HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ciak Hostel

Hostel | Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, Italy 00185

79.2% Overall Rating

217 out of 248 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2014)

Claudia Minett thinks…

"Fantastic location, 5 mins from the tube, 15 from the coliseum! The staff were really helpful and friendly upon arrival. We had the most expensive room (£24 per person per night, but it was well…"

Read all Ciak Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 67.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

The Secret Garden
28.34 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 15 reviews
Hotel Accommodations Rome
43.19 USD

Hostel 89.7% 126 reviews
Luna Home
30.23 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Starlight
33.74 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Fiesta
24.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.1% 36 reviews
Blues BB
31.72 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 290 reviews
Home Friends Li
22.95 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 27 reviews
Trinity B&B
26.99 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

217 out of 248 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciak Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 170 of 240 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mariam elabd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 mariam would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were nice and cozy

Disliked: breakfast was really poor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, breakfast was simple but nice. They had free pasta and wine a couple of nights we were there which was appreciated. At the time this was the cheapest we could find (about €10) so was pretty good value for money, especially in Rome.

Disliked: Bathroom smelt funky (although they did clean it every day). Room was small, nowhere to put bags, and didn't see any lockers. The English lady working there was nice but the other staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kunal Krishna Sinha

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Kunal Krishna would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hospitality and Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. Amazing Location, just 2 min walk to Nearest Metro and very close to Roma Termini Station. 10 min walk to Colesseo. Eateries and Super markets just next door....Great value for Money. The Deluxe Twin Room was amazing....just out of the world.....it so happened that we chose to spend 1st evening in Hotel Room.... All Facilities were available...even with a 3.5 year old Kid, it was very smooth stay...... If you choose to travel and stay in Rome.....do that in CIAK....promounced as CHECK HOSTEL.....This has both Hostel and HOTEL (The Secret Garden)...above desctription is for Secret Garden...which is a part of CIAK Hostel booking only.

Disliked: Love to leave this blank...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliana Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and great breakfast

Disliked: Nothing relevant

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

zhao ning er

Alone

City break

17 November 2013 zhao ning would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro station ang kind staff

Disliked: All good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miroslaw Wilk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Miroslaw would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniently located within walking distance from Rome's sights and Termini, friendly and helpful staff and well-equipped kitchen. Basic but nourishing breakfast and, surprise, surprise, one evening there was wine to help yourself too for free :) Truly a very good value for money!

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner, apart from thatg everything was ok.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was in secret garden. The facilities was nice and clean. The dining room was good to relaxe

Disliked: Reception was another building. So I got lost. And plz remember whether you pay the key deposit or not. I paid it, but when I wanted to take back they said at first they didn't take it. But I really remembered it and insisted it, so I could take it back.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yga Kostrzewa

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Yga would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere

Disliked: Yga left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time here! We stayed in the Secret Garden and loved it! Short walk to everything we wanted to see. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast upstairs on the patio of the secret garden was a nice way to start the day.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIHAELA CIMOCA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 MIHAELA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the cleanliness - great choice!

Disliked: MIHAELA left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darsana Das

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Darsana would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was lovely and we shared it with two other nice girls from Brazil.

Disliked: The unavailability of the lift which is a major concern.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

PUI YI LAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 PUI YI would recommend this property

Liked: People I met here are nice and staff are friendly.

Disliked: a bit old and you need to climb to the second floor by stairs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: The room was too small for 6 people, bathroom was not clean at all. Price- quality rate was not ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely, helpful staff. Good access to Internet, great breakfast and kitchen, very clean

Disliked: Not in a very safe area

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013

Liked: Decent location, within walking distance of the Colosseum and the main train station. There is a small kitchen.

Disliked: Our room was tiny considering the 6 people and luggage that were meant to fit in there. The bathroom was in the room and was not cleaned at all during the 3 nights we were there! The older lady who checked us in was lovely, but the other staff were not friendly at all. Breakfast was a let down. The common area was SO hot, though thankfully our room had aircon.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SURA JUN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013 SURA would recommend this property

Liked: Was very comfortable

Disliked: SURA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had a nice layout with two twin beds and one bunk bed. The bathroom was in our room. We also had a very small patio with furniture. The lounge area on the terrace was very nice with lots of couches. It was a good spot to meet people and hangout.

Disliked: The kichenette facilities didn't have any sort of stove top although there were lots of pots and pans.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013

Liked: It was ok. Nice terrace in the Secret garden building. Not far from the Coloseum. Supermarket over the corner, which we discovered rather late actually.

Disliked: First of all, when we came, it appeared we're gonna live in the other building - that was a surprise. We had a room with hardly any light there: the window was in the bathroom - rather irrational... And very little artificial lightning. My bed was so low, that I slept almost on the floor. Breakfast wasn't tasty. The location appeared to no good. I think it's some kind of Chinatown - lot's immigrants there. They say you'd better not stay at places near the central station - could be dangerous. All in all it wasn't so bad, but we stayed at some places better in other Italian cities for the same money or less. p.s. we could hear our neighbors talking and taking shower in the next room:))

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chi Mai Trieu

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Chi Mai would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a deluxe family room so it was in another building of the hostel which is located in other street nearby. We had our full privacy there that made us feel like home. The room was nice and clean. Kitchen was on a terrace decorated like a garden just as their building's name "Secret Garden".

Disliked: The hostel location was not so convenient. It took us 20 mins to walk to the Roma termini (central station for all train, bus, metro). The nearest metro stop Manzoni took more than 10 mins to walk. The breakfast was basic, not many options. There was no tea.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Bell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I was really impressed, there was a kitchen and they also did free pasta on Thursday for everyone that I was very greatly for! It was great!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice garden with room

Disliked: a lot of humidity in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and good location.

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrice Ellis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Patrice would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the 'secret garden', around the corner. It was very comfortable and the terrace upstairs was good. Staff were particularly friendly.

Disliked: the toilet being on the floor above us next to the breakfast area was a bit weird but no big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciana Luciana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were friendly and helpful and we were invited into free dinner (pasta). It was an opportunity to get to know with fellow travellers.

Disliked: None


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels