HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Youth Station Hostel

Hostel | Via Livorno 5, Rome, Italy 00162

78.2% Overall Rating

258 out of 340 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"I did meet quite a few people in the kitchen area, so they common space was pretty nice!"

Read all Youth Station Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.65
  • Towel USD 3.98

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Roma Scout Center
33.16 USD

Hostel 87.5% 123 reviews
InternoUno
33.16 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 32 reviews
InternoUno Deluxe
53.06 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 15 reviews
Rome City Hostel
27.86 USD

Hostel 77.6% 240 reviews
Hotel Laurentia
112.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cristina's Residence
19.90 USD

Guesthouse 75.8% 201 reviews
B&B ArteRoma - Tiburtina
19.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Carlo Magno
39.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

258 out of 340 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Station Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 245 of 297 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: It was not clean and the stuff didn't listen to the wishes.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014

Liked: I did meet quite a few people in the kitchen area, so they common space was pretty nice!

Disliked: The people working reception were ALWAYS yelling at each other. I frequently woke to the sounds of people yelling in the morning. One morning they even came into my room while I was getting ready and had an yelling conversation with the cleaners. The set up of the rooms is weird and not entirely conducive to meeting people. The 8 bed dorm is one long hallway with 4 bunk beds parallel to the wall with cabinets in between. There was enough space, but you couldn't sit on your bed and chat with other roommates. The wifi was horrible, you could barely ever connect. Too many people and it wouldn't work, and apparently the people living next door know the password and also use the wifi, They advertised air conditioning and that they accepted credit cards. Neither were true.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Flear

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 August 2014 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for my stay! The rooms were very clean with secure lockers and a bathroom/shower in the room. The kitchen and fridge are good size and serves as a good common area to meet people and converse. The staff was helpful, maps were given to you at check in, there is a market very close, and a great bar across the way to meet locals on the weekend called "the meeting place." Close by to the metro and Termini station

Disliked: Paying to leave luggage after check-out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right next to a metro stop

Disliked: The overnight staff on reception wasn't very helpful, probably slightly overpriced but that's just Rome! All in all a good hostel to stay at if you want a chilled out stay.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: the front desk receptionist. Seemed distracted at all times and was rude. She would talk to her friends instead of serving me. She yelled in italian creatimg a very hostile vibe

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Antonio Rezende

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Check-in 24h. Excellent location

Disliked: Antonio left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and prices sometimes

Disliked: The stuff I little bit messy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Marais

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very easy to find from the description they gave. Wifi worked well too.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpfull. They had free wi-fi connection in the room. I met new friend. I will come back for sure.

Disliked: Check-out at 11.00 AM is in my opinion too early.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

paras kumar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 paras would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: quite high floor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aimee Hopkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: friendly environment, good location, helpful staff, bar near by

Disliked: poor internet connection (you cannot get wifi in your room and it often does not connect at all), no computers to use

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find, and friendly staff willing to help!

Disliked: Only one bathroom for 8 people, not quite enough!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Oguzhan Mailmail

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: The bed was making terrible noise. They wanted to charge 3 euros to keep our luggages in the hostel at the departure day. Atmosphere was not good at all. Had some problems with wifi too

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

pierluigi sonsini

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 May 2014 pierluigi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, and willing to help you out. The location is good, it's right at a metro station. Internet worked fine, but not all the time.

Disliked: I had a private twin room for my stay, and the shower was broken. I mean, I could take a shower, but with some difficulties. The toilet didn't work very well when flushing. The place definitely needs some maintenance

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berk Saraloglu

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Berk would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the beds with each other are very nice even some beds make some weirds sounds.. It was a nice experience.

Disliked: Berk left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Shower head was broken. Toilet seat was broken. Power point did not work. Asked reception to get the guys in my room to stop smoking and nothing was done about it.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013

Liked: Close to the metro, nice area

Disliked: It's not worth saving a bit not as to stay here, the rooms are dull and gloomy and some of the staff are really odd. They are meant to be a 24 hour hostel and closed twice during my stay not giving everyone keys for the doors and acting shifty when asked questions about why they were closing. Only have a microwave. Also on the website it says they organise events every night, this is in fact a lie, they are just listing the events a separate company organises every night of the week and it costs 25euro a night! It's ridiculous they should have to take that off the description or make it clear that they are not free or cheap nights organised by the hostel, this is one of the reasons I stayed here as it's a good way to make friends when events are organised every night but it was a real disappointment when the staff didn't have a clue what I was asking about and just handed me a leaflet about a company that organises nights out. You'd have to be pretty rich to afford 25 euro a night on a week stay. Also a whole school took up every room but ours for some of the stay. I think they should have to warn people a whole school will be the during your stay because you are obviously not going to meet anyone that way either. The children got locked in the bathroom and the hostel staff made an insane amount of noise at a stupid hour of the early morning and just kept walking in and out of our room when people were sleeping with no care for the fact they had woken everyone up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, just a few steps away from the Bologna metro station. I also kinda like the way the beds are placed, I guess vertical? Basically none are placed besides yours, imagine the position before an F1 race starts, but only one vertical line, and with lockers placed in each space, so even though you're sleeping with like six strangers, privacy is still given. For the price, I didn't expect much but I had all in all a decent stay

Disliked: They offer you a luggage storage if you want to leave your stuff after you checkout, for which you will need to pay 3 euros, but you get no key whatsoever. It is basically just a small storage room where they keep everything and so your bags will be just laid there- could be more secured.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

ying zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013

Liked: It was cheap and close to a supermarket & a metro station.

Disliked: When we first got to our room, North America, it smelled terrible. It got better the next couple days. We wanted to extend our stay for three more days but the price their staff offered was 3 euros more expensive than it was shown on the website so we booked it online and paid the next staff... It was fine, I suppose. But when I wanted to extend my stay for another two nights, it happened again, "luckily" only by 1 euro. So that was the end of my stay with this hostel. Tired of dishonesty, I moved out that day and found another hostel for 4 euros more that included breakfast. Breakfast for 4 euros? Not bad. :) And then we wish we hadn't stayed at this hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gareth Rodda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013

Liked: Close to supermarket and metro station. Bathrooms in each room. Good layout if you get a bed at the end of the room as the rooms are long rather than wide. Lots of lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: There was one lady whose name I do not know but she has curly red hair who was frequently very very short and rude to various other people staying in the hostel. She was not directly rude to myself but we observed her on quite a few occasions being rude to customers who were asking a variety of normal questions on the area etc. On our last night the hostel was booked full of school children plus one room or travellers. The school children proceeded to run around yelling, slamming doors and making noise until 10.30pm until one of the girls proceeded to get herself locked into one of the bathrooms and couldnt get out. Management then proceeded to try and get her out until 1am by basically knocking down the door with a small hammer. During this time the hostel staff proceeded to barge into our room on more than 5 occasions, turning on the lights and looking at our functional door and lock despite their being other rooms that were in use by the school group for this purpose. They were totally unapologetic about it and almost dismissive of us. In addition to that we came back one afternoon to find the hostel "closed". Lights off, doors locked, nobody home. Luckily we happened to encounter our friendly curly headed staff member who proceeded to inform us that the hostel manager had closed the hostel, that she shouldn't be here and here is a key, make sure you lock up after yourself. Weird. Also the kitchen has only a microwave and two plates, a few bowls and around 3 knives for the whole place. I would look for other places in Rome if I was recommending somewhere to stay.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jamie Sandhu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: Near metro station

Disliked: Bare, prison-cell like, room (Roma, twin private) Noisy from outside room till after 2am

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ville Pulkkinen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Ville would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of other english speaking travelers! It's nice to spend evenings talking with other travelers around the world! Easy to find (from Termini, just few stops and the metro station is almost at the front door.)

Disliked: The shower on our double room was bad. Water pressure could almost peel off skin :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had lockers and a bathroom in the room. there was sufficient bed to space ratio.

Disliked: the shower was painful, like being hosed down and very small. my bed was very squeecky and I felt like I woke everyone up everytime I rolled over and there were no stairs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 July 2013

Liked: Super friendly staff who were really really helpful and showed us some of the sites around Rome. Nice communal atmosphere in the main room, especially in the evening. Good equipped kitchen, although no hob or oven.

Disliked: Staff were rude when it came to check out time.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Steven Reed

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013

Liked: Anything I enjoyed about this property was overshadowed by all the things I hated about it.

Disliked: Youth Station Hostel is by far the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. We stayed during a few of the hottest days of the year and hoped we had found a great home away from home to provide a bit of comfort for us after full days of sightseeing. Instead, we were subjected to inhumane conditions not even suitable for Guantanamo Bay prisoners. We were placed in the South American room, but a more appropriate title would have been "Dude Sauna". The 8 males staying in the room quickly created a hot, stuffy atmosphere aided by the complete lack of proper ventilation. After a few showers and use of the restroom facilities the room mirrored a New York City dump in the summer time. The horrid smell and thick air could not be dispelled despite the best efforts of myself and the other guests. Considering the hot temperatures, from 42C - 44C it was already difficult to maintain the energy needed to properly experience Rome's attractions. Without the benefit of a good nights sleep it becomes nearly impossible to fully appreciate the sights. Unfortunately, we were victims of absolutely wretched sleep because of the stuffy room and lack of AIR CONDITIONING or even a sub par alternative. Anything would have been a godsend - they didn't even try to make the situation better. No fan, no portable solution and no apologies. Each night we were forced to wake up periodically in order to turn our pillows to the "dry side" because of the profuse sweat incurred in the unlivable conditions. I'd not only give Youth Hostel 0 stars, I'd actually report their hostel to the Rome tourism office. They provided unlivable conditions without any advanced warning. It was dangerous, unhygienic and intolerable. Not only will I never stay at this hostel again, I'll go out of my way to make sure others don't experience the same horrible experience. Any review site I can use will display this negative, yet honest, review.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels