HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ciak Hostel

Hostel | Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, Italy 00185

82.7% Overall Rating

219 out of 250 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Nothing to complain about. Everything was OK. This rating applies to Secret Garden."

Read all Ciak Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 67.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

The Secret Garden
23.68 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 15 reviews
Hotel Accommodations Rome
42.96 USD

Hostel 89.7% 126 reviews
Luna Home
30.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Starlight
26.85 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Fiesta
21.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.1% 36 reviews
Blues BB
32.22 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 290 reviews
Home Friends Li
22.82 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 27 reviews
Trinity B&B
26.85 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

219 out of 250 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciak Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 172 of 242 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing to complain about. Everything was OK. This rating applies to Secret Garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014

Liked: We could walk to major sites like the Colosseum.

Disliked: The location, although near major sites, is also near a part of town that didn't look very nice. Their directions included a comment saying not to walk there after dark. The hostel includes one hallway, a kitchen, and your room which incredibly cramped and painfully hot. And we visited in early June before the real summer heat sets in!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Minett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, 5 mins from the tube, 15 from the coliseum! The staff were really helpful and friendly upon arrival. We had the most expensive room (£24 per person per night, but it was well worth it! Air conditioning, big double bed, bath tub and shower. Breakfast was good seeing as it was free. They clean the rooms every day; and when me and my partner weren't quite ready to leave by the time the cleaner came to our room she said it was fine and started in another room instead. There is a supermarket just around the corner and Italy's oldest (and maybe best) ice cream shop just down the road. Lots of resturants within a 15 min walk. Overall a great hostel and I would thoroughly reccomend it!

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Valli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the british woman who is at the reception desk at night. She is great and was the kindest staff I ever had during my trip around Europe. The hostel is very clean and nice. Very good breakfast and nice enviroment.

Disliked: There was no ventilation in the bathroom of my room and the asian woman who was on the reception desk the day of my departure (April, 5th 6 pm) was eating my strawerries!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clara Hathaway

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, rooms were clean, staff was very friendly, breakfast was good- and they offered some great Rome tips!

Disliked: Rooms we're not sound proof by any means, so any talk going on outside could be heard while in your room. It was always quiet by 1AM though, and usually wasn't too bad before that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the city. Not really a big party hostel but each to their own. Cleaned every day and a simple breakfast included

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in my room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marta Werbanowska

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, super clean rooms, wifi access, great location (10 mins walk from the central station, about 10 mins to the Colosseum as well), nice interior

Disliked: Breakfast could have been a bit more substantial (it offered some toasted bread, jam, crackers, cookies, cereal - no cheese,, fresh bread, or fruit for example)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ANASTASIA SIDOROVA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 ANASTASIA would recommend this property

Liked: Since Rome is quite expensive, this hostel is quite a good value for money. The room was very nice and even cosy (apartment on via bixio). Actually I heard from other travellers that rooms on via bixio are better, than on manzoni. There they have a nice roof terrase. Breakfast was included and was traditional: serials, tosts, pies e.t.c. Lady on reception was very friendly and polite. I stayed in 4 beds female dorm and we had our private bath and shower. What is amazing: there was cleaning every day! They even made our beds. The general impression: oneof the best places I've ever stayed. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014

Liked: just that it is close to termini

Disliked: the room is not at the actual location. it was not clean. even the sockets were not working. Overall not so good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 10 mins walk from the Coliseum, next door to Supermarket and metro. I stayed in the 6 bed female dorm, nice spacious clean room with lockable cupboard space (bring small padlock) and hot shower with big round showerhead :-) Good kitchen facilities. Free breakfast of cereal, toasts jams and choc spread, biscuits, fruit, cakes, juice, teas and coffees. Free Pasta on Tue and Thurs evening. Dawn the receptionist was brilliant, welcoming and great fun. Free wifi and internet. Friendly guests during my stay. Great value.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiyoung Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Jiyoung would recommend this property

Liked: shower, one female staff

Disliked: Jiyoung left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: Close proximity to the metro station.

Disliked: No wifi in my room. Beds made hell lot of noise while sleeping.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and not too noisy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014

Liked: The terrace

Disliked: Our room looked like a dungeon, one person could barely fit in the shower, the toilet flushed intermittently, the t.v. in the room didn't work, the beds were shit

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janeth Garrido Olvera

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 March 2014 Janeth would recommend this property

Liked: A very spacious and comfortable private room. The bathroom was pretty big and clean. Good location.

Disliked: Noisy guests in the other rooms and you can hear everything

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014

Liked: The location is not far away from train station.

Disliked: This could be the worst hostel I stayed during my one and half month's travel in Europe. The room was very small for six people and it was humid, smelly and dark. The linen was not clean. Some times, the staff and the customers talked and laughed loudly even after 11:00 PM when many people were sleeping. The breakfast was poor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to subway and food

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo Espago

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place..

Disliked: The double deck bed it seems not fully crewed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tracy Norris

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 February 2014 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the Secret Garden block away from the hostel this time which was a very nice room, cleaned daily, nice staff. Great location, walking to most attractions.

Disliked: We stayed there in the main hostel last year and found the Secret Garden section facilities quite basic. The kitchen was virtually non-existent except for a microwave and one burner cooker. There were no saucepans or microwave safe dishes so we had to walk around to the main hostel to use the kitchen. The breakfast was basic but everything was usually run out by 9am and not replaced so we again went over to the main hostel for breakfast. The kitchen was quite dirty and we neede to wash everything before using it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arden Rushwood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Arden would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place. Awesome, friendly staff cooking free pasta on Tues & Thurs nights. Great atmosphere, very friendly and laid-back. Very close to the Manzoni metro station and walking distance to the Colosseum and the Termini train station. English speaking staff gave us all the information about the city we ever needed, and the hostel even sells cheap metro passes. Taking into account the price, I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Disliked: The breakfast was average but free so that's okay. The biggest thing was the size and shape of the kitchen - incredibly small and narrow, so you can barely fit through everyone cooking dinner to get to the fridge. Only two stove top hot plates, and the kettle is a stovetop one so be prepared for the kettle taking up half the kitchen. Long waiting times to cook dinner unless you get in early. It's also up 2 flights of stairs. These are all minor gripes, though, and Ciak is a most excellent hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Gomez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: Me encantó!. El ambiente muy agradable. El tener cocina hizo las cosas mucho mas baratas. El staff muy bueno. Las habitaciones grandes y cómodas. El desayuno también muy bueno. El baño muy limpio.

Disliked: nada,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms - I got a single bed (not a bunk bed) which was nice. The kitchen was fine, and there was a free meal one night and free wine another night which was good as you met a lot of people. The location is fairly perfect, you can walk to the Colloseo which is amazing. The older British (?) lady at reception was really lovely and helpful, which made up for one of the less cheerful staff members.

Disliked: The bathroom was absolutely tiny, and the breakfast really could be better - the toast felt stale - but I guess you can't complain since it is free.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yasemin Turan

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Yasemin would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient, close to the main train station (15 min. walk) and to metro station (1 min. walk)

Disliked: Some rooms were in a different building

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karina Banno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe!

Disliked: Very humid inside, but it was so cold outside that it was hard not to be with that many people.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels