HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of MJ Place Hostel

Hostel | Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy 00185

73.0% Overall Rating

766 out of 1050 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

natalie baynes thinks…

"Staff were really helpful Wifi was good in the lobby but wasn't available anywhere else No lockout Location was brilliant, around the corner from the train station and a 15 minute walk from the…"

Read all MJ Place Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 74.05
  • Breakfast USD 5.39
  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Breakfast is 3 Euros per person, towels 2 Euros per person, INTERNET may have an extra fee. This hostel will not accept groups of over 10 people. If you book for more than 10 the hostel will cancel your booking and your deposit cannot be refunded. The New Rome CITY TAX ( 01/01/2011) is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed. The amount is 2 euro per person per night, to be payd in cash at arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Giamaica
30.97 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.0% 4 reviews
Legends Hostel
32.31 USD

Hostel 79.0% 368 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
32.31 USD

Hostel 79.9% 24 reviews
Hotel Indipendenza
30.70 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.3% 34 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
32.85 USD

Hostel 85.1% 618 reviews
Hostella female only
36.35 USD

Hostel 92.5% 119 reviews
WOW ROMA B&B & HOSTEL
24.24 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 6 reviews
Beautiful Place in Rome
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.6% 143 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.0%

Overall Rating

766 out of 1050 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MJ Place Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 656 of 843 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

natalie baynes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful Wifi was good in the lobby but wasn't available anywhere else No lockout Location was brilliant, around the corner from the train station and a 15 minute walk from the colosseum

Disliked: Kitchen wasn't available till 3pm No lockers in the room, only lockers available were tiny so couldn't store any electrically

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are super helpful, place is clean and rooms are good. Good location.

Disliked: Not the most social atmosphere but still easy to meet people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caitlin Hynes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff are lovely. Rooms and common areas are cleaned everyday except your sheets- they are cleaned once you leave.

Disliked: No hostel organised activities. Kitchen is pretty shoddy- oven is hard to get working. Common room is very small. No air conditioning in summer- gets real hot in the dorms. Bathroom stank like old dirty water.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Antonio Robirosa

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

15 June 2014

Liked: The location, just some meters away from the Termini station.

Disliked: There are five rooms for two bathrooms. Compared to other hostels, this is less than the average.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice staff.

Disliked: Small rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Krystina Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Krystina would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location for me - I just needed a last minute place to stay for my last 2 nights in Rome that was close to Termini train station where I was departing from. The staff was friendly and I liked that it had a kitchen to use. The bathrooms were quite clean and the showers were very nice.

Disliked: There was an elevator but it wasn't working. This generally wouldn't matter to me but I hurt my leg quite bad during my trip and had to limp up the stairs to the top floor which took a while. The beds were comfortable enough. The mattress was wrapped in a plastic wrap so it made a lot of noise whenever someone rolled over. I also wish there were lockers to store stuff in - they just had small ones at the reception. There was no wifi in the rooms - only in the common area. I know they say that this is to make a better community atmosphere but it didn't really help. Everyone who was in the common area was just there to get wifi so it's not like it promoted an interactive atmosphere. I personally like it in my room so I can Skype in private and surf my phone/answer e-mails before falling asleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to train station, atms, and bus station & bathroom was often cleaned

Disliked: wobbly bunk beds, staff was helpful but often incorrect, didn't take credit card

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihkel Laur

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Mihkel would recommend this property

Liked: Very polite and nice staff! Definitely will use this hostel again when in Rome.

Disliked: Mihkel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Martyna Bauer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2014 Martyna would recommend this property

Liked: Big and clean room, Helpful staff

Disliked: Rooms without wifi, Wifi on the floor were is reception desk, Kitchen open only from 3pm till 10pm, dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vince Bacalan

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Vince would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Minutes from Roma Termini and thus central to everything. Metro is convenient and the sights aren't too far away either. Luggage storage prior to check-in and after check-out are pluses! I can even leave my electronics with the reception desk. 24 hour reception service! I never thought this would matter to me until I booked elsewhere. Staff are so helpful and informative. They even have a binder of all activities (free and paid) and whether those places are closed. Most of all, they really cater to your needs. Even gave me suggestions for short, day trips. Bathrooms are clean and are constantly being cleaned throughout the day. 10% discount to eat at the bar downstairs really helped. The people I met were great; I actually was regretting I did not stay here longer. Thanks for making my stay wonderful and memorable.

Disliked: The fact that wifi is only available in the common area, but this was more of an incovenience than anything. At least there was wifi provided! Common area could be bigger considering it's like a watering hole for everyone after a long day. The room I stayed in, there was no a/c or fans so had to leave the windows open. At least it wasn't too hot or muggy. The building is on the older side but somehow kind of like it because it gives you a flavor for what older houses are like in the city.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bailey Brady

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Bailey would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Termini station: trains, planes, and the metro. Some rooms have bathrooms to share, rather than communal ones.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms. Not the most clean I have stayed in.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014

Liked: Location was comvienAnt to all major sites and termini.

Disliked: The staff was completely unhospitsble, terrible, roud, and impatient. The only helpful staff was Mario the owner he is excellent. In particular when we walked in a girl was complaining that there charger had just been stolen out of her bag and we had prior read reviews that things in bags had been stolen. Very unsetteling feeling to have those fears confirmed instantly on arrival. The front desk girl named CAROL is extremely unfriendly and just plain roud for no reason. On several occasions my the whole lobby could hear her blantanly making fun of clients that had just called in with a simple question. She is very unhelpful and blunt and puts on a play nice act in front of her boss. Also take notes on this the showers are not just cold they Are extra freezing. The comfoters are not cleaned between use, they don't have lockers for bags in room or enought outlets for 8 to 10 dorms they only have two in each room. Also the bunk beads dont each have stairs. We are avid hostel stayers and normally never complain. But this was one of the most expensive hostels we have ever stayed in and one of the lowest quality hostels. Think twice about this before you blow all of your savings on this dump.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maurizio restaldo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 maurizio would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: maurizio left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen

Disliked: too expensive

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: The worst hostel we have stayed so far! And we have been to 6 cities.. the beds are terrible, the bed linen was with a bed smell, like if it has never been washed before, the shower only works if there is only you taking a shower in the hole floor. The location is great. The staff is very helpful, but there are no lockers for the backpacks and three times we were in the reception there was someone complaining about something that had been stolen.. and the wifi only works at the reception, which is not that big... In conclusion.. it is very expensive and it does not worth at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2014

Liked: Location is great, next to termini station, where you can get all busses and trains to go anywhere in Italy

Disliked: It was tol noisy sice it is located at the centre, and there is a club right beside this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place and very helpful staff

Disliked: Loud bar music and fireworks that happened late at night might not be good for the older folks. We didn't mind as much though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra de Freitas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cleaned & tidied daily. I stayed in a private room. 5 min walk to Termini station. Great position to tour city of Rome. Front staff helpful in organizing tours & helping with directions. Nice cafe/restaurant next door, great patisserie across the road but coffee & croissant cost €9 whereas hostel voucher for brekkie costs €3 at another cafe and is for exactly the same thing.

Disliked: Definitely need ear plugs. Smoking allowed. Night club next door.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

oton bratina

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2014 oton would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: yes very like

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mesut can Eren

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 February 2014 Mesut can would recommend this property

Liked: good enough

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and I don't have a bad word to say.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaness and informitive owner with good suggestions with planning your itinerary

Disliked: Small common room which made it hard to socialise with ppl and hang out with them in the evenings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Perfect location, easy to find & to get around - Great advice for activities, very helpful staff (Thanks to Inga, Mario & Mario!) - Good value for the money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely welcoming, and the building had lots of character. It is in a fantastic location, just round the corner from the main train station and around a 10 minute walk from the centre of Rome.

Disliked: The rooms didn't have lockers, so you are left slightly on edge about leaving valuables about, but it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. You could only get wi-fi in reception, but it isn't the end of the world.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Umair Ashraf

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 December 2013 Umair would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice

Disliked: Beds and pillows weren't that comfortable


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels