We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Prima Base

Hostel | Via Osimo 61, Rome, Italy 00156

67.3% Overall Rating

307 out of 424 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2014)

Youssef Ossama thinks…

"The WiFi was really good and the staff was really nice. The guy who owns the place was Egyptian, to my surprise (As I'm Egyptian as well). The beds were clean and so was the linen. There was a locker…"

Read all Hostel Prima Base reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.73
  • Luggage Room USD 64.73
  • Breakfast USD 64.73
  • Linen USD 64.73
  • Towel USD 64.73

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Industrial
51.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rouge et Noir
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star 61.0% 3 reviews
B&B ArteRoma - Tiburtina
38.84 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Carlo Magno
40.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
InternoUno Deluxe
51.79 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 15 reviews
Hotel La Pergola
54.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Angeli Di Matilde
25.89 USD

Guesthouse 72.7% 33 reviews
Youth Station Hostel
20.71 USD

Hostel 77.6% 341 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

307 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Prima Base'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
52.0%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 291 of 357 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Deniz ?mer Mucur

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2014

Liked: We didn't make uncomfortable by others.

Disliked: When we want to change our room, they really help us but ask for extra money. Futhermore when we chenking-out they wanted key deposit. We didn't pay so you shouldn't pay too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carole-Anne Loiselle

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Carole-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Nice staff Safe

Disliked: Only one towel for each person of the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Youssef Ossama

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Youssef would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi was really good and the staff was really nice. The guy who owns the place was Egyptian, to my surprise (As I'm Egyptian as well). The beds were clean and so was the linen. There was a locker for each bed (But no in private rooms). Easy to get to the hostel. There's a kitchen you can use. And the day we checked out, we left our bags at the hostel and went to get them back later and we didn't pay anything. The owner was really helpful as he helped us look for a cheap train to Florence and searched it for us.

Disliked: My and my friends rented a private room which was supposed to have a private bathroom but it didn't. It wasn't a big problem though. The hostel is a bit far from the center, around 30-40 minutes away but it's easy to get to the center using a bus then metro.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, clean and nice.

Disliked: Reception service was not continously available during the "opening hours".

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: no know

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very friendly people,

Disliked: Very far away from city center

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: It was so far from city. And kitchen was not free, it was 2.5 euro for 1 day.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jonathan Machuca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Far away from the city. Not safe at all.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marina Martynyuk

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: Only bed....

Disliked: Very far from the centre,scary area after dark,indifferent stuff,...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For its money, especially in rome, it was a good place to stay. It was also very secure

Disliked: It's very far out of the city (about 30-45 min by bus/metro), which means you have to plan your nights to their schedule, or take a taxi. Also the hostel houses large groups from highschools which don't quite have the respect that backpackers or other travelers have amongst themselves.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

keerthi prasad

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, quiet neighbourhood

Disliked: No breakfast for booking through hostel bookers. No internet connectivity in rooms!!! No entertainment activities in hostel. Far away from city. Bathrooms were far far away from rooms ( on a different floor!!) Smelly bathrooms and 2 toilets for the whole hostel!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: non

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price and safe

Disliked: location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Genadii Iankovskyi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 May 2013 Genadii would recommend this property

Liked: Понравилась рецепция, при полном отсутствии знания итальянского, успешно пообщались на английском

Disliked: Не понравилось отсутствие вывески, указателя на данный отель. Пришлось долго искать и не только мне одному. Либо на сайте нужно разместить детальную схему расположения.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Devin Unrein

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Devin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly, and very accommodating. The beds were comfortable and the private rooms were better than expected. There is a gate surrounding the hostel, so we felt safer in the neighbourhood we were in. There was an excellent Wifi connection as well. Even though the metro station is far from the location, there is a regular bus service that runs very close to the hostel, and you can literally just hop on the bus. You're expected to have some kind of public transportation pass/ticket before you use the bus, but there is no system of checking tickets so we saw a lot of people using the bus for free.

Disliked: It was much too far from the Rome city centre (as well as the last metro stop on the line), and it was in a very sketchy neighbourhood. My mother and I decided to walk from the metro station to the hostel and if it had been at night it would have been extremely dangerous. Although the Wifi connection was good, they turn it off between the ours of 11pm and 1am, and often that was the time when we needed to get on the internet. The bathrooms were not very clean, either, due to poor plumbing and the large number of people. I wouldn't have minded so much if there had been a good supply of toilet paper (often there was a dwindling roll or none) or soap (there wasn't any).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet. It is a bit far from the city center, but I never really noticed. Wasn't a problem. Easy to get to by public transit. Cheap dinner place right around the corner that stays open late. Was good place to go to to just crash for the night.

Disliked: There wasn't soap or toilet paper, so that was a little weird.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 May 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing, hell of a place

Disliked: Dirty, stinky, located in the middle of a rough area, noisy, only 1 toilet on the ground floor for approx 50 folks staying in !!! Unfriendly staff, hell of a place, stay away !!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Yunus Emre TOMRUK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013

Liked: I couldn't lile this hostel.

Disliked: we hadn't electricity in our room at first night.It's too far from city center.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

shuichi ezawa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 shuichi would recommend this property

Liked: particularly nothing

Disliked: particulrly nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent accommodation for the cost. Staff at reception were exceptionally nice and helpful. I never had a problem getting anything done despite not really speaking any Italian.

Disliked: The hostel is located on the outskirts of Rome, but it's not really so bad since it's serviced by multiple buses from the Metro station, and public transportation in Rome is very cheap.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 April 2013

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: I could not sleep, walls and doors are so thin that ever time someone goes for a toilet visit you wake up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gaurav Singh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area, cheap

Disliked: Nothing. Location is a little far but during Easter time it was the best we could have asked for.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2013

Liked: The bed sheets are clean, but I noticed that they don't change the bed covers.

Disliked: The people working at this hostel have no knowledge of English nor do they do anything besides mess things up. When we checked in we left our things in the dorm room and went out into the city. While we were out, the receptionist realized she made a booking mistake and took all our things out of the room. When we returned we were so tired we didn't care, but in the morning we found out that my friend's passport was missing. This turned our trip into a nightmare as we spent 2 out of our 3 days trying to get an emergency passport during the Easter holidays. The hostel workers didn't do much besides yell at each other in Italian. We would've saved a lot more money if we had invested in a nicer hostel closer to the center since we spent over 18 euros on transportation alone and wasted a lot of time travelling by metro/bus/tram. It also hindered us in staying in the city at night. This hostel played a big role in me having a crappy time in Rome.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberto Eduardo Franco Alba

Alone

City break

11 February 2013 Roberto Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: It is very safe and clean. Roberto is a great host and very knowledgeable about Napoli and the surrounding area, and is very eager to give you good hints and recommendations on what not to miss and what to avoid.

Disliked: Roberto Eduardo left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels