HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Bavaria B&B & Hostel

Hostel | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 158, Rome, Italy 00185

94.7% Overall Rating

528 out of 567 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Alejandra Gonzalez thinks…

"Valeria me atendio excelente, siempre alegre y bien predispuesta a ayudarme. El lugar es muy limpio y tranquilo. Esta cerca de la terminal de tren y del Coliseo. El wifi es muy bueno tanto en el…"

Read all Bavaria B&B & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
38.73 USD

Hostel 92.1% 86 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
41.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rose Santamaria
30.43 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 149 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
48.42 USD

Guesthouse 68.1% 117 reviews
Domus Elisa
33.20 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 360 reviews
Paolina Rooms
48.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.5% 33 reviews
Maison de Marylu
41.36 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 33 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
37.21 USD

Hostel 78.5% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

528 out of 567 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bavaria B&B & Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 450 of 549 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leandro Pilan da Rocha

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2010 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, close to city center, nice staff.

Disliked: Leandro left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient for sight-seeing. Many restaurants nearby. Easy to find. Friendly owners. Owners very helpful at breakfast time with the children's eating preferences.

Disliked: One of the bathrooms was in need of repair. The fridge which was advertised to be in the room did not work. The cupboard in the room was broken. But the price was very good for Rome and the owners were friendly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice. Although he doesn't speak a lot of ENglish, you can still understand what he means.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was modern and clean, a tiny flat screen tv was a pleasant surprise. However, please note that there are more than 1 hostels under this Bavaria -group. If you book a private twin, you will most likely to be relocated to another location (better). This other location is in fact named Bonny B&B and is located on Via Principe Eugenio, 60. The owner is very customer service oriented and is always willing to help, which was wonderful!

Disliked: Well, it was a bit disappointing that although we paid for private twin, we stayed in a normal hostel room with 2 bunk beds for the first night and got no discount for this night, although the room was a lower level than booked (no private wc). The rest of the nights were ok, as we were relocated to the room that we actually booked but which situated in another hostel. Please do take ear plugs with you if you are staying at this hostel, the location is great / very central but the downside is the traffic noise, which can be quite overwhelming at early morning hours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Min Young Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Min Young would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Georgio's place (the hostel is a family run business with the double private rooms done as a B and B). It was really good. Georgio and Luigi were really friendly and the room and linen were really clean.Really good too was the ability to use the kitchen and Geogeo's washing machine. Saved us heaps of money and we could prepare picnics for day trips out of Rome to Tivoli and the catacombes.The location is really near Termini station and so may be a bit noisy but we were puckered out and slept well every night on the very comfortable bed.The main office has wifi, free to use. The staff are really helpful too. We were unfortunate to have our luggage left in Moscow for three days, so Luigi rang the airport for us every day, we finally got it too, Georgio had gone and gotten it for us.For the price and the abilty to try Georgio's authentic "Cacge Pepe" (spelling?) my wife and recommend this hostel.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, just note that this review is about the double private at Georgeo's house with regards to the room and facilties we had but the whole Bavaria were great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The condition of attached bathroom and toilet with double room. It was so small that you can not take shower. It is very not at all comfortable to sit on WC (toilet). If you sit on toilet, a wash basin will not allow you to sit comfortably.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erno Lineri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

11 August 2010 Erno would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people. Good brakfast.

Disliked: Little bit traffic noise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Duncan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent. It's a guesthouse rather than a hostel, but the landlord is really friendly, funny and entertaining. So there's a fantastic, welcoming atmosphere that makes you feel really at home. It's also well placed, within walking distance of the city centre, the Colosseum and just a couple of streets away from Termini train station.

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really great overall.

Disliked: noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudio masi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2010 claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, staff very friendly, good breakfast.

Disliked: little noise in the night, but this is the real centre of the Eternal City!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You have to look beyond the mis-matching chairs and air-less room you are first greeted with, as this is an amazing place to stay! The hosts are wonderful, especially Maria. She provides you with a great free breakfast, free internet and free washing. You are right next door ot the Coloseum and 5 minute walk to station!

Disliked: A very noisy street with no air-con, but the perks outway the cons!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: i think nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and good breakfast compared to most hostels. Overall good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LEUNG WOO LUISA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 LEUNG WOO would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast is great. The place is rather clean. The price is very reasonable. Good location, near the station and near the coliseum.

Disliked: The room is a bit small but fairly enough. No kitchen. Have to wait to go to the bathroom sometimes... and the stairs to the hostel are a bit crazy if your luggage is heavy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ben Wardle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It was a vert nice place to stay

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A/C

Disliked: The one shower didn't work very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marta silvestri

Alone

31 July 2010 marta would recommend this property

Liked: location&staff

Disliked: marta left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amie Gall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, didn't see a lot of the staff apart from at breakfast but that didn't cause any problems, breakfast provided was excellent with a large selection, plenty of clean, large bathrooms, rooms good although some had fans whilst ours didn't which did make sleeping difficult, would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: No aircon or fan, also when one of the bathrooms flooded leaking into another group's room it was difficult to get hold of the owners and they said they couldn't come and fix it.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Srinivas Parinandi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2010

Liked: Nothing. The location was ok.

Disliked: Many things. 1) We booked this hostel but were escorted to another hostel. 2) The hostel promised breakfast but did not provide it. 3) We were not consulted about payment until the very last moment and had to force them to take payment. 4) The contract said that we could check out at 10 am. At 8 am, the staff knocked on our door and told us that we had 30 minutes to leave. This was very rude and unprofessional.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean property with friendly staff...

Disliked: Property is located in the centre of the town so there is some noise caused by the near traffic...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located - two blocks from the central train station. Within close walking distance of trains and buses, as well as some of the major tourist attractions. Computer in the bedroom with free internet acess - fantastic.

Disliked: Difficulty getting onto management when I first arrived. Another guest had to let me into the property and then chase down the owners. I had been unable to ring to let them know when I was arriving as my phone wasn't working. Otherwise it was great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room and place

Disliked: noice at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay - Giorgio was an amazing host, and the breakfast was good and available early. Highly recommended

Disliked: The main city was close, but late at night def stick to the main roads, as Rome can be a bit unsafe out of the absolute centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Really nice and spotless bathroom, cleaned every day. Apartmentlike bed and breakfast. 3 Minutes walk to Termini Station. Really nice and safe stay.Loved it.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked Bavaria B&B, though if I could do anything differently I wouldn't go to dorm with other people in it. My roommates didn't respect the fact that my friend and I tried to sleep, they were very loud.

Disliked: Didn't like my loud roommates. Also the computer was broken, so we couldn't use it, but the friendly hostelowner let us use her computer. (Annalisa was very friendly and nice!!) We were supposed to have female dorm, but there was one man staying there also...


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels