HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rome City Hostel

Hostel | Viale Ippocrate 91, Rome, Italy 00161

76.9% Overall Rating

198 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/12/2013)

milen dimitrov thinks…

"i like very much the staff and the place is realy nice,not forgetting the nice and cheep pizza place accross the street ..."

Read all Rome City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

InternoUno
48.30 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 32 reviews
Roma Scout Center
41.40 USD

Hostel 88.0% 121 reviews
Youth Station Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel 68.2% 315 reviews
Hotel Laurentia
51.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cristina's Residence
34.50 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 198 reviews
InternoUno Deluxe
55.20 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 15 reviews
Serendipity Hostel
38.64 USD

Apartment 84.3% 6 reviews
Cristina Hotel
38.64 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.7% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

198 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rome City Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 212 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

City break

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close enough to the metro, amazing gelato nearby. Nice and relatively small hostel with very helpful staff, especially regarding what to see in the area. Reasonably priced too.

Disliked: The shower was cold, and it would've been nice to have a hand dryer / hand towels in the bathroom. Otherwise great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioning and a safe in the room.

Disliked: Booked a double room and ended up with a twin room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 September 2010

Liked: the guy on the reception, lucas, was very kind and helped to find a place because I arrived a day earlier and had no accomodation

Disliked: most of the people there was waiting to find a a permanent place 'cause they were exchange students. I think they should say it is not a travellers hostel....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really helpful, was clean. not amazing rooms but good value.

Disliked: not the best social area

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

14 September 2010

Liked: Close to public transport

Disliked: A bag of souvenirs was saving my friend's bed when we went out to explore the city. When we got back that night, the bag was gone and someone else was sleeping in the bed. One of the staff removed the bag from the bed, not checking to see what was in it, and put it in the garbage. That staff member also managed to not check the room reservation list to see if there was a free bed in that room. Also, we had to switch rooms for our second night, for some unknown reason. We moved from a room with a private bathroom to one without a bathroom, but were charged the same price both nights. The staff were also unaware of the opening times of major attractions, such as the Colosseum and the Vatican, and did not know how the metro in Rome worked.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Natanja Reitner

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 September 2010 Natanja would recommend this property

Liked: free wlan in the room

Disliked: Natanja left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was small, with an intimate and homely atmosphere. Friendly staff. I've been told it's noisy wherever you stay in Rome, but city noise wasn't a problem here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, Clean, Friendly Staff and People. Free Breakfast, 3e wine and 2e beer.

Disliked: It isnt near much except a local neighborhood. Unless you want more local flair, and delicious gelati, this hostel is a bit out of the way and requires figuring out the public transportation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Prentice

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly and helpful, and they put on a very good breakfast. The best have had anywhere to be honest, and it's included in the price.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its good

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eventhough the hostel was not centrally located near the major sites of Rome, It was located near the metro and bus stops which were extremely easy to use. One of the best gelateria bars down the street from here, three large scoops for 1.80 euros. The staff was very cordial and helpful.

Disliked: The only complaint or just a suggestion is that the kitchen could use a oven.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jessica oneill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the free wifi and the ac in the rooms.

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Valerie Gartland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice size, friendly staff, free internet access.

Disliked: Rather poor location. You either have to walk a long way to the metro or take a bus in order to get close to any sites.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bianka Tardif

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 July 2010 Bianka would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located and the staff was nice.

Disliked: The atmosphere was not that funny. I didn't met anyone to hang out with for the first time in 3 weeks and half!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as far as hostels in rome go (low standard) this is a really good place. the whole place is fitted with a/c which is a bonus. free internet access. free breakfast

Disliked: only 1 computer for their internet access meant waiting for a while to check emails. there was 1 great guy working there, the other 2 were somewhat sub par. the breakfast was ok, nothing outstanding.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found all of their staff to be really chill and laid back. it was a really good stay and i wish i stayed there more than one night.

Disliked: The shower head was broken.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2010

Liked: I thought a few of the staff members were great. Very nice and accomodating. I enjoyed the wifi and air conditioning in the rooms.

Disliked: The cleaning lady stole my sheets. I changed the sheets because I found blood stains on theirs and the next day my unique sheets were gone. The staff made me change bedrooms everynight I stayed with Rome City Hostel without telling me as I found someone new in my bed every night. They do not enforce the age limit as a man over the age of 50 slept in my room. You will have to motivate yourself to get to the train station which is approximately a mile walk away from the hostel in a not so great part of the city. It doesn't help that this hostel is not within walking distance of any culture worth of any value and the hostel has few guests that are looking to meet fellow travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Ellis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and use of kitchen, great location, supermarket and pizza bar opposite

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Intimate.Good place to relax.

Disliked: You have to be extra quiet after 10 PM. This ain't a "party" hostel since it's intimate and small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy, staff promotes a sense of community. Facilities were nice.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty cramped - would have been more inclined to see them as holding half of what was booked into them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, just a bus ride from the city center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend the Rome City Hostel! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was a someone staff 24 hours and I felt very safe in the hostel. The location is great, not within walking distance of any major attractions, but it was super easy to use the public transportation. The facilities were great and I met a lot of cool people. Excellent value!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trizzia Zuluaga

02 April 2010 Trizzia would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, linen, breakfast, and it's a good hike from the city centre :) The staff are awesome, and it was definitely a great place to meet people!!!

Disliked: Trizzia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is cheap and have many facilities, it's very recomended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels