HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Prima Base

Hostel | Via Osimo 61, Rome, Italy 00156

69.6% Overall Rating

300 out of 411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2013)

"For its money, especially in rome, it was a good place to stay. It was also very secure"

Read all Hostel Prima Base reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Industrial
55.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rouge et Noir
38.73 USD

Hotel 4 star 61.0% 3 reviews
B&B ArteRoma - Tiburtina
34.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Carlo Magno
58.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
InternoUno Deluxe
55.33 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 15 reviews
Hotel La Pergola
58.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Angeli Di Matilde
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 26 reviews
Youth Station Hostel
27.67 USD

Hostel 68.2% 315 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

300 out of 411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Prima Base'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 287 of 344 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: no know

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very friendly people,

Disliked: Very far away from city center

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: It was so far from city. And kitchen was not free, it was 2.5 euro for 1 day.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jonathan Machuca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Far away from the city. Not safe at all.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marina Martynyuk

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: Only bed....

Disliked: Very far from the centre,scary area after dark,indifferent stuff,...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For its money, especially in rome, it was a good place to stay. It was also very secure

Disliked: It's very far out of the city (about 30-45 min by bus/metro), which means you have to plan your nights to their schedule, or take a taxi. Also the hostel houses large groups from highschools which don't quite have the respect that backpackers or other travelers have amongst themselves.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

keerthi prasad

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, quiet neighbourhood

Disliked: No breakfast for booking through hostel bookers. No internet connectivity in rooms!!! No entertainment activities in hostel. Far away from city. Bathrooms were far far away from rooms ( on a different floor!!) Smelly bathrooms and 2 toilets for the whole hostel!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: non

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price and safe

Disliked: location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Genadii Iankovskyi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 May 2013 Genadii would recommend this property

Liked: Понравилась рецепция, при полном отсутствии знания итальянского, успешно пообщались на английском

Disliked: Не понравилось отсутствие вывески, указателя на данный отель. Пришлось долго искать и не только мне одному. Либо на сайте нужно разместить детальную схему расположения.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Devin Unrein

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Devin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly, and very accommodating. The beds were comfortable and the private rooms were better than expected. There is a gate surrounding the hostel, so we felt safer in the neighbourhood we were in. There was an excellent Wifi connection as well. Even though the metro station is far from the location, there is a regular bus service that runs very close to the hostel, and you can literally just hop on the bus. You're expected to have some kind of public transportation pass/ticket before you use the bus, but there is no system of checking tickets so we saw a lot of people using the bus for free.

Disliked: It was much too far from the Rome city centre (as well as the last metro stop on the line), and it was in a very sketchy neighbourhood. My mother and I decided to walk from the metro station to the hostel and if it had been at night it would have been extremely dangerous. Although the Wifi connection was good, they turn it off between the ours of 11pm and 1am, and often that was the time when we needed to get on the internet. The bathrooms were not very clean, either, due to poor plumbing and the large number of people. I wouldn't have minded so much if there had been a good supply of toilet paper (often there was a dwindling roll or none) or soap (there wasn't any).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet. It is a bit far from the city center, but I never really noticed. Wasn't a problem. Easy to get to by public transit. Cheap dinner place right around the corner that stays open late. Was good place to go to to just crash for the night.

Disliked: There wasn't soap or toilet paper, so that was a little weird.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 May 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing, hell of a place

Disliked: Dirty, stinky, located in the middle of a rough area, noisy, only 1 toilet on the ground floor for approx 50 folks staying in !!! Unfriendly staff, hell of a place, stay away !!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Yunus Emre TOMRUK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013

Liked: I couldn't lile this hostel.

Disliked: we hadn't electricity in our room at first night.It's too far from city center.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

shuichi ezawa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 shuichi would recommend this property

Liked: particularly nothing

Disliked: particulrly nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent accommodation for the cost. Staff at reception were exceptionally nice and helpful. I never had a problem getting anything done despite not really speaking any Italian.

Disliked: The hostel is located on the outskirts of Rome, but it's not really so bad since it's serviced by multiple buses from the Metro station, and public transportation in Rome is very cheap.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 April 2013

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: I could not sleep, walls and doors are so thin that ever time someone goes for a toilet visit you wake up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gaurav Singh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area, cheap

Disliked: Nothing. Location is a little far but during Easter time it was the best we could have asked for.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2013

Liked: The bed sheets are clean, but I noticed that they don't change the bed covers.

Disliked: The people working at this hostel have no knowledge of English nor do they do anything besides mess things up. When we checked in we left our things in the dorm room and went out into the city. While we were out, the receptionist realized she made a booking mistake and took all our things out of the room. When we returned we were so tired we didn't care, but in the morning we found out that my friend's passport was missing. This turned our trip into a nightmare as we spent 2 out of our 3 days trying to get an emergency passport during the Easter holidays. The hostel workers didn't do much besides yell at each other in Italian. We would've saved a lot more money if we had invested in a nicer hostel closer to the center since we spent over 18 euros on transportation alone and wasted a lot of time travelling by metro/bus/tram. It also hindered us in staying in the city at night. This hostel played a big role in me having a crappy time in Rome.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberto Eduardo Franco Alba

Alone

City break

11 February 2013 Roberto Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: It is very safe and clean. Roberto is a great host and very knowledgeable about Napoli and the surrounding area, and is very eager to give you good hints and recommendations on what not to miss and what to avoid.

Disliked: Roberto Eduardo left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anh Duc Nguyen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 Anh Duc would recommend this property

Liked: It has a kitchen, which is very comfortable for ones having things to cook. Wifi is good.

Disliked: It's a bit far. Sometimes we have to walk 1km from Rebibbia Station to the hostel because the buses are not very often.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rouhollah Pourbabak

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 December 2012

Liked: The gazebo in the garden.

Disliked: bad and busy bathroom. poor breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a two-bed bedroom instead of staying in the dorm and this was very pleasing. The room was clean and there was a sink at our disposal. The shared bathroom was also very clean and cleaned every morning, On one occasion late at night, though, someone had defaecated without flushing the toilet and there was water all over the floor, for which the hostel itself is not really to be blamed - it's not their fault if someone is careless or drunk and dirties the bathroom. The price was excellent, and you don't have to pay the Rome tourist tax since the hostel is outside central Rome. There was a fridge and a kitchen at our disposal, and a supermarket nearby to get things for breakfast. There was also a very beautiful cat with really soft fur around that liked being stroked.

Disliked: The sewage system was defective and the bathtub would get flooded so one had to wait for the water to drain. There were some salts on the showerheads (these could be cleaned by sinking them in vinegar for a day). In general, the bathroom was very clean, though, so I didn't mind. The only thing that's really on the down side is its location. At first it was a little difficult to find the building and to take the bus from the right stop, but after the first day or so, we got used to it. It's around 30-40 min. from the center, so especially considering the price, it's definitely worth staying here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Côme Dessaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Côme would recommend this property

Liked: I got a dorm with to beds only instead of the 6 beds I thought I paid for so it was great because very calm! Staff was very helpful and flexible. the place is very simple.

Disliked: Far away from the center and the strict minimum in terms of services.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels