HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Independence Square Inn

Guesthouse | Via Castelfidardo, 78, Rome, Italy 00185

82.9% Overall Rating

81 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

Sameer Ahmad thinks…

"Very friendly staff and close to termini station. Colosseum and other places were also walking distance"

Read all Independence Square Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in is on appointment, please after you book send us an email to let us know THE ARRIVAL TIME. This bed and breakfast will only accept guests arriving before 22:00 from monday to saturday. On sunday reception is open only from 8:00 to 14:00 Your arrival must be within 3 hours of the time which you indicated when booking, if you are late please call us. Roma city Tax is not included (2€ ppn), payment of the city tax is possible only in cash. Group bookings with a number of guests in excess of 8 people are not acceptable through the on-line reservation system.Payment is upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

DD Luxury House
46.89 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 5 reviews
Hotel Giamaica
30.81 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.0% 4 reviews
Hotel Stella
24.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 13 reviews
The Yellow
30.68 USD

Hostel 87.8% 1076 reviews
MJ Place Hostel
26.80 USD

Hostel 74.2% 1052 reviews
Hotel Indipendenza
27.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.3% 35 reviews
Legends Hostel
30.81 USD

Hostel 79.0% 368 reviews
Hotel Positano
18.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

81 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Independence Square Inn'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 88 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: The bathroom, breakfast and rooms could be cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sameer Ahmad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2014 Sameer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and close to termini station. Colosseum and other places were also walking distance

Disliked: Sameer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpful and friendly staff/host, good to have his family restaurant downstairs, convenience

Disliked: changing sheet every 3 days is the policy, but friendly enough to change upon request

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 July 2013

Liked: Nothing really. Except the man on the second and 3rd day of our stay was nice. Also, we arrived later than 10 o'clock by which time the reception had closed and a nice lady let us check in later and they called us to make sure their was someone to let us in at the same time of our arrival.

Disliked: No one at reception during the day to speak to, but they are available if you call. (but some of us don't have the luxury of having a working phone in italy) Our room was extremely small (double person with bathroom)..... open door and then there is the bed.....squeeze uncomfortably around bed to bathroom.....The bathroom was tiny and awkward to move about in and also the ventilator was pretty crap. The bathroom size was something similar to what i can only imagine an airplanes bathroom to be like. The breakfast consistent of a microwaved tasting prehaps they call it crosant....but I would describe it more like squashed budget dough with either jam or chocolate plonked inside. Orange juice which I don't think has even been near an orange and milk with a splash of something coffee related. Not something really bed and breakfasty. There was a fridge but it didn't work. There was air conditioning but they need to change the filter because it smelt slightly. The man on the first morning who worked there was so loud that my partner and I woke up at 8 just from him talking and we could hear through the walls. (The young man on the second day was lovely though)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Picot

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, helpful staff, close to train station

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: This property felt secure and was within walking distance of a supermarket, Termini station and also restaurants. The room was big and clean and the internet connection was fast.

Disliked: The breakfast was so so for an alleged B&B. Fresh bread would have been nicer and I assume not too much costlier.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgianela Carpio Rodríguez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Georgianela would recommend this property

Liked: La habitación era espaciosa, todo estaba muy limpio, tenía: aire acondicionado, televisión, wifi. Era muy cómoda y tranquila.

Disliked: La señal de wifi se desconectaba constantemente

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melody Jue

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Melody would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good price, clean, very straightforward website description with what you're getting, staff speaks English perfectly fine, and the restaurant downstairs is a good value

Disliked: fresh pastries instead of microwave croissants would be nice, but that's about it, the morning cappuccinos were good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

CRISTIAN IOAN SIRB

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2012 CRISTIAN IOAN would recommend this property

Liked: It is obvious that this B&B is a family owned business and not a global corporation! You'll feel like at home in there. The home far away from home. You could get addicted waking up every morning in such a place. Rainy or sunny days you face them with the same smile. Bad aspects? There's a neighbor seagull family - a very annoying one! Great details: the extraordinary food at the Trattoria down stairs! Yes, it's owned by the same family. The Greatest taste we found in the City, except a place near Vatican. I would recommend: stracciate with rucola (veal meat, cooked with wine and garlic). The wine is perfect, it could have been cooler though. Try the house's desert as well. The service is... smiley and cute - the family members. Prices - correct. The tip will naturally stay on the table, I guarantee. If you are Americans, please trust the owners advices, trust the Menu. Do not uselessly argue with the staff. This is not pizza hut! We would surely be back here again!

Disliked: Just the fact that certain rooms have common toilets. For over 60 euros per night/the double room, this was not usual for me.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominic Scarr

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Good balance of room, location and facilities for your money. Pino was a good host. Nice and clean.

Disliked: A little noisy inside and out. Not a deal breaker though

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

leman sütçü

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 leman would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the hotel is good.

Disliked: Breakfast is not according to Turkish people

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice size rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendlich and helpful. Room was clean. Good location, close to termini station. good area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pheona kerr

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 pheona would recommend this property

Liked: excellent budget accommodation close to termini station. Friendly english speaking staff, good restaurant on ground floor and great coffe a bonus.

Disliked: pheona left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pino was super friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just perfect. We had an easy access to all transportation in Rome.

Disliked: We did not have any fridge available for cold food and no kitchen facility. We were not able to make even a cup of coffee or tea just at any time of the day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic, minutes from the main station and tourist attractions (Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps) Really helpful and friendly staff. Double room with private facilities was a good size and was spotlessly clean. Having the fridge in the room was handy.

Disliked: Could maybe do with coffee making facilities either in the room or communally.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danica Felbab

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Danica would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, cleanliness

Disliked: The same breakfast menu in all 4 days: croissant with a chocolate and jam, apple juice and the only option coffe or tea. Hostel also could suggest other cheap options, for example cornflakes with a milk, egg, etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominika Minkacz - Sira

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Dominika would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly staff Very good location - trains, busses, night busses, metro, walks Quiet and private Restaurant downstairs Comfortable beds For people that are not looking for meeting people there

Disliked: Could have been a little bit cleaner WiFi didnt work properly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really super nice and very helpful!!

Disliked: a little bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erguvan ozgur unal

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 erguvan ozgur would recommend this property

Liked: We are plesed to stay here. Clean and the owners were very helpful. We highly recommend the lazanya! of their restaurant located under the hostel...

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location few minutes walk from termini station and walking distance to all sights.

Disliked: the breakfast was just a coffee and a pastry which was mot that good considering the price and it was closed on Sunday which they did not inform you about

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Catherine Grover

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of Rome and just round the corner from the station. The man who looked after it was also very helpful

Disliked: Near the road and Rome is never quiet, also the fan was broken.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near train station.

Disliked: Far from attractions and sites of interest. Only marked my a small plaque so we had trouble finding it.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels