HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of M&J Hostel Rome Hostel

Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 65%

Location 86%

Safety 66%

Staff 88%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wake-up calls

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 58.69USD
  • Breakfast 4.27USD
  • Towel 2.13USD

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Breakfast is 3 Euros per person, towels 2 Euros per person, INTERNET may have an extra fee.
This hostel will not accept groups of over 10 people. If you book for more than 10 the hostel will cancel your booking and your deposit cannot be refunded.
The New Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed. The amount is 3.50 euro per person per night, to be paid in cash at arrival.

Please note that the person that makes the booking is expected to show up at the check in - failing to do so may result in extra charges

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 65%

Location 86%

Safety 66%

Staff 88%

Value 68%

Showing 1-10 of 67 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating


10 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is not the best but is good.

Disliked: You disappoint yourself by just climbing the first steps. It is a very expensive price for a room of 8 people. They do not give you bill despite claiming city taxes. The facilities are run down and ugly. Wifi only works in reception not in rooms. For the same price you can pay for a better place like The Yellow. The person at reception asked me: Is there no work in your country? That was a derogatory comment for a tourist.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The worst place that i never been, bad custumer service, bad wifi conection, so expensive. In Rome you can find better places for better price, and in the same location, and some of them give food and a very good service.

Disliked: No wifi room, dirty, no good electricity, expensive, bad custumer service

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Was really kind staff,good location

Disliked: I booked the room and paid,i sent email with some question and i didnt recive answer

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Not much. It wasnt close to the sights in town. The staff wasn't very helpful. The wifi didn't work. The room was kinda grimy. It was expensive for what they provided.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating


16 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Only thing I would say was bad is that I had my phone stolen. Aware there is nothing the hotel staff could do however they were very friendly regardless. But very angry my phone was stolen from my room while I was in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good, easy to find location. Best shower I've had in weeks. Very fun atmosphere, plenty of good advice from the reception staff too. Also the discounted breakfast down stairs was great

Disliked: No wifi on the upper floors, quite hot in the lobby and rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: All of the staff were very friendly. Mario gave me some last minute instructions and helped me catch a bus that I might have missed otherwise.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Could not fault the staff, very helpful and knowledgable about the area. Nice atmosphere,, easy to talk to people. 3 euro breakfast was great! all the important parts of hostel living this place had.

Disliked: our electricity and heating situation was dodgy to say the least, power blew every time someone tried to charge their phone in the room and I had a very interesting experience of what it must be like to shower in prison as I used the light on my phone to somewhat light up the bathroom as I showered under extremely cold water. The hot water did make an appearance on the last day which was a nice touch, so possibly the hostel was just having a bad week!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Super close to the train station.

Disliked: No AC in the rooms and no Wifi in the rooms.

Check Availability