HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

88.5% Overall Rating

555 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"welcome gift (a bottle of wine), clean bathroom, bed getting cleaned everyday, helpful staff (suggested itinerary), very close to the main train/bus station"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more. Rome City Council has imposed a tourist tax of 3.50 Eur per person per night. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee. Please consider this extra fee in your budget.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
35.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.8% 201 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
36.69 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 111 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
37.94 USD

Hostel 85.6% 179 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
37.95 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 282 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
69.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
22.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.7% 540 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

555 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 490 of 550 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fantastic! We arrived late and Madrid was there waiting for us, he welcomed us, gave us a map and showed us where to go and then gave us a free upgrade to a private ensuite! Best place ever will be recommending to all my friends and the chocolate crossiants are awesome!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Michels

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone on the staff team was extremely friendly and helpful. They made our stay in Rome comfortable and fun. I love that they gave us a free bottle of wine. The staff was so nice that they even shared some of their dinner with us one night, an authentic African dish. The breakfast was also delicious and free! Stay here and enjoy your time in Rome.

Disliked: I didn't like paying in cash for my room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

rennan abud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 rennan would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi and hot water

Disliked: Doesn't has a kitchen, only one toilet to everyone, and you have only one hour free at the computer that was too old.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bodo Burger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

03 April 2012 Bodo would recommend this property

Liked: -really nice building very close to the train station Termini -the guy at the reception made a good job; I had a very short time in Rome, so he made a plan for my sightseeing; the pizzeria near the hostel he recommended was very good though low priced -free internet access in the internet cafe I think the hostel is managed well but it's rather formal; it is not one of these personal hostels.

Disliked: -no common room, I guess it is not that easy to meet other travelers there; I was there only 1 night, so I didn't care

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xizhu zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 xizhu would recommend this property

Liked: it is totally beyond my expectation because he gave us a ensuite double room! We only booked the shared bathroom... The room is very good and the hostel location is just near the train station which is in the very center of Rome

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and wonderful service

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are friendly ,kind,and they gave me nice advice about Rome to travel. They are awesome guys. Thanks a lot!! I am sure to visit here when I come to Rome again.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario C

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Close to main station, clean, secure, and one staff member was helpful.

Disliked: Other staff member was not social or friendly, never even mentioned his name. Was disappointed that there was no real common room. Breakfast was meager and strict (coffee or juice and pastry).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and free-internet in the cafe.

Disliked: Hard to find. Charges 2 euros per person per night extra when check-in, which we were not aware beforehand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpful and planned day by day things to see and do, the facilities were cleaned daily and included a small kitchen and common room, close to train station termini to be able to get to and from the airport as well as anywhere in the city on bus or metro, breakfast allowed you to get coffee and pastry at local restaurant which was good

Disliked: the shower did not get hot water in the mornings and the location is not extremely close to important historic sites

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin bouma

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the centre of town close to everything. It was really clean in side nice dark wood floors. Neat picturesmon the walls. It felt really hommie. You got a free breakfast with it and also free Internet in the room and if you did not have a computer you could use there Internet cafe. If you stay several night you get free wine. It was a really good price and a super nice place. I would strongly recomend staying there if you staying in Rome.

Disliked: The only thing thT was a problem was the bathroom it was a bit of a mad dash to getting in there because there was only one for 8 people and everyone wanted it at the same time. Also there was no hook for the shower head. Nothing big still a great place to stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YEJIN KANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 YEJIN would recommend this property

Liked: Mabri!!

Disliked: Nope

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you want or need to be close to the train station. Clean, quiet, and they give you a free bottle of wine!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Colley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The guy from the laundry was really friendly and helpful. He helped advise our whole trip. Free croissant and cappucino was included, which was a nice surprise. Good location. Great sized room. Clean and modern bathroom... Winner!

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

James Foster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012

Liked: Clean and cosy once you're upstairs.

Disliked: It was on the 5th floor with a dodgy lift. The check in is a little bit creepy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Parth Iyer

Alone

City break

29 January 2012 Parth would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: Parth left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff who gave tips of travelling in rome

Disliked: the reception barely has anything.....like scissors...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Cuesta Aguirre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location is very convenient!

Disliked: Juan Pablo left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Dhiego Saraiva Pimenta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Dhiego would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, and the rooms were ok!

Disliked: just one bathroom for whole floor!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erwin Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Erwin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location from the Roma Termini which gives you access to the whole of Rome and also the Termini has places to eat and shop making it an ideal location. The hostel also has free wifi which was really handy and also a laundromat at the front of the building.

Disliked: Just a bit of a smell of urine from the bathroom but this was not major

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness of the room.

Disliked: Inability to switch on the lights early in the morning since it appears that the electrical current is automatically switched off at some point. And I can assure you that it's pretty dark around 5 am in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jianmin lin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 jianmin would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness of staff

Disliked: nope

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice facilities and really friendly staff who helped us plan our short trip. Close to the train station which was convenient.

Disliked: The internet didn't really work most of the time but we just went and used theirs in the lobby which they gave us for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcio Da Silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Marcio would recommend this property

Liked: All brand new hostel. I felt like in a 4 stars hotel. Very well located. Very nice reception. Perfect place to stay in Rome!

Disliked: Impossible to find something!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels