HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

87.4% Overall Rating

562 out of 606 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

christel schulte thinks…

"I liked the location - lots of historic places to walk to - even the Colosseum. Also the staff, especially Katja, who was there most of the time and prepared a nice breakfast, was so helpful and…"

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
32.14 USD

Hostel 92.8% 100 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
40.17 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
29.46 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 160 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
38.83 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.80 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews
Paolina Rooms
38.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Maison de Marylu
40.04 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
36.02 USD

Hostel 75.9% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

562 out of 606 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 475 of 588 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved franco!!! soooo sweet and helpful :) i will stay here again for sure. good location and breakfast included. not to mention a gelato factory across the street, what more could you ask for, really?

Disliked: nothing, everything was fabulous

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was very happy with the location. The staff were very helpful and willing. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and not too many people.

Disliked: I felt a little cold at night in the room, but it was Ok

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room. Great bathroom. Great breakfast. Host was awesome.

Disliked: Noise at night. Bed was very soft.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they hoster is very nice

Disliked: they dont have kitchen for us to use the heater only serve from 19:00 to 01:00 how could it be? is very cold there!! we stay there is winter how could they colsed the heater when we are sleeping? so, everynight I wake up becos of the temperature is to cold although there is nothing happend,but the hoster go into our room when we were outside by himself make us feel uncomfortable.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell Fraser

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 March 2011 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived at bavaria we were met by someone outside and relocated to stay in a nearby hostel ran by Giorgio who made our stay excellent - the place was fantastic value and clean and spacious with great breakfasts, and the owner was the nicest and most helpful host you could wish for.

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast that is included is worth it! I was expecting maybe toast and coffee, but you get a variety of choices. The owners clean the bathrooms everyday, and keep the common room and bedrooms very tidy. A towel and the use of their computer in the common room is even included!

Disliked: It is a cash-only establishment.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2011

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The fact that the rooms are not all together in the same location what made impossible for me to be with friends of mine to whom I recomended this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: genial!

Disliked: genial

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. It is close to Termini station that it is about 6-7 minute walk. The room was clean and the staff was kind and friendly. Facilities and services was also good.

Disliked: It was somewhat hard to find the hostel for it had no big sign.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to about anything in Rome. Very friendly and fun staff.

Disliked: Not all the staff speaks good english, but they will understand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiago Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: So warm and clean!

Disliked: the stairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great- cereals, milk, juice, coffe or tea, bread, jam, apples...really great to start well the day. The location is just near the church of Santa Maria Maggiore. 10minutes to center by walk. Nice area.

Disliked: Everything was good.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was working and clean. Good location

Disliked: The guy from the reception look like that hate you, and show it very clear in a few times that you need him, and without living room is hard to meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ILAYDA ERCAY

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 ILAYDA would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the atmosphere there and also the hostel was cleaned everyday and the breakfast served by the woman there ;) Very helpful and cheerful staff...

Disliked: Nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clayton Holz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Clayton would recommend this property

Liked: NOTE: We stayed at an affiliate B&B nearby, which is informally called "Giorgio's Place." We had originally booked into B&B, but Giorgio get's the overflow I think. A) great location, cheap, breakfast incl. towels and soap provided, good showers B) Giorgio is the fucking man. He cooked us pasta for free and was an absolute joy to be with. Highly recommend his place.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEN CHENG

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 CHEN would recommend this property

Liked: The reception there are so nice, especially the female one who are carefully remembering my need for hot milk at breakfast. Though the room there is not so big, but it's clean and tidy. It's comfortable to live there.

Disliked: None

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011

Liked: The location was good - in between the Termini train station and the hostorical attractions. Also, the place I stayed at on the first night was quite nice. The owner, Giorgio, was extremely nice and helpful.

Disliked: I was not told that I would be spending the two nights in separate addresses. The second night I was meant to be in an all female room but there was at least one male. The bathroom was not very nice and the hot water did not work in the shower. It was always a bit awkward to ask for something as none of the staff spoke very much English. There was no real atmosphere like in other hostels. There was no kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mario andres Legarda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 mario andres would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very good place to rest, clean, quiet, good rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: Its hard to meet people, you almost don't see the other guest, anyway its a super good hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Futhey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the price. Really good breakfast, and very friendly and helpful staff. I almost didn't stay at this hostel because of some of the comments left by others, but f they had any of these issues in the past the owners seemed to have fixed them. It is in an apartment, and there are at least 18 beds at the location listed (Which was where I stayed). If the owner has rented a second place for the high season I can't comment on that, because everyone was staying at the main location while I was there.

Disliked: Nothing. The owner was very friendly and the accomidation was pretty good as well. There are a lot worse options while you're staying in Rome, believe me, I stayed at much worse hostels before coming here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samah Sayed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 February 2011 Samah would recommend this property

Liked: it was really fine

Disliked: The stairs..There was no elevator there, it made my bag broken and i was in need to change it immediat

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location, nice staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Godsiffe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people, good atmosphere and good location.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situated halfway between Termini and the Colosseum, an ideal location from which to explore Rome on foot. We found the B&B easy to find (though the stairs were hard work with the backpack!!), the staff were friendly although not there all the time but phone numbers are obviously situated. The breakfast was plentiful, and the rooms and bathrooms clean.

Disliked: The first room we stayed in we had full quilts, the 2nd we only got blankets and in January you needed the quilts!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011

Liked: We did not know that the hostel was so well placed, it being midway between and within walking distance of, both the central station and Colosseum.

Disliked: The manager speaks no English so it is very difficult to sort out any problems or queries. No kitchen.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels