HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

91.2% Overall Rating

543 out of 560 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Robert Cervenka thinks…

"The staff was very helpful, provided us info about getting there around midnight. Also location is very accessible, although not very safe during the night :) No bunk-beds was a plus too."

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 197 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
41.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.3% 197 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
41.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 93.0% 96 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
32.27 USD

Hostel 86.6% 174 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
55.33 USD

Hotel 83.6% 4 reviews
Cristina Dependance
41.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 269 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
76.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
31.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.3% 534 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

543 out of 560 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 479 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, friendly staff, could use internet free

Disliked: smell in bathroom of drains sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Pereira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel i've been in europe!

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. The room (private double) is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Vanhaelewyn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: We got a better room than we originally asked for!

Disliked: No problems.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owner gave us a bottle of red wine upon arrival & kept our luggage when we checked out. He was friendly and told us how to tour Rome.

Disliked: There was no hot water the next morning & we waited for a while for the water heater to be fixed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

salvatore prestianni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Na

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013

Liked: The people at reception are nice. The location is quite good. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

Disliked: The water flow rate for the shower is really tiny - kinda chilly in the winter time. There is no lobby ...no social life...more like a B&B than a hostel.... the reception is in a laundry mat and the room is like a quarter of one floor in a small house..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seyoung Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Seyoung would recommend this property

Liked: Reception is really helpful. Facilities are clean and new and he mostly people are really nice. the location is good, close to station and supermarket. also you can go to most of touristic place by walk.

Disliked: Turn off heater in night. really cold..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- only 5 minutes to Termini, helpful stuff- the recommendations on trips and sightseeng was really helpful. Free internet was also very convenient.

Disliked: If you wanted a clean bathroom, you had to be the first one there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Complementary Wine bottle was icing on the cake!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Butera

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Huge rooms and close to so many different things, supermarket, restaurants, sites. Colosseum is a 15 minute walk one way, and Trevi is a15 minute the other way. Upgraded our room to a very beautiful spacious one with a private bathroom. Great staff that went through the entire area with us, things to do, places to eat. Awesome place!!!

Disliked: Nothing! Who cares that check in is in a laundry mat!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremly helpful staff, excellent location, nice & clean, rather B&B than hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location nears station Termini.

Disliked: Reception seems informal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sumeet Das

Alone

City break

05 October 2012 Sumeet would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and really close to the railway station. Rooms are cleaned and beds are made daily. I booked a four bedded room with only 3 beds in it. They give a bottle of wine to all guests on arrival to sweaten the deal.

Disliked: The hostel does not provide a kitchen but breakfast is included and there are many good eateries outside the hostel so it was not a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Air-Con worked - Clean - Helpful staff - Free internet cafe - Very comfortable bed - Quiet - Understanding owner - initially no hot water, but after a bit of "negotiation", got a rent reduction for affected days, and he got the water fixed.

Disliked: - Fridge in room didn't work. - No lift - on 3rd floor with 6 flights of stairs to climb. - No view - view into back yard to be precise. - Very basic breakfast - Coffee and coissant only. Fruit juice would have been good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elaine Xu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Its weirdness and the staff is funny, suiting the name of the place very well.

Disliked: The hostel itself is like an apartment with no one tending it at the entrance, which faces a quiet street. I was followed by some Italian guy at night around 11pm, and I did not feel very safe as the main office was closed and no one could care for me at the apartment entrance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were newly renovated, and they gave us a bottle of wine upon our arrival. There was a lift, and the showers were hot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Robinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and everyone was fun and nice.

Disliked: The boiler for the hot water was not sufficient. Ended up taking a cold shower at one point. Icy cold...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Denisa Kmecova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Denisa would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The noise on the street was terrible. It was not just a bit of noise from cars, but there was a cleaning truck every single night vacuuming leaves from the trees. This truck made such noise that even when we closed windows the noise was not bearable and we could not sleep at all. There are two members of stuff, I do not remember their names, but the African guy was very friendly, but very random and we did not understand information he was giving to us. Then the Asian type of guy was unfriendly, but much more knowledgeable - if you require some information rather ask him.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

azmi umar

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 azmi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is easy to find and the peoples are friendly :)

Disliked: There is no lift but againt it's common for the five floor apartment.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hossein Vakili

Alone

Partying / nightlife

21 August 2012 Hossein would recommend this property

Liked: The property is renowated, everything is fine.

Disliked: Hossein left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was super easy to find from the airport! Just jump on a train to the main train station Termini then walk round down the road and your there. Checking in is very random as you are in a laundromat and for a while you wonder what you have booked but when they take you to your room you are pleasantly surprised. It's more like a serviced apartment than a hostel, we booked a double room with a bathroom and it was huge. It got serviced everyday too which was a treat too. Every morning we had a voucher to get a drink and pastry from the cafe just down the road.

Disliked: Nothing bad just some info on what your booking... If you are wanting a hostel with a communal area to meet people and hangout with other travellers then I don't think this hostel is for you. Once you have your room you are in a seperate building to the check in laundromat and we didn't see anyone else the entire time. Was fine for us as we were travelling as a couple. You will have to pay €2 per person per night city tax on arrival.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Greeted by a helpful member of staff - who worked out straight away what I wanted to do and helped with bookings etc. Free bottle of wine was very unexpected. Its very close to the central train station - ideal if you are backpacking. Its basic but nice enough.

Disliked: Slightly complicated procedure to located and unlock room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Alex

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: - Friendly staff - Very close to Termini station - Room had an attached toilet and shower which was excellent - Fans available for free on request - Staff gives a thorough explanation of sites to see in Rome with free map

Disliked: - Requested for a mixed dorm and got male only dorm - Locker in the room is small and was broken, staff tried to fix it but couldn't - No Credit Card/Eftpos facility to pay for the room


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels