HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Litus Roma Hostel

Hostel | Lungomare P. Toscanelli 186, Rome, Italy 00121

81.6% Overall Rating

171 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

"nice breakfast and cozy room. It is 3 minutes away to the beach by walking, it is good for relaxing and doing nothing here."

Read all Litus Roma Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Scheppers Hotel
31.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
PLUS Camping Roma
16.23 USD

Hostel 86.5% 3395 reviews
Jc Contemporary Hotel
67.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Torre Rossa Park
32.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.5% 35 reviews
Thousand Sunny
22.99 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Hotel Palace Nardo
35.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.9% 4 reviews
eastside
21.40 USD

Hostel 91.9% 6 reviews
Vatican City Inn
27.05 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 168 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

171 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Litus Roma Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 167 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hui Chen Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Hui Chen would recommend this property

Liked: It can be nice and quiet but it is very near the sea and many food available nearby, walking distance from bus station. Guests can stay in the entire day, there's no compulsory room evacuation for cleaning purposes. Even so, there's terrace and cafe to sit around

Disliked: Perhaps improvement can be done for more power points to be available at internet hot spot area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff - The hostel staff was very nice and friendly. They let us use the (very limited) kitchen, printed our boarding passes, and even brought us some free booze while hanging out with them. Also, they called a taxi for us to the airport when we had to leave. Location - The hostel is on the beach and FAR from city center. We already spent several days in Rome center and spent our time here solely on the beach. For this reason, the location was great. As long as know before hand that it's far away, the location should not be a negative to you.

Disliked: There was no full-size kitchen. For cooking there was only one hot plate that the staff was nice enough to let us use, but do not expect to be able to cook much.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, easy trip to the city and heaps of room

Disliked: Location

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere and fantastic seaview. Wonderful staff!

Disliked: We liked everything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't beat the location. Right on the beach. Our Private Double was large and had plenty of room. Large bathroom in the room which was a nice change from other hostels where we stayed.

Disliked: Not the easiest place to get to the airport from. Information about the Cortal bus in the packet that the give you is only semi correct. Make sure you ask the bus driver at Lido Central if that bus is going to the airport because not all of the them do. Easier to take a taxi, but also more expensive. Also, not a lot of places to eat right by the hostel so you may have to do some walking for a good meal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach and easy to access from metro

Disliked: Bathrooms were kind of dirty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Chaboyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Unreal!!!! Stay here you won't regret it:)

Disliked: Nothing at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it is outside the city, its a little be quieter and the transit back isn't too bad. I had no problem using the train and bus and found them to be efficient in getting me to/from Rome. The staff was very helpful, however they don't speak English fluently. I was able to communicate with them in Italian however, so if you know Italian, you're set. English will work too, but there is still that language barrier. Bathrooms was clean when I first arrived, and over the course of 3 days it became a little dirty, though more so due to the other guests in my room. I started in a 6 man dorm room, and ended up only having 2 other patrons (one night there were 4) in the room. I wouldn't say security is the best here, so if you bring valuables, I would highly recommend that you take advantage of the free lock deposit box they offer. Probably not the most secure, but they worked fine to store my watch, keys, notebook, and wallet/passport. I had some loose change in the room which was 'borrowed' by one of the guests staying with me, nothing much, maybe 4 euro total, but still, if you want to keep it safe, best to lock it up. Bed was for the most part comfortable. Hard to really sleep well with the humidity/heat. No A/C but that's understandable, the nights were generally a bit cooler anyway due to the sea being so close. Location to the beach is also great, less than a minutes walk across the street and you are there. Upon inspection, bed looked to be in good shape, with no signs of bugs/insects. Sheets and towels were clean when I arrived, and I just used the same set for 3 days (they say they change the linens every 3 days, but I would not know since I left morning of day 3 anyway). Shower was nice and hot, though I generally take cool showers anyway. Breakfast was probably the best deal. I wouldn't say all you can eat per se, but I was able to eat to my fill every morning. They had an assortment of cakes/breads as well as 2 kinds of cereal and some milk/juice. Overall a great deal in my opinion. I also took some extra seal stuff to eat throughout the day. Worked out pretty good. If you don't mind the ~1 hour commute time, then I would say this is a great hostel.

Disliked: Directions were a little confusing, but was able to figure it out. Some of the other patrons were annoying, but only in the sense of them blabbing about their blogs and wanting to go home. If you don't like traveling, then leave. Nothing else really. It's a toss up as to whether you have a great experience or a lesser one depending on your roommates. If you're traveling in a group, then you'll probably have a great time. In smaller numbers, you could get stuck with annoying people, but thats life I suppose.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamal dennis

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2011 jamal would recommend this property

Liked: It was huge! right by the beach and the staff is amazing!

Disliked: I didnt like that it was so far from the city but the beach was a huge plus but the train ride isnt bad its just in a better area!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arcos Ana

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Arcos would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and quiet. Good breakfast !

Disliked: It´s very far from the main attractions.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Kwan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is literally right on the beach! The rooms are quite large, the bathrooms are nice, and they offer free breakfast! I think I ate a whole cake over a week. Half of the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful. It was a quiet sleeping environment, too.

Disliked: Unfortunately, it's a long trip to Rome, and the trains stop running at 9:30pm, with an alternative night bus that's frequently overcrowded. Also, the other half of the staff is standoffish and unhelpful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was awsome. Room was good enough. Staff was nice.

Disliked: There is near by seaside but,it was so far away from city. I couldn't find this hostel easily.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011

Liked: Spacious

Disliked: Despite being so spacious, there was hardly anything in this hostel. There were no lockable lockers. No real common area. It was hard to meet people. Terrible location.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cristina Stefania Badea

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Cristina Stefania would recommend this property

Liked: interesting location, friendly staff

Disliked: Far from the center of Rome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is simply awesome. Workers are nice, friendly and give you all advice you need about activities, restaurants, etc. You only gotta cross the street yo get to the beach and a lot of restaurants are only a couple of minutes from the hostel. It is clean and there are a lot of activities offered in the basement of the hostel, like a cinema room and a ping-pong table. Breakfast is really good too !

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about this hostel. It is not located in the center of Rome, but it is perfect if you wanna discover the quiet side of the city of if you like the beach!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly working staff, clean room

Disliked: noisy neighbours

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every staff are kind. Room was very clean. Near the beach. Local people are kind. Breakfast was interesting.

Disliked: Very far from downtown. It took about 1 hour. Train and train and bus. Not good for sightseeing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: I didn't mind the very long commute to rome, as it is nice to go back to a quiet neighborhood after a long day.

Disliked: The wifi was very poor. It usually didn't work and when it did, there was only a small area in the lobby where it would work. There are no in room lockers which is inconvenient. It seemed like a depressing building to be in compared to other hostels.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway

02 May 2011

Liked: Big rooms; let us change our booking; good breakfast

Disliked: Too far out of Rome centre; late night noise from other groups amplified/echoed through the big halls

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The friendlist most help hostel i have every been to. Fab location, close to train station, and close to big car park. To park your car ( 400m away from hotel ) cost about 18euro for 24 hours. No need to park your car at an airport and train in, it is cheaper to drive in and park in city.

Disliked: nothing, i like all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice overall. Definitely clean. Staff accommodated us with an early breakfast because of our flight time. Close to the airport for early flights, but expect to take a cab if you need to leave before 5:30am. Getting there from Rome didn't seem too bad but does require a lot of public transit (metro, train, and bus).

Disliked: Wish they had an airport shuttle service of their own, but they did call us a cab.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location on the beach was nice to sit on at night (never had time during the day because we were in the city centre).

Disliked: It's Rome and all the buildings are old from what I am used to so the outside first impression I was kinda scarred but it was nice, clean and modern inside. It seemed like there were some sort of nocturnal animal(s) in the wall that were making it hard to sleep but other than it was clean and we met great people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was included, always a good sign. Large rooms in a very old looking building, intruiging. In the very market street town of Ostia Lido by the beach. Good culture and only 30mins train journey to Rome itself. Staff were very helpful too.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is huge and in an ideal location for sun seekers as it is a 30 second walk from the beach. For those who want to explore Rome, the train station is a 10 minute walk where you can get a train to the city. There is also a lovely Chinese restaurant with fish under the floor and cute turtles. The staff are very friendly and speak english.

Disliked: The breakfast did not provide a great variety and the hostel was very quiet when we visited.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels