HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

87.2% Overall Rating

556 out of 600 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"The place always very very clean, they worry to put a fan in our room when was hot at night and we were able to have breakfast at anytime."

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
37.79 USD

Hostel 92.8% 99 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
40.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
29.69 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 159 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
39.14 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
31.04 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews
Paolina Rooms
39.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Maison de Marylu
32.26 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
34.96 USD

Hostel 74.5% 150 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

556 out of 600 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 471 of 583 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Susanna Lidman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

19 October 2010 Susanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who helped us with where to go and how to get there. Felt like a safe room with about 3-4 locks and combinations to get in :)

Disliked: We were relocated to another appartement. The room itself was okay, but since we had chosen the hostel for its location we were disappointed to be moved, even if it was only about 15-20 minutes away. It was further away from the center.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

scott cresswell

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

17 October 2010 scott would recommend this property

Liked: close to railway station. lots of cafes and dinning places close. good breakfast. very secure access to the building.

Disliked: would have preferred a room with a en-suite. room was very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Safe. Enjoyed our stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Carman

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

11 October 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The address given was not where we stayed. The door was never opened so I am not sure if rooms were actually available there. We were taken to a room that was several blocks away in a somewhat rundown neighborhood. The ad should state that there are multiple locations and list the addresses.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Colombo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: We booked BAVARIO but it had a bathroom problem so they moved us to B&B ROME. this B&B is like a apartment, flat tv, full kitchen, sofa, microwave, frezzer, etc. LUIGI the owner who run himself the B&B is really a great man to met. He gave us all what he had on his hands to helpus during our stay. He made us to feel at home. THANKS LUIGI !!!!!

Disliked: nothing, everything was OK. B&B ROME is the best B&B we have ever been.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert Franco

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Shopping

01 October 2010 robert would recommend this property

Liked: very close to sites,breakfast choice and staff very frendly.

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: to go up 3 floors with my lugage

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010

Liked: ...

Disliked: Location

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leonardo Santos Hoff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: The best points about Bavaria: location, breakfast, clean towels everyday, refrigerator in rooms and wi-fi internet! Staff is friendly, bathrooms and bedrooms are clean... I would stay in this hostel again in the future, and i do recomend it to other ppl. I was traveling alone, backpacking, and i could meet nice people there.

Disliked: At first glance you can think that the hostel isnt that good, because the main room looks like a mess, but after seen and enjoying all the facilities you realize it is a good place and worth for the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsa G.

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Business / conference
Shopping

27 September 2010 Elsa would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms is clean,choice of breakfast,friendliness and helpfulness of the staff,.thank you Massimiliano,see you soon.

Disliked: Elsa left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jose hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

23 September 2010 jose would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: only one shower with hot water

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick NEVIERE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Location and breakfast.

Disliked: Owners hardly understand english.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Vera Duarte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and really safe, with a nice location

Disliked: Vera left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the Clarian which is apparently associated with Bavaria B&B. The woman who runs it is very sweet and helpful. She speaks some englis.h. The Location is perfect for getting around by bus and Metro. The room was clean and had A/C which was appreciated greatly.

Disliked: Not so much a dislike, just a note to others..it is a pretty noisy area. Also keep a watch out for pickpockets and predatory shopkeepers. One restaurant charged us 7 Euros for 2 cups of Cappacino. Always ask the price first!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Keren Moran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010

Liked: location was good, not far from the collasium. The ice-cream shop opposite is really good

Disliked: if you stay in the b and b private room the loaction will be different to address given, so be prepared to be taken somwhere else (about a km away) thge location is still good, close to station) but takes extra time getting checked in. There isn't someone around always which made check-out awkward.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgiana Conete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 Georgiana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff was very helpful and nice with us, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was good with plenty of coffee, yogurts and cereals

Disliked: The street in front of the window was very crowded in the night and it was pretty noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Marques

Alone

Business / conference

18 September 2010 André would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the hospitality provided by this hostel. The guys are helpful and they are really nice..:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sian Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: The man was helpful and it was across the road from a big ice cream parlour. There was free wifi in the room and the room was a good size. Breakfast was mediocre

Disliked: The fact that our actual room was not were the hostel was super annoying. I chose hostels mainly on location so to then have to wait for someone to come pick us up to take us to another location (on a tram) that is further away from the centre of Rome and is in the 'ghetto' was not good. There are no restaurants around the hostel or a supermarket - just ice cream. The area was not safe at night in my opinion and breakfast was just a pre packed croissant,stale bread and a coffeee.....oh and you had to pay 7euros/night for air conditioning - in the middle of summer! what a rip! And the street next to it is to noisy to have the window open at night!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, you can visit most interesting places not using any bus (if you like walking of course). Breakfast is in Italian style, with fresh coffee and juice.

Disliked: It's really small :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Rome accomodations which was excellently located very near the central train station. The staff were friendly and helpful. Clean lockable rooms with aircon.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't that great. Not very social but relaxed atmos

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leandro Pilan da Rocha

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2010 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, close to city center, nice staff.

Disliked: Leandro left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient for sight-seeing. Many restaurants nearby. Easy to find. Friendly owners. Owners very helpful at breakfast time with the children's eating preferences.

Disliked: One of the bathrooms was in need of repair. The fridge which was advertised to be in the room did not work. The cupboard in the room was broken. But the price was very good for Rome and the owners were friendly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice. Although he doesn't speak a lot of ENglish, you can still understand what he means.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was modern and clean, a tiny flat screen tv was a pleasant surprise. However, please note that there are more than 1 hostels under this Bavaria -group. If you book a private twin, you will most likely to be relocated to another location (better). This other location is in fact named Bonny B&B and is located on Via Principe Eugenio, 60. The owner is very customer service oriented and is always willing to help, which was wonderful!

Disliked: Well, it was a bit disappointing that although we paid for private twin, we stayed in a normal hostel room with 2 bunk beds for the first night and got no discount for this night, although the room was a lower level than booked (no private wc). The rest of the nights were ok, as we were relocated to the room that we actually booked but which situated in another hostel. Please do take ear plugs with you if you are staying at this hostel, the location is great / very central but the downside is the traffic noise, which can be quite overwhelming at early morning hours.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels