We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

90.7% Overall Rating

578 out of 623 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Abrar Nurani thinks…

"Really kind and friendly hosts. Only stayed one night but they were always at hand to suggest places to see and things to do. Great place for solo travellers as there isn't a huge crowd and its…"

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
38.06 USD

Hostel 92.0% 106 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
38.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
27.91 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 161 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
38.06 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.45 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 374 reviews
Paolina Rooms
38.06 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Maison de Marylu
37.93 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
20.17 USD

Hostel 81.8% 164 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

578 out of 623 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 484 of 605 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Oliver

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 July 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is extremely friendly and approachable. Such a lovely character. Very willing to help with anything she can during your stay (whether it be about Rome or about the hostel in general). She is very easy going and really interacts with her guests. The location is brilliant. Less than 10 minutes walk from Rome Termini and 2 minutes walk to Santa Maria Maggiore (which is a fantastic basilica). About 20 minutes to walk to the Colosseum. The place is really clean, especially the two shared bathrooms. Breakfast is very simple but value for money. WiFi is fast and works in the dining room/common room.

Disliked: No negative comments, but just a warning that there is no lift! But this is tyical for old European cities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Valeria is lovely, she points out everywhere to you on a map as soon as you get there, and will always help with any questions you have! Free breakfast is also really nice, and the location of the hostel is great- very near the train station, and walking distance to all the main attractions, although you might want to get the metro to the Vatican

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Ballesteros

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, Valeria is great! she is really helful and kind

Disliked: You can feel a lot of noise from outside and vibration of the floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very homey, clean, and had a good location. The woman who runs the hostel, Valeria, is the nicest women who is always around if you have questions about anything. I felt very safe and comfortable during my entire stay. I also had a great time!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanmin Hong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Shanmin would recommend this property

Liked: The host was a lovely lady. She is more than willing to show us the way around Italy, give us advises, prepare breakfast and get our requests all fulfilled. The location is great. All attractions are of walkable distance. I am sure to introduce people to stay here.

Disliked: Maybe the only downside is that it has no lift. But its only 2/3 stories and we (4 girls) were totally fine with it. All in all, I love this hostel and lovely host.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location only 10 mins walk from terminus. Not too expensive.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was fine for the money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YAGUANG HUANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 YAGUANG would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very friendly and helpful. Because we are from China and like hot foods, so Val provide specially ice box and little table for us. It Is near railway station and city center。Go to the main attractions are very convenient . There are little inconvenient for toilet and shower in same room. Is little hot in Jun .Hotel logo on street is too small to find. Except this, Bavaria B&B is very good.

Disliked: YAGUANG left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YAGUANG HUANG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 YAGUANG would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very friendly and helpful.Because we are from China and like hot foods,so Val provide specially ice box and little table for us. It Is near railway station and city center,Go to the main attractions are very convenient . There are little inconvenient for toilet and shower in same room.is little hot in Jun .Hotel logo on street is too small to find.Except this, Bavaria B&B is very good.

Disliked: YAGUANG left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anika Dreher

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Anika would recommend this property

Liked: Giorgio is an amazing host, very friendly and helpful! The room was very clean und nice. Very central location, so it's easy to get everywhere!

Disliked: It's quite loud at night when you leave the window open, but that's the price for the central location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful host. Nice locaton, maybe a 15 minute walk to the Colozzeum, Trevi fountain, and 5 min to Termini station. Pretty small so its usually calm.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nena Logan

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 May 2013 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic location, close to station and major sights of Rome. Valeria was super helpful explaining Rome to us, and waited up super late for us to arrive from our very late night flight.

Disliked: The road the B and B is on is rather noisy - traffic and restaurants.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Itália Cargnin Morcelli

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Carolina Itália would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful proprietor, clean room and good location

Disliked: Nothing - does its job adequately

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Todd

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodations were very clean. We had a balcony with a nice view of the city. Breakfast was set up each morning and included yogurt, bread/butter/jam, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea.

Disliked: The room we reserved was actually located at another location not too far away. In the end, this was not a problem, but it created a little confusion at the beginning as we were not aware of it beforehand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent stay in this hostel. The hostel is very helpful and friendly. It worths the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady of the property (Valerie) was very helpfull and sweet.

Disliked: There were not any hot water in the shower, it was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at the Bavaria B&B Hostel was one of the best parts of my trip to Rome. Valeria, the woman who runs the hostel, is super sweet and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was more than I expected: there was tea, croissants, cereal, yogurt, bread, juice, milk and coffee (although the coffee wasn't the best). I had a private double, and though it was small, it was very clean and I slept pretty well. The shared bathrooms are also quite clean. The hostel is very small so there is only a small amount of people staying there at one time. It's nice to talk to different people from all over in a very homey enviroment. Bavaria B&B is also located on a main street, which I liked because I felt safe coming back late at night.

Disliked: One of the only negative things is I could not use the internet in my room; I had to go outside into the common area in order for the wi-fi to work. But even this wasn't such a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Valeria was a great host at this B&B. We were two friends traveling and had no qualms about our stay. The location is right near termini which is very convenient for airport transfers and trains/metros, and we reached everything in the city by foot. The first day Valeria gave us a map and showed us where we should go, three days allowing. For the location, comfort, and convenience, I would highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady managing the hostel was great. I booked a bed in a dorm and I was upgraded to a double room where I stayed alone for the same price, as it was low season and the hostel wasn't so busy. The location is really good.

Disliked: The apartment is a bit old, could need some fixing in the bathroom. For the low season it was ok, but I suppose that during the hight season just one bathroom could be a little bit uncomfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, they go out of their way to make your stay in the city better and more enjoyable, I also enjoyed the breakfast that is included.

Disliked: The location is not the best, but it is near the main train station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carina pacheco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 carina would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome! would definitely stay there again. The owner is soo nice, first stay at a hostel and absolutely enjoyed it!

Disliked: carina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: She was very friendly and helpful about directions. They atmosphere was welcoming and very clean.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very at home at this hostel. The beds were very comfy and I felt like I had everything I needed, including wifi!. Having breakfast definitely made our trip go smoothly. The location is great, as the hostel is about a 10 minute walk from the colosseum and maybe 40 minutes from the Vatican. We never needed to use the metro. My favorite part, however, was our host. She was like our mom for the weekend! She never hesitated to give us personal attention. She even made us breakfast at 4am the morning that we checked-out. So sweet. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Petrick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing time at Bavaria B&B Hostel!! The owner was so sweet and helpful and the place was great. The location was awesome- we walked everywhere! Great place to stay :)

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Jagger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and Victoria was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels