean, the atmosphere chilled, a great place to stay in Rome & one I'd stay in again!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in 4 bed Dorms . They were very spacious , well mainatained and very clean.Very safe .Location was excellent . Colloseum was walkable( about 3 kms). The local eatery they had revcommended had inexpensive and excellent mediterranenan food .

Disliked: Breakfast was only 1 croissant and a beverage .. I wish they made it two :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to Termini trains station. the staff will help you plan your entire itenerary and know Rome inside and out so can help with any questions or concerns. free bottle of wine when you come in as well!

Disliked: the termini station area can be a bit sketchy at nighttime but the convenience is worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was super frinedly and the rooms were of high standard.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NATALIA MORENO

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

28 October 2010 NATALIA would recommend this property

Liked: Its really close to the train station, easy to find, really healpfull staff. The room got cleaned everyday, hot shower, many restaurants close to it. Definetly worth!!!!

Disliked: Everything was great. No dislikes.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels