HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rome City Hostel

Hostel | Viale Ippocrate 91, Rome, Italy 00161

76.9% Overall Rating

198 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/12/2013)

milen dimitrov thinks…

"i like very much the staff and the place is realy nice,not forgetting the nice and cheep pizza place accross the street ..."

Read all Rome City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

InternoUno
48.32 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 32 reviews
Roma Scout Center
37.27 USD

Hostel 88.0% 121 reviews
Youth Station Hostel
26.23 USD

Hostel 68.2% 315 reviews
Hotel Laurentia
51.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cristina's Residence
34.51 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 198 reviews
InternoUno Deluxe
55.22 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 15 reviews
Serendipity Hostel
38.65 USD

Apartment 84.3% 6 reviews
Cristina Hotel
41.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.7% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

198 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rome City Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 212 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lenka Dvorecka

23 March 2010 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special, not the worst but for sure not the best hostel I have ever been to...

Disliked: Lenka left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason roberts

26 February 2010 jason would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the hostel: clean, very very safe, nice breakfast, nice staff and very good location not far from everything.

Disliked: jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john smith

12 February 2010 john would recommend this property

Liked: great cozy little hostel free internet free breakfast and the staff were so helpful. Good value for money I recommend!!!!!!!!

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladislav Vankov

24 November 2009 Vladislav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to meet people. Small but tidy.

Disliked: Vladislav left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 November 2009

Liked: Didn't really like the hostel. Was shocked when I got there. The place wasn't clean and it was a small place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 October 2009

Liked: Didnt enjoy our stay here, the staff were average, no car parking as listed, had to change rooms on our 3rd night at about 8pm which was annoying and the staff to say 'thats just how we do it' didnt bother them that it may be an inconvenience. breakfast was average. the beds are small. location very average. only 2 showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ABDUL QAHHAR MUDZAKKAR

11 October 2009 ABDUL QAHHAR would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitality, the safe and secure, but not the location.

Disliked: ABDUL QAHHAR left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marta Antunez Exposito

30 September 2009 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is really good because you have rooms with private bathrooms, and everything is amazingly clean! furthermore you have free internet and is well comunnicated with a bus that takes you near TERMINI. I really recommended!!

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a few minutes of walking to reach the metro, a quite good quater in rome, and everything clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lais Flores

08 August 2009 Lais would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really good, the staff is very helpful. The facilities are small (there's just a small kitchen/living room as common room) but comfortable nonetheless. Cosy rooms. Would definitely recommend for friends.

Disliked: Lais left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kris Bleakley

29 July 2009 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: Such a friendly staff, clean and some sound and fun peoples i did meet. Thanks Josie and Kim : )

Disliked: Kris left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are wonderful, really helpful and kind. The day staff are full of information and ideas. If you want to party, this is not the place to go as it is in a residential building! We really enjoyed all aspects. There could be one more bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its an amazing hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You get to meet a lot of people . They allow you to leave your luggage after you have checked out. The room is a bit small though .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room's were big with comfortabel beds. The common room was a awesome place to hang out wit fellow travlers and chat a while.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Because it is in the building along with other tenants it sets itself up to not be a huge party locale...which is kind of nice. josey was extremely helpful!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was great from the morning till the evening. The night guy wasn't worth much. There was a large language barrier.There was a mix up for my reservation and it wasn't book properly. So I had to relocate to another hostel for a single night (party of 3). That was upsetting since we had just got to Rome from New York and were extremely tired and needing to settle in to rest up. We definitely lost some time from our stay in Rome due to this mix-up.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good breakfast, free internet, good staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The street is pretty interesting with many stores. The visitor gets a feeling of the everyday day Rome life.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 June 2009

Liked: The hostel was cheap and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The woman who cleaned the rooms was terribly rude to my friend, barking at her in Italian - which thankfully my friend couldn't understand, but I could - for merely entering a bathroom she was about to clean. The woman at reception apologized however, and other than that small incident I can't fault the staff at all. They were kind and did everything they could to accommodate us. The hostel itself was too small for the number of people staying there. Although it came with handy services like a kitchen and a living area with a Tv and DVD player, you had to walk through these common areas in the morning and at night to get to the bathrooms - which is awkward in a mixed dorm situation that demands changing in the bathroom area. The bathrooms were constantly occupied and I suspect had some plumbing issues. One of the two showers was out of commission and the other bathroom smelled of sewage. People were constantly moving within the hostel - the staff would accidentally unmake a bed and the person would have to move somewhere else as their former bed had been given to a new person. The people staying at the hostel were friendly for the most part, but some would pull pranks like stealing bunk bed ladders in the night. The staff didn't seem to mind or notice this kind of thing, let alone try to prevent it. I was only there for 3 nights but it was the final 3 nights of my trip and I was not impressed. There were no lockers or secure areas to leave luggage. I had to keep my backpack locked at all times.I would not recommend this hostel unless money is the only criteria. The friendliness of the staff was not worth the discomfort and uncleanliness of the hostel itself.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well located, and the staff were very friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hsueh Lun Huang

07 May 2009 Hsueh Lun would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place to stay for travelers

Disliked: Hsueh Lun left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sharon Lim Tin Siong

18 April 2009 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: Chairful, friendly, clean, calm, safe and good price :) Only disadvantages : not situated in the heart of Rome animation city life, also no many rooms so difficulty in meeting new people.But it was one of the best hostels i stayed in ! i appreciate mainly the calm and the morning breakfast :) i recommend it to many speciall for long stay ;)

Disliked: Sharon left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean hostel with wireless internet as advertised and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Marks

09 March 2009 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: The staff weere really friendly and welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay here and would highly recomend it.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Basilio Brito

01 March 2009 Basilio would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel's staff so friendly.....

Disliked: Basilio left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels