HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

92.3% Overall Rating

580 out of 625 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Abrar Nurani thinks…

"Really kind and friendly hosts. Only stayed one night but they were always at hand to suggest places to see and things to do. Great place for solo travellers as there isn't a huge crowd and its…"

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
35.42 USD

Hostel 92.2% 107 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
37.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 161 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 375 reviews
Paolina Rooms
37.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Maison de Marylu
37.82 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
21.38 USD

Hostel 81.8% 164 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

580 out of 625 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 485 of 607 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice owners and staff. I booked 2 beds in 6 bed dorm but the owner gave us a 4 bed room and it was only 2 of us in the second nights until the day we checked out. Maria's English is difficult to understand but she's very kind to us. We booked there for 4 nights but it turned out to stay there 7 nights because of Iceland Volcano incident and Lufthansa cancelled all the flights. So i say this is a good place, good location and good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character! Clean, comfortable, and interesting. The staff were absolutely wonderful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was great. When we arrived we were immediately shown to another location due to a problem with the bathrooms so we were a bit apprehensive, but our new room had an ensuite which we hadn't ordered and loads of character. Luigi on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Really handy for the train station and buses, but a 20-30mins walk from the historical centre. Overall good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the staff was really friendly. The rest were average. The room I was was in was really comfortable. However, the bed railings were not safe. So people on the top bunk had the risk of falling down. the breakfast served was filling. i was disappointed that they did not provide a washing machine and a microwave oven.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in central Rome, just a few minutes from the Colosseum. Lovely lady proprietor in the mornings who helps as far as possible. Man on duty at night a bit aloof and didn't speak English though. Rooms cleaned every day. Clean bathrooms. Other tourists friendly. Useful maps in the lobby and a simple breakfast everyday. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient to Termini and to tourist attractions. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Drawbacks: shower was very weak and often ran out of hot water. Hostel was fully booked when we were there so the small shared bathroom got messy and ran out of toilet paper very quickly. Another drawback was that the hostel always smelled like cigarette smoke. No smoking policy but the staff always smoked in the kitchen/office alcove. They opened a window and sometimes had a sheet hanging across the alcove opening, but it didn't do any good. Why is smoking by staff allowed in hostels?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the acommodation was perfect and location... i dont know. we were really close from center and everything was touchable by steps, but we were in a little bit dangerous side near termini station with many immigrations and it were better stay home in evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I didnt actually stay in the place itself they moved me to an even better place which they seemed to do with everyone but trust me the place you are moved to is great, it is right next to termani station and i mean you can see it from the front door, within 5 mins walking you are at the main shopping street via de nationale and another 5 mins you at at via de corso another famous shopping street, cabs are cheap and i used them to get to the vatican city. the cleaning lady Daniella is fantastic, she is really polite and helpful, I had a single room and it was huge with a queen size bed. it was fine if you are a single female travelling alone but CAREFUL OF YOUR DRINKS! my drink got spiked at a bar, hang around the Piazzas and you will be fine they have all the great restaurants etc. will definitely stay here again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was always, day and night, a staff member present and willing to help you, although their English was poor. The location is nice and the place is safe but plain, which is, however, no problem since every minute in the hostel is a waste of time when you are in Rome. The breakfast was not very good, but there is a bar nearby (to the left) where you can eat a very nice and cheap breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good local and the staff was helpful. Beds were clean, everything you need. Nice little restaurants next door that were really delicious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the building it was in, the view from the window, and the room itself. Georgio, the man who was in our building, was simply wonderful. He was very nice and kind and very helpful. Definitely one of my best hostel experiences so far.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Ghee Soh

20 March 2010 Jun Ghee would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and well maintained. Great location with most of the attractions within walking distance. There's big cupboard spaces for luggage, free internet & wifi access, a common room for hang out or eating.The only slight draw back is the shower that's pretty weak.

Disliked: Jun Ghee left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Soldatov

15 March 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to pass away the time. Excellent location and friendly stuff.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this rate is actually for BED AND BREAKFAST CARPE DIEM and not for bavaria. I made the reservation for bavaria but when i came there they told me our room had no light so we cant stay there!! and called carpe diem bed and breakfast. We were lucky that in the other b&b there was a place. The location of this b&b was ok, very near metro station vittorio emmanuelle. Breakfast juice and snacks, very clean, the owner very helpul. I can recommend the stay in carpe diem for a low cost and a good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Blažejová

07 March 2010 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Bavaria stays in very good location in the centre of Rome. Hostelowners are very friendly and kindly. Price per night is good, because in the price is also rich breakfast. Our room was cleaned every day. Disadvantage is shared bathroom. In generally classification is Bavaria hostel very good and I can recommend it to other people. (I don´t know if there was HostelBookers promoted, maybe yes, but I didn´t look through)

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kalaimagal Valliappan

27 February 2010 Kalaimagal would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff who check that everything is ok. Really great breakfast served in your room! But when you get to their building they may move you to another location about a 10min walk away, so don't take all luggage up the 4 sets of stairs at the first building until they let you know where you are staying.

Disliked: Kalaimagal left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only slight problem we had was that I had booked two double rooms, one for my daughter and her husband, and the other for us. We ended up with a room for 4, with two sets of bunks. This was not ideal as my husband is 63 and I am 56, and both my daughter and her husband are over 6ft. tall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This review should actually be for the Rome Bed and Breakfast. We were booked into Bavaria B&B but when we arrived we were told they were closed for rennovations and we were sent about 5 mins down the road to Rome Bed & Breakfast. We were quite annoyed with this change however that was the only bad feeling we had during the whole stay. As soon as we got to Rome B&B we were met by the owner, Luigi, who was very apologetic and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. We had a room in an apartment which was just wonderful. The apartment had a living room with big tv and small dining table, a big fully equipped kitchen and meals area. There were also two very nice bathrooms and two other bedrooms in the apartment. Breakfast was included in the price and each morning we were woken up to a tray on the meals table filled with coffee, juice, bread, croissants, yoghurt etc. I am allergic to gluten and Luigi even bought me gluten free food to have for breakfast. The place is very clean and it really does feel like a home. It is right across the road from Termini train station so is a very good location. It's not a place for meeting people as it is small but that didn't bother us at all! So even though we can't speak for Bavaria B&B - we can recommend Rome B&B!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oxana Tyutyubeeva

10 February 2010 Oxana would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel where we have ever stayed. The location is perfect (just 5 min walk from Termini station). The owners really care about their guests (we have been served the breakfast at that time when was convenient for us). This is value for money!Dear Luigi, thank you so much for such a hearty welcome!!!! If you go to Rome we definitely suggest to stay in this hostel!

Disliked: Oxana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Durrant

10 February 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aline Nogueira

08 February 2010 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: It's unbelievable, the breakfast is put on the table every morning! And Luigi is great!

Disliked: Aline left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2010

Liked: Bavaria B&B & hostel is a hostel where extremely cheap prices. Location is good , breakfast is included. there is a kitchen that guests can use, and we had a fridge in our room, The building is quite noisy. The place was very clean, and the staff is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ut Lon Im

04 February 2010

Liked: We are kept waiting at the entrance for more than 1 hour and were told that the rooms were under renovation so they had to transferred us. But they do not have prior notice to us. The breakfast is too small and the attitude of the staff is not good

Disliked: Ut Lon left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elyse Osbich

30 January 2010 Elyse would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, Safe and clean.

Disliked: Elyse left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels