HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Ciak Hostel

Hostel | Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, Italy 00185

83.9% Overall Rating

203 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

Janeth Garrido Olvera thinks…

"A very spacious and comfortable private room. The bathroom was pretty big and clean. Good location."

Read all Ciak Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 69.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

The Secret Garden
27.61 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 7 reviews
Hotel Accommodations Rome
44.17 USD

Hostel 91.9% 121 reviews
Luna Home
31.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Starlight
55.22 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Fiesta
27.61 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.1% 24 reviews
Blues BB
45.55 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 287 reviews
Home Friends Li
27.61 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 22 reviews
Trinity B&B
34.51 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

203 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciak Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 158 of 221 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

PUI YI LAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 PUI YI would recommend this property

Liked: People I met here are nice and staff are friendly.

Disliked: a bit old and you need to climb to the second floor by stairs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: The room was too small for 6 people, bathroom was not clean at all. Price- quality rate was not ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely, helpful staff. Good access to Internet, great breakfast and kitchen, very clean

Disliked: Not in a very safe area

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013

Liked: Decent location, within walking distance of the Colosseum and the main train station. There is a small kitchen.

Disliked: Our room was tiny considering the 6 people and luggage that were meant to fit in there. The bathroom was in the room and was not cleaned at all during the 3 nights we were there! The older lady who checked us in was lovely, but the other staff were not friendly at all. Breakfast was a let down. The common area was SO hot, though thankfully our room had aircon.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SURA JUN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013 SURA would recommend this property

Liked: Was very comfortable

Disliked: SURA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had a nice layout with two twin beds and one bunk bed. The bathroom was in our room. We also had a very small patio with furniture. The lounge area on the terrace was very nice with lots of couches. It was a good spot to meet people and hangout.

Disliked: The kichenette facilities didn't have any sort of stove top although there were lots of pots and pans.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013

Liked: It was ok. Nice terrace in the Secret garden building. Not far from the Coloseum. Supermarket over the corner, which we discovered rather late actually.

Disliked: First of all, when we came, it appeared we're gonna live in the other building - that was a surprise. We had a room with hardly any light there: the window was in the bathroom - rather irrational... And very little artificial lightning. My bed was so low, that I slept almost on the floor. Breakfast wasn't tasty. The location appeared to no good. I think it's some kind of Chinatown - lot's immigrants there. They say you'd better not stay at places near the central station - could be dangerous. All in all it wasn't so bad, but we stayed at some places better in other Italian cities for the same money or less. p.s. we could hear our neighbors talking and taking shower in the next room:))

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chi Mai Trieu

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Chi Mai would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a deluxe family room so it was in another building of the hostel which is located in other street nearby. We had our full privacy there that made us feel like home. The room was nice and clean. Kitchen was on a terrace decorated like a garden just as their building's name "Secret Garden".

Disliked: The hostel location was not so convenient. It took us 20 mins to walk to the Roma termini (central station for all train, bus, metro). The nearest metro stop Manzoni took more than 10 mins to walk. The breakfast was basic, not many options. There was no tea.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Bell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I was really impressed, there was a kitchen and they also did free pasta on Thursday for everyone that I was very greatly for! It was great!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice garden with room

Disliked: a lot of humidity in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and good location.

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrice Ellis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Patrice would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the 'secret garden', around the corner. It was very comfortable and the terrace upstairs was good. Staff were particularly friendly.

Disliked: the toilet being on the floor above us next to the breakfast area was a bit weird but no big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciana Luciana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were friendly and helpful and we were invited into free dinner (pasta). It was an opportunity to get to know with fellow travellers.

Disliked: None

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a convenient location. It was pretty clean. It was a typical hostel really.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Takayuki Yokota-Murakami

Alone

Business / conference

13 June 2013 Takayuki would recommend this property

Liked: cozy

Disliked: a tad too far from the station. was slightly difficult to find (the direction not really helpful)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonella Zucchiatti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: Nos quedamos en una habitación privada en un hostel que tienen que esta a dos cuadras. La habitación estaba muy bien y en el último piso había una terraza con una cocina. El staff mil amable

Disliked: La ubicación esta bien pero para andar de noche no mucho. De todas formas es roma

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JOSE AREVALO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 JOSE would recommend this property

Liked: El staff (del Ciak) es muy buena onda. Me dieron un mapa con todas las indicaciones. Llegar al Coliseo es muy fácil. En la esquina venden unas pizzas por gramo, exquisitas!

Disliked: Al parecer este hostal le hace reservas a otro hostal llamo Secret Garden que queda a una cuadra y media. La señora que "administra" ese lugar es muy hostil. El wifi costó mucho que funcionara. El desayuno no tiene frutas! SOLO UN BAÑO! En el Ciak, de 3 computadores solo funcionaba 1 y el área común en realidad es un pasillo estrecho con unas mesas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff that goes a good distance to be helpful and knowledgeable about this city. I heard three different languages all handled expertly by staff here at Ciak.

Disliked: Every sound from every shower and sink can be heard at night. Everyone quickly takes note of this, so courtesy among guests goes a long way to help this issue.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Khairul Ahmad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Khairul would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was a real catch. The beds were clean enough and it's pretty close to the colosseum. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Karlsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly and gave us nice tips on where to go in Roma that wasn't that touristic. Breakfast included is always nice although it was a light one. It was good located close to Colosseum and Manzoni station. We also really enjoyed the free pasta and wine night on Tuesday.

Disliked: We were very happy with our stay here but we didn't love Rome as much as we had hoped to do :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small cozy hostel, extremely friendly staff!

Disliked: Could have been cleaner, beds were awful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: My makeup remove tissue was stolen

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an easy distance from termini by foot or metro. Good amount of breakfast included free, and tea/coffee whenever Maps and timetables for airport transport available to view Free computers and wifi (though not working for me)

Disliked: The staff were a bit slow and unclear during check in 2 Euro to rent a towel which I thought a bit much

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, literally 10min walk to the colosseum. English lady at reception was lovely. Would only recommend you sleep at the hostel, atmosphere was dead, location is probably the best thing about the hostel. My friend and I didn't bother showering there as it wasn't pleasant.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, room was tiny for 6 people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alejandro Abelleira

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 May 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: the location it`s good. the free pasta on friday and saturdays it`s great. the rooms are big and clean. great hostel

Disliked: it`s on the second floor and the elevator doesn`t work. it`s kind of trouble if you have a lot of luggage.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels