HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ciak Hostel

Hostel | Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, Italy 00185

83.9% Overall Rating

203 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

Janeth Garrido Olvera thinks…

"A very spacious and comfortable private room. The bathroom was pretty big and clean. Good location."

Read all Ciak Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 69.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

The Secret Garden
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 7 reviews
Hotel Accommodations Rome
44.23 USD

Hostel 91.9% 121 reviews
Luna Home
31.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Starlight
48.38 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Fiesta
27.64 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.1% 24 reviews
Blues BB
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 287 reviews
Home Friends Li
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 22 reviews
Trinity B&B
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

203 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciak Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 158 of 221 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE HOSTEL: Manzoni metro train stop is a 2 minute walk from the hostel and the metro trains arrive within minutes. A little kitchen to cook in. Common cooking / eating / internet / TV / DVD area provides lots of opportunity for mingling with people from a variety of other countries. Close to the supermarket. Close to the Fassi gelato shop / factory. Reception desk staffed 24 hours. Helpful staff. THE SECRET GARDEN (room located 5 mins walk from the hostel): loved the roof terrace.

Disliked: The mozzies got us one night in the hostel (take some insect repellant). We had our belongings moved out of the room one day after 4 nightsthere to make way for a larger group (because of a double booking) and we had to move to the other property 5 mins walk away (but it did have a lovely roof terrace). The cleaner at The Secret Garden opened the door to our room at 9.15am and stood there saying 'check out' when it wasn't even 10am. She repeated this at 9.45am.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to colosseum and metro station

Disliked: next to street so it's loud at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really nice. The free breakfast is great! (But you need to get up early enough to get the best of it). There was a mixup with my room and it turned out cheaper for me. Staff were very apologetic nonetheless even though it was no issue. Kitchen facilities are good (no oven though)

Disliked: The computer was not working. Staff gave me refund for this and I went to an internet cafe 2 minutes away (near the Snack Bar)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brady Clements

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Brady would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to get around.

Disliked: Small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is small but the atmosphere here is so so good ... especially if u are backpacking alone like me .. the staffs and people in this hostel is very friendly. in Fact, I don't feel like i am in a hostel, i feel like i am at Home ...

Disliked: nothing specify

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was free pasta night for hostel customers and people get the chance to know each other

Disliked: Kind of crowded in the hostel

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011

Liked: The only good about this property is the location.

Disliked: Becareful when booking and insuit with this hostel because they have a room that they claim is and insuit even thougth the bathroom is located in the top floor of the building where everyone eats there breakfast, so everyone can see you and hear you when you go in and out of the bathroom. We had to wait 2 days for them to change us to a real insuit and they didn't want to refund any of our money. Also they charge TAXES when they give you the bill which no other hostel that we stayed in Italy did that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Metro and Termini, quite clean and friendly. Not too over-crowded and easy to find anything you might need.

Disliked: Smallish rooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not a long walk from Termini and to Colloseum

Disliked: Dirt on the show walls, no lock in the communal bathroom, poor breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHANE A SABINE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 SHANE A would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived very late on my first and only night at 6:30 a.m. after a very late train from Pisa. I simply stayed in order to get a few hours of sleep before having to leave. The sleep was honestly the best I have had in a while. Perhaps this was due to my being tired, but I wouldn't doubt if the air conditioning helped. Two computers with internet are provided in the hallway for free internet access.

Disliked: I had really enjoyed Florence and had already seen much of Rome. I called Ciak Hostel the night before I was supposed to arrive to ask them if I could be fully refunded, but they did not budge. Therefore, my time in Florence was cut short.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free meals - Friday and Saturday dinners plus decent breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Greig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms themselves are clean, the breakfast is good, the staff are very helpful and friendly, there's a tub of sweets on the counter (sure-fire way of winning over a tired traveller!) nice atmosphere, computers if you want them, close to the metroline.

Disliked: The shower in my room was a little dirty, but nothing that would put me off staying again

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren David

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The English ladies who run the place are hilarious, and really nice- they gave us a glass of wine on our way out the last day. The place is also clean and safe and there's a good kitchen and a common space to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: The lift didn't work so you have to haul your stuff up two flights of stairs. It also doesn't have the best location if you're looking for nightlife because its far away from the trendy plazas, and while we were there the metro near by wasn't working.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eugene lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 eugene would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly staff, safe.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty close to the train station, but a little bit of a walk from the city center; it was a short walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum, though. The woman on staff was very helpful and friendly. Included breakfast, wi-fi, and a luggage storage room even if you already checked out.

Disliked: The rooms were a little small and there wasn't a very large common area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

krista blakelock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 krista would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the Colliseum. Staff were helpful, let us check in early and use the kitchen which was full of everything possible and all available for use. Breakfast was there in the morning- breads and cereals and jams. Air conditioning

Disliked: Showers were a bit leaky so the floor was always wet which made a mouldy water smell. Was not unclean though. Air conditioning was incredible but turned up way too high which caused a cold sleep. staff were made aware of it though and adjusted it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 June 2011 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: From the greeting and onwards, you feel like you are welcome and everything is cool. Plus being in center of Rome, nice breakfast, it's a great place. And there is a wardrobe for hanging clothes! So many hostels I stayed in don't have that.

Disliked: can't think of anything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindawati Lindawati

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Lindawati would recommend this property

Liked: It is located near Manzoni metro station and you can go to Colosseum by walking from here. There is a supermarket and a very old ice cream factory near the hostel. We stayed at their Secret Garden room 6 during our stay in Rome. The bedroom is very pretty. The bathroom is HUGE, complete with jacuzzi inside. Breakfast is provided upstairs on the rooftop. They provided fridge, electric stove and some simple cooking appliances so you can cook by yourself if you want to. Kim and Dawn (sorry if I misspelled your name) are very nice and helpful. And they recommended one very good restaurant near the Colosseum (its lasagna is to die for!).

Disliked: There is no air conditioner so may be it will be a little bit hot during summer. Lucky for me that the temperature was nice when I stayed there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

susan shehean

Alone

City break

27 May 2011 susan would recommend this property

Liked: ITS A GREAT LOCATION - EVERYTHING WALKABLE FROM HERE.CLOSE TO TERMINI

Disliked: Perhaps the mixed room sharing. It wasn't an issue but I was surprised as I am in my 60's - not sure the youngsters thought much of it - although all very friendly after the shock

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The crer wi-fi

Disliked: The breakfast is very poor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew King

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to Subway Staff was AMAZING Pasta nights!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jason Ball

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent!

Disliked: The room could have been a little cleaner, but overall was good!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Deramore Denver

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: So close to the metro and walking distance to some major sites, great value for money. i ended up staying for an extra 7 nights because it was such a nice hostel. Awesome showers and beds!

Disliked: g

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHUN-WEI LEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010 CHUN-WEI would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly crews! The public area is not big, but somehow it's still a nice place to chat with new friends. The provided items, like DVD player, are quite useful to kill time.

Disliked: The bathroom in the room can be improved a lot. Maybe try to fix the door/curtain at the shower place, then it wouldn't make the whole floor wet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very advantageous,the room is very nice,they treat you very friendly.

Disliked: nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels