HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

94.7% Overall Rating

528 out of 567 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Alejandra Gonzalez thinks…

"Valeria me atendio excelente, siempre alegre y bien predispuesta a ayudarme. El lugar es muy limpio y tranquilo. Esta cerca de la terminal de tren y del Coliseo. El wifi es muy bueno tanto en el…"

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 92.1% 86 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
41.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
30.41 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 149 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 68.1% 117 reviews
Domus Elisa
33.17 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 360 reviews
Paolina Rooms
41.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.5% 33 reviews
Maison de Marylu
41.33 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 33 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
37.18 USD

Hostel 78.5% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

528 out of 567 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 450 of 549 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rajeev Maithani

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 November 2012 Rajeev would recommend this property

Liked: Everything and the lady (caretaker) was very very helpful. She explained everythign very nicely and was very polite. Location is just super, it's very close to the Termini. Easy to reach out for the restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing excpet that it's wi-fi ddin't work in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and clean, very good hospitality, i recommend this place to stay if you come to Rome.

Disliked: NOTHING

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the owner makes everyone very nice black coffee in the mornings!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: valerie, the lady running the place, was great, very energetic and nice. The breakfast was great, yogurt, bread, butter, jam, croissant,juice, milk, coffee. The rooms were nice and clean. It had a very home-like vibe. I'm pretty sure it was once someone's house that had been turned into a hostel (i pretty sure most hostels in rome are like this) so you had 2 full bathrooms, washer and dryer, a main entry room (where you had breakfast) and then about 5-6 small bedrooms (about 4 people in each room) so it felt very personal and comforting.

Disliked: it was extremely hot in rome so you would open your window but it was soooo ungodly loud you couldn't sleep. also I would recommend that they provide fans for each room, it was soooo hot and no air flow. Another problem was that the lockers didnt have a key to it so you couldn't lock your stuff away, it seemed safe there ad valerie was always there so i don't think anyone would steal but it still makes me uneasy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dawn Chew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: friendly owner (:

Disliked: slightly cramped, that's all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theodor Klán

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Theodor would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best stay so far. Place was very nice and clean. People in BaB were very friendly and helpful with many arrangements. A room was very nicely furnished and it also had a cleaning service which we did not expect. Excellent location of the BaB was also a very strong "pro". Breakfast was very tasty and to be honest excellent. Ask for "Giorgio". He is a magician of the best place.

Disliked: Everything was excellent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend Bavaria. I was greeted by the host who is very friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. She also me down and provided all the tourist information you will need. I was there for four nights. Breakfast is very decent, providing cereal, bread, jams, nutella, lemon croissants, milk, juice, coffee, tea, yogurt every morning!!! Very clean in the two bathrooms. The host cleans every day when the guests are out. She also has a washer which can be used by the guest....awesome!! On my final night, she even helped me with how to get to the airport.. She went above and beyond. Besides a great stay, the location is central to everything. Stay here.

Disliked: Noise from outside kept me up until 1 am at nights, and the host has no printer (if you want to print your boarding ticket). Other than those two things, my stay was phenomenal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Balfe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Giorgio Tenninini's guesthouse, which is affiliated with B&B Bavaria. It is located only 5 minutes walk from the train station which is very convenient. It is also approximately 15 minutes walking from the Collosseum and Roman Forum and a short distance from the Vittorio Emmanuele metro station. The hostel was nice and the room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was also very delicious. What really stood out for us, my girlfriend and I, two inexperienced travellers, was the hospitality of the proprietor, Giorgio. We couldn't have asked for a friendlier man :) On arrival he offered us fruit juice., and gave us a map showing us the major sights of Rome. He also allowed us the use of his computer and printed off our flight tickets for us. We would highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: The room was a little noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Chaves Barreto

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff was really friendly (Valeria in special) and helped us when I was kind of ill and they let me stay a few hours resting after the checkout. The location is perfect, clean and in a cousy place. Me and my girls friend loved!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Quang Thai Hoang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Quang Thai would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, ideal location, the staffs are extremely helpful and kind. Breakfasts included are good enough for us. Good price to stay in the heart of historical Rome

Disliked: Nothing special. There was a problem with Wi-fi area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olena Miskun

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and kind. Separate thanks to Giorgio from gitehouse. You feel there like you are at home.

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012

Liked: - peaceful

Disliked: far from the train station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and honest. The location is ideal, and it is a good-priced stay for anyone who wants to keep it simple.

Disliked: If one is used to eating fruits and vegetables the breakfast might be a disappointment. Although it was filling, after a while you start wanting something more than white bread, nutella, cereal and yoghurt..

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kulakarn Chaiyarerk

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012

Liked: ขี้โกง หลอกลวง

Disliked: ขี้โกง หลอกลวง

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theresia haarhoff

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 May 2012 Theresia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostess is a wonderfull lady, what a helpfull person! very clean and we even did our washing for free. Breakfast was more then enough, she even give fruit to take out for the day. Bathrooms is spacious and clean. graet location. You don't need more - excellent value for money.

Disliked: PLEASE PUT A SIGN OUTSIDE THE BUILDING, IT IS VERY HARD TO FIND THIS PLACE!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arriya Sirmsomboon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Arriya would recommend this property

Liked: It's just a little place but the location is perfect. It's easy for me to find it. The clealiness is nothing to blaime. The owner is so very nice and kind much more than I thought and more than another hostels i stayed that trip. The breakfast is more than enough. Worth of money.

Disliked: Nothing. If i had chance to be there again. This place is my only one choice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Meng Wei Hsieh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Meng Wei would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrive the location metioned on the website, the man told us that we have to go to another place which is around 5 minutes walk, and then he took us to there (with helping us carried luggage). The place was just near Termini station (1 minutes) and it just like a B&B. The room was clean and quite big and the breakfast was simple (Coffee or tea, juice, breads and yogurt). The bed and towel was clean and changed everyday. They also offered water to drink and refrigerator can use for free.Theowner of the hostel was friendly.

Disliked: Although the room was quite big but the bathroom in the room was really small and the shower's water pressure was really really small, it's not comfort for taking a bath after all day travel. The bed was too soft, you'll feel yourself sink in to the bed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to the train station and friendly owners

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yogesh Malani

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Yogesh would recommend this property

Liked: The most likable thing is location, just in front of termini. The 2nd thing is kind of cooperation the staff offered worth commendable.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Arghya Chakraborty

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

09 April 2012 Arghya would recommend this property

Liked: clean,friendly,location from termini and food shops

Disliked: Stacking bed for 4 beded room are not tightly fixed.That might be some sort of risky.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not really far from the termini. Staff is helpful, she taught us how to go to colosseum and Vatican City. Bathroom is clean,

Disliked: Wifi is not connected well in our own room

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Breakfast, common room, staff, other guests, bathrooms, etc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Might be a bit noisy in the morning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Oxnam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 April 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: The lady that looks after the property was fantastic. Always ready to help and the room was cleaned and maintained everyday. Great spot in the centre of everything. The people we meet were great, and the snow made it a beautiful place to stay. Highly recommended for anyone or couple looking for a medium sized hostel are on a budget and love to chat.

Disliked: They had good directions on the site, but when we got closer there was no sign out the front or any way to tell if it was the right place. If you hgad a signed i would have given them 110%.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels