HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Conte House

Hostel | Via Merulana 191, Rome, Italy 00185

90.7% Overall Rating

200 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Jackson Boyd thinks…

"Liked the location. About a 10min walk to the Colosseum, very close to central metro stops and termini train station, easy to get around. Also you are not right in the center of all the touristy…"

Read all Conte House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Colisseum Lodge
40.19 USD

Hostel 92.9% 128 reviews
Ariosto B&B
25.46 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 43 reviews
Centre of the World
36.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.0% 18 reviews
Trinity B&B
26.80 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 46 reviews
Auditorium Di Mecenate
37.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 234 reviews
Sixbeds
29.47 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 313 reviews
Luna Home
30.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOTEL ROME LOVE
40.19 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

200 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Conte House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 158 of 210 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackson Boyd

Solo

Turismo culturale

25 July 2014 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the location. About a 10min walk to the Colosseum, very close to central metro stops and termini train station, easy to get around. Also you are not right in the center of all the touristy stuff, which I kind of liked -- but still close enough to get there when you want to. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Gabriele even offered to cook me pasta when i arrived hungry (not normally included). And he did, and it was delicious. Great experience

Disliked: The room was a bit small for 2 people, but not a huge deal. Also A/C unit was not working in our room and it was very hot in July. At least there was an A/C unit.. I guess I wouldn't be complaining if there wasn't one to begin with.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Turismo culturale

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were put in 'my house' which is a seperate building from conte house. So i can only speak for there, but close walk to metro manzoni, and even better close walk to the colleseum, great to just walk there and get on a hoponhopoff bus! Hostel is clean, staff friendly! Yes the 5bed dorm is a little cramped but not uncomfortable! Nice air con too!

Disliked: Small thing of they seemed reluctant to let us use the kitchen for dinner at night but we'd already bought pasta etc. so just be persistant and it was no issue! So much to do in rome it is a great place as a base :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Price

partner

Visitare una cittá
Relax/Trattamenti di benessere
Gita romantica
Turismo culturale

22 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walking distance to termini station, but far enough away to be in a nicer area. Easy walking distance to the Colliseum

Disliked: Nothing really!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsey Miller

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Turismo culturale

17 July 2014 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: A/c was a plus! SO close to the colosseum. Less than a 10 minute walk. Lots of good places to eat nearby and very close to the metro. Staff was very friendly and helpful! Rooms were clean and cleaned everyday. Overall a very nice place and will be staying on my next rome visit!

Disliked: Lindsey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Greenberg

Solo

Turismo culturale

16 July 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great shower. Clean space. Safe space. Friendly people. Great location. GREAT PRICE!

Disliked: the bread ("Bed and Breakfast") was pretty terrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Visitare una cittá

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Because the price was so cheap I was expecting budget accommodation although received the exact opposite The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the staff make you feel at home

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

11 July 2014

Liked: The staff were nice and the place was clean enough. This place would be good to stay of you were with a group of mates because it would be like having your own apartment in Rome.

Disliked: I was sleeping in a bedroom with 5 single beds, I was nearly hitting the next person when I rolled over in my sleep. The room was so cramped every time someone came into the room the bedroom door hit my bed. There was no room for bags etc. The staff were nice enough however did not have a great deal of local knowledge when I asked for a laundromat they couldn't tell me where one was. As previously stated this place would be good with a couple of mates, but not the place if you are alone and want to meet other people, have a bit of fun and socialise. It kind of damped my Rome experience unfortunately.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Shopping
Turismo culturale

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place felt like home, great internet, computer we could use any time, comfortable beds, awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Not much, initial directions to hotel weren't the best

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

partner

Visitare una cittá

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just perfect - lovely staff, great location and really good value for money.

Disliked: The breakfast could perhaps been a little nicer, but everything else was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Viteretto

partner

Festa / vita notturna
Gita romantica
Turismo culturale

18 March 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was beautiful! The staff were super friendly! Such a great location, five minutes to the colosseum and a metro stop that gets you to many of the best sites Rome has to offer!

Disliked: Dominique left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

partner

Turismo culturale

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like home away from home. It was located on the second floor of the building, this there wrote 3 keys to enter the room: one, the outside entrance, two, the entrance to Conte House and, the entry to our room. I felt very safe & secure. The location was great.... easy to catch a bus or the metro. the staff did a great job cleaning and we always felt our linens were clean and floors/ bathrooms cleaned.

Disliked: This is not a complaint, really, but you should know what you are getting: 1. breakfast is not very hearty. We supplemented the food on offer with some additions from the grocery store across the street. 2. not luxurious- there is no safe to hold your belongings, but I felt my items were secure in the room. Also, the shower is tiny. might be difficult for a bigger person. 3. the staff is available part time and by phone. if you need a lot of support, this could be a concern. this was NOT a problem for us. 4. Please note, as with all Roman hotels, the added.2 Euro per person per day to the final charge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

partner

Visitare una cittá
Gita romantica

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara palloni

Come una famiglia con bambini

Visitare una cittá
Turismo culturale

14 November 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: It was like being in your own home

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jairo Romero

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Turismo culturale

20 October 2013 Jairo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean with a small kitchen and dining area. The bathroom was outside the room but they give you a key and it was clean. Good location.

Disliked: The WiFi was not good.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Turismo culturale

09 August 2013

Liked: Breakfast wasn't bad and was quite close to the Colosseum

Disliked: The room we were given was in an apartment downstairs with none of the facilities described. The windows had to be kept open because it was so hot without air conditioning and the street noise outside made it impossible to sleep. The bathroom was shared between 12 people, the light didn't work in it and the bottom of the shower had a layer of black scum covering it. Could only use wifi in reception and when there was a problem (the bed breaking) there was no one in reception to help until the next day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellen Kim

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Turismo culturale

03 August 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure that everyone was happy and enjoying their stay. They're very laid back and fun to hang out with as well!

Disliked: The power went out several times in one night. It was brought back quickly, but it was a bit annoying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Copus

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Turismo culturale

30 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very helpful staff

Disliked: There was a problem with the power box, which resulted in no air conditioning. We were taken about 500 meters down the road, only to be shown to the wrong room, and having to walk back to reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Per affari / conferenza
Relax/Trattamenti di benessere
Turismo culturale
Lavoro / volontariato

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cnvenient for walking to all the major tourist sites. It was close to stores. Great breakfast included. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Room was a bit tight with four beds, but not bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Towels and good brekkie included, very clean and helpful staff

Disliked: Not very social

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Turismo culturale

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very friendly, great staff, nice enough rooms, very relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Shepherd

partner

Turismo culturale

17 July 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helped with all our questions, supplying us with a map and introduction of the place. The house was very clean and tidy and the room was delightful. We asked if we could leave our large bags with them while we travel through Croatia for 2 weeks even offering them money but they said its no problem at all at no charge so that was very kind of them. Exceeded our expectations!!

Disliked: The breakfast was average but all places we stayed at had the same thing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teodor Atanasov

partner

Visitare una cittá
Eventi / festival
Gita romantica
Turismo culturale

12 May 2013 Teodor would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed our stay at Conte house! The location is pretty good. It's actually 5 min away fom the Colosseo. The metro line A is really close too. The neighbourhood is nice and safety. The stuff was nice and they cleared our room every single day :)

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like is the breakfast. It was not bad but was poor. that's all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Rayson

Come una famiglia con bambini

Visitare una cittá
Vacanze in famiglia
Shopping
Turismo culturale

13 April 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely adored this hotel. The staff were totally amazing! We had such a good time! The staff couldn't do enough to help. We would definitely recommend it to others. No fault really to find. Everyone was sooo friendly. We loved our room. Everything was very laid back and extremely cosy. Many thanks. Especially to Sudan and all the staff we met.

Disliked: The only complaint I would have (if I was forced) is that the breakfast room was too small for the amount of guests staying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

HUSSAIN BASHA SHAIK

Solo

Visitare una cittá
Turismo culturale

03 April 2013 HUSSAIN BASHA would recommend this property

Liked: The Friendly Staff....

Disliked: Its Little far as Suggested in the Map.... and Whatever they shown in the Map its not the same Conte House to Stay... they will take you to some other Aprtment for stay, and believe me its tooo far from Roma Termini

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Bielinska

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Vacanze in famiglia
Shopping

22 March 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and perfect localisation

Disliked: nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels