We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

88.5% Overall Rating

555 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

"Very friendly staff, they give you very usefull day-trip tips, the croissant and cappuccino in the morning is delicious"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more. Rome City Council has imposed a tourist tax of 3.50 Eur per person per night. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee. Please consider this extra fee in your budget.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
32.37 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
37.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.8% 201 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
42.72 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 111 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
34.52 USD

Hostel 85.6% 179 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
51.79 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
31.07 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 282 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
71.21 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
20.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.7% 540 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

555 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 489 of 549 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 May 2009

Liked: the location of the hostel is good and the staff was nice, but the facilities is not much only have the washing machine

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you've never been to Rome before, Mabri sits you down and makes sure you know where all the site are, including which buses get you back to the hostel. I instantly felt at ease. Beds were very clean and the place is nice and quite. Thanks Mabri!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

darlene hernandez

20 May 2009 darlene would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station. Ceaser was the best! Thanks for showing me around and making me feel welcomed!!!

Disliked: darlene left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

albert baginski

13 May 2009 albert would recommend this property

Liked: I had very good time in Funny Place with my friends. Mabri- the owner look after us very well. i have visited a lot of hostel and this one is definitely highly recommendet

Disliked: albert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siti Khairulnisa Khamis

13 May 2009 Siti Khairulnisa would recommend this property

Liked: Mabry was very kind, planned our trip despite the very short stay and upgraded our room from private double to private ensuite with no extra charge, which was very nice! Room was much better than expected - of a hotel standard. Breakfast was sufficient.

Disliked: Siti Khairulnisa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Gay

12 May 2009 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel,staff very helpful and great location. Would stay here if I was back in Rome tomorrow.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in private room not hostel, so comment is about that.The staff were friendly andhelpful; the location was good - near to the station; the facilities were useful (free internet; bags kept after check-out; various guidebooks)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the people were really nice and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

melitza thompson

03 May 2009 melitza would recommend this property

Liked: close to train station

Disliked: melitza left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: professional but super friendly staff. bottle of wine on arrival was appreciated! its better than advertised on the website.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great! The room was also very comfortable and perhaps the quietest night's sleep i have ever experienced at a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice, a great help, this was my first trip over seas and everyone at this Hostel was just so nice. The room was clean, I felt completely safe. I would recommend highly.. FYI the enterance was a little bit hard to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family atmosphere, staff really helpfull and friendly ... good advices from them and good ratio quality/rate

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great little place, and Mabray will make you feel like a guest of honour - make sure he gives you the full lowdown and map on what to do if your first time in Rome, we followed his advice and had a fantastic 48 hours. located right next to the main train station (buses to airport etc) so location could not be better...!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mike bainbridge

19 April 2009 mike would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmoshere and the friendliness of the staff Mabri and Johnny who couldn't do more for my son and I . My eleven year old son was on a suprise trip with his dad and they made the trip extra special for him . I also liked the fact that the actual accomodation was actually next door to a quirky check in area which was actually a laundrette coonexted to thwe internet via 'old' computers.There was a genuine enthusiasm for the rooms when we were shown them and a free bottle of Romanian red wine completed the tour. I e-mailled a pic on my return to England and have also spoken to Mabri on the phone. My wife and I will be returning to Funny Palace in October.Still missing the place and people now and couldn't recommend the place highly enough!

Disliked: mike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Ferraz

19 April 2009 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the cleanliness of the room, as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the people at the bar where we were served our inclusive breakfasts. The atmosphere and character of the hostel was nice also. Definitely good value for money :)

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matthew Gain

19 April 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the place was incredibly clean.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Crazy-friendly people at the reception :-) , breakfast with local Italians, correct behaviour of the staff. Parking was free on the streets without any damage (newer cars were recommended to use the garage)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Woods

17 April 2009 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and they even gave us a free bottle of wine for staying there.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, nice people - had a really good time in rome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bryan Guerra

16 April 2009 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Although the bathroom was shared it was still very private.

Disliked: Bryan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the place!next time I m in Rome! Reserve me a room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Takako Noguchi

14 April 2009 Takako would recommend this property

Liked: one staff told us where we should go and how to get there. We really appreciated that advice because we only have one and half day in Rome. Thanks for his information, we could go the main sightseeing place in Rome! and all staff are kind and friendly!! :)

Disliked: Takako left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikas Singhle

09 April 2009 Vikas would recommend this property

Liked: The promoters was very helpful in providing travelling tips .

Disliked: Vikas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Martello

13 March 2009 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: staff was amazingly helpful. the owner was on site most of the time. everyone was really friendly

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels