HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Youth Station Hostel

Hostel | Via Livorno 5, Rome, Italy 00162

68.2% Overall Rating

241 out of 315 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/01/2014)

Berk Saraloglu thinks…

"Location of the beds with each other are very nice even some beds make some weirds sounds.. It was a nice experience."

Read all Youth Station Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 4.14

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Roma Scout Center
37.27 USD

Hostel 88.0% 121 reviews
InternoUno
48.32 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 32 reviews
InternoUno Deluxe
55.22 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 15 reviews
Rome City Hostel
33.13 USD

Hostel 76.9% 237 reviews
Hotel Laurentia
51.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cristina's Residence
34.51 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 198 reviews
B&B ArteRoma - Tiburtina
34.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Galeno **
63.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.2%

Overall Rating

241 out of 315 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Station Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
69.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 231 of 274 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berk Saraloglu

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Berk would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the beds with each other are very nice even some beds make some weirds sounds.. It was a nice experience.

Disliked: Berk left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Shower head was broken. Toilet seat was broken. Power point did not work. Asked reception to get the guys in my room to stop smoking and nothing was done about it.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013

Liked: Close to the metro, nice area

Disliked: It's not worth saving a bit not as to stay here, the rooms are dull and gloomy and some of the staff are really odd. They are meant to be a 24 hour hostel and closed twice during my stay not giving everyone keys for the doors and acting shifty when asked questions about why they were closing. Only have a microwave. Also on the website it says they organise events every night, this is in fact a lie, they are just listing the events a separate company organises every night of the week and it costs 25euro a night! It's ridiculous they should have to take that off the description or make it clear that they are not free or cheap nights organised by the hostel, this is one of the reasons I stayed here as it's a good way to make friends when events are organised every night but it was a real disappointment when the staff didn't have a clue what I was asking about and just handed me a leaflet about a company that organises nights out. You'd have to be pretty rich to afford 25 euro a night on a week stay. Also a whole school took up every room but ours for some of the stay. I think they should have to warn people a whole school will be the during your stay because you are obviously not going to meet anyone that way either. The children got locked in the bathroom and the hostel staff made an insane amount of noise at a stupid hour of the early morning and just kept walking in and out of our room when people were sleeping with no care for the fact they had woken everyone up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, just a few steps away from the Bologna metro station. I also kinda like the way the beds are placed, I guess vertical? Basically none are placed besides yours, imagine the position before an F1 race starts, but only one vertical line, and with lockers placed in each space, so even though you're sleeping with like six strangers, privacy is still given. For the price, I didn't expect much but I had all in all a decent stay

Disliked: They offer you a luggage storage if you want to leave your stuff after you checkout, for which you will need to pay 3 euros, but you get no key whatsoever. It is basically just a small storage room where they keep everything and so your bags will be just laid there- could be more secured.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

ying zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013

Liked: It was cheap and close to a supermarket & a metro station.

Disliked: When we first got to our room, North America, it smelled terrible. It got better the next couple days. We wanted to extend our stay for three more days but the price their staff offered was 3 euros more expensive than it was shown on the website so we booked it online and paid the next staff... It was fine, I suppose. But when I wanted to extend my stay for another two nights, it happened again, "luckily" only by 1 euro. So that was the end of my stay with this hostel. Tired of dishonesty, I moved out that day and found another hostel for 4 euros more that included breakfast. Breakfast for 4 euros? Not bad. :) And then we wish we hadn't stayed at this hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gareth Rodda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013

Liked: Close to supermarket and metro station. Bathrooms in each room. Good layout if you get a bed at the end of the room as the rooms are long rather than wide. Lots of lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: There was one lady whose name I do not know but she has curly red hair who was frequently very very short and rude to various other people staying in the hostel. She was not directly rude to myself but we observed her on quite a few occasions being rude to customers who were asking a variety of normal questions on the area etc. On our last night the hostel was booked full of school children plus one room or travellers. The school children proceeded to run around yelling, slamming doors and making noise until 10.30pm until one of the girls proceeded to get herself locked into one of the bathrooms and couldnt get out. Management then proceeded to try and get her out until 1am by basically knocking down the door with a small hammer. During this time the hostel staff proceeded to barge into our room on more than 5 occasions, turning on the lights and looking at our functional door and lock despite their being other rooms that were in use by the school group for this purpose. They were totally unapologetic about it and almost dismissive of us. In addition to that we came back one afternoon to find the hostel "closed". Lights off, doors locked, nobody home. Luckily we happened to encounter our friendly curly headed staff member who proceeded to inform us that the hostel manager had closed the hostel, that she shouldn't be here and here is a key, make sure you lock up after yourself. Weird. Also the kitchen has only a microwave and two plates, a few bowls and around 3 knives for the whole place. I would look for other places in Rome if I was recommending somewhere to stay.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jamie Sandhu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: Near metro station

Disliked: Bare, prison-cell like, room (Roma, twin private) Noisy from outside room till after 2am

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ville Pulkkinen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Ville would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of other english speaking travelers! It's nice to spend evenings talking with other travelers around the world! Easy to find (from Termini, just few stops and the metro station is almost at the front door.)

Disliked: The shower on our double room was bad. Water pressure could almost peel off skin :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had lockers and a bathroom in the room. there was sufficient bed to space ratio.

Disliked: the shower was painful, like being hosed down and very small. my bed was very squeecky and I felt like I woke everyone up everytime I rolled over and there were no stairs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 July 2013

Liked: Super friendly staff who were really really helpful and showed us some of the sites around Rome. Nice communal atmosphere in the main room, especially in the evening. Good equipped kitchen, although no hob or oven.

Disliked: Staff were rude when it came to check out time.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Steven Reed

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013

Liked: Anything I enjoyed about this property was overshadowed by all the things I hated about it.

Disliked: Youth Station Hostel is by far the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. We stayed during a few of the hottest days of the year and hoped we had found a great home away from home to provide a bit of comfort for us after full days of sightseeing. Instead, we were subjected to inhumane conditions not even suitable for Guantanamo Bay prisoners. We were placed in the South American room, but a more appropriate title would have been "Dude Sauna". The 8 males staying in the room quickly created a hot, stuffy atmosphere aided by the complete lack of proper ventilation. After a few showers and use of the restroom facilities the room mirrored a New York City dump in the summer time. The horrid smell and thick air could not be dispelled despite the best efforts of myself and the other guests. Considering the hot temperatures, from 42C - 44C it was already difficult to maintain the energy needed to properly experience Rome's attractions. Without the benefit of a good nights sleep it becomes nearly impossible to fully appreciate the sights. Unfortunately, we were victims of absolutely wretched sleep because of the stuffy room and lack of AIR CONDITIONING or even a sub par alternative. Anything would have been a godsend - they didn't even try to make the situation better. No fan, no portable solution and no apologies. Each night we were forced to wake up periodically in order to turn our pillows to the "dry side" because of the profuse sweat incurred in the unlivable conditions. I'd not only give Youth Hostel 0 stars, I'd actually report their hostel to the Rome tourism office. They provided unlivable conditions without any advanced warning. It was dangerous, unhygienic and intolerable. Not only will I never stay at this hostel again, I'll go out of my way to make sure others don't experience the same horrible experience. Any review site I can use will display this negative, yet honest, review.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Strategical location very close to subway station. The happy hour with the free pizza was awesome. it worths the euros spent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013

Liked: Able to check in 24hrs.

Disliked: It is really hard to find this hostel in the middle of the night. I walked past it about 5 times before I finally saw the tiny faded sign directing me through a laneway to the actual hostel door. A better description of this would have helped greatly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was welcoming and very helpful. Whenever we had questions or needed something they responded immediately. 24-hour reception was awesome. Common room was nice to socialize in, had tables and chairs to eat at. The kitchen isn't much; as mentioned in website, no stove, only sink and microwave. Also, the "fridge" consists of two mini fridges. Both were PACKED when we got there and they smelled, quite frankly. They also didn't keep food cold because there was so much stuff in them. After a few days of trying to stuff groceries in there we told a staff member and within hours the fridges were cleaned out!! We were very pleased with the staff's fast response. Having a computer available to use was also very convenient. The wi-Fi connection didn't always work in the rooms, and sometimes didn't work in the common area but was usually fine there. They provide locks for their luggage lockers which are a good size (fit big backpacks). Most days the room/bathroom were cleaned by staff. The location was pretty good! The hostel is VERY close to a metro station as well as the grocery store, post office and cheap places to eat. The hostel is not close enough to the historical sites to walk there but we actually preferred taking the metro (gets you more places faster).

Disliked: The rooms aren't usually air conditioned at night time because the system makes a fair amount of noise (wakes up residents around the building). We were there in mid-July and it was hot outside but we were never uncomfortable in the rooms. The bathroom was pretty small, not a whole lot of room to move around in (changing was hard in there) and the shower was also small, with some suspicious black stuff in the shower walls that we didn't really want to come into contact with. The beds creaked but we didn't find them uncomfortable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013

Liked: Its a place to stay for cheap if you're desperate.

Disliked: The reception guy comes in and out of the rooms every morning at like 630 am doing who knows what, the location is less than ideal, have to take the metro to anywhere good and the place is a little sketchy. Pay the extra 3 euro for a decent place in the city.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

juan ojeda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 juan would recommend this property

Liked: the wifi is excellent and the location is great because it is right next to the bologna metro station.

Disliked: the bathrooms smell horrible

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Catherine Faithfull

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro. Bags fit in lockers

Disliked: booked a 6 bed dorm got put in an 8. Kitchen only has microwave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was all very friendly and helpful. They speak a good English. They had free Wifi connection. The cleaner girl was always around. The common area (with a free Kitchen area where you can cook stuff for free) was very nice and I met several new friends. They have a cheap drugstore just across the corner. The price I paid was really convenient. I will come back for sure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located near to a metro station with restaurants and a supermarket nearby. There was air conditioning that worked some of the time but otherwise the room was really hot but otherwise this was a good hostel.

Disliked: It was hot and the other guests who stayed in the room were loud and rude but that is not the fault of the hostel since we never made any sort of complaint since they were not quite that bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place. The staff was very helpful with everything. I loved the common area where I met new friends. The hostel is right away the metro station and close to a supermarket where you can get cheap food. They have free WI-FI. it worths the money spent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Borecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

20 June 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Location is close to the metro stop, so it's easy to get to all of the attractions and back home late at night.

Disliked: Pretty small rooms and bathrooms. Leaving the keys at the front desk is a little annoying, but it isn't that bad.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JAVIER RAMIREZ QUIJADA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 JAVIER would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the facilities

Disliked: JAVIER left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013

Liked: 5 minutes away from the Bologna metro mouth.

Disliked: The location is still a bit outside of where you want to be. The facility isn't the cleanest, nor the beds. I was previously at a hostel more in the center of the city. think spending 3 or so more Euro for places more towards the center is worth it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the fact there were plug sockets for every bed and a few more dotted about the room. Easy to find but still set away from the main road so felt safe and secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, atmosphere

Disliked: Bathroom was too small, noise


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels