HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

89.3% Overall Rating

550 out of 569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Vivian Lobo thinks…

"It was very clean and as described. the staff were the most friendliest. Never had any problems. Even though I made an error in booking, they did not charge me anything extra and sorted out…"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
26.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
29.59 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.9% 200 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
47.07 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.7% 110 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
26.89 USD

Hostel 85.9% 178 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
33.62 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
28.24 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 274 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
40.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
21.52 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.4% 538 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

550 out of 569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 546 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary bottle of wine, free wifi, free towel, helpful owners.

Disliked: Not the best atmosphere in which to meet other travelers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness,location,safety

Disliked: had no refrigerator or kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and helpfulness of staff (i.e. day by day rome trip programme on the map)...

Disliked: no a/c and kitchen...poor breaksfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Cotsford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and gave really useful advice. I took them at their word and was glad of it. They gave good tips for going Rome the cheap way without hassles.

Disliked: The only thing I would say is don't go to the pizza place that they give a discount on...it's crappy tourist pizza.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, the staff were very helpful with planning trips and booking tours etc. The location is great for traveling around Rome

Disliked: There isn't a kitchen nor any communal area really. Its a bit tricky finding the hostel as there isn't any clear signage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the reception guy was extremely helpful. he helped plan our whole visit to rome.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Marcon Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great! Simple, clean, and in a very good location. The staff is very friendly too! I had 2 1/2 days to visit Rome and they gave me precious suggestions of routes to follow. It was awesome, recommended.

Disliked: Not a thing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the 3 bed shared with the ensuit. Probably the cleanest bathrooms I have seen. Staff was great. Dont let the laundromat/Internet point throw you off, it is a great stay!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Eric sat us down as soon as we got there and explained the main sights and helped us map out an itinerary for our stay. They also allowed us to print our boarding passes for free, and had a welcoming wine bottle. Laundry is free if you stay longer than 3 days which was great

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steffen Nowak

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

04 August 2011 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really, really friendly and we only paid for a room without a shower and a toilet but they gave us one with bathroom and didn`t charge us for it. the rooms were more like a proper hotel than a hostel with air conditioning, a tv and it was very clean..so, thumbs up..both!!

Disliked: Nothing..everything was fine!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very close to main train and bus station, helpful staff, cheap laundry

Disliked: No communal area to meet other hostellers. No where to hang out but in your room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FERNANDO PETRILLI

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 FERNANDO would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom and the room size were excellent.

Disliked: The hostel doesn´t have a common area for the guests, nor a kitchen. The rooms don´t have a/c, which sometimes becomes imperative due to the heat in Rome in the summer. The breakfast is poor and inappropriate for people from other cultures, who don´t like brioches in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd king

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in!!! The staff are amazing and so friendly, the services are absolutely brilliant - everything is cheap for guests, bed is made every day, incredibly clean and new facilities, clothes washing, internet, information, kitchen, numerous bathrooms...all at your fingertips! If you come to Rome and do not stay in Funny Palace, you've done yourself a disservice!

Disliked: I should have stayed longer!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristy Lawrence

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Kristy would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff

Disliked: No common area or kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcoming. Personal attention.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, good helpful staff. They give you a good guide map and get you set up in no time. They also give you great discounts for the whole area.

Disliked: The directions to find the place are a tad confusing, but it's in a great place, nice neighborhood, and it's very close to the train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dane Huddart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, the place had a great atmosphere, was clean. Great value for money. Right next to the station

Disliked: No problems whatsoever

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: I thought it could have been cleaner and was overpriced relative to others hotels I stayed in elsewhere in Italy, and within Rome late on during my trip.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptional service - best I have received in a hostel (and I've travelled quite a bit) or hotel. The manager was extremely welcoming, trustworthy and professional and the hostel itself was also very clean, good value and felt very safe (lots of differnt locks for differnt rooms and floors).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerry Burnaman

Alone

Romantic getaway

02 July 2011 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Mellow vibe in a vibrant city.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wesley setmour

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 wesley would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, clean, quiet and safe

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wesley seymour

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 wesley would recommend this property

Liked: staff was great, they had alot of connections through out the city, rooms were clean, good location. would recommend.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wesley seymour

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 wesley would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, quiet, safe.

Disliked: tricky to get a hot shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011

Liked: The manager nwas extremely helpful. From the moment we walked in he gave us a map and sat down with us to plan what we should do and in what order so that we didn't waste any time. He gave us recommendations on where to eat like the locals and how to get around so we didn't have to wait in line at places like the colosseum. He also gave us a bottle of wine and coupons for free breakfast. He was amazing!

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAI TERAYAMA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 MAI would recommend this property

Liked: The room was cosy and clean. The location was very easy to get around the city and get from the Termini station. The staff helped me plan the stay in Rome, which was really helpful.

Disliked: The beds are really close to each other, so the experience may depend on with whom you share a room.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels