HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

91.2% Overall Rating

543 out of 560 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Robert Cervenka thinks…

"The staff was very helpful, provided us info about getting there around midnight. Also location is very accessible, although not very safe during the night :) No bunk-beds was a plus too."

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 197 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
41.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.3% 197 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
41.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 93.0% 96 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
32.27 USD

Hostel 86.6% 174 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
55.33 USD

Hotel 83.6% 4 reviews
Cristina Dependance
41.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 269 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
76.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
31.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.3% 534 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

543 out of 560 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 479 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! Staff was great, all of them, they definitely were part of the experience :) We had a private room, it was spacious, clean, quiet. Of all the hostels we've been to in our Europe tour (we did 9 cities), this one was our favorite. We arrived 35min passed 11pm (which was the deadline for check-in), but we sent them an email to let them know in advance. They waited for us there and the guy took his time to still inform us about the hostel, the city and give suggestions of places to go, answer all our questions... they did not rush at all even though it was midnight when it was all said and done. Way to go funny palace! I would definitely recommend this place

Disliked: The location is not right in the city or near the main sightseeings. However, it is next to all public transportion that leads to them. Not a big problem but it is good to know.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

corinne cutler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 corinne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff at front desk

Disliked: Eeded air conditioning n

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUNJIE WANG

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

28 June 2012 JUNJIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to stay in Rome. the landlord, Mabri, is very nice and kind hearted. The map he gave us was really useful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitry Rudakov

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's much better than a hostel, I'd say that it's an appartment. Nice furnished rooms, one-storey bads, big bathroom with bath, friendly staff which gave a bottle of wine to relax. Breakfast 'ticket' can be exercised during the day. Moreover this side of Termini is much better that the other. One month before I stayed on the other side of Termini, and it was poor and shabby. There is also a Chinese quarter there. This time (with Funny Palace) I tried the other side and it's much nicer to walk.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Vidals

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Mabri and everyone on staff were super helpful. They sat down with me upon arrival and gave me a lot of helpful information on how to map out my days, plus answered all my questions I brought up in the following days. They were super approachable and the location was VERY convenient. All the great sights are within walking distance, but if you do get tired the hostel is within walking distance to Roma Termini where you can access all the buses/train line's you may need. The Funny Palace itself was VERY clean and my 5 person dorm was quiet and spacious. The hostel was cleaned EVERY day. The street was quiet at night and I had no difficulty sleeping. The beds in the dorm are proper beds and Not bunk beds. Overall, it was a very positive experience and I would definitely recommend that you book a stay here!

Disliked: The only possible downside was having no common area, but there was sufficient space in the hallway for people to gather in. If you're friendly and sociable enough, then the lack of common area should not be an impediment to meeting people. Plus..you can always go to the Yellow hostel bar and meet many other travelers if you wish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, and the staff were really helpful. We hadnt been to rome before so they gave us a map and suggested walking routes between various places. We got free towels, and the free breakfast from a cafe round the corner was awesome-best criossants/cornetos!

Disliked: we were confused about whether or not the hostel had a kitchen as some comments mentioned a kitchen. Turns out the hostel is really two apartments on different levels of the same building. One apartment has a common area and kitchen but the cooker is disabled. The other apartment has no common area or kitchen at all so is harder to meet other people if you stay there. Wefound not having a kitchen inconvenient but there are some cheap trattoria nearby. .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rebecca Robinson

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: No bunks, which was a nice change! Very spacious rooms, doesn't feel like a normal hostel - it's basically a three bedroom flat converted into one. Very close to main station and airport shuttle bus. Breakfast is small (pastry and drink) but tasty. Good strong wifi and discount at the laundromat.

Disliked: No kitchen (not that I cared, but some do), shower sometimes had only cold water, and only one bathroom (containing the toilet, shower, and all), which was a bit inconvenient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part about this hostel was Mabri. He really does know Rome. You get a map with an exact itinerary of what you should do in Rome and a bottle of wine. Rooms and bathrooms are really clean. The hostel also has a fridge. The location is great! With only minutes walk to the termini station.

Disliked: no signs for the hostel and no common room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El dueño fue muy muy amable. Nada más llegar nos dio un montón de recomendaciones (muy útiles) para aprovechar mejor los 4 días que estuvimos en Roma. Habíamos pagado por una habitación doble con baño compartido, pero como quedaban otras con baño dentro de la habitación, el dueño nos la dejó sin coste adicional. El desayuno se hacía en una cafetería cercana que tenía el acuerdo con el hotel. A 2 minutos de termini, el wifi funcionaba muy bien, y todo limpísimo.

Disliked: Nada en contra.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LAURA GARRIDO CASADO

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 May 2012 LAURA would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, and it is located so close to Termini train station, only two streets far away. There is a nice restaurant "Andrea" so close to the hostal that had come into terms with the hostel and guests have discount in their meals.

Disliked: Breakfast included was not as good as I expected, just a coffe and a croissant.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice to have clothes washing facilities, and while I really dislike being called "sweetie", the people working there were really nice. The bathroom was one if the nicest so far as far as cleanliness and the shower working properly.

Disliked: It sort of has a weird set up - the "office" in the laundromat is in a separate building from the rooms. Also, it was really loud for traffic. But I guess that's what you get for being so close to Termini station!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Fruneaux

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: The man running the hostel is inexplicably nice. He treats you very well, even giving out wine. The hostel itself is beautiful and very clean. I felt like I was staying in a hotel, not a hostel. I was in a four person room with a private bathroom. It's also in a great location, right next to the train station, making travel by public transport easy. I highly recommend the hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina V

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and it had no bunk beds. We received a complimentary bottle of wine when we checked in. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fantastic! We arrived late and Madrid was there waiting for us, he welcomed us, gave us a map and showed us where to go and then gave us a free upgrade to a private ensuite! Best place ever will be recommending to all my friends and the chocolate crossiants are awesome!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Michels

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone on the staff team was extremely friendly and helpful. They made our stay in Rome comfortable and fun. I love that they gave us a free bottle of wine. The staff was so nice that they even shared some of their dinner with us one night, an authentic African dish. The breakfast was also delicious and free! Stay here and enjoy your time in Rome.

Disliked: I didn't like paying in cash for my room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

rennan abud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 rennan would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi and hot water

Disliked: Doesn't has a kitchen, only one toilet to everyone, and you have only one hour free at the computer that was too old.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bodo Burger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

03 April 2012 Bodo would recommend this property

Liked: -really nice building very close to the train station Termini -the guy at the reception made a good job; I had a very short time in Rome, so he made a plan for my sightseeing; the pizzeria near the hostel he recommended was very good though low priced -free internet access in the internet cafe I think the hostel is managed well but it's rather formal; it is not one of these personal hostels.

Disliked: -no common room, I guess it is not that easy to meet other travelers there; I was there only 1 night, so I didn't care

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xizhu zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 xizhu would recommend this property

Liked: it is totally beyond my expectation because he gave us a ensuite double room! We only booked the shared bathroom... The room is very good and the hostel location is just near the train station which is in the very center of Rome

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and wonderful service

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are friendly ,kind,and they gave me nice advice about Rome to travel. They are awesome guys. Thanks a lot!! I am sure to visit here when I come to Rome again.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario C

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Close to main station, clean, secure, and one staff member was helpful.

Disliked: Other staff member was not social or friendly, never even mentioned his name. Was disappointed that there was no real common room. Breakfast was meager and strict (coffee or juice and pastry).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and free-internet in the cafe.

Disliked: Hard to find. Charges 2 euros per person per night extra when check-in, which we were not aware beforehand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpful and planned day by day things to see and do, the facilities were cleaned daily and included a small kitchen and common room, close to train station termini to be able to get to and from the airport as well as anywhere in the city on bus or metro, breakfast allowed you to get coffee and pastry at local restaurant which was good

Disliked: the shower did not get hot water in the mornings and the location is not extremely close to important historic sites

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin bouma

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the centre of town close to everything. It was really clean in side nice dark wood floors. Neat picturesmon the walls. It felt really hommie. You got a free breakfast with it and also free Internet in the room and if you did not have a computer you could use there Internet cafe. If you stay several night you get free wine. It was a really good price and a super nice place. I would strongly recomend staying there if you staying in Rome.

Disliked: The only thing thT was a problem was the bathroom it was a bit of a mad dash to getting in there because there was only one for 8 people and everyone wanted it at the same time. Also there was no hook for the shower head. Nothing big still a great place to stay


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels