We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Mosaic Hostel

Hostel | Via Cernaia 39 B, Rome, Italy 00185

85.5% Overall Rating

119 out of 131 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Joanne Neill thinks…

"The staff were helpful and pleasant and would do anything for you. The rooms were comfortable, cleaned often and had all you would need."

Read all Mosaic Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 60.72
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Cancellations must be made by email only at least 48hrs prior to your arrival date. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. Phone cancellations are not accepted. All our bedrooms are non-smoking. Check-in: from 3pm. Late arrivals accepted. For non-EU citizens, a valid passport is required upon check-in. Luggage Room - A room is provided for you to leave your luggage. but please note that the hotel is not responsible for any left luggage. Please note that we only accept groups of up to 10 people via Hostelworld. We reserve the right to cancel your reservation if you book for a group larger than that. We require guests under the age of 16 to be accompanied by an adult. There is no age limit to stay at the hostel. We are open to travellers of all ages and families. Credit cards accepted. Notice about Rome's new tourist tax: Rome city council decided to charge 3.50 euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. It is implemented from the September 1, 2014. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee and have to be paid extra on arrival. ***PLEASE NOTE:Basic 2 Bed Private and Basic 4 Bed Private annex rooms are located close to Mosaic Hostel to where our staff take you*** We take preauthorization on your credit card, in the event that the amount equal to the first night is not available the hostel may cancel your reservation. Please be aware that this is not an actual charge but just a security check. In the event of no show or late cancellation the hostel may complete the transaction and charge your credit card of the first night for every room booked

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Lazzari
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
20.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Papaya Female Hostel
20.11 USD

Hostel 87.2% 862 reviews
Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero
16.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.1% 701 reviews
The Place in Rome
18.34 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews
Hotel Virginia
21.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hostel Two Ducks
12.64 USD

Hostel 57.1% 699 reviews
A Casa di Jasmine
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

119 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mosaic Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 125 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Neill

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and pleasant and would do anything for you. The rooms were comfortable, cleaned often and had all you would need.

Disliked: Better facilities for food and drink would help.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok, praise for the staff, they are very good and gave very helpful advice for exploring Rome.

Disliked: Speed Internet in the rooms is very poor, breakfast is only based on sugar - pies, cakes ect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, breakfast included!

Disliked: No bath matts in the bathroom! kinda annoying when your sharing with four people. But a small complaint really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean and convenient hostel with helpful staff. It's also in a good location close to the station.

Disliked: I've been in hostels with better social areas but this isn't really a big problem for me.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure Good, big rooms

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better, at least some bread for toast but apart from that all good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and the availability of a double room with bathroom. In spite of the intense heat outside the room was nice and cool, perfect for a mid-afternoon rest.

Disliked: Our room overlooked via Cernaia which is very noisy all throughout the day and night. The double glaze windows take care of that expect that in summer you would want the windows open for a bit of fresh air. We solved the problem with earplugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frances Dumlao

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: We had excellent wifi in our room and the lady at the front desk gave us great tips on where and when to travel to Rome's busiest sights. She gave us information on closing times and bus routes. Plus, the room looked sleek.

Disliked: I most disliked the noise coming from outside. You can hear the garbage trucks in the morning and people partying at night. But you can't really control that stuff. I would suggest travelers request a room away from the street.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014

Liked: It is close to the main train station and the breakfast included is good

Disliked: there was no heating in my room, and I caught cold because of this

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and helpfull. A really shortwalk from Terministation. Easy to go where tou like from there.

Disliked: Could have been more cosy, personal in styles of the rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and ample bedding.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpfull and friendly and professional. Rooms (I stayed in a dorm) were really spacious, all facilities were clean.

Disliked: Use of kitchen facilities was not available, at least there could be a fridge for guests use.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to Roma Termini; good working air conditioning in the rooms, nice breakfast (included), cleanliness

Disliked: felt more like a hotel, probably not the best place to meet a lot of people; also quite a lot of older (40+) people staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kotchapol Yoosooksawat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Kotchapol would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Termini. Staff is very helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast is ridiculous. Just Croissant and cereal. Also the coffee offered for breakfast sucks. It is very noisy if you open the window, so the windows have to be closed most of the night. But the air conditioner helps a lot. No fridge nor kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The check-in was done by the owner and he was so friendly and helpful. He circled all the top touristy and young spots to hit up.

Disliked: Not much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna Lepisova

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely recommend Hostel Mosaic for its helpful, open and friendly stuff. Bedrooms and bathrooms were perfectly clean and breakfast very tasty. The only thing I don't like was a little higher price. But I'd definitely come back :)

Disliked: Higher prices for not that special property..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Hastie

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and much bigger than I expected. The service was good and it felt very safe there, the girl at reception was very helpful and spoke good English.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't a mirror in the bedroom. I had to wait for the shared bathroom in the morning to do my make up and I ended up having to wait for about 30 minutes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rohit Manudhane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Rohit would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful. Very safe and secure. Great location. Clean.

Disliked: Too few bathrooms and it is not designed well. Water splashed all over the bathroom from the shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Rodgers

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, great breakfast, plenty of fun people around, convenient location next to Termini.

Disliked: Although it is near to Termini, it is a serious walk to anything you'd want to see while in Rome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and happy to answer any questions as well as provide the best sightseeing tips.

Disliked: There was no bar or common room, except for where you eat your breakfast so didn't feel like a very social hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and totally secured because of a closed fromt door and even checks on several of the floors

Disliked: Not really. I prefer a pub at the hostel, but knew in advance they didn't have one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoltan Penzes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: Location,friendly,helpful staff

Disliked: There is no kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SOONG HEO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 SOONG would recommend this property

Liked: reception was friendly, clean and th atmosphere was nice and calm

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Braythener Machado

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Braythener would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to the train station and how helpful the staff is. Also, the rooms are quite spacious which is great.

Disliked: Braythener left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location for the price, cleanliness

Disliked: Bed making noises everytime I moved...


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels