HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

88.5% Overall Rating

555 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"welcome gift (a bottle of wine), clean bathroom, bed getting cleaned everyday, helpful staff (suggested itinerary), very close to the main train/bus station"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more. Rome City Council has imposed a tourist tax of 3.50 Eur per person per night. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee. Please consider this extra fee in your budget.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
35.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.8% 201 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
36.69 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 111 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
37.94 USD

Hostel 85.6% 179 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
37.95 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
29.10 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 282 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
69.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
22.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.7% 540 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

555 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 490 of 550 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Victor Nicolas Giampaoli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 April 2013 Victor Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Me gustó la limpieza y el orden.

Disliked: No hay ambiente de hostel, ho se hacen núcleos de gente, no hay posibilidad de interactuar con otras personas que están hospedadas en el mismo lugar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Doris van Riel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived we got a warm welcome and such a good explanation about everything. Loved the place!

Disliked: Doris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Osako

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Is a wonderful location, really near from Termini station! The room is clean, the staff is amazing and helpful. Is an apartment, so I felt like a resident. There is a common room and kitchen. They gave us a bottle of wine when we checked in! Really liked! Recommended!

Disliked: The stove wasn't working and the is only one bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick redden

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful people. Fantastic location. Very clean

Disliked: Toilets to close to bedroom, can hear everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfort and cleanliness

Disliked: I liked it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located and the owner was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The bed was very stiff and too much traffic noise.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abhishek Acharya

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Abhishek would recommend this property

Liked: It is conveniently located on the quieter side of Roma Termini, the main train station. Getting here was thus easier. The staff was very friendly and also told us how to visit Rome in the time we had. The place is clean and well kept.

Disliked: It was an occasional police van that had its siren on right in the middle of the night, but nothing really against the property.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen Huang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Wen would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were so nice! As soon as we arrived Mabri sat us down and worked out our entire trip. The beds were very comfortable. The hostel was very secure with 3 doors to go through and password protected lockers. Also breakfast and towels were included. We also received coupons to other restaurants in the area. The location was nice as well, since there is always a bus nearby that goes to Termini.

Disliked: The shower filled up with water a little.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marciano de Bruin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Marciano would recommend this property

Liked: - Good location / easy to find - Internet and laundry facilities at check-in - Free towels - The guys are nice and really helpful with things to see/do

Disliked: - No common room or kitchen - Wifi in the room is not really strong

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localización decente, teniendo en cuenta lo grande que es Roma. Los encargados son muy amables (te dicen rutas, no ponen problemas para que dejes las maletas el ultimo dia y te regalan una botella de vino al llegar!) El desayuno es un cafe y algo de bollería en un bar cercano.

Disliked: El baño compartido para cuatro habitaciones, aunque la verdad es que nosotros no tuvimos que esperar por él pero supongo que en temporada alta habrá problemas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, real safety box where I could lock my travel documents and spare credit card. Good location. Bottle of wine as a welcome present; haven't tasted it yet, can't say more. Clean. Good location. Happy with the other guests.

Disliked: Bathroom and shower in one room, and this for several rooms. One may get waiting in the morning. No common area for people to socialize.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, friendly staff, could use internet free

Disliked: smell in bathroom of drains sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Pereira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel i've been in europe!

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. The room (private double) is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Vanhaelewyn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: We got a better room than we originally asked for!

Disliked: No problems.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owner gave us a bottle of red wine upon arrival & kept our luggage when we checked out. He was friendly and told us how to tour Rome.

Disliked: There was no hot water the next morning & we waited for a while for the water heater to be fixed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

salvatore prestianni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Na

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013

Liked: The people at reception are nice. The location is quite good. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

Disliked: The water flow rate for the shower is really tiny - kinda chilly in the winter time. There is no lobby ...no social life...more like a B&B than a hostel.... the reception is in a laundry mat and the room is like a quarter of one floor in a small house..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seyoung Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Seyoung would recommend this property

Liked: Reception is really helpful. Facilities are clean and new and he mostly people are really nice. the location is good, close to station and supermarket. also you can go to most of touristic place by walk.

Disliked: Turn off heater in night. really cold..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- only 5 minutes to Termini, helpful stuff- the recommendations on trips and sightseeng was really helpful. Free internet was also very convenient.

Disliked: If you wanted a clean bathroom, you had to be the first one there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Complementary Wine bottle was icing on the cake!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Butera

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Huge rooms and close to so many different things, supermarket, restaurants, sites. Colosseum is a 15 minute walk one way, and Trevi is a15 minute the other way. Upgraded our room to a very beautiful spacious one with a private bathroom. Great staff that went through the entire area with us, things to do, places to eat. Awesome place!!!

Disliked: Nothing! Who cares that check in is in a laundry mat!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremly helpful staff, excellent location, nice & clean, rather B&B than hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location nears station Termini.

Disliked: Reception seems informal.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels