HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

87.5% Overall Rating

560 out of 604 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

christel schulte thinks…

"I liked the location - lots of historic places to walk to - even the Colosseum. Also the staff, especially Katja, who was there most of the time and prepared a nice breakfast, was so helpful and…"

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
32.22 USD

Hostel 92.8% 100 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
40.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
29.54 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 160 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
38.94 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.88 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews
Paolina Rooms
38.94 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Maison de Marylu
32.09 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
28.06 USD

Hostel 75.9% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

561 out of 605 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 474 of 587 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nena Logan

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 May 2013 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic location, close to station and major sights of Rome. Valeria was super helpful explaining Rome to us, and waited up super late for us to arrive from our very late night flight.

Disliked: The road the B and B is on is rather noisy - traffic and restaurants.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Itália Cargnin Morcelli

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Carolina Itália would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful proprietor, clean room and good location

Disliked: Nothing - does its job adequately

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Todd

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodations were very clean. We had a balcony with a nice view of the city. Breakfast was set up each morning and included yogurt, bread/butter/jam, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea.

Disliked: The room we reserved was actually located at another location not too far away. In the end, this was not a problem, but it created a little confusion at the beginning as we were not aware of it beforehand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent stay in this hostel. The hostel is very helpful and friendly. It worths the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady of the property (Valerie) was very helpfull and sweet.

Disliked: There were not any hot water in the shower, it was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at the Bavaria B&B Hostel was one of the best parts of my trip to Rome. Valeria, the woman who runs the hostel, is super sweet and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was more than I expected: there was tea, croissants, cereal, yogurt, bread, juice, milk and coffee (although the coffee wasn't the best). I had a private double, and though it was small, it was very clean and I slept pretty well. The shared bathrooms are also quite clean. The hostel is very small so there is only a small amount of people staying there at one time. It's nice to talk to different people from all over in a very homey enviroment. Bavaria B&B is also located on a main street, which I liked because I felt safe coming back late at night.

Disliked: One of the only negative things is I could not use the internet in my room; I had to go outside into the common area in order for the wi-fi to work. But even this wasn't such a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Valeria was a great host at this B&B. We were two friends traveling and had no qualms about our stay. The location is right near termini which is very convenient for airport transfers and trains/metros, and we reached everything in the city by foot. The first day Valeria gave us a map and showed us where we should go, three days allowing. For the location, comfort, and convenience, I would highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady managing the hostel was great. I booked a bed in a dorm and I was upgraded to a double room where I stayed alone for the same price, as it was low season and the hostel wasn't so busy. The location is really good.

Disliked: The apartment is a bit old, could need some fixing in the bathroom. For the low season it was ok, but I suppose that during the hight season just one bathroom could be a little bit uncomfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, they go out of their way to make your stay in the city better and more enjoyable, I also enjoyed the breakfast that is included.

Disliked: The location is not the best, but it is near the main train station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carina pacheco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 carina would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome! would definitely stay there again. The owner is soo nice, first stay at a hostel and absolutely enjoyed it!

Disliked: carina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: She was very friendly and helpful about directions. They atmosphere was welcoming and very clean.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very at home at this hostel. The beds were very comfy and I felt like I had everything I needed, including wifi!. Having breakfast definitely made our trip go smoothly. The location is great, as the hostel is about a 10 minute walk from the colosseum and maybe 40 minutes from the Vatican. We never needed to use the metro. My favorite part, however, was our host. She was like our mom for the weekend! She never hesitated to give us personal attention. She even made us breakfast at 4am the morning that we checked-out. So sweet. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Petrick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing time at Bavaria B&B Hostel!! The owner was so sweet and helpful and the place was great. The location was awesome- we walked everywhere! Great place to stay :)

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Jagger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and Victoria was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to everything in rome including Termini station, the owner is really friendly and willing to help you with whatever you need and it feels a bit like being at home, the atmosphere and people are great and if you fall asleep you still get your everyday breakfast for free. I totally recommend it

Disliked: nothing. Everything was really good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool location. friendly boss!

Disliked: the boss need to improve her English, the Wifi in the room is not good, only the dinner room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner went out of her way to assist in any way possible. She really made the whole trip a great trip!

Disliked: Better directions from the main train station to the property.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

AURIMAS SESTOKAS

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 January 2013 AURIMAS would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel for a good price

Disliked: No microwave and gasstove in the kitchen, middling breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location and the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, 5 mins walk to the Roma termini station (maybe even less!) Hostel is very close to the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. The lady was very nice and helpful, friendly and easy to talk to. Rooms were cleaned everyday. We just wanted a place to sleep and freshen up. If you're in Rome there should be a reason to stay indoors all the time the city is stunning. Therefore the place was good enough for us.

Disliked: The toilets were next to dining room therefore we heard the activity - ie, "the drop" - not nice when youre having breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. 2 min from the main train station, 5 min from the roman forum

Disliked: Very hard to find. And lots of stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great deal! Internet, breakfast and hot showers are all included! Valeria, the owner, is incredibly helpful and will tell you what all to see.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and they actually fix up the beds everyday.

Disliked: There's no dryer for laundry.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rajeev Maithani

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 November 2012 Rajeev would recommend this property

Liked: Everything and the lady (caretaker) was very very helpful. She explained everythign very nicely and was very polite. Location is just super, it's very close to the Termini. Easy to reach out for the restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing excpet that it's wi-fi ddin't work in the room.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels