We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Mosaic Hostel

Hostel | Via Cernaia 39 B, Rome, Italy 00185

84.9% Overall Rating

120 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Joanne Neill thinks…

"The staff were helpful and pleasant and would do anything for you. The rooms were comfortable, cleaned often and had all you would need."

Read all Mosaic Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 60.72
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Cancellations must be made by email only at least 48hrs prior to your arrival date. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. Phone cancellations are not accepted. All our bedrooms are non-smoking. Check-in: from 3pm. Late arrivals accepted. For non-EU citizens, a valid passport is required upon check-in. Luggage Room - A room is provided for you to leave your luggage. but please note that the hotel is not responsible for any left luggage. Please note that we only accept groups of up to 10 people via Hostelworld. We reserve the right to cancel your reservation if you book for a group larger than that. We require guests under the age of 16 to be accompanied by an adult. There is no age limit to stay at the hostel. We are open to travellers of all ages and families. Credit cards accepted. Notice about Rome's new tourist tax: Rome city council decided to charge 3.50 euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. It is implemented from the September 1, 2014. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee and have to be paid extra on arrival. ***PLEASE NOTE:Basic 2 Bed Private and Basic 4 Bed Private annex rooms are located close to Mosaic Hostel to where our staff take you*** We take preauthorization on your credit card, in the event that the amount equal to the first night is not available the hostel may cancel your reservation. Please be aware that this is not an actual charge but just a security check. In the event of no show or late cancellation the hostel may complete the transaction and charge your credit card of the first night for every room booked

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Lazzari
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
18.98 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.0% 29 reviews
Papaya Female Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 87.2% 863 reviews
Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero
16.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.1% 701 reviews
The Place in Rome
14.23 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews
Hotel Virginia
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hostel Two Ducks
8.84 USD

Hostel 57.1% 699 reviews
A Casa di Jasmine
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

120 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mosaic Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 126 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good rooms. Helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: No kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very nice, Andrea is a sweetie and the Brazilian couple are cool too. The place is clean throughout, and feels secure. Located close to Termini which is easy. For temporary storage downstairs they also had lockable lockers for the valuable stuff. Dorm was spacious and with good lockers.

Disliked: Wifi signal wasn't really strong enough to reach the room, I had to go out to the corridor to use it. The shower drain was terrible, even a quick shower meant having your feet submerged in the dirty water. A bit noisy even up at the fourth floor, not from other guests but the cars on the street below nonstop. The mattress wasn't comfortable and the bunkbeds are odd: I couldn't fit on my bed (1,85m, no giant) and there was a bar on the end which also kept me from just hanging my feet out the edge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For being in rome's historic center, and likely a very old building, this hostel was extremely clean and well kept. The desk workers were very kind and helpful. The location was good, right near Termini Station. I would certainly stay here again. We had originally booked 2 beds in a dorm, but there was a problem with our booking. The upgraded us to a private room with 2 beds for the same price as the original dorm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff. Descent roommates.

Disliked: No lockers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victor Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very secure! that makes me feel confortable

Disliked: There were a lot of noise from others travellers. I think they should have a quiet time in the hostel after certain time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was clean, secure, easy to find and the staff was very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEAN JACQUES ALGIERI

Alone

City break

02 June 2012 JEAN JACQUES would recommend this property

Liked: the localization, staff are very friendly, clean, good basic breakfast, 24h entrance

Disliked: A quite noisy, the room was very small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maged Eskander

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Maged would recommend this property

Liked: renovated new rooms and furniture.. lockers, staff are very helpful everything is well organized.. security is more than perfect .. its an ideal hostel

Disliked: Nothing its perfect

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Majail

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kind and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included and very closr to Termini rail station

Disliked: Just 1 bathroom in 5/6 rooms at the fifyh floor, often was engaged

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good communal space.

Disliked: There was not a lot happwning after 9pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

michael gorman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great but probably about 5 euro too dear. Great staff, good facilities and a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Trekking up the stairs through tiny door ways not wide enough to fit through and the price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably close to famous landmarks

Disliked: No issues

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andrea, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful with the information. The bed was clean.

Disliked: The bathroom should have a towel or rug on the floor to protect the slippiness and dirty marks of the floor after the shower. The location of the property was more than 5 minutes walk, it should be 10 to 15 minutes walk form the termini station.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: It was a bit noisy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kenneth Schorner

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: quiet warm well located good wifi. decent breakfast.

Disliked: not much social atmosphere outside breakfast. no lockers in room or same floor. 6 rooms one bath = wait. no hangers. only one electrical outlet . although after the Academy Hostel in Florence I'm spoiled. Of the 4 hostels I stayed this trip. Academy was the best, vintage hostel in paris 2nd and Mosaic 3rd and Ca contarini in Venice last.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 October 2011

Liked: It is within walking distance from Termini station and also to the two metro lines. Staff is very friendly and you can check in and leave luggage even during cleaning times.

Disliked: The pictures and name "Mosaic Hotel" allude a romantic or nice atmosphere, but the common area, the floors and especially the bathroom were bare and lacking any decoration or niceness. It was directly on a quite loud road, luckily we had a window to the other end. There is only one single bathroom/shower for 3-4 rooms with 4 beds each. Luckily there were not so many guests in october. The rooms are filled with both boys and girls, I was surprised as I was not asked about this and was thus a little surprised when a guy entered our room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nikolay Tsvetkov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Nikolay would recommend this property

Liked: basic, clean, serves its jobs well.

Disliked: a bit too basic for the money! Could offer more stuff.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hotel is good overall, but no kitchen.

Disliked: the private room's washroom is small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011

Liked: It's open 24 hours and it's really safe and secure. Piazza della Republica and Termini train station are only a few minutes walk, so it's easy to get around the City by underground. Also several bus stops are close to the hostel, so no problem to go around even while the underground is shut for works.

Disliked: The hostel web site is only in English (not even in italian!) and part of the staff barely speaks italian. The self service breakfast is fine, but plates and bowls are so few and small... The beds are good, with wooden slates, but mattresses and pillows are of low quality.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ruby Contreras

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2011 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Things that I really enjoyed about the Mosaic Hostel where: * The location was very convenient and easy to find from the Termini Station * The staff were friendly and helpful when it came to questions about the bus system * The travellers that I met were very friendly and eager to engage * There wasn't too much outside noise from the streets * Free place to store luggage if you arrive early

Disliked: Some things that I disliked about the Mosaic Hostel: * I wish there had been a little lamp rather than the harsh main light * The toilet was a little iffy when it came to flushing * The beds were pretty hard...but some people like that * The atmosphere wasn't the most exciting -- I wish there had been more of a lounge area with couches Over all it was a nice hostel. I'll be honest, I only stayed there for one evening so there is only so much I can share.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT PLACE, DEFINITELY WOULD GO BACK

Disliked: I LIKED EVERYTHING

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SECURITY AND STAFF

Disliked: CLEANESSS

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: people who slam heavy doors, very noisy in the morning


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels