We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

87.2% Overall Rating

556 out of 575 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"welcome gift (a bottle of wine), clean bathroom, bed getting cleaned everyday, helpful staff (suggested itinerary), very close to the main train/bus station"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more. Rome City Council has imposed a tourist tax of 3.50 Eur per person per night. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee. Please consider this extra fee in your budget.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.8% 201 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 111 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
16.86 USD

Hostel 85.6% 179 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
31.63 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 78.2% 283 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
28.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
16.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.7% 540 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

556 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 551 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcio Da Silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Marcio would recommend this property

Liked: All brand new hostel. I felt like in a 4 stars hotel. Very well located. Very nice reception. Perfect place to stay in Rome!

Disliked: Impossible to find something!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Fleury

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and staff

Disliked: Lack of social atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near train station and discount on laundry and internet computers. Clean and comfortable beds. Free coffee and brioche at the cafe 1 block away.

Disliked: Not allowed to cook in the kitchen and only 2 spoons for utensils. They had a stove, but not allowed to cook. Only one bathroom for 3 rooms so line for bathroom in the mornings. No heat or hot water on my last night and they were indifferent to my complaint and said I must not have turned the shower knob correctly and waited long enough for the hot water and seemed to not care at all. He was always hurried and dismissive, but bad service is typical for Italy. Bad directions and advice on local sights and amenities so following his advice was worse than no advice at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Andrews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and hospitable. Jonny and Mabri are awesome!! Actually returned to Funny Palace a couple of days later because the place is great. The rooms ar clean and recently redone with safes for your important goodies. Also stayed at many other hostels during my stay in Europe and this hostel is the best!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it´s great! the boss provides a lot of useful information, which helps a lot!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Luu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: really great workers, rooms are big with non-bunk beds, nice small kitchen/lounge area makes it easy to converse with other travelers. Discount on laundry services and a free bottle of wine at check-in

Disliked: check out time is 10am, which is early, but most hostels in Rome are the same.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central beside Termini, the main station in Roma. This allows you access to any number of buses or the Metro. The staff were very helpful. Excellent Value!

Disliked: No microwave:(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place and close to termini. free wine was a nice touch

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Davis

Alone

City break

23 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly reception on arrival, clean rooms with single beds, the free bottle of wine, come and go as you wish with your own set of three keys. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: No hot water, breakfast coupon only gets you a cup of coffee and a bun, very basic facilities including an extremely bare kitchen. Bring your own kettle if you want a cup of tea, forget about cooking.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was friendly and provided us with a lot of information....

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Adrian Santiago

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Kurt Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived, we couldn't find the hostel because it was a laundry and internet shop that was on the lobby. good thing someone told us that the hostel was there. It looked dubious at first, but the staff was very friendly (and funny!). What i liked about the staff is that he made an itinerary for us good for the time we had in Rome. we followed it, we were able to go to all the landmarks. the rooms were so nice and very clean. twas a bad first impression but i was so wrong.

Disliked: nothing really. location, service, and room: all great. it was just scary at first, seeing the "lobby". but once you see the awards inside, there's a feeling of safety. haha. had a really great stay at funny palace!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, close to the station

Disliked: It seemed a bit dodgy - checking in at a Laundry, cash only... Didnt feel completely safe the whole time I was there but nothing bad happened and all worked out. Not sure Id stay there if I was on my own though..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Pack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station, great staff, no bunk beds, free wine, breakfast included around the corner, good wifi

Disliked: No real common room or kitchen, the feel of checking in to a laundromat and going to an unmarked apartment was a bit odd

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Beck

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, gret directions and hints on what to see or do.

Disliked: The area seams a little dodgy at night but we didn't have any problems.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The British guy that welcomed us was very friendly and helpful, although the advice he gave was pretty basic. The room was lovely and clean, nicely decorated. The cleaning lady was lovely. Contrary to other reviews, the place wasn't hard to find, and it's absolutely fine that it's an apartment somewhere rather than a proper hostel. And breakfast vouchers for a cafe is a great idea, much better than a hostel-provided breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing. There was a problem with the shower drain caused by another guest blocking their toilet, but it was fixed quickly. The map was dreadful, but they did tell us to go get a better one from a tourist info point.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern. The people who work there are very helpful they practically mapped out my trip day by day in a way so that i could get the best use of my time. Bottle of wine upon arrival and great breakfast :)

Disliked: The location was somewhat of a walk to the major attractions and the other side of the train station it was dangerous.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station, easy to get around.

Disliked: Not much of a social area to meet other travelers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel! they make your bed every morning and clean the restroom, it is really great

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Frederick

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! The room was incredibly clean and much, much nicer than I had expected. I have stayed in a ton of ever-priced European hotels, and most are dirty and sketchy. Our room at Funny Palace was so clean and comfortable. Marby was awesome! He gave us a great map of Rome and helped us create a two day itinerary.

Disliked: The place was awesome. The ONLY thing I would recommend is that they get a sign that says, Funny Palace. My husband and I walked up and down the block 3 times until Marby came out to claim us. It turns out you have to enter through the Internet Point/Launderette. No biggie, though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie(Eun) Noh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Annie(Eun) would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, especially Mabri was extremly helpful and friendly. He gave tips and planned itinerary for my stay and it worked out perfectly ! Also they gave me a bottle of wine which was very nice. Very close to termini station so it's easy to get around. I booked 4 beds but there was only 3 beds, and it was 3 single beds not bunk bed ! I don't think any hostel can be nicer than that. The room was VERY nice and spacious, even had a closet and small tv and locks. Bathroom was very nice and clean as well. I would definitely recommend Funny Palace to anyone who goes to Rome.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great location and price, especially for Rome. It is very close to the train station, and accessible to attractions. The staff was very helpful and I appreciated that WiFi was free in the room, and internet was free on their terminals. There was also an elevator to our room.

Disliked: The rooms are not fancy, but very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Nicolas Rotondo

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 October 2011 Jorge Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Habitacion amplia, limpia, con tele, caja fuerte, buena ubicacion.

Disliked: No tiene ascensor!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

anil chauhan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 anil would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, as we were put up on the third floor and had more than 45 kg of luggage, without asking for the help the staff helped us with it which you rarely find in Europe and that too in hostels, it was touching.. even more than the wine bottle which was being offered on arrival..young guys smart to know their guests in terms of what they are there for so the first thing they do is make you aware of the town no sooner as you reach there..very good room it had everything..loved it

Disliked: The breakfast offered was very basic or even less than basic I would say..they have tied up with a place for breakfast..and don't have their own restaurant..so count breakfast as not being offered..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guan Yit LOH

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Guan Yit would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the Central station

Disliked: The air conditioner isn't working properly..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dont be put off by the weird name. Modern bathroom and kitchen, very clean and in a great location

Disliked: Aircon system in room wasnt powerful enough to keep room properly cool


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels