HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of PLUS Camping Roma

Hostel | Via Aurelia 831 (km 8, 2), Rome, Italy 00165

87.9% Overall Rating

3125 out of 3425 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Jeanett Hannestad thinks…

"It's a good place to stay if you want to be close to Rome but on the same time wants to save some money. It's the perfect place for young people - we were age 21-26 and enjoyed it very much !"

Read all PLUS Camping Roma reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.76
  • Luggage Room USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

City tax 2 € per person/night NOT included! to be paid upon arrival! Please note that the swimming pool will be available only from mid May - October Check-in: 1pm. Check-out: 10am. We also have a shuttle service from Fiumicino (€12) or Ciampino (€13). To reserve, simply email us at least 48hrs ahead of time. Please print your reservation to show the driver. Travelling around Europe this summer? Check out PLUS Florence, PLUS Camping Michelangelo - Florence, PLUS Camping Jolly in Venice, PLUS Prague and the brand-spanking-new PLUS Berlin! We have a 24hr cancellation policy. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. Our info point can send you off in the right direction with maps, tickets and excursions around the eternal city while our friendly international staff will be glad to welcome you on-site at our restaurant, pub or nightclub – in fact, anywhere, anytime. During the summer, a shuttle bus to/from the Vatican is available for €3 per person round trip. Towels are can be rented for just €2 from reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Scheppers Hotel
32.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Thousand Sunny
21.01 USD

Hostel 89.3% 4 reviews
Hotel Torre Rossa Park
39.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.5% 35 reviews
Vatican City Inn
26.26 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 168 reviews
Antica Dimora Contessa Arrivabene
43.33 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Daniel's Sweet Home Apartments & B&B
30.20 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 278 reviews
Hotel Palace Nardo
36.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.9% 4 reviews
Salvador B&B
22.98 USD

Guesthouse 74.6% 208 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

3125 out of 3425 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PLUS Camping Roma'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 2146 of 2340 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 85 | 86   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeanett Hannestad

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Jeanett would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place to stay if you want to be close to Rome but on the same time wants to save some money. It's the perfect place for young people - we were age 21-26 and enjoyed it very much !

Disliked: When we came to check in at 1PM, the rooms weren't ready. We couldn't get them until 3PM, which made it impossible to achieve our plans. That's not okay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gokhan Yilmaz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Gokhan would recommend this property

Liked: pool, athmosphere, bar, restraurant, supermarket

Disliked: internet connection was not so good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money and beautiful place.

Disliked: Inconvenient location, restaurant decent but a little slow-moving, the tents are not very comfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mayana Goldsmith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Mayana would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you needed was there the pool was awesome and so was the I site supermarket and the huge one across the road! Staff were really nice and helpful!

Disliked: Way too far out of rome we only went into to the city twice in our 5 night stay because it was too expensive!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Collins

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff. So friendly and helpful. Everyone was great. Especially the night receptionist when we arrived. Also the lady working in the supermarket. Last but not least the Italian bus driver with the crazy moustache. Happiest man alive. The pool area was great after a hot day sightseeing. Much needed relaxation.

Disliked: Tents are a bit hot, but what do you expect, it's a tent in the sun!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alex Gibbs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cheap and there were lots of great facilities available.

Disliked: A bit out of the way but if you're ok with waiting for buses it's not a problem. No kitchen was a bit annoying and disappointing that the cinema was still advertised even though it's not there anymore.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Preece

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly as described - three beds in a permanent tent. You get what you pay for! Staff were friendly and informative.

Disliked: A little far from stations but Aurelia is an easy walk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Neil Tytherleigh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the easiest hostels to meet people. Due to the pool and organised parties it was a fun and friendly atmosphere, which as a solo traveller I appreciated. I stayed in the tents and had a lovely community of people with whom I socialized with. The camp site is set up perfectly, with the supermarket right there and the tourist information being easily available. The shuttle service to the Vatican was great, as I knew when booking the hostel that it would not be in the centre of town. The amenities were always clean and pleasant and no more than a minute walk from my tent. Felt incredibly safe walking around at night, and was pleasantly surprised when after having left my clothes in the tumble dryer over night they were still there in the early morning. I went on 2 tours organised through the hostel and loved every second of them. I have already recommended this hostel to several friends and family members as a great and easy portal to stay at when in Rome.

Disliked: Many of the problems I faced were out of the control of the campsite so I do not feel they adequately reflect the Plus camping Roma. The foot bridge was closed, which made going to Panorama a bit of a hassle, and you had to coordinate with the shuttle, but this wont be the case in the future after the construction. Perhaps another problem was the heat in the tents, in the afternoon when I arrived it was a sauna in there, of course there is no reason to be in your tent during the day as there is a pool and you are in Rome. I would have preferred a more comprehensive kitchen than just a microwave. Where backpackers in tents could make some quick food on an oven rather than having to buy food from the restaurant or supermarket. Perhaps another problem some travellers may face is the lack of late night transport that comes to the area and anything past 22:00 will require a taxi, however I found the bar and nightclub on the property more than adequate.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has everything it says in the description. A fun place to meet people and have a good time.

Disliked: The location is worse because the passageway and the bus stop are under construction/sealed off.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014

Liked: It's very big so there is ample opportunity to make lots of new friends!! It's nice to have a pool around. Buses to town for 3€ although they didn't know the Vatican museum schedule at all.

Disliked: The staff were consistently rude, especially at the restaurant. They were 45minutes late bringing one of the girls at our table her meal and when it finally arrived it was the wrong meal. When she told them this they yelled at her and told her she was lying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Pemberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant on site Is great!!

Disliked: Laundry facilities - a couple of the dryers were not working which meant we had to put our load on 4 times!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederic Martineau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2014 Frederic would recommend this property

Liked: Nice resort with great facilities.

Disliked: The location was a little bit fare away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Milica Petkovic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Milica would recommend this property

Liked: It was really pleasant. It does offer everything you need and it is not that far away from the city center. You can buy food in supermarket. Toilets are very clean.

Disliked: WiFi was bad sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities for the price and the swimming pool, restaurant and bar was great. Fantastic young atmosphere but also catered well for families! Great transport links into Rome and fantasic infomation centre - really helpful. Help assist in booking transfers to airport, day trips and much more.

Disliked: No double bed in the bunglows

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn klein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the money, stayed in the bungalow as well as the tent (bungalow more comfortable but the tent is definitely enough for a backpacker), lots of amenities, bathrooms cleaned regularly, on site market is convenient but expensive (big grocery store right across the street). The shuttles are convenient and a good value for the money.

Disliked: It's outside the city center and nearly impossible to get to after the metro closes. Plan on taking a taxi back from the city center which is €15-€20. Lots of large groups and busabouts staying there so not the best place for a solo backpacker.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erikanina Benito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Erikanina would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of failures on offer. Heeeeaps of washers and dryers. I'm talking about 10 washers and 5 dryers. €4 each. Restaurant on site. Shuttle that leaves every hour on the hour into town for €3. (Not the centre, just to Cipro metro.) The tent cabins weren't as bad as I though they'd be. It's pretty much like a normal room but thinner walls. There were two plugs in the 3 bed tent cabin I was in which worked out fine. Individual lights. The place was a little squashy but you were never really in the rooms anyway. Everyome usually hung around the pool area especially when I was there cause it was so bloody hot. Oh, beware the tent cabins. If it's hot outside, it's even hotter in the tent cabin annnnd if it's cold outside.. You know where I'm going with this. But they give you a blanket so you'll be fine. Just something to note for the delicate people. The staff were always friendly and extremely helpful. I can't really think of much else. I only stayed for a night and it was really good value for money. I'd recommend it if you don't mind the distance from the city centre.

Disliked: Okay, sooooo this place isn't entirely suitcase friendly. Be prepared to pull it up inclines and/or lug it up some steps. It wasn't THAT bad but it was just annoying especially because I had to do the whole metro and bus beforehand. Be warned, it is quite far from the centre. If you're looking for convenience, this really isn't the place for you. Also, the metro stop 'Cornelia' (the one you have to get off to then catch a bus to the campsite) looks extremely dodgy. It was not well lit at all. It just didn't feel safe for me being a solo female traveller especially at night. I think the metro closes at midnight so if you're out and miss the last trains you'd have to find another way home which would be a mission. Other than that, I liked my stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario T Roma Momma

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

29 July 2014 Mario T would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, good food, very organized

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I-Wen Wang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 I-Wen would recommend this property

Liked: Plus camping have shutters is good for tourism.

Disliked: Staff is no time to take care everyone.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elise van de Haar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: The tent we stayed in was clean and could be locked, the staff was real friendly and helpfull, the food at the restaurant was great, there was a nice atmosphere and lots of young people around. Its also quite easy to go to the beach from this place, which is real nice. Overall it was a good place to stay and nice to be a bit further from the madness and chaos of rome.

Disliked: Although the bathroom facilities were quite new and in a good state, I think it could be cleaned more often. The camping is real close to a busstop, but it's a real suicide mission to get from the busstop to the camping. Our last night at the camping we couldn't sleep, because there were a lot of teenagers partying and screaming in the tents around us, which was quite annoying since we had an early flight.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sandeep Dhanajkar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Sandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Two night stay in Rome for sole purpose of budget tourism, served well in Camping Roma. As already mentioned in the website, its a camping place and hence can't expect the place to be quite. It was very lively and the tents we stayed in were what we expected them to be. The public showers and toilets were average. There is not much hot water in the showers, intact in the evenings its cold. The morning buffet breakfast or 6.50euro is well worth the cost. It huge and satisfying with a lot of options. In all a great place for budget travelers. Note: pretty far from the city but good connectivity of public transport. They have a direct shuttle bus to the Vatican.

Disliked: The water in shower was mostly cold. Nothing else to complain about. You get what u pay for.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jared Magid

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014

Liked: Wifi was pretty decent and the pool was a mega PLUS (pun intended).

Disliked: It's really far from the tourist sites in Rome which made it hard to fit everything into a weekend.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FACILITIES

Disliked: LOCATION

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

isaac kabazzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 isaac would recommend this property

Liked: I was blown away. The size, beauty, tranquillity, off-the-beaten track camping experience coupled with a range of choices to offer was extremely good. It hosts a very diverse group of guests---one can easily get along (at least it didn't take me that long) i have my personal doubts about my outcome of Rome before coming but Camping Roma changed all that i wouldn't think of any other place if i return to Rome/recommend someone else

Disliked: Not that any caught my observation

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mert eyupoglu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 mert would recommend this property

Liked: It is a huge place to meet people from all around the world.

Disliked: mert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Webby

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to the city and staff are very helpful about what to do and have tours available from the site. Has pretty much everything you need on site, restaurant is well priced.

Disliked: There are no cooking facilities and there can be a lot of noise from other campers partying until quite late regardless of camp policy of noise after 11pm. Also, booked a queen bed on hostelbookera but were given a room with 3 singles.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels