HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

87.0% Overall Rating

557 out of 601 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"The host Giorgio is possibly the most lovely charming Italian I have met. Very helpful in every manner and fantastic food :)"

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
32.24 USD

Hostel 92.8% 100 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
40.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
29.55 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 160 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
38.96 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.90 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews
Paolina Rooms
38.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Maison de Marylu
32.11 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
28.08 USD

Hostel 75.9% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

557 out of 601 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 473 of 585 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very friendly and helpful and its in a fairly convenient location. Enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the location was great and convenient!! Great breakfast was also served every morning!! You are provided with your own private room with it's own bathroom! Also there is free wifi!! Also the owner was very helpful! He provided us with a detailed map of the place with recommendations of things to see! So I really recommend this place to future travelers!!

Disliked: Do not have any dislikes about the place!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gigi Presentey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Gigi would recommend this property

Liked: They put some thought into decorating the room, so it had more of a personal feel rather than those large hostels which simply cram bunkbeds in a generic white room. Bathrooms were well-equipped.

Disliked: Door of room was unreliable to lock, and the doorknob fell out, so I didn't feel too secure. The bread at breakfast was not "freshly baked" as advertised on hostelbookers. The hostel had been renovated inside, but it was done really strangely, so half of a window would be shared between two rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The position of the structure was perfect.

Disliked: I slept in the upper bed of a bunkbed, but there was no ladder, I've got to do some contortionist moves to get in here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

g. e

Alone

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

25 June 2011 g. would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness,the location and the staff.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominik Lau

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 June 2011 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, always approachable, providing all information and even looking for answers if needed.

Disliked: Tiny lift ;)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011

Liked: Quiet in a way.

Disliked: Had to pay in cash.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni and Maria were very nice. It felt like a home.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, the staff was really helpful. The room was very clean. Sheets and towels were in great condition.

Disliked: Minor problem, the listing listed the room as a double bed room/private, However, when we got there they staff told us there was not a double bed. They did solve the problem by combining to bunk beds and even though the room was set up to accomidate six people, they kept it private. So no biggie.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Franco was wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast was large.

Disliked: Property has multiple locations. Address stated was not the actual location of where my room was. So walked from train station to the address and had to walk another 10 minutes back tracking to the area. Not a big deal since it was across the street from the oldest gelato place in Italy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giorgio was the most welcoming host.

Disliked: We did not dislike anything about the property, only the fact that we were given a different location first. From there we had another 15 Minute walk with our luggage to our final destination.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very near to every sightseeing.

Disliked: There is nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady that runs this place was exceptionally kind, friendly and helpful. The location is also great, right by where the airport transfer drops you and only a few bus/tube stops from centre of town. Great restaurant downstairs as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ownre was very friendly, especially as we booked our stay at such short notice. We booked a private double room which was lovely and the breakfast, which is served to your room in the morning is quite substantial.

Disliked: The area was rather dodgy and left us feeling a bit anxious to get back to our room before it got too late. In addition, there were no internet points so if you do not bring a laptop you will not have access to the net. Also, quite small and no kitchen/self catering facilities were provided.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Brittney Bradner

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Brittney would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and made it easy for us to get around to see the entire city. The room was comfortable. Probably one of the cleaniest places I have ever stayed. The breakfast was very good. The staff was very pleasant and friendly and they did whatever they could to make our stay comfortbale.

Disliked: The internet was not slow and kept going out. Sharing the bathrooms was a bit annoying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dandan Zhu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Dandan would recommend this property

Liked: The address the hotel used is easy to find,but it's not the exact hotel you gonna to live.You are fetched to somewhere else and it's really a long walk.But finally it turned out that that hotel is really a nice place,neat and quiet,secure.So not bad.

Disliked: long walking before the staff fetched you to the real hotel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although we arrived at the hostel very late ( after midnight) the hosts were waiting for us and showed us the place. Giorgio, the host was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: As mentioned by others, the room was in another street which was noisy and busy but as I was deadly tired I didn't care about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tony mace

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 tony would recommend this property

Liked: i felt like in 4 star hotel.we ve had huge bathroom with hairdryier,tv , kingsize bed,kitchen with all appliances,washing mashine and many more.we ve had an amazing time in bavaria.we arrived to bavaria very early in the morning.we were tired after long jurney from verona thinking only about going to bed.the bavaria hostel stuff was so nice and let us sleep in one of the dorm rooms while cleaning and preparing our doubleroom which was amazing btw! Thank you very much Giorgio,you are the best of the best!!!!!

Disliked: there s nothing we didn t like about this place

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elysse Hillyer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Elysse would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a really great location nearby the train station and the Colosseum was basically down the street. It had a nice breakfast every morning and the common area was nice to just hang out. It also had free internet so that was useful.

Disliked: Nothing too bad, the beds weren't the best, but oh well. There were also some ants, but just one ant around at a time, so I'm not sure they could do anything about that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, being walking distance from Termini station (which will be a great connection to most places by metro or bus) Walking distance to most of historic Rome, such as Roman Forum, Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Pantheon (walked back from all those places before even though it seems far on the map). Water fountain to refill bottles at Santa Maria Maggiore Cathedral which is an extremely short walk away. Friendly staff. Clean, adequately spacious room/ Clean toilets as well. Room was cleaned daily. Safe location Computer terminal with internet access, also has a washing machine. Nice breakfast spread consisting of sugar rolls, biscuits, bread, milk, cereals and orange juice. Peaceful and relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: As mentioned, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere, therefore not for people looking to meet new friends and party. Steep steps, and 2 floors up which may prove difficult for carrying heavy luggages. Minor issue only though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heidi Leighton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: great location! we saw most of the major sights in rome and didn't once have to take public transportation or a cab. also appreciated the mini fridge in our room - helped me save on buying meals! laundry and computer use were free, which was awesome.

Disliked: we were moved out of our room more than once which i found to be pretty inconvenient. my sister was also annoyed that the shower didn't drain very well, but i didn't really have any problems with it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo Öhman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Bo would recommend this property

Liked: The thing is that we knew that we could be transferred to anothter place if the hostel itself had no room for us despite our booking, but that was the best thing that could happen. Because of that we got the opportunity to live with the most friendly and caring host you can think of, his name is Giorgio! To live at his place in one of the extra rooms he had with our own bathroom, to be served breakfast every morning and him telling us about places to see and restaurants to visit were italians eat and not only turists, it was really a jackpot. Giorgio, thanks for a fantastic stay! You are the best!! =) /Bosse and Susanna from Sweden

Disliked: Nothing I can think of.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very very comfortable and the price was good

Disliked: They didn't say that double room is in a different building which is a little bit far away from the main building (close to Vittorio Emmanuele metro station)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved franco!!! soooo sweet and helpful :) i will stay here again for sure. good location and breakfast included. not to mention a gelato factory across the street, what more could you ask for, really?

Disliked: nothing, everything was fabulous

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was very happy with the location. The staff were very helpful and willing. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels