We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

87.2% Overall Rating

556 out of 575 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"welcome gift (a bottle of wine), clean bathroom, bed getting cleaned everyday, helpful staff (suggested itinerary), very close to the main train/bus station"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more. Rome City Council has imposed a tourist tax of 3.50 Eur per person per night. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee. Please consider this extra fee in your budget.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
56.93 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.8% 201 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 111 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
16.86 USD

Hostel 85.6% 179 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
31.63 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 78.2% 283 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
28.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.7% 540 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

556 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 551 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location nears station Termini.

Disliked: Reception seems informal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sumeet Das

Alone

City break

05 October 2012 Sumeet would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and really close to the railway station. Rooms are cleaned and beds are made daily. I booked a four bedded room with only 3 beds in it. They give a bottle of wine to all guests on arrival to sweaten the deal.

Disliked: The hostel does not provide a kitchen but breakfast is included and there are many good eateries outside the hostel so it was not a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Air-Con worked - Clean - Helpful staff - Free internet cafe - Very comfortable bed - Quiet - Understanding owner - initially no hot water, but after a bit of "negotiation", got a rent reduction for affected days, and he got the water fixed.

Disliked: - Fridge in room didn't work. - No lift - on 3rd floor with 6 flights of stairs to climb. - No view - view into back yard to be precise. - Very basic breakfast - Coffee and coissant only. Fruit juice would have been good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elaine Xu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Its weirdness and the staff is funny, suiting the name of the place very well.

Disliked: The hostel itself is like an apartment with no one tending it at the entrance, which faces a quiet street. I was followed by some Italian guy at night around 11pm, and I did not feel very safe as the main office was closed and no one could care for me at the apartment entrance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were newly renovated, and they gave us a bottle of wine upon our arrival. There was a lift, and the showers were hot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Robinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and everyone was fun and nice.

Disliked: The boiler for the hot water was not sufficient. Ended up taking a cold shower at one point. Icy cold...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Denisa Kmecova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Denisa would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The noise on the street was terrible. It was not just a bit of noise from cars, but there was a cleaning truck every single night vacuuming leaves from the trees. This truck made such noise that even when we closed windows the noise was not bearable and we could not sleep at all. There are two members of stuff, I do not remember their names, but the African guy was very friendly, but very random and we did not understand information he was giving to us. Then the Asian type of guy was unfriendly, but much more knowledgeable - if you require some information rather ask him.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

azmi umar

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 azmi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is easy to find and the peoples are friendly :)

Disliked: There is no lift but againt it's common for the five floor apartment.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hossein Vakili

Alone

Partying / nightlife

21 August 2012 Hossein would recommend this property

Liked: The property is renowated, everything is fine.

Disliked: Hossein left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was super easy to find from the airport! Just jump on a train to the main train station Termini then walk round down the road and your there. Checking in is very random as you are in a laundromat and for a while you wonder what you have booked but when they take you to your room you are pleasantly surprised. It's more like a serviced apartment than a hostel, we booked a double room with a bathroom and it was huge. It got serviced everyday too which was a treat too. Every morning we had a voucher to get a drink and pastry from the cafe just down the road.

Disliked: Nothing bad just some info on what your booking... If you are wanting a hostel with a communal area to meet people and hangout with other travellers then I don't think this hostel is for you. Once you have your room you are in a seperate building to the check in laundromat and we didn't see anyone else the entire time. Was fine for us as we were travelling as a couple. You will have to pay €2 per person per night city tax on arrival.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Greeted by a helpful member of staff - who worked out straight away what I wanted to do and helped with bookings etc. Free bottle of wine was very unexpected. Its very close to the central train station - ideal if you are backpacking. Its basic but nice enough.

Disliked: Slightly complicated procedure to located and unlock room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Alex

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: - Friendly staff - Very close to Termini station - Room had an attached toilet and shower which was excellent - Fans available for free on request - Staff gives a thorough explanation of sites to see in Rome with free map

Disliked: - Requested for a mixed dorm and got male only dorm - Locker in the room is small and was broken, staff tried to fix it but couldn't - No Credit Card/Eftpos facility to pay for the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! Staff was great, all of them, they definitely were part of the experience :) We had a private room, it was spacious, clean, quiet. Of all the hostels we've been to in our Europe tour (we did 9 cities), this one was our favorite. We arrived 35min passed 11pm (which was the deadline for check-in), but we sent them an email to let them know in advance. They waited for us there and the guy took his time to still inform us about the hostel, the city and give suggestions of places to go, answer all our questions... they did not rush at all even though it was midnight when it was all said and done. Way to go funny palace! I would definitely recommend this place

Disliked: The location is not right in the city or near the main sightseeings. However, it is next to all public transportion that leads to them. Not a big problem but it is good to know.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

corinne cutler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 corinne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff at front desk

Disliked: Eeded air conditioning n

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUNJIE WANG

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

28 June 2012 JUNJIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to stay in Rome. the landlord, Mabri, is very nice and kind hearted. The map he gave us was really useful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitry Rudakov

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's much better than a hostel, I'd say that it's an appartment. Nice furnished rooms, one-storey bads, big bathroom with bath, friendly staff which gave a bottle of wine to relax. Breakfast 'ticket' can be exercised during the day. Moreover this side of Termini is much better that the other. One month before I stayed on the other side of Termini, and it was poor and shabby. There is also a Chinese quarter there. This time (with Funny Palace) I tried the other side and it's much nicer to walk.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Vidals

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Mabri and everyone on staff were super helpful. They sat down with me upon arrival and gave me a lot of helpful information on how to map out my days, plus answered all my questions I brought up in the following days. They were super approachable and the location was VERY convenient. All the great sights are within walking distance, but if you do get tired the hostel is within walking distance to Roma Termini where you can access all the buses/train line's you may need. The Funny Palace itself was VERY clean and my 5 person dorm was quiet and spacious. The hostel was cleaned EVERY day. The street was quiet at night and I had no difficulty sleeping. The beds in the dorm are proper beds and Not bunk beds. Overall, it was a very positive experience and I would definitely recommend that you book a stay here!

Disliked: The only possible downside was having no common area, but there was sufficient space in the hallway for people to gather in. If you're friendly and sociable enough, then the lack of common area should not be an impediment to meeting people. Plus..you can always go to the Yellow hostel bar and meet many other travelers if you wish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, and the staff were really helpful. We hadnt been to rome before so they gave us a map and suggested walking routes between various places. We got free towels, and the free breakfast from a cafe round the corner was awesome-best criossants/cornetos!

Disliked: we were confused about whether or not the hostel had a kitchen as some comments mentioned a kitchen. Turns out the hostel is really two apartments on different levels of the same building. One apartment has a common area and kitchen but the cooker is disabled. The other apartment has no common area or kitchen at all so is harder to meet other people if you stay there. Wefound not having a kitchen inconvenient but there are some cheap trattoria nearby. .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rebecca Robinson

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: No bunks, which was a nice change! Very spacious rooms, doesn't feel like a normal hostel - it's basically a three bedroom flat converted into one. Very close to main station and airport shuttle bus. Breakfast is small (pastry and drink) but tasty. Good strong wifi and discount at the laundromat.

Disliked: No kitchen (not that I cared, but some do), shower sometimes had only cold water, and only one bathroom (containing the toilet, shower, and all), which was a bit inconvenient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part about this hostel was Mabri. He really does know Rome. You get a map with an exact itinerary of what you should do in Rome and a bottle of wine. Rooms and bathrooms are really clean. The hostel also has a fridge. The location is great! With only minutes walk to the termini station.

Disliked: no signs for the hostel and no common room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El dueño fue muy muy amable. Nada más llegar nos dio un montón de recomendaciones (muy útiles) para aprovechar mejor los 4 días que estuvimos en Roma. Habíamos pagado por una habitación doble con baño compartido, pero como quedaban otras con baño dentro de la habitación, el dueño nos la dejó sin coste adicional. El desayuno se hacía en una cafetería cercana que tenía el acuerdo con el hotel. A 2 minutos de termini, el wifi funcionaba muy bien, y todo limpísimo.

Disliked: Nada en contra.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LAURA GARRIDO CASADO

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 May 2012 LAURA would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, and it is located so close to Termini train station, only two streets far away. There is a nice restaurant "Andrea" so close to the hostal that had come into terms with the hostel and guests have discount in their meals.

Disliked: Breakfast included was not as good as I expected, just a coffe and a croissant.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice to have clothes washing facilities, and while I really dislike being called "sweetie", the people working there were really nice. The bathroom was one if the nicest so far as far as cleanliness and the shower working properly.

Disliked: It sort of has a weird set up - the "office" in the laundromat is in a separate building from the rooms. Also, it was really loud for traffic. But I guess that's what you get for being so close to Termini station!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Fruneaux

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: The man running the hostel is inexplicably nice. He treats you very well, even giving out wine. The hostel itself is beautiful and very clean. I felt like I was staying in a hotel, not a hostel. I was in a four person room with a private bathroom. It's also in a great location, right next to the train station, making travel by public transport easy. I highly recommend the hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels