HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

91.2% Overall Rating

543 out of 560 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Robert Cervenka thinks…

"The staff was very helpful, provided us info about getting there around midnight. Also location is very accessible, although not very safe during the night :) No bunk-beds was a plus too."

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
33.17 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 197 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
34.55 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.9% 198 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
41.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.0% 97 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
27.63 USD

Hostel 86.6% 174 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
62.19 USD

Hotel 83.6% 4 reviews
Cristina Dependance
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 270 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
76.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
31.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.1% 535 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

543 out of 560 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 479 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great! The room was also very comfortable and perhaps the quietest night's sleep i have ever experienced at a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice, a great help, this was my first trip over seas and everyone at this Hostel was just so nice. The room was clean, I felt completely safe. I would recommend highly.. FYI the enterance was a little bit hard to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family atmosphere, staff really helpfull and friendly ... good advices from them and good ratio quality/rate

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great little place, and Mabray will make you feel like a guest of honour - make sure he gives you the full lowdown and map on what to do if your first time in Rome, we followed his advice and had a fantastic 48 hours. located right next to the main train station (buses to airport etc) so location could not be better...!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mike bainbridge

19 April 2009 mike would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmoshere and the friendliness of the staff Mabri and Johnny who couldn't do more for my son and I . My eleven year old son was on a suprise trip with his dad and they made the trip extra special for him . I also liked the fact that the actual accomodation was actually next door to a quirky check in area which was actually a laundrette coonexted to thwe internet via 'old' computers.There was a genuine enthusiasm for the rooms when we were shown them and a free bottle of Romanian red wine completed the tour. I e-mailled a pic on my return to England and have also spoken to Mabri on the phone. My wife and I will be returning to Funny Palace in October.Still missing the place and people now and couldn't recommend the place highly enough!

Disliked: mike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Ferraz

19 April 2009 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the cleanliness of the room, as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the people at the bar where we were served our inclusive breakfasts. The atmosphere and character of the hostel was nice also. Definitely good value for money :)

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matthew Gain

19 April 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the place was incredibly clean.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Crazy-friendly people at the reception :-) , breakfast with local Italians, correct behaviour of the staff. Parking was free on the streets without any damage (newer cars were recommended to use the garage)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Woods

17 April 2009 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and they even gave us a free bottle of wine for staying there.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, nice people - had a really good time in rome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bryan Guerra

16 April 2009 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Although the bathroom was shared it was still very private.

Disliked: Bryan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the place!next time I m in Rome! Reserve me a room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Takako Noguchi

14 April 2009 Takako would recommend this property

Liked: one staff told us where we should go and how to get there. We really appreciated that advice because we only have one and half day in Rome. Thanks for his information, we could go the main sightseeing place in Rome! and all staff are kind and friendly!! :)

Disliked: Takako left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikas Singhle

09 April 2009 Vikas would recommend this property

Liked: The promoters was very helpful in providing travelling tips .

Disliked: Vikas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Martello

13 March 2009 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: staff was amazingly helpful. the owner was on site most of the time. everyone was really friendly

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Castle

08 March 2009 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Funny Palace is situated in a great location, close to Termini Station. All the main sites are within walking distance and you can reach the Vatican by taking one easy bus ride. The friendly and helpful staff are on hand to answer any questions and help you plan your time and give tips to maximise your time. The room was lovely, more like a hotel than a hostel!!!. I would recommend this hostel to everyone :)

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Obertelli

06 March 2009 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and free internet. Bottle of wine on arrival was nice too!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: local

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haruna SHISHIKURA

01 March 2009 Haruna would recommend this property

Liked: the owner makes sightseeing plan for you. its really helpful for your staying in roma!!

Disliked: Haruna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Cynthia Lopez

01 March 2009 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Mabri was great! His recommendations made my stay in Rome a pleasant and memorable experience.

Disliked: Cynthia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very accommodating and friendly and welcomed us with respect and provided us with good orientation of going around Rome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael kaplan

28 February 2009 michael would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, clean bathrooms, internet and laundry facilities, great staff, was very helpful, breakfast was included and offered great pastries. Mabri was awesome, showed us around, gave us a lot of suggestions for what to do and see in rome. would stay again!

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff and clean facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Miranda

22 February 2009 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: We were welcome like home! The owner is very helpfull and kind.

Disliked: Gonzalo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Drury

20 February 2009 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: people. staff incredably friendly and have great knowledge of area.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels