We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

88.5% Overall Rating

555 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"welcome gift (a bottle of wine), clean bathroom, bed getting cleaned everyday, helpful staff (suggested itinerary), very close to the main train/bus station"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more. Rome City Council has imposed a tourist tax of 3.50 Eur per person per night. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee. Please consider this extra fee in your budget.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
25.69 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
34.68 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.8% 201 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
42.39 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 111 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
38.52 USD

Hostel 85.6% 179 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
51.38 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
28.26 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 282 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
70.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
23.12 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.7% 540 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

555 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 490 of 550 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, location, and location.

Disliked: not much really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main train station and very quite.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - great restaurant downstairs

Disliked: Bathroom light switch was dangerous

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin adno

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful. They marked everything out on a map and gave us advice on the best and cheapest options. There's a laundry facility and they did ours in one day. It was right near the train station and we had free wifi in our room.

Disliked: the room was very dark!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary bottle of wine, free wifi, free towel, helpful owners.

Disliked: Not the best atmosphere in which to meet other travelers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness,location,safety

Disliked: had no refrigerator or kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and helpfulness of staff (i.e. day by day rome trip programme on the map)...

Disliked: no a/c and kitchen...poor breaksfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Cotsford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and gave really useful advice. I took them at their word and was glad of it. They gave good tips for going Rome the cheap way without hassles.

Disliked: The only thing I would say is don't go to the pizza place that they give a discount on...it's crappy tourist pizza.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, the staff were very helpful with planning trips and booking tours etc. The location is great for traveling around Rome

Disliked: There isn't a kitchen nor any communal area really. Its a bit tricky finding the hostel as there isn't any clear signage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the reception guy was extremely helpful. he helped plan our whole visit to rome.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Marcon Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great! Simple, clean, and in a very good location. The staff is very friendly too! I had 2 1/2 days to visit Rome and they gave me precious suggestions of routes to follow. It was awesome, recommended.

Disliked: Not a thing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the 3 bed shared with the ensuit. Probably the cleanest bathrooms I have seen. Staff was great. Dont let the laundromat/Internet point throw you off, it is a great stay!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Eric sat us down as soon as we got there and explained the main sights and helped us map out an itinerary for our stay. They also allowed us to print our boarding passes for free, and had a welcoming wine bottle. Laundry is free if you stay longer than 3 days which was great

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steffen Nowak

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

04 August 2011 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really, really friendly and we only paid for a room without a shower and a toilet but they gave us one with bathroom and didn`t charge us for it. the rooms were more like a proper hotel than a hostel with air conditioning, a tv and it was very clean..so, thumbs up..both!!

Disliked: Nothing..everything was fine!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very close to main train and bus station, helpful staff, cheap laundry

Disliked: No communal area to meet other hostellers. No where to hang out but in your room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FERNANDO PETRILLI

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 FERNANDO would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom and the room size were excellent.

Disliked: The hostel doesn´t have a common area for the guests, nor a kitchen. The rooms don´t have a/c, which sometimes becomes imperative due to the heat in Rome in the summer. The breakfast is poor and inappropriate for people from other cultures, who don´t like brioches in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd king

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in!!! The staff are amazing and so friendly, the services are absolutely brilliant - everything is cheap for guests, bed is made every day, incredibly clean and new facilities, clothes washing, internet, information, kitchen, numerous bathrooms...all at your fingertips! If you come to Rome and do not stay in Funny Palace, you've done yourself a disservice!

Disliked: I should have stayed longer!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristy Lawrence

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Kristy would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff

Disliked: No common area or kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcoming. Personal attention.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, good helpful staff. They give you a good guide map and get you set up in no time. They also give you great discounts for the whole area.

Disliked: The directions to find the place are a tad confusing, but it's in a great place, nice neighborhood, and it's very close to the train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dane Huddart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, the place had a great atmosphere, was clean. Great value for money. Right next to the station

Disliked: No problems whatsoever

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: I thought it could have been cleaner and was overpriced relative to others hotels I stayed in elsewhere in Italy, and within Rome late on during my trip.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptional service - best I have received in a hostel (and I've travelled quite a bit) or hotel. The manager was extremely welcoming, trustworthy and professional and the hostel itself was also very clean, good value and felt very safe (lots of differnt locks for differnt rooms and floors).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerry Burnaman

Alone

Romantic getaway

02 July 2011 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Mellow vibe in a vibrant city.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wesley setmour

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 wesley would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, clean, quiet and safe

Disliked: nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels