HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Conte House

Hostel | Via Merulana 191, Rome, Italy 00185

90.1% Overall Rating

207 out of 235 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Tomislav Felbabi? thinks…

"Excelent hostel! Very close to the termini station (20min walking), Coloseum (10 min), metro station (5 minutes). It was very clean, had 2 bathrooms (1 with a shower, 1 with a bath), they had a free…"

Read all Conte House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Colisseum Lodge
41.99 USD

Hostel 93.6% 131 reviews
Ariosto B&B
23.62 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 45 reviews
Centre of the World
43.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.0% 18 reviews
Trinity B&B
26.25 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 53 reviews
Auditorium Di Mecenate
49.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 234 reviews
Sixbeds
26.25 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 314 reviews
Luna Home
30.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOTEL ROME LOVE
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

207 out of 235 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Conte House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 217 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomislav Felbabi?

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Tomislav would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent hostel! Very close to the termini station (20min walking), Coloseum (10 min), metro station (5 minutes). It was very clean, had 2 bathrooms (1 with a shower, 1 with a bath), they had a free computer, TV and WIFI. Breakfast was also good. Considering all of this, the price of the hostel was really small. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who's going to Rome.

Disliked: Tomislav left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Verseck

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2014 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: I can only recomend the Conte House! It's a friendly atmosphere, everybody is open up, but even if you want to stay for youself there is room. Those guys are great, so if you looking for a nice stay, take it!

Disliked: Sheila left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Frank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice B&B and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It was not difficult to find the location, just remember to email your arrival time.

Disliked: We booked at Conte House, but we were transferred to another B&B with the same owners. It was 400m further from the train station and we were only told upon arrival.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jesse-James Charlton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Jesse-James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really accommodating and helpful, they even made us lunch one day!

Disliked: It was a bit far away from the nightlife of the city so we often had to do long walks late at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie masse

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 marie would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time there, it is a great location, not far from train station and the colloseo. The place was very charming and we loved chilling out on the balcony.

Disliked: There was a smell in the bathroom coming from the sink

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for the value!! Love the friendly staff Gabriel here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackson Boyd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the location. About a 10min walk to the Colosseum, very close to central metro stops and termini train station, easy to get around. Also you are not right in the center of all the touristy stuff, which I kind of liked -- but still close enough to get there when you want to. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Gabriele even offered to cook me pasta when i arrived hungry (not normally included). And he did, and it was delicious. Great experience

Disliked: The room was a bit small for 2 people, but not a huge deal. Also A/C unit was not working in our room and it was very hot in July. At least there was an A/C unit.. I guess I wouldn't be complaining if there wasn't one to begin with.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were put in 'my house' which is a seperate building from conte house. So i can only speak for there, but close walk to metro manzoni, and even better close walk to the colleseum, great to just walk there and get on a hoponhopoff bus! Hostel is clean, staff friendly! Yes the 5bed dorm is a little cramped but not uncomfortable! Nice air con too!

Disliked: Small thing of they seemed reluctant to let us use the kitchen for dinner at night but we'd already bought pasta etc. so just be persistant and it was no issue! So much to do in rome it is a great place as a base :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Price

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walking distance to termini station, but far enough away to be in a nicer area. Easy walking distance to the Colliseum

Disliked: Nothing really!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsey Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: A/c was a plus! SO close to the colosseum. Less than a 10 minute walk. Lots of good places to eat nearby and very close to the metro. Staff was very friendly and helpful! Rooms were clean and cleaned everyday. Overall a very nice place and will be staying on my next rome visit!

Disliked: Lindsey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Greenberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great shower. Clean space. Safe space. Friendly people. Great location. GREAT PRICE!

Disliked: the bread ("Bed and Breakfast") was pretty terrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Because the price was so cheap I was expecting budget accommodation although received the exact opposite The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the staff make you feel at home

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014

Liked: The staff were nice and the place was clean enough. This place would be good to stay of you were with a group of mates because it would be like having your own apartment in Rome.

Disliked: I was sleeping in a bedroom with 5 single beds, I was nearly hitting the next person when I rolled over in my sleep. The room was so cramped every time someone came into the room the bedroom door hit my bed. There was no room for bags etc. The staff were nice enough however did not have a great deal of local knowledge when I asked for a laundromat they couldn't tell me where one was. As previously stated this place would be good with a couple of mates, but not the place if you are alone and want to meet other people, have a bit of fun and socialise. It kind of damped my Rome experience unfortunately.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place felt like home, great internet, computer we could use any time, comfortable beds, awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Not much, initial directions to hotel weren't the best

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just perfect - lovely staff, great location and really good value for money.

Disliked: The breakfast could perhaps been a little nicer, but everything else was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Viteretto

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was beautiful! The staff were super friendly! Such a great location, five minutes to the colosseum and a metro stop that gets you to many of the best sites Rome has to offer!

Disliked: Dominique left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like home away from home. It was located on the second floor of the building, this there wrote 3 keys to enter the room: one, the outside entrance, two, the entrance to Conte House and, the entry to our room. I felt very safe & secure. The location was great.... easy to catch a bus or the metro. the staff did a great job cleaning and we always felt our linens were clean and floors/ bathrooms cleaned.

Disliked: This is not a complaint, really, but you should know what you are getting: 1. breakfast is not very hearty. We supplemented the food on offer with some additions from the grocery store across the street. 2. not luxurious- there is no safe to hold your belongings, but I felt my items were secure in the room. Also, the shower is tiny. might be difficult for a bigger person. 3. the staff is available part time and by phone. if you need a lot of support, this could be a concern. this was NOT a problem for us. 4. Please note, as with all Roman hotels, the added.2 Euro per person per day to the final charge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara palloni

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: It was like being in your own home

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jairo Romero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Jairo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean with a small kitchen and dining area. The bathroom was outside the room but they give you a key and it was clean. Good location.

Disliked: The WiFi was not good.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013

Liked: Breakfast wasn't bad and was quite close to the Colosseum

Disliked: The room we were given was in an apartment downstairs with none of the facilities described. The windows had to be kept open because it was so hot without air conditioning and the street noise outside made it impossible to sleep. The bathroom was shared between 12 people, the light didn't work in it and the bottom of the shower had a layer of black scum covering it. Could only use wifi in reception and when there was a problem (the bed breaking) there was no one in reception to help until the next day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellen Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure that everyone was happy and enjoying their stay. They're very laid back and fun to hang out with as well!

Disliked: The power went out several times in one night. It was brought back quickly, but it was a bit annoying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Copus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very helpful staff

Disliked: There was a problem with the power box, which resulted in no air conditioning. We were taken about 500 meters down the road, only to be shown to the wrong room, and having to walk back to reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cnvenient for walking to all the major tourist sites. It was close to stores. Great breakfast included. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Room was a bit tight with four beds, but not bad.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels