HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Mosaic Hostel

Hostel | Via Cernaia 39 B, Rome, Italy 00185

85.5% Overall Rating

108 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Frances Dumlao thinks…

"We had excellent wifi in our room and the lady at the front desk gave us great tips on where and when to travel to Rome's busiest sights. She gave us information on closing times and bus routes.…"

Read all Mosaic Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 66.40
  • Towel USD 2.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Lazzari
44.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
35.97 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Papaya Female Hostel
27.67 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero
27.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.5% 684 reviews
The Place in Rome
32.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hostel Two Ducks
24.90 USD

Hostel 62.1% 667 reviews
A Casa di Jasmine
37.35 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

108 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mosaic Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frances Dumlao

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: We had excellent wifi in our room and the lady at the front desk gave us great tips on where and when to travel to Rome's busiest sights. She gave us information on closing times and bus routes. Plus, the room looked sleek.

Disliked: I most disliked the noise coming from outside. You can hear the garbage trucks in the morning and people partying at night. But you can't really control that stuff. I would suggest travelers request a room away from the street.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2014

Liked: The room was clean and good smelling

Disliked: I paid the room on arrival at 10:00 and they let me in around 15:30.The manager asked me for a guarantee(my driving license,my ID) just for the simple reason that i was romanian ,and i had just a small luggage with me. Another 5E for the room key.I dont suggest you to choose this hostel...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014

Liked: It is close to the main train station and the breakfast included is good

Disliked: there was no heating in my room, and I caught cold because of this

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and helpfull. A really shortwalk from Terministation. Easy to go where tou like from there.

Disliked: Could have been more cosy, personal in styles of the rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and ample bedding.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpfull and friendly and professional. Rooms (I stayed in a dorm) were really spacious, all facilities were clean.

Disliked: Use of kitchen facilities was not available, at least there could be a fridge for guests use.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to Roma Termini; good working air conditioning in the rooms, nice breakfast (included), cleanliness

Disliked: felt more like a hotel, probably not the best place to meet a lot of people; also quite a lot of older (40+) people staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kotchapol Yoosooksawat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Kotchapol would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Termini. Staff is very helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast is ridiculous. Just Croissant and cereal. Also the coffee offered for breakfast sucks. It is very noisy if you open the window, so the windows have to be closed most of the night. But the air conditioner helps a lot. No fridge nor kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The check-in was done by the owner and he was so friendly and helpful. He circled all the top touristy and young spots to hit up.

Disliked: Not much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna Lepisova

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely recommend Hostel Mosaic for its helpful, open and friendly stuff. Bedrooms and bathrooms were perfectly clean and breakfast very tasty. The only thing I don't like was a little higher price. But I'd definitely come back :)

Disliked: Higher prices for not that special property..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Hastie

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and much bigger than I expected. The service was good and it felt very safe there, the girl at reception was very helpful and spoke good English.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't a mirror in the bedroom. I had to wait for the shared bathroom in the morning to do my make up and I ended up having to wait for about 30 minutes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rohit Manudhane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Rohit would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful. Very safe and secure. Great location. Clean.

Disliked: Too few bathrooms and it is not designed well. Water splashed all over the bathroom from the shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Rodgers

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, great breakfast, plenty of fun people around, convenient location next to Termini.

Disliked: Although it is near to Termini, it is a serious walk to anything you'd want to see while in Rome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and happy to answer any questions as well as provide the best sightseeing tips.

Disliked: There was no bar or common room, except for where you eat your breakfast so didn't feel like a very social hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and totally secured because of a closed fromt door and even checks on several of the floors

Disliked: Not really. I prefer a pub at the hostel, but knew in advance they didn't have one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoltan Penzes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: Location,friendly,helpful staff

Disliked: There is no kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SOONG HEO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 SOONG would recommend this property

Liked: reception was friendly, clean and th atmosphere was nice and calm

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Braythener Machado

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Braythener would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to the train station and how helpful the staff is. Also, the rooms are quite spacious which is great.

Disliked: Braythener left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location for the price, cleanliness

Disliked: Bed making noises everytime I moved...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good rooms. Helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: No kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very nice, Andrea is a sweetie and the Brazilian couple are cool too. The place is clean throughout, and feels secure. Located close to Termini which is easy. For temporary storage downstairs they also had lockable lockers for the valuable stuff. Dorm was spacious and with good lockers.

Disliked: Wifi signal wasn't really strong enough to reach the room, I had to go out to the corridor to use it. The shower drain was terrible, even a quick shower meant having your feet submerged in the dirty water. A bit noisy even up at the fourth floor, not from other guests but the cars on the street below nonstop. The mattress wasn't comfortable and the bunkbeds are odd: I couldn't fit on my bed (1,85m, no giant) and there was a bar on the end which also kept me from just hanging my feet out the edge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For being in rome's historic center, and likely a very old building, this hostel was extremely clean and well kept. The desk workers were very kind and helpful. The location was good, right near Termini Station. I would certainly stay here again. We had originally booked 2 beds in a dorm, but there was a problem with our booking. The upgraded us to a private room with 2 beds for the same price as the original dorm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff. Descent roommates.

Disliked: No lockers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victor Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very secure! that makes me feel confortable

Disliked: There were a lot of noise from others travellers. I think they should have a quiet time in the hostel after certain time.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels