We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Funny Palace

Hostel | Via Varese 33, Rome, Italy 00185

87.2% Overall Rating

556 out of 575 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"welcome gift (a bottle of wine), clean bathroom, bed getting cleaned everyday, helpful staff (suggested itinerary), very close to the main train/bus station"

Read all Funny Palace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the property will pre-authorised the credit card for all the booking with a lenght of stay of 5 nights and more. Rome City Council has imposed a tourist tax of 3.50 Eur per person per night. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee. Please consider this extra fee in your budget.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

When in Rome Accommodation
23.91 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 200 reviews
Euro Quiris Hotel
27.70 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.8% 201 reviews
Hotel Bed in Roma
29.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 111 reviews
Sunmoon Hostel
25.29 USD

Hostel 85.6% 179 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
31.63 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 282 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montestella
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.7% 540 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

556 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny Palace'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 551 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They made a big effort to give me everything I needed to know to have a safe and fun time to explore Rome. The room was safe but no locker for bag in the room. The bathroom had some mold and the shower was small but it had hot water which was great. He host was very friendly. The free bottle of wine was appreciated

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazingly friendy and helpful, the internet and breakfast are free, and the location is convenient. I had a wonderful stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Steele

29 June 2009 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent and the staff were very helpful. There is no communal space so it's not great for meeting some new people, but otherwise a great hostel.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good place to stay, i would recommend it. its really close to the train station (very handy!), the staff are very friendly, you can use free internet for half hour each day, and bathroom/dorm rooms were very clean. free breakfast is from the cafe down the street where you get a good coffee and croissant to start your day.there is also a market right around the corner, which is very convenient for grabbing some food in the morning!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shun Wah So

27 June 2009 Shun Wah would recommend this property

Liked: Funny Palace definitely made our stay in Rome even more perfect. People are indeed helpful and friendly, they prepared the itinerary for our 3 days there and we felt we made very good use of our time because of their advice. Rooms are clean and comfy. Will definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Shun Wah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Chung

25 June 2009 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Mabri gave us all the advice we needed and practically planned our trip for us! Fantastic service, free internet and a bottle of wine was great :)(Definitely great if you're an english speaker)

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

henry graf

22 June 2009 henry would recommend this property

Liked: Marbri was awesome. He gave us great hints on seeing Rome in a very short amount of time. I would totally stay again.

Disliked: henry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice appartement with clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Bedell

19 June 2009 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: After staying in over 15 hostels over the past 5 years, this was far and away the best. The staff was helpful and honest and the rooms were as nice, if not nicer then mid-level hotels.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Damarwahyudi Damarwahyudi

19 June 2009 Damarwahyudi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is so close to the city terminal, and the staffs/owner of the hostel are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Damarwahyudi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Nilsson

17 June 2009 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I love the staff, they're so helpful and funny. Always get you in a good mood.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danique Hanson

14 June 2009 Danique would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel- the staff organised our time in rome for us and we got to make the very most of our stay - staff go above and beyond!! great place!

Disliked: Danique left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ryan morris

14 June 2009 ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The workers there were so helpful and gave us the place right when we arrived. They were a great help and I would suggest this place to anyone.

Disliked: ryan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Rosinski

12 June 2009 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Private room with bathroom - very comfortable and decorated perfectly

Disliked: Jakub left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Ryser

12 June 2009 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: we liked this place, mabri (the owner) is great and really cares about ya and the rooms are cool.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mabri was Extremely helpful, providing a map with recommendations and bus numbers as well as a bottle of wine, just like the reviews online said. The room and bathroom were clean and secure. I had a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, an above average hostel in a safe neighborhood near the main train station. Check-in was indeed pretty weird, but my 4-bed dorm room was spacious and clean and reasonably quiet at night. Decent value for money. Staff were helpful. Excellent breakfast. I would stay here again if I were looking for a property near the train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fiona Brown

07 June 2009 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Was very happy with this with free upgrade, the staff a friendly and very easy from the train staion to get to the only bad thing about it is the showers are so small and Im not really a big person.

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Kaplan

05 June 2009 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms are always clean and quiet.

Disliked: Katrina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

john dinolfo

04 June 2009 john would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful and went out of his way to help us find what we wanted and needed around the city, and gave us a lot of helpful advice.

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its near to the Metro station and convenience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was fine and the staff helpful, location is the best part

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mabri is one of the guys who runs the place. He is absolutly the best help in rome. He helped out trying to find a place to stay because his place was booked the other nights. O he also got us great deals. he knows anything you need to know when staying in Rome. Very good advice on local tricks and other such. Great place. Recommend

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce D'cruze

02 June 2009 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Rome for a short visit. Really safe. Really friendly. free bottle of wine on arrival. Free breakfast every morning. Got discount food at certain restaurants for staying at the funny palace. Really recommend this place. Owner organised where to go for us and told us how to get around and everything we needed to know.In short.......... Stay here = )

Disliked: Bruce left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free laundry service and internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels