HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Rome City Hostel Rome Hostel

Viale Ippocrate 91, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 79%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.24USD

Important Information

**** Notice about Rome's new tourist tax ****
Rome City Council decided to charge 3.50 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget.

**** Notice for groups ****
Group reservations above 12 pax can only be modified or cancelled without charge with at least 7 days notice prior to your arrival date. Modifications and cancellations made outside this period are subject to the full charge of the reservation. We will also request 2 days prepayment to guarantee your booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 79%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

Showing 41-15 of 15 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the atmosphere,

Disliked: one night there were bed bugs.the AC is not always switch on.for breakfast always cereals.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms have AC. There is a kitchen you can use, which can save you some money. Each bed has an individual locker. I'm not sure if you had to bring your own lock, but I used mine. The 4 person room was spatious enough, clean and confortable. The hostel itself is quite small, but it offers enough space to rest and chill out. Breakfast included, consisting of marmelade, not really good bread, a quite tasty pie, cereals, milk, coffee and tea. It's pretty near from Termini station. 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes by bus (although waiting for the bus to come might take a while). There are good value pizza shops right across the street.

Disliked: I did not see any TV or dvd, as advertised. They charge you for the two euro tax that you're not supposed to pay at registered hostels. I'm not sure about how legit is that, since the only accepted cash for the payment of this tax. There's only one pot to use in the kitchen, otherwise it's quite acceptable. The breakfast bread was not very fresh, and there were no eggs, ham or cheese in sight, so I'm not sure if that qualifies as a continental breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere was very friendly. Hostel staff was very helpful. They provided enough guidance to visit different places in Rome. Check in/Check out time was flexible. Breakfast was good :).

Disliked: I liked everything.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There was a 24 hour receptionist and the place had such few rooms that it was easy to meet people and felt friendly. Also, lockers were free, parking was free and Internet was free which was great!

Disliked: The AC was leaking in my room which led to there being water on the floor in my room by the end of the day. Little was done to correct this. (They only put in a bucket and it didn't solve the problem). In terms of safety, there were no keys to any of the rooms it was fine because there were so few rooms and a receptionist at all times but it is good to know.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I love that you had AC, Wifi, and continental breakfast! Your staff was also very nice and helpful!

Disliked: Our AC leaked all over our floor and the breakfast wasn't all that good, but either way no complaints!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its very clean and comfortable. you feel like staying in a secure safe home.the breakfast is quite good. you get everything you need in a hostel from here. good wifi.

Disliked: its far from the city center and train station but you can easily get to there by bus.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Had a great kitchen and free Internet which came in handy. The staff took time on arrival to really explain the public transport and how to reach the main sites

Disliked: No keys

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very knowledgable staff - Milen told me exactly how to get to the catacombs. The atmosphere was very international.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff were very helpful. the location was central, with shops, cafes etc. close by.

Disliked: not especially clean, and the dorm I stayed in needs new mattresses and bedding - they were seriously old. It also good do with freshening up, airing out, etc as was musty.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the proximity was great, a short walk to the station that allows you to get anywhere in the city via the metro. I also liked that it had a kitchen for us to cook, most hostels in Europe don't seem to have this option.

Disliked: The kitchen was a bit small for the number of people staying, we didn't have too much trouble it is fine if you are patient. The bathrooms could use a hand towel and a bath mat because the floor gets too wet and you have nothing to wipe it with.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability