We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of MJ Place Hostel

Hostel | Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy 00185

66.5% Overall Rating

795 out of 1093 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Nicolas Roldan thinks…

"Well the only good thing about this place was the location and the guy who works at the night shift."

Read all MJ Place Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 61.70
  • Breakfast USD 4.49
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Breakfast is 3 Euros per person, towels 2 Euros per person, INTERNET may have an extra fee. This hostel will not accept groups of over 10 people. If you book for more than 10 the hostel will cancel your booking and your deposit cannot be refunded. The New Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed. The amount is 3.50 euro per person per night, to be paid in cash at arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Giamaica
28.05 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Legends Hostel
16.83 USD

Hostel 81.0% 379 reviews
Legend R.G
19.07 USD

Hostel 80.3% 30 reviews
Hotel Indipendenza
23.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.1% 49 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
22.44 USD

Hostel 84.7% 635 reviews
Hostella female only
31.41 USD

Hostel 91.9% 133 reviews
WOW ROMA B&B & HOSTEL
25.80 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 8 reviews
Beautiful Place in Rome
16.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 146 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.5%

Overall Rating

795 out of 1093 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MJ Place Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
59.2%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 676 of 885 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hilary Chow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: No Wi-Fi in rooms.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Nicolas Roldan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015

Liked: Well the only good thing about this place was the location and the guy who works at the night shift.

Disliked: It doesn't have wi-fi in the rooms. No air conditioning. No hot shower. Not even a sofa in the common area. Didn't like it at all.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: When booking on Internet, by mistake I booked for the wrong night. When I noticed 10 minutes later, i emailed the hostel to ask if they could change it. They wouldn't and made me pay for that night - even though I booked only 24hrs in advance so couldn't give 48hrs notice - and emailed them as soon as I noticed the error. Everyone makes mistakes and it is unreasonable to charge for a night I never intended to stay there. Avoid - there are much more helpful and friendly hostels in Rome!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mirta Brito

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2015 Mirta would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No control on access Bar just beside the entrance

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

ashley nowakowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2015 ashley would recommend this property

Liked: it was the cheapest

Disliked: it was super crowded but it was okay. still had a good time

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Ingrida Daniseviciute

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Atmosphere and really noisy place from inside and outside.....If you come here- please, bring your earplugs...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ashish Lakhlani

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 Ashish would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Pricey (may just be a Rome thing tho). No WI do outside common room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: There was no locker in the room and you had to pay £5 for a padlock to use the tiny lockers in reception. We were allowed to keep our valuables in the office instead however.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basically its a place to sleep. Thats it. Great location so you can stay out exploring all day.

Disliked: i was told room 9 when i checked in. Went up and down 3 levels to be told it was room 19. Went up and back down to be told it was 119. Clarity was definitely lacking. Our door didnt lock. So security and safety was non existant. They have a system where after 8pm you have to show your check in card To be allowed up to the rooms. The lady who checked us in called it a "business card" so i threw my check in card out. Had to be escorted to my room to prove i was who i said i was.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the location of the hostel was next to the train station and other amenities, such as the super market and a cafeteria downstairs (they have delcious coco powder garnished cappuccinos)! I also liked how the staff would help map out days for sightseeing in the area.

Disliked: I didn´t care for the bathrooms, some were without hot water for our first few days and then they didn´t smell the best. One of the staff suggested to other travelers that it would be better if they opted for another more expensive room, to be guarenteed hot water. Also, the we liked the idea of the walking tour to get to know the sites, yet there was information lacking and the tour was cut short.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Sophie Olesen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

31 March 2015 Anne Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Anne Sophie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ahmad jarrah

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 ahmad would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: there is no internet in the rooms, if you are reserving from the front desk, the prices are more expensive than the internet!! the staff was super nice, except one of them was rude especially when you negociate money with him, his name is kabeer, the 8 bed room beds were squeesing all the time! hot water comes after 15 minutes of opening the shoer, and stys for 3 to 4 minutes! so i had to check out to another cheaper and more nice hostel..over all, its just fine for what you pay !

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Noisy, cold

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015

Liked: Clean sheets

Disliked: Showers were terrible and bathrooms pretty average.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Denise Apestegui

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: xpensive for what it is. There's no lift, and I was carrying heavy luggage with me. Fortunately someone helped me take my luggage to the third floor. Plus, the heater didn't work and I was cold, breakfast its not included, the room is fine enough just to spend one night. The bathroom was not really clean and the shower was bad. In order to close the door you have to shut it really hard. There is no internet in the room. In order to use the wifi you have to come near the reception area. The location is good (two minutes from the station) but its next to a nightclub and they were partying until 2 am with the music really high.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are willing to show you the way of different sites. The location is perfect(5mins to termini station)

Disliked: The hot water is not working at my room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa altomare

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 September 2014 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I am a single mature woman -so am not looking to party etc. found everyone to be friendly and respective-a perfect low cost option for needing to spend the night and leaving early in the am for the airport. nice kitchen-hot water-and very clean bathrooms, clean sheets.

Disliked: you are not allowed to use the elevator-which is a problem hauling up luggage

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014

Liked: I met some wonderful people at this hostel and had a great time for the most part. It was in a really good location and I felt safe as a solo traveller in Rome.

Disliked: I did not find the staff particularly friendly or helpful, they did enough but didn't seem very happy. I understand why they did it but I didn't like the fact that the kitchen is only open 3pm-10pm, it was frustrating at times, ,especially since I've been to so many other hostels who manage to have it open a lot more/always. Wifi only worked in the common area which you could only use til a certain time as well, otherwise hover on steps or around the desk, didn't reeeally matter but a little frustrating at times. Unfortunately we had trouble with some sort of bug in the beds, I was covered in bites (I get sort of allergic) and as it was so hot and there were no fans in the room, it made my stay a a bit oncomfortable. However when I told them, they moved me into a better room so that was good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

pablo prieto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 pablo would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: dont accept credit cards dont have air conditioners or ventilation impossible to sleep in summer time

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

weiping peng

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 weiping would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and helpful.the location is prefect.

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and it is onlu open for 7hours.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

natalie baynes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful Wifi was good in the lobby but wasn't available anywhere else No lockout Location was brilliant, around the corner from the train station and a 15 minute walk from the colosseum

Disliked: Kitchen wasn't available till 3pm No lockers in the room, only lockers available were tiny so couldn't store any electrically

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are super helpful, place is clean and rooms are good. Good location.

Disliked: Not the most social atmosphere but still easy to meet people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caitlin Hynes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff are lovely. Rooms and common areas are cleaned everyday except your sheets- they are cleaned once you leave.

Disliked: No hostel organised activities. Kitchen is pretty shoddy- oven is hard to get working. Common room is very small. No air conditioning in summer- gets real hot in the dorms. Bathroom stank like old dirty water.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Antonio Robirosa

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

15 June 2014

Liked: The location, just some meters away from the Termini station.

Disliked: There are five rooms for two bathrooms. Compared to other hostels, this is less than the average.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice staff.

Disliked: Small rooms


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels