HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of MJ Place Hostel

Hostel | Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy 00185

79.8% Overall Rating

752 out of 1031 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"The worst hostel we have stayed so far! And we have been to 6 cities.. the beds are terrible, the bed linen was with a bed smell, like if it has never been washed before, the shower only works if there is only you…"

Read all MJ Place Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 76.01
  • Breakfast USD 5.53
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Breakfast is 3 Euros per person, towels 2 Euros per person, INTERNET may have an extra fee. This hostel will not accept groups of over 10 people. If you book for more than 10 the hostel will cancel your booking and your deposit cannot be refunded. The New Rome CITY TAX ( 01/01/2011) is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed. The amount is 2 euro per person per night, to be payd in cash at arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Giamaica
31.79 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Legends Hostel
31.79 USD

Hostel 78.4% 363 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
34.55 USD

Hostel 79.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Indipendenza
30.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.4% 33 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
36.48 USD

Hostel 85.3% 595 reviews
Hostella female only
34.55 USD

Hostel 92.2% 115 reviews
WOW ROMA B&B & HOSTEL
24.88 USD

Guesthouse 99.3% 4 reviews
Beautiful Place in Rome
30.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.8% 136 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

752 out of 1031 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MJ Place Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 644 of 824 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maurizio restaldo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 maurizio would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: maurizio left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen

Disliked: too expensive

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: The worst hostel we have stayed so far! And we have been to 6 cities.. the beds are terrible, the bed linen was with a bed smell, like if it has never been washed before, the shower only works if there is only you taking a shower in the hole floor. The location is great. The staff is very helpful, but there are no lockers for the backpacks and three times we were in the reception there was someone complaining about something that had been stolen.. and the wifi only works at the reception, which is not that big... In conclusion.. it is very expensive and it does not worth at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2014

Liked: Location is great, next to termini station, where you can get all busses and trains to go anywhere in Italy

Disliked: It was tol noisy sice it is located at the centre, and there is a club right beside this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place and very helpful staff

Disliked: Loud bar music and fireworks that happened late at night might not be good for the older folks. We didn't mind as much though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra de Freitas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cleaned & tidied daily. I stayed in a private room. 5 min walk to Termini station. Great position to tour city of Rome. Front staff helpful in organizing tours & helping with directions. Nice cafe/restaurant next door, great patisserie across the road but coffee & croissant cost €9 whereas hostel voucher for brekkie costs €3 at another cafe and is for exactly the same thing.

Disliked: Definitely need ear plugs. Smoking allowed. Night club next door.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

oton bratina

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2014 oton would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: yes very like

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mesut can Eren

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 February 2014 Mesut can would recommend this property

Liked: good enough

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and I don't have a bad word to say.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaness and informitive owner with good suggestions with planning your itinerary

Disliked: Small common room which made it hard to socialise with ppl and hang out with them in the evenings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Perfect location, easy to find & to get around - Great advice for activities, very helpful staff (Thanks to Inga, Mario & Mario!) - Good value for the money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely welcoming, and the building had lots of character. It is in a fantastic location, just round the corner from the main train station and around a 10 minute walk from the centre of Rome.

Disliked: The rooms didn't have lockers, so you are left slightly on edge about leaving valuables about, but it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. You could only get wi-fi in reception, but it isn't the end of the world.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Umair Ashraf

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 December 2013 Umair would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice

Disliked: Beds and pillows weren't that comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arif Qaedi Choo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 Arif would recommend this property

Liked: its location. it's right next to the termini station which is the central station of rome. bus service connecting to the airport also have stops right in front of the hostel. the staffs are helpful and cheerful. they can even give recommendation where to go in the city and which shops travellers want to go to

Disliked: nothing much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leyla Rzayeva

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Leyla would recommend this property

Liked: Advice: The staff provide us with a good planning to see the city in 3 days. They knew about our country and culture. I really appreciate it. Welcoming was great! The location is perfect. You don t need any bus, metro. This hostel is for all!) Thanks.

Disliked: Sorry, but we liked everything :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in a great lococation for the bus and both metro lines

Disliked: no luggage lockers only like cubby-hole boxes at the front desk for just passport or wallet. its nice to be able to leave your bag for the day securely in your own room. you also have to pay with cash for the rest of the payment for your stay, we didnt realize this it was kind of an inconvience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is generous and helpful, and the hostel is close to the train, metro and bus stations, really really good place

Disliked: Nothing, it was a good experience

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 November 2013

Liked: position

Disliked: It was dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zohaib ali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 zohaib would recommend this property

Liked: awesome location, cosy, great staff espc Roberto really made it a great stay by getting everyone to go out and talk to each other

Disliked: noise from street

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kristina Luce

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 November 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff knew everything about where to go in Rome, they offered a cheap breakfast deal.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty, and the toilet would drip on you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel staff was really friendly and so helpful. We extended our stay for two extra nights in Rome with no issues, and they immediately fixed any issues we had.

Disliked: Shower temperature and pressure was just about the only complaint, but when you're paying $20.00 a night for a room in Rome, you really don't have much room to complain!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christopher Rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013

Liked: They had free public internet which is good if you don't have a wifi device. Nothing else was particularly good.

Disliked: There's nothing particularly bad about it, but there are plenty of hostels in Rome that are better and cheaper. If this is the cheapest hostel available go for it, but otherwise, choose something else. This hostel seems really popular but mostly I think they just put a lot of effort into advertising themselves.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: The staff were extremely rude and I heard several make fun of customers when they left or when they hung up the phone. The guy at reception smoked inside and on the balcony. When people arrived to check in he made them wait until he finished smoking, even though there is a sign there stating it is a non-smoking hostel. When our shower sprayed water all over our bathroom including on electrical wire that was hanging out from under the sink, the guy came in and said we will fix it as its dangerous. A few hours later another couple arrived and stayed in that room. Also the bed was horrible! I could feel every spring in my back and along with the music pumping all night made it hard to sleep. We also put a do not come in sign on our room and everyday someone came in and cleaned it. I just felt as though they didn't listen or accommodate for their guests.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location and I was able to walk everywhere. I loved that it was 2 minutes from Termini station. Roberto was amazing and such fun! And all the staff were eager to help me with a route if sights to see.

Disliked: I wish there were lockers in the room. I didn't like having to lock my things downstairs. I never had any problems, it just made me nervous.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice. They had a bar downstairs with a nice environment.

Disliked: The lift was not working. They only accept cash and charge 2 euros extra as an taxes for tourists, but in the end they don't give receipt, unless you ask.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels