HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Conte House

Hostel | Via Merulana 191, Rome, Italy 00185

84.3% Overall Rating

192 out of 219 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

Dominique Viteretto thinks…

"Our room was beautiful! The staff were super friendly! Such a great location, five minutes to the colosseum and a metro stop that gets you to many of the best sites Rome has to offer!"

Read all Conte House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Colisseum Lodge
44.19 USD

Hostel 94.9% 92 reviews
Ariosto B&B
38.67 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 43 reviews
Centre of the World
41.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.4% 15 reviews
Trinity B&B
34.53 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 28 reviews
Auditorium Di Mecenate
65.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 234 reviews
Sixbeds
34.53 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 310 reviews
Luna Home
31.76 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOTEL ROME LOVE
55.24 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

192 out of 219 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Conte House'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 201 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Viteretto

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was beautiful! The staff were super friendly! Such a great location, five minutes to the colosseum and a metro stop that gets you to many of the best sites Rome has to offer!

Disliked: Dominique left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like home away from home. It was located on the second floor of the building, this there wrote 3 keys to enter the room: one, the outside entrance, two, the entrance to Conte House and, the entry to our room. I felt very safe & secure. The location was great.... easy to catch a bus or the metro. the staff did a great job cleaning and we always felt our linens were clean and floors/ bathrooms cleaned.

Disliked: This is not a complaint, really, but you should know what you are getting: 1. breakfast is not very hearty. We supplemented the food on offer with some additions from the grocery store across the street. 2. not luxurious- there is no safe to hold your belongings, but I felt my items were secure in the room. Also, the shower is tiny. might be difficult for a bigger person. 3. the staff is available part time and by phone. if you need a lot of support, this could be a concern. this was NOT a problem for us. 4. Please note, as with all Roman hotels, the added.2 Euro per person per day to the final charge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara palloni

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: It was like being in your own home

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jairo Romero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Jairo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean with a small kitchen and dining area. The bathroom was outside the room but they give you a key and it was clean. Good location.

Disliked: The WiFi was not good.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013

Liked: Breakfast wasn't bad and was quite close to the Colosseum

Disliked: The room we were given was in an apartment downstairs with none of the facilities described. The windows had to be kept open because it was so hot without air conditioning and the street noise outside made it impossible to sleep. The bathroom was shared between 12 people, the light didn't work in it and the bottom of the shower had a layer of black scum covering it. Could only use wifi in reception and when there was a problem (the bed breaking) there was no one in reception to help until the next day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellen Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure that everyone was happy and enjoying their stay. They're very laid back and fun to hang out with as well!

Disliked: The power went out several times in one night. It was brought back quickly, but it was a bit annoying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Copus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very helpful staff

Disliked: There was a problem with the power box, which resulted in no air conditioning. We were taken about 500 meters down the road, only to be shown to the wrong room, and having to walk back to reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cnvenient for walking to all the major tourist sites. It was close to stores. Great breakfast included. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Room was a bit tight with four beds, but not bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Towels and good brekkie included, very clean and helpful staff

Disliked: Not very social

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very friendly, great staff, nice enough rooms, very relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helped with all our questions, supplying us with a map and introduction of the place. The house was very clean and tidy and the room was delightful. We asked if we could leave our large bags with them while we travel through Croatia for 2 weeks even offering them money but they said its no problem at all at no charge so that was very kind of them. Exceeded our expectations!!

Disliked: The breakfast was average but all places we stayed at had the same thing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teodor Atanasov

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Teodor would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed our stay at Conte house! The location is pretty good. It's actually 5 min away fom the Colosseo. The metro line A is really close too. The neighbourhood is nice and safety. The stuff was nice and they cleared our room every single day :)

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like is the breakfast. It was not bad but was poor. that's all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Rayson

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely adored this hotel. The staff were totally amazing! We had such a good time! The staff couldn't do enough to help. We would definitely recommend it to others. No fault really to find. Everyone was sooo friendly. We loved our room. Everything was very laid back and extremely cosy. Many thanks. Especially to Sudan and all the staff we met.

Disliked: The only complaint I would have (if I was forced) is that the breakfast room was too small for the amount of guests staying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

HUSSAIN BASHA SHAIK

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 HUSSAIN BASHA would recommend this property

Liked: The Friendly Staff....

Disliked: Its Little far as Suggested in the Map.... and Whatever they shown in the Map its not the same Conte House to Stay... they will take you to some other Aprtment for stay, and believe me its tooo far from Roma Termini

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Bielinska

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping

22 March 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and perfect localisation

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Skala

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful stuff, nice breakfast (ham, cheese, toast bread, cucumber, tomato, nutella, jam, something sweet, coffee, juice), very clean room (room cleaned during the day!!), good wi-fi. Very close to Colosseum. I can only recommend this place.

Disliked: Piotr left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Szymon Poznanski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Szymon would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, stuff was nice and a location is really nice. Near to train and metro station and if you want to walk it's 15 minutes to Colloseum. Neighbourhood is safe, there is planty of coffe-bars and shops. WiFi worked fine in whole hotel.

Disliked: Shower was awful. Sheets smelled like vinegar. There was dust under the bed. Breakfast was bad. There wasn't pots in the kitchen, electric teapod was broken. Someone ate mine yogurt (probably strange French girl - visitor).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013

Liked: Clean rooms and private bathroom, breakfast was nice

Disliked: Could not cook in the kitchen. It had no stove or hot plates

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, near many attractions and walking distance from Termini station. Decent breakfast and a clean bathroom.

Disliked: The wifi doesn't extend very far down the corridor and I could only access it in my room by sitting just inside the door. I happened to have the room to myself, but if I hadn't, there wouldn't have been anywhere to secure my belongings.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013

Liked: Located in a beautiful old building, ten walking minutes from almost any point of interest, breakfast is fulfilling, the staff is friendly, a cheap supermarket just outside, nice fast wi-fi, only 4 or 5 small rooms - other guests were nice and not that numerous.

Disliked: Our room was the farthest from both the entrance and the kitchen, but the level of noise in the morning with new guests coming and the old ones leaving was still unbearable. When we tried to check out and move somewhere else, the receptionist offered to move us to a room in another hostel owned by the same people two blocks away, we went to see it, agreed, went back and packed our stuff, then found out the other property was closing up for renovation; the owners didn't suggest any alternative or a refund for a check-out. The reception was always left un-managed in the evenings; wi-fi was pretty fast, but didn't reach our room, only the hall and the kitchen. Only one person in the staff speaks English.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexey Kondakov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Alexey would recommend this property

Liked: A really good place to stay. One of the best I've been to so far, and I've been to more than a one or two. Very good location (close to the train station, to the city center, many places to eat are nearby). Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean rooms with very clean private bathrooms (with showers). Nice breakfast - coffee, tea, juice, milk, toasts with cheese, ham, jam, butter, vegetables and other stuff like biscuits and cakes. Very safe area (one of the central streets of the city). Despite being centrally located, the hostel itself is really quiet. No parties around, no music, no screaming, nothing of this kind. All in all - would totally recommend.

Disliked: Well, there are no lockers in the rooms (as far as I know, you can store your bags on reception, 3 euro per person). And a bit slow wi-fi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Internet connection.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Très bon accueil !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Kuan-I Liu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012

Liked: very terrible!

Disliked: The location is very dangerous! Hotel boss can't speak Englishand the employee are liars! They overbooking and didn't prepare our room! We paid the same money, but they take us to another hotel!(no wifi, no breakfast....)


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels