HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Gaia B&B

Guesthouse | Piazza Santa Maria Maggiore 12, Rome, Italy 00185

75.4% Overall Rating

250 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

Norbert Fekete thinks…

"It is a convenient location, close to the busiest station. The room was cleaned every day, towels, bed linen included."

Read all Gaia B&B reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Casa Della Amicizia
48.32 USD

Guesthouse 79.8% 88 reviews
Pensione Maggiore
31.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.3% 35 reviews
Hotel Giubileo
65.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 83 reviews
Blue Hostel
64.43 USD

Hostel 92.8% 125 reviews
B&B Smart
51.77 USD

Guesthouse 97.3% 255 reviews
Martino ai Monti
38.65 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 26 reviews
Hotel Farini
55.22 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Portafortuna
48.32 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

250 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gaia B&B'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 287 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bartlomiej Kudaszewicz

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 March 2014 Bartlomiej would recommend this property

Liked: the lot

Disliked: Bartlomiej left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

XUEPENG JIN

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 February 2014 XUEPENG would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Rome Termini

Disliked: XUEPENG left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Smith

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: don't go to the address 12 st maria majiore, you need to go to the hotel in the directions!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Fekete

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: It is a convenient location, close to the busiest station. The room was cleaned every day, towels, bed linen included.

Disliked: The hostel advertises as 'breakfast included' which is okay but it only means a small, dry croissant and a coffee. If you want something else, it costs EUR 3 per person per day, It was not a problem however keep in mind what "breakfast included" means.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Askar Daminov

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

14 October 2013 Askar would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - really to Termini station 5 minutes (you can go in any direction on the subway, bus, train) to the cathedral Santa Maria Maggiore 3 minutes. The Coliseum is a 20 minute walk. A nice cleaning every day and Wi-Fi for free (but only on reception) is good too. And again - Great location that is very... very important!

Disliked: The included breakfast is only a croissant and a cup of coffee. But, coffee is GOOD! You can only pay cash - do not forget to take cash. About shared bathroom: if your neighbors like to take a shower for a long time - it may be a problem. And you need to pay a little comisson, a don't remember that this information was in booking.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bonny Rijter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Bonny would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, room looked alright for the price.

Disliked: We had no WiFi (I got annoyed by that, that's not acceptable in 2013......), TV didn't work and also no working stove in the kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Termini Station in the neighbourhood.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Narasimhan Loganathan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Narasimhan would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place. close to the train station,metro and tram. And most of the touristic place are quite close and can be reached by 10-15 minutes walk

Disliked: Narasimhan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok, we even got room with bathroom for the same price since the one we book was not available. So there is nothing to complain.

Disliked: Breakfast is very basic.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexey Bechenkov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Facilities

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and price. Quite enough of breakfast choice. Friendly staff. Premises was cleaned every day. High ceilings, old town atmosphere. Stairs with antiquarian elevator. Cozy and quiet courtyard.

Disliked: These images of Gaia B&B is not quite a true. Our room and shared bathroom doesn't looked so pretty. I think in rooms can be a little bit to hot in summer time, because i didn't see a conditioner and ventilator didn't worked. Also shower hose was full of holes. Doors was noisy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

SUNYONG LEE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013

Liked: good location & cheap.

Disliked: There is not exist Kitchen. Different the descibe on the bookers. so I disappointed. And the room is cold in the night.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eva Muñoz Ruiz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: the location is great, perfect!

Disliked: The bathroom is too old. the bathroom was flooded one night, to make a pee was an Odisea....The bed was too old too. Special mention for the noice of the toilet when you flush.... I dont recommend this hostel, even if location is good it doesnt let you a nice remember from Rome

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

08 January 2013

Liked: The location of the B&B was perfect.close to Colosseo and Termini. It is actually not like a normal hotel but a former private apartment with four rooms and a shared bathroom. there is no kitchen but there is a fridge in the corridor. There is no reception in the flat and usually no staff during the day in the appartment. For the chack in you have to walk 5 mins to an other bigger hotel two streets away where is also the breakfast every morning. The room was spacious and clean but there was nithing special about it. If you are planing a sightseeing trip to Rome and need just a place to sleep over its absolutely fine. The room was quiet and it was no problem to share the bathroom with the others. The breakfast was fine, with a very small buffet which included cerials, yoghurt or milk, cornetto, small packs of marmelade/butter. The room was not cleaned every day, but only one tome during our 4 night stay, which is ok for an B&B.

Disliked: I didn't like to wake up early in the morning, to get dressed and go outside in the cold (January) to have breakfast in an other hotel. The price was in my opinion too high during new years time which does not correspond to the performance. Also when we booked the B&B there was not written that the breakfast was in an other hotel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roy Delaney

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2012 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: We didn't actually stay at the Gaia, as we got there a bit early, so they plopped us in their sister hostel, the New York. Turns out it was in a much better place, as it was up a quiet side street, rather than the Gaia's busy roundabout with its noisy-but-beautiful bell tower opposite. But there was still a free breakfast included, at another nearby hostel, and it was dead close to the main railway station (indeed, the tube line ran deep below out rooms, which got to be quite soothing after a while).

Disliked: It wasn't the one we asked for, but it turned out better for it in the end!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012

Liked: The hostel is close to the center.

Disliked: The staff was not friendly, specially during the breakfast (which was quite poor). It also happened with us to receive a room with common bathroom when we payed and reserved with private bathroom. No refound was obtained.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karandeep Singh Vohra

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Karandeep Singh would recommend this property

Liked: It is an independent property very close to the railway station. Very easy to locate and extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They were friendly and ready to meet our expectations and needs

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Old bad rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super good location... beauitful piazza at its door step!

Disliked: Staff could be more friendly..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dora Gal

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Dora would recommend this property

Liked: There was near by public transport, especially Termini, so we could reach every more important turist point soon. The last day we could leave our bags till our transer bus arrived.

Disliked: The breakfast and the accomodation were two different place, and the first night there was not hot water in the bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good wi-fi. great location. clean and good price. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: just the noise out of window at night, but not that big a deal!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anupam Singh

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Anupam would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff as helpfull, cleaniness

Disliked: bathroom was very small, During booking time there was no option for A.C and in summer its impossible to stay in rome without A.C.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012

Liked: it was a triple room, we didnt have to share and the location is great

Disliked: Breakfast, staff and the fact that we couldnt contact them on the very first day

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012

Liked: rooms were spacious, communal fridge freezer useful for storing picnic food and freezing drinks

Disliked: street outside rooms incredibly noisy at all times; ineffective fan made it too hot to close windows, but leaving them open prevented full nights sleep.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels