HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Pop Inn Hostel

Hostel | Via Marsala 80, Rome, Italy 00185

73.1% Overall Rating

679 out of 918 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2013)

"The location can't be beat for a traveler. The staff is wonderful - attentive, kind, and helpful."

Read all Pop Inn Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we have an age limit of 35 years ONLY for MIXED shared rooms. Please note, that if you ignore this age limit policy, we reserve the right to cancel your reservation and deal with your reservation as with a no-show! If there are more than 7 of you, please book though the groups department at hostelbookers. Otherwise the property reserves the right ot cancel your booking- 10% will be non-refundable. Payment can only be made in full on arrival in cash. The credit card is used only as a guarantee for the booking and will not be charged unless the reservation is cancelled too late.Guests who booked with credit cards, can cancel their reservation by email or fax only, free of charge up to 5 days before arrival. Deposits paid are non refundable. While bookings made with debit cards will be directly charged with no refund, for the amount of the 1st night. The rates mentioned do not include the city tax of 2 euro per night per person (new Rome city council's decree law from 01/01/2011)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Domus Aurora Roma
27.05 USD

Guesthouse 74.6% 21 reviews
Hotel Planet
27.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.7% 8 reviews
Hotel Rubino
27.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.8% 12 reviews
Hotel Viennese
31.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 94.3% 3 reviews
Hotel Beautiful 2
25.69 USD

Hostel 67.7% 1190 reviews
Termini Accommodation 2
29.76 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 280 reviews
Hotel Luciani
54.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 87 reviews
Hotel Ortensia
31.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

679 out of 918 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pop Inn Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 551 of 619 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014

Liked: Easy to get to from the train station, especially when coming from the airport.

Disliked: No wifi in rooms, 1 bathroom shared with many guests, toilet and shower in one room, unclean. Hot rooms, slow fan, no air conditioning.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Katariina Vainio

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Katariina would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, nice staff.

Disliked: No wi-fi in the rooms, loud doors, dirty bathroom, breakfast is a little snack from a vending machine, no kitchen area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location can't be beat for a traveler. The staff is wonderful - attentive, kind, and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013

Liked: Excellent location right next to Termini train Station. Breakfast included.

Disliked: The bathroom was a little dirty. Wi-fi not available in the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Catarina Baptista

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Catarina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect just at Termini door and the staff is friendly. I liked it.

Disliked: Catarina left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

JOANNE BALDONI

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2013

Liked: The location is convenient: right across the street from the side exit of the station.

Disliked: I got bitten by bedbugs! Immediately after dropping my stuff off in the bedroom I was assigned, I got these red itchy spots between my fingers and on my wrists. As soon as I got into the room I sat on the mattress to check out how hard/soft the matress was. I pressed the mattress to see if it had springs in it or what. As soon as I walk out the hostel door I notice all these red spots with a little lesion in the middle of each, just like when you get bitten by something. The back of my legs were also itchy! I would never recommend this to anyone. The money you save you end up spending on medicine and doctors. NOT worth it. I still have spots between my fingers. It'll take a while before they're gone.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013

Liked: The Location

Disliked: No Wifi, limited toilets & no kitchen or even a fridge

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right next to the train station, helpful staff.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good lokation, easy to get to. Nice rooms and friendly people

Disliked: Doors were loud

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María Isabel Esquetini guerrero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 María Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful specially the guy in the mornings. Thanks to his directions we could know all the main attractions in a few days. The hostel is definetaly recomendable

Disliked: The elevator is really old

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: only 3 showers and toilets for everybody

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013

Liked: -Good location, just one block from Termini Station. -Rooms are average.

Disliked: -Lift is very small and uncomfortable. -TV was turned off in lounge area. -No Wi Fi at rooms. -Late Check in (15.30). -Breakfast: you get a ticket to go outside, to a restaurant about 1 block, you just receive one piece of cake or bread and one cup of cofee / milk / tea, no more, (but they mentioned it at their description).

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sam Krueger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Very close to Termini Station, had a computer you could use for free. They actually do wake up calls on request.

Disliked: It was waayyy to costly for the quality of the room and bathroom that you got. The bathrooms are not the cleanest and the atmosphere of the place is nonexistant. The green lights in the reception/common area are just eerie. The staff are not unkind, but are not the nicest folks.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 May 2013

Liked: Our room appeared to be recently renovated, bed was comfortable.

Disliked: In terms of a comfy bed in a decent location this hostel is fine, however we had a couple of issues. With the exception of one staff female member, the rest of the staff seemed to have no idea what was going on. I asked to print out my boarding pass but this was not permitted, even when I offered 1 euro to do this. There are no kitchen facilities, not even a coffee cup.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: I liked the location

Disliked: Cold showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sian clarke

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 sian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern and comfortable room (we stayed in a private double). Excellent location for walking around Rome and getting there and away (right next to the main train station). Friendly, helpful staff - we arrived early and very tired and the staff prepared our room first so we could check in early which was really lovely of them, thank you.

Disliked: A bit noisy (mostly due to building works and central location), TV and WiFi not working in our room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013

Liked: The bathrooms, although shared among floors, were private an not dormitory style. Proximity to Termini is exceptional

Disliked: It was very hot, the beds very hard, looked a little dirty, the staff is not as friendly and helpful as described. All to be expected at this price point however.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ELISA BORTOLINI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 ELISA would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, just beside Termini- the central station. Beds are confortable and the showers are good. Good price.

Disliked: The wi-fi didn't work in the rooms, just in the reception. The ambiance is not quite good, but it's a satisfatory hostel to stay a couple of days in Rome.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Probably the closest hostel to Termini train station and airport shuttle bus station. Easy to reach the staff via email if you have any wishes or questions. Breakfast is not much, but as they serve it in a nearby café, you can kikck your day off with real italian coffe. Getting up late? No problem, breakfast is served afternoons as well.

Disliked: Safety lockers can not be closed unless you have a padlock with you. Buying one will cost you EUR 5 extra.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013

Liked: It was pretty cheap and right next to the Train station

Disliked: It's a mess. Partly under construction, rooms are a bit creepy, the internet is slow and only works in part of the lobby(They said it worked in the rooms). Also the internet has this stupid login system that drops out every few minuets so you have to log back in. And most of the staff are completely unhelpful. You'd think they could be a little more willing to work with people. So, would I stay here again? Maybe. It's cheaper then anywhere else, and great location, but the place sucks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room's atmosphere was perfect. It was warm and cozy, a great place to relax after a long day walking the streets of Rome. Great shower! The staff was super friendly!!!

Disliked: The only thing we can think of is the construction that was going on one room over from us. It would have been nice to have been informed of it, but it's not really a big deal. We understand!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, 24h lobby, clean bathrooms, fine location, about what you would expect.

Disliked: Building seems kind of shady before entering, had some problem with the key cards, however didn't dampen the experience at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, Friendly Staff, comfortable beds, enough outlets.

Disliked: Crowded kitchen area, no breakfast.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Stacie Rihl

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: Near Termini

Disliked: No hot water, not secure, misleading breakfast advertisement, unsafe surrounding areas, dirty bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dennis Willemsen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the overall atmosphere. Also the safety card and key required to get into the building. The staff is friendly and available 24/7. The rooms were not too full, just one bunk-bed in a 5-bed room, and still more than enough space to leave your luggage. A bad hostel would put at least 10 beds in the same room.

Disliked: I didn't really like the common room, also next to the reception wasn't really filled with people, it was not really a place to socialize with other people. They didn't sell any snacks nor drinks in the hostel. Also there was a huge shortage of showers and toilets in the hostel, just one on each floor (so for about 20 people I guess), which resulted in waiting a lot of time in the morning to get a shower. But that's a common thing in hostels I guess. For entering the hostel for the first time it was hard to find, first the doorbell wasn't really visible and second if you finally were inside the building you still didn't know where the reception was. But in the end, a small thing. In the end, it still was one of the best hostels which I stayed in so far (about 10)


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels