HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

89.3% Overall Rating

550 out of 569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Vivian Lobo thinks…

"It was very clean and as described. the staff were the most friendliest. Never had any problems. Even though I made an error in booking, they did not charge me anything extra and sorted out…"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
26.85 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
29.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.9% 200 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
46.99 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.7% 110 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
22.37 USD

Hostel 85.9% 178 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
33.57 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
28.20 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 277 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
40.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
20.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.4% 538 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

550 out of 569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 546 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were several services included free of charge not mentioned on the website (free linens/towels, free internet, free breakfast, complimentary bottle of wine). Also, the staff was extremely helpful and gave us a lot of good advice for touring the city. The restaurants that have discount deals with Funny Palace really aren't good but they'll fill you up and for very cheap.

Disliked: The safes in the rooms did not work, and there are no lockers to keep larger items in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kylie fludder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 kylie would recommend this property

Liked: The host, Mabri, was amazing. He was fantastic at not just checking in weary travellers but ensuring they had everything organised for their stay. Even telling you which bus/train to catch to which sites, times for travel, discount at local food outlets, free internet and the wonderful complementary bottle of wine. Value for money is outstanding. Location to the station (Roma Termini) is fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shiao Chin Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 Shiao Chin would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No 24 hour front desk

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashvin Nair

Alone

City break

11 February 2011 Ashvin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing host Mabri - took his time to plan my 3-day itenary and gave a complimentary bottle of wine! Very spacious and comfortable rooms with lockers for personal items, and beds made everyday. Near to Termini station - 5mins walk.

Disliked: Having wireless internet connection would have been better than having to use the few computers at the internet cafe. Nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Baptiste Couly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Baptiste would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome quality for very low prices.

Disliked: The only defect might be the lobby being in a lavomatic... But even that is not a real problem since it means having a lavomatic close by.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great for the price!

Disliked: Noting really, the breakfast wasn't great just a danish and a coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is great, very helpful in planning my trip around Rome, provided a map, guidance, advice. I met a fellower traveler on my way here so my stay has been fantastic.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't great, too sweet for my taste.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the willingness of owners to help you enjoy your time in Rome. The cleanliness and the security of the building.

Disliked: the fact that it was run from a laundromat and wifi center made me suspicious at first, especially being a single female traveler. When the owner asked for my money before I had seen the room, or even the building that the room was in, I almost left and went to a different hostel. But I decided to give it a chance. It was worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luana de Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Luana would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, always ready to help you and with nice tips on where to go in Rome. The room I stayed was well decorated, clean and it made me feel at home right on the first night.

Disliked: nothing really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good near the train station. The staff were very helpful, even helped us book the room for an extra night when travel plans changed (this was not in peak season, in Jan.). They gave us some very helpful tips to make the most out of our short time in Rome. It is a little bit of an odd set up, you check in at the Laundry mat, and then end up staying in a different location. Ours was in a apartment building just around the corner. The accommodations were definitely adequate and clean.

Disliked: We were trying to pack a lot in a short time, and it was hard to locate the staff at times since they didn't open the "office" until 8:30, or on time sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is rather of hospitality as he give us the room with private toliet without charging more

Disliked: although the location is good, it's not good to find as the sign isn't obvious

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place!! The staff were really helpful with great tips on Rome!! Id come again

Disliked: All Good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is really great and it was clean!

Disliked: The bathroom was only one for one floor. It wasn't that much uncomfortable to use though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: MABRI IS VERY COOL AND THE HOSTEL IS CONFORTABLE.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good place

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Rennes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so lovely and friendly. Always eager to help and suggest amazing places to eat at and attractions to see! I felt so comfortable and well-looked after :-)

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Griffin St Hilaire

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Griffin would recommend this property

Liked: There was a guy there from Brooklyn who aaas working for the owner of the place. He gave some great advice for places to go and how to go about seeing Rome. Without his advice we would definitely not have seen all the places webdid and webwould not have known to go to some great places for meals and for night life. Also the room was really nice. Like that of a pretty nice hotel.

Disliked: the place wasn't one of those hostels with a front desk open all the time. The front desk is literally a laundromat with a staff of two. Our flight got delayed and we didn't get there until midnight. It turned out to be quite an imconvenience for them. I would treat this place like a b and b rather than a hostel. Call ahead if you are gonna be late. Also not the kind of place to meet ppl if traveling alone

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyything! great people,service!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very hospitable, good location, good room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: muy buena la atencion. muy buena la limpieza. recomendable

Disliked: ninguna

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was really nice and helpful with what to do in rome. The rooms were nice and i think we booked a 6 bed room and got a three. The location was a good walk from the ,ain tourist sites, but its really close to the central train station and so,e really good resturants and the walk isnt bad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Salvidge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean tidy and well located. Hostel staff where always friendly and helpful and room was brilliant. Free extras like internet and breakfast plus 10% off dinner at a local resturant was very good and the staff helped us sort out some issues with transport. The booking in briefing about what we could do in the area and map was also very useful.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all thing, good

Disliked: no

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Justin Cheshire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010

Liked: I liked the room and good location from train station and seeing the sights.

Disliked: Finding it... there was no sign out front... none, and its lobby is a sketchy looking internet cafe and laundrymat. Nothing was special about this place. I think for how crazy high the rating was, I was expecting something worth that rating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff in the Funny Place is really friendly and funny. I love this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels