We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ciak Hostel

Hostel | Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, Italy 00185

77.8% Overall Rating

230 out of 264 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

ERKAN OZER thinks…

"Çalışanlar yardımsever ve ilgili. Temizliği başarılı . Genelde genclerin yoğun olduğu bir ortam mevcut.kahvaltı bir hostele göre güzeldi"

Read all Ciak Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 63.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation: Please note our cancellation policy is 48h. Check in anytime after 2 pm. policy for the New Year's eve period must be 7 days before the arrival day. In case of no show or late cancellation we will charge the amount of 2 nights of stay. Accommodation TAX is NOT included in price (3.50 euro / person / night)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

The Secret Garden
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Accommodations Rome
22.77 USD

Hostel 89.7% 126 reviews
Diamond b&b
13.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Luna Home
20.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Starlight
25.30 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Fiesta
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.7% 38 reviews
Blues BB
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 292 reviews
Home Friends Li
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

230 out of 264 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciak Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 254 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tracy Norris

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 February 2014 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the Secret Garden block away from the hostel this time which was a very nice room, cleaned daily, nice staff. Great location, walking to most attractions.

Disliked: We stayed there in the main hostel last year and found the Secret Garden section facilities quite basic. The kitchen was virtually non-existent except for a microwave and one burner cooker. There were no saucepans or microwave safe dishes so we had to walk around to the main hostel to use the kitchen. The breakfast was basic but everything was usually run out by 9am and not replaced so we again went over to the main hostel for breakfast. The kitchen was quite dirty and we neede to wash everything before using it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arden Rushwood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Arden would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place. Awesome, friendly staff cooking free pasta on Tues & Thurs nights. Great atmosphere, very friendly and laid-back. Very close to the Manzoni metro station and walking distance to the Colosseum and the Termini train station. English speaking staff gave us all the information about the city we ever needed, and the hostel even sells cheap metro passes. Taking into account the price, I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Disliked: The breakfast was average but free so that's okay. The biggest thing was the size and shape of the kitchen - incredibly small and narrow, so you can barely fit through everyone cooking dinner to get to the fridge. Only two stove top hot plates, and the kettle is a stovetop one so be prepared for the kettle taking up half the kitchen. Long waiting times to cook dinner unless you get in early. It's also up 2 flights of stairs. These are all minor gripes, though, and Ciak is a most excellent hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Gomez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: Me encantó!. El ambiente muy agradable. El tener cocina hizo las cosas mucho mas baratas. El staff muy bueno. Las habitaciones grandes y cómodas. El desayuno también muy bueno. El baño muy limpio.

Disliked: nada,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms - I got a single bed (not a bunk bed) which was nice. The kitchen was fine, and there was a free meal one night and free wine another night which was good as you met a lot of people. The location is fairly perfect, you can walk to the Colloseo which is amazing. The older British (?) lady at reception was really lovely and helpful, which made up for one of the less cheerful staff members.

Disliked: The bathroom was absolutely tiny, and the breakfast really could be better - the toast felt stale - but I guess you can't complain since it is free.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yasemin Turan

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Yasemin would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient, close to the main train station (15 min. walk) and to metro station (1 min. walk)

Disliked: Some rooms were in a different building

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karina Banno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe!

Disliked: Very humid inside, but it was so cold outside that it was hard not to be with that many people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at The Secret Garden, which is a building close to the one where Ciak Hostel is at, but with private rooms with bathrooms. And we were lucky enough to stay at the room that has "the secret garden", so we had a garden for our own! It was fantastic!

Disliked: I have nothing to complain

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing room for a good price, super clean, quiet, with great ambiance down at the main hostel!

Disliked: Not much, except that the check out time was not so clear and the cleaning lady was upset that we didnt leave quickly enough!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mariam elabd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 mariam would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were nice and cozy

Disliked: breakfast was really poor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, breakfast was simple but nice. They had free pasta and wine a couple of nights we were there which was appreciated. At the time this was the cheapest we could find (about €10) so was pretty good value for money, especially in Rome.

Disliked: Bathroom smelt funky (although they did clean it every day). Room was small, nowhere to put bags, and didn't see any lockers. The English lady working there was nice but the other staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kunal Krishna Sinha

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Kunal Krishna would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hospitality and Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. Amazing Location, just 2 min walk to Nearest Metro and very close to Roma Termini Station. 10 min walk to Colesseo. Eateries and Super markets just next door....Great value for Money. The Deluxe Twin Room was amazing....just out of the world.....it so happened that we chose to spend 1st evening in Hotel Room.... All Facilities were available...even with a 3.5 year old Kid, it was very smooth stay...... If you choose to travel and stay in Rome.....do that in CIAK....promounced as CHECK HOSTEL.....This has both Hostel and HOTEL (The Secret Garden)...above desctription is for Secret Garden...which is a part of CIAK Hostel booking only.

Disliked: Love to leave this blank...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliana Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and great breakfast

Disliked: Nothing relevant

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

zhao ning er

Alone

City break

17 November 2013 zhao ning would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro station ang kind staff

Disliked: All good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miroslaw Wilk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Miroslaw would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniently located within walking distance from Rome's sights and Termini, friendly and helpful staff and well-equipped kitchen. Basic but nourishing breakfast and, surprise, surprise, one evening there was wine to help yourself too for free :) Truly a very good value for money!

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner, apart from thatg everything was ok.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was in secret garden. The facilities was nice and clean. The dining room was good to relaxe

Disliked: Reception was another building. So I got lost. And plz remember whether you pay the key deposit or not. I paid it, but when I wanted to take back they said at first they didn't take it. But I really remembered it and insisted it, so I could take it back.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yga Kostrzewa

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Yga would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere

Disliked: Yga left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time here! We stayed in the Secret Garden and loved it! Short walk to everything we wanted to see. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast upstairs on the patio of the secret garden was a nice way to start the day.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIHAELA CIMOCA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 MIHAELA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the cleanliness - great choice!

Disliked: MIHAELA left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darsana Das

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Darsana would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was lovely and we shared it with two other nice girls from Brazil.

Disliked: The unavailability of the lift which is a major concern.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

PUI YI LAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 PUI YI would recommend this property

Liked: People I met here are nice and staff are friendly.

Disliked: a bit old and you need to climb to the second floor by stairs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: The room was too small for 6 people, bathroom was not clean at all. Price- quality rate was not ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely, helpful staff. Good access to Internet, great breakfast and kitchen, very clean

Disliked: Not in a very safe area

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013

Liked: Decent location, within walking distance of the Colosseum and the main train station. There is a small kitchen.

Disliked: Our room was tiny considering the 6 people and luggage that were meant to fit in there. The bathroom was in the room and was not cleaned at all during the 3 nights we were there! The older lady who checked us in was lovely, but the other staff were not friendly at all. Breakfast was a let down. The common area was SO hot, though thankfully our room had aircon.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SURA JUN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013 SURA would recommend this property

Liked: Was very comfortable

Disliked: SURA left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels